For a Limited Time, Get Free Expedited Shipping On Select Jewelry and Watches*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 42 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Poor shipping
 from MN,  Aug 22, 2012

The product itself is actually quite nice- heavy and sturdy. The color is a nice dark brown, just what I expected. However, there are so many nicks and dents on it, so it looks already old and ready for the dumpster. One of the edging pieces on the top shelf was completely broken off, and I had to nail and glue it back on, and it still looks cock-eyed. I am very unhappy with the quality of the product after shipping. The box looked like it had been through a hurricane.

  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Loved the unit but, pieces were missing!
 from Rhode Island,  Dec 5, 2012

I absolutely love this piece for my sons room. It's big enough to fit all of his books & baskets for toys! Love it! However, I was very disappointed when trying to put it together, I noticed they had forgotten a whole package of dowels needed to put shelf together. I did not receive the replacement parts until 2 weeks later! I feel overstock should have at least overnighted me the replacement parts.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Normandy 9-cube Storage Unit
 from Jacksonville,  Dec 11, 2012

All was as expected but hard for us to put together. The holes don't match up. Still, for the price....quite the bargin. At least my husband is handy, but I would not have been able to assemble by myself.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? it was the same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. it was hardwood of good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? the same
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Real wood; easy assembly
 from Pioneer, CA,  Sep 11, 2013

You may want to use some glue on the dowels as they fit loosely into the pre-drilled holes.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Real wood!
 from Maryland,  Aug 8, 2013

Perfect - just as described, not particle board like many others that I found.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
wow very nice bookshelf!
 from fort worth,tc,  Oct 18, 2013

this is a great book shelf, real solid wood, assembly took a little time by myself, i recommend having a helper, but could not be happier better than described and a great piece for the price

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid, sturdy, and sizeable.
 from Boston, MA,  Jul 11, 2013

This bookshelf is solid wood and surprisingly handsome for flat-packed furniture. Assembly is straightforward, but can be tricky if you don't screw in the cam-lock pins perfectly straight. I recommend reading the instructions and using your judgment as to a better order of operations, as well as assembling the unit flat on the floor rather than upright, as shown. As in most DIY furniture, the back panels are thin and optional. The molding on the top piece of my bookcase had broken off in shipping, and Overstock customer service offered to send an entire replacement unit so that I could pick out the piece I needed and send the rest back. I opted to fix the part myself.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Piece
 from Grand Rapids, MI,  May 4, 2013

Very quality piece of work. The wood is nice and was packaged very well. The whole thing came in 4 days, which is ironic since my order status is still "pending". Perfect fit for vinyl records and it holds a LOT. Instructions were worded funny, but still was easy to put together if you are familiar with assembling furniture. The piece was sturdy even before I put the back on it! Took two of us about an hour to put together, even with a break in the middle.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? spot on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good quality, solid wood, the whole thing smelled like wood stain when i opened the packaging
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fantastic Furniture
 from Meridian, MS,  Mar 21, 2013

While this unit is a little more expensive than what you might find at an office supply store or Walmart, but it is absolutely worth every penny. It is solid and made of real wood - not MDF or particle board. I only wish I could find another place in the house to put another one. It looks that good.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfectly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Exceptional
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cracked when recieved
 from brooklyn, ny,  Mar 14, 2013

I liked the product over all but when I received it, it had a big crack going through both sides I was very disappointed

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? i liked the color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. when going through the box to build the bookcase i found one of the pieces with a crack through it
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Several pieces damaged
 from Mandeville, LA,  Feb 23, 2013

Several pieces were chipped when I opened the box. The molding was halfway off the top piece. I am going to try and use wood glue to fix. Not easy to put together; the pieces didn't align properly.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Fair
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Fairly accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Normandy Storage units.
 from Austin, TEXAS,  Jan 21, 2013

The quality is of the units is excellent and these things are solid. My son put these together in 45 minutes even with my help. I use these back to back as a room divider in the front foyer. A great value. A*****

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The black match the color on the money.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality is excellent. These things are solid.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was as depicted on site.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Once Assembled
 from Virginia,  Jan 17, 2014

Once assembled this is a very nice product. Others commented on difficulties encountered while assembling this bookcase. I can't remember the last time I saw my husband get so mad and frustrated as when he put this together. Some of the holes did not line up appropriately and twice he had issues with the wood splitting. Fortunately this occurred in areas that cannot be seen. It has been up for a few months now and we have had no issues with it. It looks great and is solid. Even with the assembly difficulties I would purchase again. Just know it will take patience to assemble but is worth it once done.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
100% wood
 from Truckee, CA,  Oct 18, 2013

Except for the particle board back which we decided not to use, this is a sturdy, all wood bookcase. It's attractive and I love it!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
We bought TWO and they are fantastic!!
 from Illinois,  Oct 14, 2013

This filled up the empty spaces on either side of our fireplace. They were delivered promptly and without damage. The instructions were super easy to follow (I, and not handy female, was able to put one together in less than an hour alone). They are very heavy weight and of great quality. We are so impressed and thankful we found this piece and are bragging to all our friends/family how we were able to purchase both of these for the same price as ONE solid wood console table.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
2 person assembly
 from Los Angeles,  Aug 18, 2013

color is more of an ash brown vs auburn or cherry brown as pictured

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just What I needed, Beautiful Color
 from Monterey Bay, CA,  Aug 3, 2013

This is a beautiful piece of furniture. It was not too hard to put together. The directions were not really clear when it came to the dowels. You have to screw the dowels into the side pieces before you assemble the middle part. Definitely a two person job. There are places where you just need someone to hold the shelved in place while you line up the dowels and turn the cams. All in All I am very pleased. I can't find any storage bins that are the right size. The cubbies are much bigger than a standard storage bins are and not big enough for the bigger baskets.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good, Solid Wood, not MDF
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great After Assembly
 from California,  Jul 27, 2013

This looks really nice when it's finally put together. The color is truly beautiful. However, assembly is a bit of a nightmare. They give you no extra anything and the screws strip quite easily. Pay very careful attention to both the words and the pictures during assembly as there are very specific ways you must do certain steps that has no warning in writing but can be easily seen by studying the pictures as you go. The wood is soft so it cracks easy and you have to drill many of the holes yourself, especially with the back panel. It's worth the effort, though, once it's assembled!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It's so-so. It looks nice put together but you can tell during assembly that it's mediocre quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate. For anyone who's interested you can have this unit with the back panel on or you can leave the back panel off and have open cubes if you desire.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect in entry
 from Land O Lakes, Fl,  Jul 11, 2013

I needed something with more space instead of a side table, as it was wasting space. This looks perfect and is not overwhelming, and it matches my other furniture.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. fairly good, it went together quickly
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bookcase
 from NY,  Feb 27, 2013

This was a great buy. The quality was better than expected for the price, even my husband was surprised. He put it together easily in about an hour.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? spot on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 42 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top