Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Excellent Unit
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Jan 14, 2013

Unit was easy to assemble with no difficulty at all. It looks very nice, and the storage is quite accurate. The unit is strong and supports the weight of two adults without any problem.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfectly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lovely little bench
 from Bethlehem Township, NJ,  Mar 19, 2013

The bench is quite small, but the dimensions on the website are correct. For some reason, all of these benches are undersized and I wish they were bigger. Still, it is well engineered, a beautiful color and looks like a real piece of furniture, not a home fabricated one. I took another reader's advice and did some extra gluing. I don't know if it was necessary, but it gave me peace of mind. MOST of the other benches in this price category are made of MDF with paper thin wood veneer. Only complaint: can't we make furniture like this in the USA for the same price? YES WE CAN!!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color was perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This is a fine quality product. It really IS solid wood and finished with care.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfectly accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This bench is beautifully built and very sturdy.
 from Washington coast,  Mar 28, 2013

This bench brought our laundlry/mud room to a whole new level of sophistication! We needed a place we could both sit and put our boots on at the same time, and this bench does it in style. Most of the assembly was very easy. The last two steps - putting the bracing bars in and aligning the seat closer took a little extra effort, but grumpy husband recovered nicely. The storage area is pretty large. The material used for the bottom isn't very thick, but it seems sturdy enough. I won't put anything very heavy in it, though. Overall, I am very pleased with this purchase. It does exactly what I needed it to.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color is actually is deeper and a little more red. Definitely not a blonde oak, but I like it even better.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The bench is very well made. It will last a lifetime.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was right on.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A Beautiful Bench
 from North Bellmore, NY,  Sep 17, 2014

This bench was fairly easy to put together and looked great once it was done. It was slightly darker than the photo shown and was a little smaller than I anticipated but other than that I was very satified with this product.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good sturdy bench
 from TX,  Sep 10, 2014

This bench is exactly as advertised. Based on the construction and required assembly, I expect it to last a very long time. The finish is very pretty.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great bench
 from North Dakota,  Sep 7, 2014

Just the right size and color for our newly remodeled hallway. Easy to put together and looking forward to using it for years to come.!!!! Thanks Overstock!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not worth the time and effort.
 from Fremont, CA,  Aug 15, 2014

Not worth the effort!. I called Overstock about difficulty in assembling the product as the holes were too small. The customer support wanted a picture of the damage. I told her that there were no damage but the holes were too small for the cam screws supplied. She still insisted for the picture. I then decided to make the hole bigger. I was successful to get the screw in. Then ran into another problem; the cam nut cannot locks itself with the screw. I used some plumbing tape so that it acts as a washer in between. There is an issue with the length of the screw. It looks good and sturdy after the full assembly, but I am hesitant to sit on it. Also this piece is so small, looks like a doll bench. After all the efforts, my wife says, not worth the efforts and not safe to keep it n the entryway the intended use of this piece of junk. This piece is going into trash.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice bench
 from Virginia,  Jul 31, 2014

The bench is very nice for the price. My husband was able to put it together as he is skilled in this area, but I am not sure I could have done it . But, it will serve the purpose I bought it for very well.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice bench- hard to assemble.
 from New Hampshire,  Feb 19, 2014

Ordered the light bench, color matches well. Only problem was some of the parts are difficult to assemble, pre-drilled holes for some of the pieces are not the right sizes and some screws on the inside are very difficult to get in (we just skipped them). Did experience some rubbing on one side of the bench as reported, I think because one side of the bench top pre-drilled holes did not line up and the screws went in crooked.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A Beautiful Bench!
 from Salt Lake City, Utah,  Feb 13, 2014

We have been delighted with our new storage bench. The wood is really beautiful and the quality is outstanding. It was darker than the picture shows, but we were happy with the medium color because it matched our family room better than light wood would have. It was relatively easy to put together and has a large storage area. It is easy to open and close and we did not experience any of the rubbing that was described in other reviews. We were able to find a cushion online that fits it perfectly and was the color we wanted. Overall, we have been very pleased and this beautiful piece of furniture is a nice addition to our house!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Top of bench scraps sides.
 from Irvine, CA,  Jan 9, 2014

The top of the bench, as others have described, scrapes the arms of the bench, leaving scratch marks and has even chipped part of the arm rest. Also, as mentioned by others, the color definitely does not come close to the color shown in the ad. It is a darker brown with little orange/gold coloring. The bench looks nice, and although easy enough to assemble, better quality control is needed when putting out products that need to be assembled by the average consumer.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice but Color not correct
 from Irvine, CA,  Jan 9, 2014

I wanted this bench for our entry hallway and people seem to like it. I expected a lighter tone, but it's just light brown. When you sit, the bench moves a lot, so I guess the legs are not of even length. I like the design but the color is a little bit boring and outdated.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Darker than pictured and poor quality
 from Boston, MA,  Oct 14, 2013

This bench is much darker than pictured and of poor quality and a total nightmare to put together. Should be labeled dark brown, not light.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
normandy light avalon
 from wilmington, ma,  Aug 8, 2013

i ordered the light avalon but i received the darker avalon.. that was the only issue otherwise the product looks great in the hallway.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Simply amazing deal!
 from New York,  Apr 24, 2013

This item was a steal, thank you overstock! Never thought buying solid wood furniture online for my new home could be this easy :-)

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? great!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Sturdy solid wood. I can't complain. After all benches and storage has to take a lot of beating so I cant trust Ikea furnitures.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exactly as I have imagined
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not a great quality piece.......
 from PA,  Apr 19, 2013

Bench was just OK quality. For the price, thought I would be getting a little better bench.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. not so good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great addition to the entryway!
 from Cedar Rapids, IA,  Apr 9, 2013

its a great new piece that i am using to store blankets in the livingroom/entryway. Definate space saver for a small apartment. With the cover joint ( metal bit to hold the lid from snapping) was a little looser when initially setting up. and the bottom was a more solid built .

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color was great,
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. general good quality, i was a little dissapointed to find that the bottom is more of a pressed wood, so its not as strong as i expected.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? fairly accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good buy!
 from Central Florida,  Feb 23, 2013

Very pleased with the finished product. The package was so light I didn't think it could be solid wood but it is. It was simple to put together & all parts, screws, etc. were there. Stain used was pleasant color and uniform throughout. Had a problem finding a cushion to fit it but what I ordered fits it perfect. I would definitely recommend this bench for a simple addition to anyone's home. It's not fancy by any means but it has an appealing look.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was spot on.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Pleased with solid wood construction. Should last a very long time.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? On site description was exactly as product we received.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful but lid poorly designed
 from San Francisco,  Jan 21, 2013

The color and style was as described. The color is lovely and looks like it does in the picture. The assembly was relatively straightforward. The bench loses stars because the lid is a very poor fit. It does not close all the way, leaving a small gap. Furthermore, it is not straight, causing the lid to scratch against the arms of the bench when it is opened or closed. All in all, for what I paid for it, not worth the money.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Norfolk Honey Brown Entryway Storage Bench
Sale $175.49
Was $194.99
Compare $369.99
Save 53%
(15)
Back to top