Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-17 of 17 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Nice product, crummy packaging
 from Silicon Valley,  Feb 3, 2011

I ordered three of these marvelous chairs in two shipments. All arrived with at least one piece of the wood broken, in two cases it was substantial damage requiring replacement parts, which Overstock immediately sent. In the final case, I was able to glue the wood back together. So the the problems are fixed, just note that the shipping boxes are very under padded. Sad, really. Another shortcoming to note is that the predrilled holes do not in any way come close to lining up along the shoulder brace on the chair. One brace had three sets of holes drilled in it. One had none, and others were sort of randomly placed. I'm a hobbiest woodworker, so was able to cleanly patch and redrill, but just know to expect impressionistic tiny holes in random locations. Finally, the screws they include require a #20 star tip driver to install, and there are a lot of screws which need to go into difficult locations, making using a drill-driver hard to use. So why did I rate this so highly? Because the chair is a great design, very heavy duty, well proportioned, and made using very nice wood. It's a good value and results in a beautiful chair.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Well Made!
 from Louisiana,  Mar 15, 2011

Love these adirondacks! They took a little time to assemble (but not too much!) They are sturdy and well-built. And so comfortable as we sit in the sun this spring! Delivery was fast and no damage to goods.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
pain in the seat
 from california,  Mar 23, 2013

Unless you have an endless supply of patience and tools, this chair was a pain to assemble. The arms are difficult to attach from the bottom, we ended up screwing them from the top to secure, which detracts from the smooth surface. We used plugs to cover the sunken screws. The seat is comfortable to sit in but like most adirondack chairs, difficult to get out of. Not a chair for an elderly person. I have had the chair for 3 years, leave it outside all winter and it is holding up o.k. Not as good as my old redwood chairs but it's to be expected with cedar. The arms continue to loosen because it's the most natural way to pick up the chair by the arms to move. The legs are also in need of tightening/gluing. We will take apart and glue the joints before using again. If you purchase, highly recommend using stainless steel screws, wood glue and lots of time for assembly. These are weighty chairs and do not blow over easily, which is a bonus come spring winds. Wouldn't purchase again but they took too much effort to return.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color was accurate-unpainted wood
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This chair was fairly difficult to assemble
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome Chairs, very comfy
 from Nevada,  Aug 4, 2011

Great chairs, i've been eyeing them for over a year and glad i finally decide to purchase them, not dissapointed at all.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? pretty much the same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? i thought they'd be a little wider, but i'm ok with the width
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great chair for the money
 from nc,  Oct 10, 2013

After getting through the process of putting it together, not fun, we had us some very comfortable outdoor chairs that are very sturdy

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
look great
 from Midwest,  Aug 3, 2013

Chairs look and sit awesome....assembly is easy but directions can be iffy.....just set them up with out screws/bolts...to make sure you have pieces facing correctly-----then start true assembly

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Adirondack Chair
 from california,  Jul 11, 2013

Great chair, good design and easy to put together, ordered 4, (first one took 30 minutes and last one took 7 minutes). This is a really good looking Adirondack chair for the money. Fits a big body (6' 4" 275lbs).

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality, minor imperfections
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
These chairs are very comfortable!
 from Neenah, WI,  Jun 9, 2011

Love the look and how comfortable these chairs are to sit in. A perfect addition to our backyard. We would definitely recommend them.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Good, with the exception of a few splinters in the wood on the seat & arm rests.
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good chairs - but be prepared for a bit of DIY
 from Washington, DC,  May 22, 2011

I'm writing a review to help future buyers. The chairs are decent quality wood, come in 8 pieces, and are very comfy. But our shipment was missing the instruction manual, the hardware was loose in the box, several nuts and washers were missing, the pre-drilled holes were in the wrong location on the arm-rest (as others have noted) and the bolt holes were not pre-drilled at all. We are not typically handy folks, but in this case, my husband got to 'earn' his father's day gift. We sorted out how it went together (not complicated), realized the pre-drilled holes were wrong (took a lil more work), bought the missing hardware, drilled the missing holes.... and the chairs are wonderful! Think of this more as a starter wood-worker hobbiest chair kit. and if you still think the price is a good deal (it's not too bad), then purchase. Enjoy!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nicely finished
 from Western MA,  Jun 16, 2010

Just got the first of two Phat Tommy chairs that I ordered. All pieces came completely wrapped in bubble wrap so I was disappointed to find a few dings in the wood. Must have occurred prior to shipping because this was well protected. For my purposes this isn't a big deal, but it was a bit of a disappointment. Hardware came in a ziplock bag- like from my kitchen- which I thought was kind of cheesy. Perhaps this was a chair that had been returned or something. Putting it together was relatively uneventful except that one of the screws was not long enough to firmly secure the armrest support to the leg. When I got it all together the armrest was wobbly so I had to take apart the armrest assembly (not a big deal- just had to take out four screws and loosen a fifth) and replace it with a longer screw. The back and the seat come assembled, but the two back supports that have to be assembled were not exactly the same length so I had to trim one about a 1/4 inch so the back would fit evenly. Not a big deal. It should be noted that assembly requires torque wrenches (those Allen wrench- type keys with the star ends). I have some but I would have been bummed if I got home to find the package, but not the tools to assemble it. It would be nice if one was included, like they do with the cheap particle board furniture that comes from China (with bad instructions for assembly). Now with all the negatives out of the way, let me say that this is a nice chair! The wood is really nicely finished and it seems quite sturdy once assembled. Western Red Cedar is a beautiful wood, but it is soft (hence the dings). I am hoping that once it is oiled it will be a bit more resistant to damage, but it will never be like some of the brazilian hardwoods. The finish is very smooth and would paint up very nicely if one were so inclined, though I think the wood is so naturally pretty I won't be doing that. The angles of the chair are very comfortable. The slant of the seat is not so extreme that it is hard to get out of it like some Adirondacks, and the curve of the back is much more comfy that the flat back styles. The armrests are wide enough for a nice cup of coffee and danish. I'm excited for my second one to arrive so I don't have to eat breakfast alone !

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
just what i was looking for
 from Orlando, florida,  Jun 4, 2010

the chair is thick and sturdy. it took my husband maybe 15-20 minutes to put together. it is nice with its natural color, but i'll probably put some protectant on it in about 6 months. this is going to be an inside chair so i'm sure it will last for years to come.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Defective...
 from DC-Metro Area,  Dec 28, 2009

I purchased this chair as a christmas gift for my fiance. I'm a very handy person when it comes to assembly, but as I followed the directions to assemble the chair, I quickly found that the pieces did not fit together as indicated and two key pieces (the pieces that hold the arms to the uprights on the base of the chair) split when I tried to screw them into place. After several attempts to remedy this defect, I finally decided that even if the pieces would have fit, I don't know if the arms would be sturdy enough to assist a grown man in getting in and out of the chair.It was a very dissappointing experience as he had been wanting a good-quality adirondak chair for a long time. I guess we'll have to keep shopping....

Was This Review Helpful?
Response from Overstock.com
     By Customer Response Team
Thank you for writing this review for the PhatTommy Western Wide Red Cedar Adirondack Chair. After researching this issue, we have decided to reconstruct the item. We have changed the arm piece for this item, making it much more durable.
 
 
Rating
Not hassle free
 from Land of Lincoln,  Oct 19, 2009

Wanted to buy American made product, but this experience was rather a nightmare. Parts missing, bolts wrong, had to write for more items and that took 10 days to receive. But, after it was all done chairs are lovely and painted up nice. Sturdy, solid and well made, but the hassle really spoiled the whole experience.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy Assemble GREAT price!
 from Colorado,  Sep 10, 2009

I bought 2 of these chairs and had them assembled and ready to use in about a half hour. They are a fantastic buy! Great quality cedar is used. I would definitely recommend these chairs to my family and friends.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Such and incredible chair
 from Wisconsin,  Apr 10, 2009

We bought 2 of these chairs and just couldn't be happier. We just built our cedar home in Wisconsin and needed some chairs for out on the deck. After we put them together...which was a snap...we stained them the same color as our cedar siding. GREAT construction. Fantastic quality and worth every penny we spent. I would recommend these chairs to anyone that wants a chair that will be around for many years to come.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid, Beautiful Chair
 from Centennial, CO,  Mar 25, 2009

I have been shopping around for adirondack chairs for quite some time, viewing comments on various sites. I saw this one had good ratings and I can see why. It was delivered quickly, and undamaged. It has a solid construction, and I had no problem putting it together; the back and seat actually come in one piece. I stained it right away with a natural stain and it looks great. Although there are cheaper versions out there, I doubt if they are as solid and beautiful as this one. I am very pleased with this purchase, and if I could afford it, I would buy 2 more to add to the 2 I bought.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks great and it is sturdy too
 from Ames Iowa,  Dec 6, 2008

I bought two phattommy rockers and then added two of these as well because I liked the rockers so much. We now have four chairs in a circle on our patio and enjoy our bbq pit every night. Great solid wood and very strong design. The western red cedar smelled great when we took it out of the box.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-17 of 17 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought