Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 21 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Smart and efficient little kettle
 from Detroit, MI,  Aug 22, 2012

I bought this kettle for good coffee in a French Press. Water from a drip coffee maker wasn't hot enough; A whistling tea kettle woke roommates at 5 in the morning. An open pan of boiling water would sometimes silently boil dry. I needed something "set it and forget it" style. This Ovente is just the ticket. This kettle was a delight right out of box. The external AND internal box had really taken a beating during shipping, but the kettle and base inside were in perfect condition. I was concerned the surface might scratch off with use. Not so. The red walls appear to be lightly coated with a protective clear coat. The interior is bare stainless steel. Design silhouette is elegant and the handle solid and comfortable, well insulated from hot stainless steel. Features I looked for: an easy to read water level window on the side not in the handle; and base and kettle heating elements thoroughly recessed for cleaning, safety and rust prevention. This kettle has all. The exposed metal heating element is recessed into the kettle itself. The black plastic bottom of the kettle and base both remain 'cool' to touch so the kettle can be moved around the counter without melting anything. At 9x6x9 inches, it takes up little counter space. Since it shuts off just after boil, there's less risk of steam damage on overhangs. Set up is a breeze: clean, fill to line, kettle on base, plug in and trip lever. Done. With 1500 watts it boils in about 5 minutes (in the midwest), red light goes out and the lever pops up just after bubbling. There is no 'warm' function here. It's strictly boil and shut off. For the inattentive, there's a boil-dry safety feature as well. After weeks of steady use, I noticed rust on the interior bottom, but turns out it was from our drinking water, and wiped away easily to the intact stainless bottom. The base has a wrap around "hidden cord" feature for neat-niks but Liter indicators are only embossed numbers on the plastic water level window and will likely come off with compulsive cleaning so caution there. After use, these lines will be little more than aesthetic because full/half-full/minimum will be a no-brainer. Scalding temps work well for reconstituting noodles, lightly cooking thin veggies in soup bowls, tea, instant cocoa, and of course French Press coffee. All in all, we love this kettle; its safety, design beauty, unobtrusive unattended operation and its functionality.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Cute, fast and easy to clean, however
 from Central Shoreline, CT,  Mar 21, 2013

It was great. It was louder than my old kettle, but it took about 3 minutes to heat to boiling. It held more than most kettles, nowadays. It was cute, at bit flashy and easy to clean and easy to see how much water you had in it. I really liked it up until it stopped working. I bought it in August, and it stopped working in January. Cheaper to buy a new one than fix it. I am sure my experience was a fluke, but I can't in good consciousness recommend it without that note.of caution.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It was a pretty metallic red, just like the picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It worked great for nearly 6 months, and then it just stopped working
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? It was very accurate, it was just as described
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pretty but not well made
 from Florida,  Mar 4, 2013

When I first received this kettle I fell in love with it. The color and size was great. But not even two weeks into owning it a piece of the color flaked off next to the spout. I could have lived with that but then the plastic piece that holds the top down broke off. I called Overstock and sent it back. They were very helpful and it didn't cost me anything. Overstock sent me a new one very quickly. I opened the box and plugged it in. It didn't work. So I called Overstock again and sent it back. Overstock has exceptional customer service. Having had two of these kettles break I can not recommend this product to anyone.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. not good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Didn't Last
 from Montana,  Nov 20, 2013

This only lasted about a year when the heating element went out. Or something. It just quit working.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
You're all wet!
 from Camarillo, CA,  Sep 30, 2013

Although the price is right, the quality is not. Water leaked with second use. Delivery time good...pretty to look at...fast boil time, noisy, but maybe they all are. I'll continue to use it and just wipe up afterward because I threw out all of the paperwork (of course).

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great looking Kettle
 from Atlanta, GA,  Dec 7, 2012

This Kettle stopped working after only 3 months of use. I am not impressed with the return/exchange process. Since I have to pay for the return I might not return it I will probably apply that money toward buying a new one elsewhere. Too much of a hassle.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? As shown
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Light weight. Sturdy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Electric Tea Kettle
 from Metro East Illinois,  Jan 2, 2014

Nice metal electric tea kettle with automatic off. The gift recipient was thrilled with the looks and informed me that the kettle heated water quickly.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It broked very fast
 from New York, NY,  Dec 17, 2013

Kettle worked several months. Water began to leak from the panel with water level.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not a good quality
 from St Louis, MO,  Oct 16, 2013

Poor quality. It is already peeling the red paint. Working is pretty well though. I've had it for a few months only.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very pretty red
 from MONTANA,  Sep 6, 2013

this is good, pretty, does the job. Smelled a bit plastic at first but order is gone now.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
quick, good looks and easy as pie to use
 from Perry Hall, Maryland,  Jun 4, 2013

I love this product! I needed something that worked quickly (quicker than on the stove or in the microwave). I think that the best feature about this product is the safety automatic off switch, won't boil over when you are away from it. Good going Ovente.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? true to product description
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very dependable
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? right on target
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fantastic find
 from Glenside,Pa,  Apr 11, 2013

Love the kettle. Looks fantastic in my kitchen.Works great!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The guality seems great,heats up quick.So much better than a tea pot.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very goog
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
whiling away the power cord
 from New York, NY,  Mar 10, 2013

whiling away the power cord. plastic smell inside .

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Kettle works great
 from Northern Minnesota,  Mar 9, 2013

After just a few weeks the kettle works great. It is the first time we have really used a product like this daily, and we are very satisfied.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. well made
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pretty Pot.
 from Norwich NY,  Feb 19, 2013

A beautiful teapot that holds 1.7L of water and heats it in less than 3 minutes.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly the same color as on site pictured.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very nice and love the color and large size of it. The kettle heats quickly and automatically shuts off.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Goods and BADS
 from MI,  Dec 5, 2012

When I opened the package the brand name was chipped off and a lot of paint was chipped off. It heated it up super fast and I loved the touch button Then in less then a month the inside got rusty

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? COLOR IS GOOD BUT IT WAS SCRATCHED
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. POOR, in less then a month the inside got rusted
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? ok
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Leaky kettle
 from Southern California,  Nov 17, 2012

I truly loved this kettle, the color was vibrant and looked great on my kitchen counter top. However, the kettle malfunctioned by immediately leaking water when in use. Overstock.com was very accommodating in handling the return yet no more were left so I was unable to get a replacement. I am continuing to look for a red electric kettle with style like this one.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The kettle did not function properly upon arrival
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Electric Kettle
 from Keene,N.H.,  Oct 25, 2012

This was what I was looking for and at the right price for my budget. I am very pleased with the product!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect! Great color!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality .
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? As picttured in ad and as described.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good, but cord too short
 from East Coast,  Oct 19, 2012

This kettle was a great price, and works well. The only issue is that the cord is VERY short. My plugs are up, under the cabinet lighting. So I have to prop the kettle on a box, so the cord can reach up to the socket.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Well. Happy with bright color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality seems fine
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
HOTSY TOTSY POTSY
 from Florida,NPR,  Oct 18, 2012

IT'S GREAT HAVING AN ELECTRIC KETTLE THAT WORKS FAST,IS EASY TO HANDLE AND LOOKS NICE IN MY KITCHEN

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? LOVELY
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. SEEMS WELL MADE..
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? VERY ACURATE
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 21 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top