Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 25 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 

I purchased this as a little mail/shoe shelf for the house. Color on the site said natural and looked medium brown to me, but the color I received was very dark. Color was not an issue. The real issue was the package was missing a major part and could not be put together. I tried to order a replacement part and they said it would expedite the request. We waited for the part and received the first of three or so Overstock emails that said they couldn't get the part from the manufacturer yet. I finally responded that they should just ship me a new shelf and I will return the old one. Then they said they located the part. So from the time I ordered the shelf to the time I received the new part it was about 3 weeks. Put the shelf together over the weekend. I was able to get through the directions okay. The project took longer than I thought it would. Hint - You CAN NOT tighten the screws. Or the pieces will not fit together. Predrilled holes, just barely match up so you need the wiggle room. Once we got it together, it seems sturdy enough for our purposes. Fits well in the spot we were looking to put it. A little too pricey for what it is and I wish the color was lighter. It is marketed as Outdoor, so there are plenty of exposed screws in case you are planning to put it inside.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Site color was lighter than reality
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Missing Parts, poorly drilled holes, cracked wood, poor quality directions
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Difficult to assemble but nice piece
 from Cleveland, OH,  Feb 21, 2013

As with other reviews this was difficult to put together, there were some pieces/screws that didn't fit per the instructions. Wish they can change instructions a bit to make it more user friendly. We had to make a couple of our own adjustments but once that was done the final product was quite nice. Must be patient when assembling.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? lil darker wood
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Shoe Rack
 from NJ,  Mar 14, 2013

This came quickly but without instructions. After a couple of calls I was able to download & print the instructions. I'm not good at assembling, but with breaks it took me a couple of hours. The finished product is just what I wanted and just like the picture.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exactly matched description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very pleased with this product
 from Cape Cod, MA,  Nov 27, 2012

Love the product, but it was VERY difficult to assemble.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very pleased with the quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Useful shoe rack/cubby
 from St. Johns, FL,  Apr 3, 2013

The is a large-sized shoe rack/cubby. The wood is heavy and it seems very sturdy. The staining of the item was not done very well but that is not an issue for me. It would be an easy fix if one wanted to go out and buy some stain to match. Overall, I am pleased with this item because of the size and usefullness of it. I would buy this again.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It is a darker brown than what is shown
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The wood is heavy but the staining of the item was a bit poorly done.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it
 from TX,  Sep 26, 2012

It's perfect on the porch holding all our muddy shoes so they aren't in the house any more blocking the door. You could also use it inside. It would be great in the kitchen or kids bedrooms or hallway!! Put some baskets on the shelves and it will be beautiful.My son put it together and had no problems. If it had been me putting it together that would have been a different story. But that's just me.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? maybe a little darker
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very nice, very sturdy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks great, poor manufacturing
 from San Diego, CA,  Jul 20, 2012

This was an extremely frustrating shoe rack to put together. It took me a couple of hours and I still had to have my husband help me at a couple of points. The holes didn't line up correctly at every point, and in fact, there is one handle at the top that has yet to be put on because the holes just don't line up like they should. For the price, I was expecting a much higher quality product, although now that it's mostly put together, it does the job and looks good.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Should have been better for the money
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great organizer
 from Walnut Creek, Ca,  Jun 9, 2014

I order this product over a year ago and it have worked out great for our needs as an organizer in our garage. And, it looks nice too!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for Storage of Gardening Tools!
 from Washington, DC,  Dec 15, 2013

This was the perfect solution for storage of a number of garden tools and other items on my back porch. Neatly organized what had been a cluttered collection. The only issue I had was the assembly, which was not as easy as some other, similar items that I've purchased in the past (the instructions were a little difficult to decipher). But a nice piece and a good value for the money!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice shoe rack
 from Tracy, California,  Nov 12, 2013

It took some time to construct this rack. Because it's wood, there's some minor warping and the pieces did not approximate perfectly; but I made it to fit together nicely.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Storage rack
 from Naples, FL,  Sep 26, 2013

Wood is dry and warped, pieced did not fit well together and some cracked. Good size and holds a lot of stuff.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
bad bad bad
 from Fairmont, WV,  Sep 6, 2013

cubby was basically falling apart out of the box never got to the assembly part because random sticks of wood were falling off when they were supposed to be nailed but even the instructions were vague and i could not make them up when i took a look don't bother buying this low quality item

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it but it has it's problems.
 from IA,  Aug 18, 2013

i love this cubby-BUT.... Live other reviewers said, the directions are difficult to follow, the holes don't line up, and there are spots (not big ones) that there is no stain. I tried to stain the spots but there must be something else put on the wood over the stain because they would not take the stain. I wanted to use this in my house to hold winter items, motorcycle helmets, etc. Basically everything that you want by your back door. Because it was made for outside and I wanted it inside, I varnished it to make it look like it should be in the house. I really like the way it turned out. It holds so much stuff. I am just glad that I didn't pay the prices that this was selling for on other websites, as it is rough. If you want something that really looks nice and made for inside this isn't it. My house isn't set up that way so after the varnish, it fits perfectly.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
third time's a charm....until the end!
 from Michigan,  Aug 2, 2013

This shelf works perfectly at our front door as a charging station, it holds our dog biscuits & leashes, our shoes and my purse! It is doing exactly what we wanted it to do! It is NOT the color that it showed on the website, but it works. I had to re-read the instructions, and re-build the beginning part at least 3 times...I have no idea why they were confusing, other than they were. Then, I get to the final shelf (the top one) and the last hole is drilled wrong and the wood split, making it unable to screw it together. I was not going to take it apart to send it back so I used an L bracket to attach the shelf.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? it is actually much darker then the pics on the site
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good & sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? pretty good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Color is much darker than the picture. Just be aware, it looks very different. This is quite junky looking when put together. It's a pain to assemble. Not a nicely finished piece of furniture I was hoping for. Slats fairly large so things can easily fall through. Some quality problems- screws/holes didn't match up well. Bent parts on the cubbies and there are big gaps where there shouldn't be. I am good at putting furniture together, this was a manufacturing issue, not a problem with me. Am considering calling OVerstock to see if they can help reimburse me- don't think I would be able to send it back already assembled- problem is, you don't really know what you are getting into until it is put together. Way overpriced for what it is. Wish I hadn't ordered this.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Would've been better if it'd been cheaper
 from Seattle, WA,  Jul 11, 2013

This would've been an awesome purchase if it were only ~$@# instead of the $@#$ I paid. The pieces right out of the package were mostly still in good shape - there were a few spots where the paint had rubbed off, but since this is going on a porch and will have stuff on it, I don't really mind. Many other reviews mentioned that the holes don't line up at all; there were definitely a couple of holes that I had to give up on and just force my own, but 95% of the holes lined right up. There are 6 L-brackets and though there's no differentiation on the instructions but there were 4 of the same and 2 of the same; I had to look at which bracket lined up with the pre-drilled holes, but there was always one that was a better fit than the others, you just have to take the 20 seconds to do so. All in all, I'm thrilled with this purchase. It is much darker than in the picture (more of an espresso color than a bamboo color.) I assembled it by myself, using nothing more than what was included and a screwdriver, in about an hour and a half.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The actual color is much darker than the picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Decent quality for a cheaper piece of "assembled" furniture.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Pretty darn accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Disappointing item, great customer care
 from Gig Harbor, WA,  Jul 10, 2013

I was excited to find a shoe storage solution for my front entry that would allow me to sort mail and have a place for my shoes. I was further excited by the description that the item was made from hardwoods. I had found an almost identical item on Brookstone and Overstock was cheaper and I could not find any differences in the descriptions. However, I was disappointed in the item once I opened it. The wood tone was much darker than I expected, and the finish was done poorly; there were many scratches on all of the parts, and the pieces were pretty rough overall. Alone, this might not have caused me to return the item, but one of the panels was completely broken. I don't feel like the craftsmanship or materials were nice enough to consider a replacement piece or another same item, so I returned. Customer care was excellent, so I do anticipate buying again from Overstock.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? much darker
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. product was scratched, dinged and otherwise in poor condition; additionally one of the side panels was broken
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? somewhat inaccurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks great and easy to put together!
 from Kentucky,  Jul 10, 2013

Looks great! Using to organize shoes. Very easy to put together.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Will serve its purpose, ok for price
 from Raleigh, NC,  Jun 30, 2013

Great for mud room or outdoors. As mentioned in other reviews, lots of exposed screws so may not be ideal for some inside uses. Assembly was pretty straight-forward, takes a little while but not too long. Unfortunately, one of the misaligned holes caused a crack in a shelf AND they don't give ANY extra screws and one of my "g" screws didn't have the little "x" for the screwdriver to go in and I couldn't get it all the way in. Also, unlike other "assembly required" pieces I've ordered, there was NO customer service phone number so I have no idea how to get a new screw "G" and ideally a new part #6. All in all, it will contain misc. items and backpacks for my 3 children. In a few years, maybe it will serve as a gardening shelf.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Finish was much darker than some of the pics. More like the pics with items on the shelves.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Overall, I think the quality is pretty good. A couple of holes are poorly aligned. HINT: hold off on tightening everything up until done, helps get things aligned.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very good description.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Thin Wood, difficult to assemble
 from Oakland CA,  Jun 27, 2013

I assembled many Ikea furnitures myself, so I am experienced. This product is very difficult to assemble - the screw holes don't match perfectly with each other, and the wood frames are so thin, so many of them risk cracking. I wound't recommend it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Actual color is dark brown
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good design, poor manufacturing
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 25 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Outdoor 4-tier Shoe Rack
Today $92.99
Compare $97.23
Save 4%
(9)
Vertical Storage Shed
Today $305.98
Compare $375.99
Save 19%
(3)
Oceanstat 3-tier Bamboo Shoe Rack
Today $41.99
Compare $75.33
Save 44%
(79)
Back to top