Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 56 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Meh - don't waste your money
 from washington DC,  Jun 6, 2013

This couch is super uncomfortable and cheap. Over time, the springs have come through and it no longer stays in the upright position without being leaned against a wall. When you buy a couch, you expect it to last for a least a few years. I've had this thing for about 1.5 years and it's barely holding up. What a piece of junk! Also, when you lay it flat to sleep on, the rods poke into your back. It's awful. And it looked great when I first got it, but the cloth is easily stained (e.g. WATER has stained this couch! I don't even understand how that is possible. But it is true.) and even though I have steam cleaned it, the stains remain. The material is very cheap. Don't buy it. I do not recommend this product to anyone.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I've had this couch for over a year. It is so uncomfortable and is not holding up over time. I'm very disappointed with the longevity of this product.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Usefull but not Comfortable
 from Lancaster, PA,  Feb 26, 2013

Best for basement or recreational use. Meaning I had it for less then a year in my living room where it gets much use and the cushion started sinking in after 4-6months of use. Not to mention you can feel EVERY piece of wood while sitting/laying. I loved the PLENTY of storage space underneath just wasnt practical for us.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was as expected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Cheap
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Not Specific on comfortability
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful addition to our living room
 from Beaverton Oregon,  Aug 31, 2012

This really helped us living in a small space to have storage in the living area and additional space for guests to sleep

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact colors
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It was well built
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? True to ad
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Review of Newman Sectional
 from Washington, DC,  Nov 1, 2011

This is the most uncomfortable couch I've ever felt. It feels as if you are sitting on a bench, straight up, at a 90 degree angle. The cushion, if you can even call it that, is hard and feels cheap. I am extremely disappointed and regret purchasing this couch.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Awful
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Not at all accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
do NOT buy
 Feb 27, 2011

I bought this couch because the price was attractive, it had room for storage, it folds flat to sleep on and I liked the chaise part of it. HOWEVER, the chaise is too short to comfortably stretch out (I'm not tall by any means). It 'look's comfy and soft but that is absolutely deceiving! This couch has to be the MOST uncomfortable couch on the planet!! It's almost as if they had forgotten to add stuffing?! Sleeping on it would be impossible unless you bought (as I did) a thick memory foam topper. My daughter stays over frequently. But....just to use it as a couch to watch TV on, etc. it is nearly unusable. I purchased a king-sized comforter that I fold twice so I can sit on my couch while watching TV! I also bought a thick pillow to lean against while sitting on that thing. It is so hard it hurts my back among other things if I try to sit on it without cushioning. All in all, I will NEVER buy a couch online again and most definitely NOT from this company! I kept hoping the couch would become more comfortable with use but it's useless. Since my free return date was some time in January I was offered either a $**** refund while keeping the couch or to return at at my own expense (~$**-$**). So......now I am stuck with a couch that looks nice but sucks to sit on! Please, please do NOT make the same mistake I did! Stay away from this thing! The only reason I gave it 1 star was because of the storage.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
not workh the $$$$$
 from Lemoore CA,  Jan 29, 2011

I purchased this set 1.5 years ago and it has fallen apart. I thought it would be great storage and it is, but the quality of the seats on the love seat have basically given way to just a hole in the cushions. I live alone there has been no major wear that has caused this to be so uncomfortable. I never used the set for a bed. I would not recommend this set to anyone that is looking for furniture that will last more than 12 months......not a good investment. If I did not have to pick one star - I would give it zero stars!!!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
OK for a lobby... if you don't like your customers
 from California,  Nov 28, 2010

*** Before I say anything else, I want to point out that you should beware of any glowingly positive review on this website that doesn't include specific details. Some of them are cross-posted verbatim on multiple items. *** Some basic shipping information. The couch shipped in two separate cardboard boxes (the "loveseat" and the "chaise") on a single pallet. There was no shipping damage at all. Each box weighed about 50 kg. After a friend helped me lug them up to my second-floor apartment, I unpacked and assembled them myself, although this was a bit of an adventure. ** The boxes say "Made in China" in big letters, and it really shows. This couch has the quality we've come to expect from cheap manufactured goods: they look fine on the outside, but the more you examine them the crummier they are. (Although for $700 I expected better.) The microfiber has a smooth sort of texture, unlike other microfiber couches I've seen, as if it were worn out and going bald. The leather claims to be real, but feels a bit like vinyl. The cushions are very firm for a couch, like an extra-extra-firm bed. They feel a little bit like that sculpted plastic packing foam that comes with expensive electronics. The two little cushions are reasonably soft, but they really showcase the unpleasant texture of the upholstery. ** The picture where they've unfolded the couch into a double bed is misleading, because they've included the ottoman (sold separately). Without the ottoman, you get approximately a twin-size, with the chaise forming a funky little nightstand. ** A word about the construction of the couch. The frame for each of the two sections is basically an open-topped box, apparently made of plywood and particleboard (I can't tell for sure because it's all covered in black cloth). The seat is attached to the sides of the box frame using a linkage that allows it to slide forward and tip back, exposing the storage space underneath. The two sections attach to each other and to the armrests using metal clasps also mounted to the sides of the boxes. The gliding-forward action is nice, but not enough; if you back the couch all the way up to the wall, you won't be able to open the storage area properly, let alone recline the back. ** The main assembly procedure is attaching the hard plastic feet. This is easy but very hit-or-miss: some of them inevitably don't fit quite right. I had to modify some of them with my drill just to make the screw cap fit into the molded recess. They also give you two goofy little angle brackets to attach the armrests with, but the first one was so flimsy and fit so poorly that I didn't see any reason to continue and install the second one. ** The open-topped box construction is simple and elegant, and provides lots of storage. It's also pretty flimsy. If I pull on the armrest, it. wobbles. If you accidentally kick it a few times from the inside, you might crack the box frame. If you're the handy sort, you can probably figure out a way to mount a metal brace across the entire width of both boxes to make them more rigid side-to-side, but if you don't do it right you'll probably just make the structural problems worse, so that it breaks in multiple places instead of just one. ** No part of the upholstery is removable for washing. They tell you to wipe it with a damp cloth, but I have a feeling that won't cut the mustard if you spill wine or something else that stains badly.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
newman sectional
 from colorado springs, co,  Oct 8, 2010

The picture of the couch is a lot nicer then the couch in person. Its really stiff and isnt wide enough for anyone over 5'5 to sit comfortably. then when you recline it you have to lay on one side or the other because you get a rod in your back otherwise. Kinda bummed I spent this much money on a couch that looks great but I would rather sit on the floor.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not worth the price
 from Ohio,  Sep 22, 2010

This couch is OK. That's the nicest thing I can say about it. The appearance is nice enough, but then you sit on it and realize the seat cushion is too short, the back is uncomfortable and the cushion isn't a cushion but a spring-set....there is no cushion! Thank god this is a game room sofa and not our main sofa. We are loyal Overstock customer, but are very displeased with this product. We also took advantage of the white-glove delivery service but found that when we realized we hated the couch, we also quickly realized that the delivery company took the packing materials! we had no box to return it in!!! crappy. We bought this couch approx 6 months ago and will be replacing it as soon as I can convince myself that the expense is worth it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
not built to last
 from Chicago,  Aug 29, 2010

I bought this over a year ago, at first it seemed really great - it is a good size for our small apartment, the storage underneath and the fact that it can become a bed were all good selling points for us and a fantastic idea for a downtown apartment. However, the sponge cushions are of a poor quality and after 6 months the springs stick through making it so uncomfortable and lumpy to sit on that it is hideous, and embarrasing to have guests sit on! I just bought a replacement from another store and I cannot wait to actually be able to relax in my living room.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gave It Away
 from DC,  Aug 13, 2010

I bought this sofa a year ago. It looks good on paper, but is really uncomfortable. There are much better sofas out there for less money. I went to a local furniture warehouse this week and bought a replacement and it is much more comfortable, better made, and was cheaper. I am giving this one away.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks better than it actually is
 from CA,  Jul 20, 2010

I almost bought this sofa, then I saw it avail at ***** so i went to try it out. It feels like a Hard Cardboard box, with Fabric over it. Very hard. Its an very economical sofa, but I'm very glad I did not buy this.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sad & DIsappointed
 from Boise, ID,  Jul 10, 2010

It is uncomfortable,especially at the spot the two come together. Also did not realize the ottoman was not part of the set It was shown in picture. When I went back to get one they were gone. Not happy at all with product or the Overstock site on this one!!!!!!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Disappointed
 Jul 7, 2010

It is uncomfortable,especially at the spot the two come together. Also did not realize the ottoman was not part of the set It was shown in picture. When I went back to get one they were gone. Not happy at all with product or the Overstock site on this one!!!!!!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cement Floor
 from Sandy, UT,  Jul 2, 2010

Sitting on this sofa is like sitting on a cement floor, returned it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
disappointed
 from Southern California,  Apr 13, 2010

I was disappointed in the couch. I ordered it because I couldn't find anything like it in the local stores. I wanted a small sectional like couch that could convert in to a bed. & I did get all that. However, the back of the couch looks completely unfinished. If it is not going against a wall, it looks bad. If it does go against a wall, then you need space behind it to convert it to a bed. Not very practical. Also the couch is very shallow. More so than I expected. Like the other reviews said, it is very firm. I don't really have a problem with that. It also is very upright. Just a few things a buyer should be aware of. The biggest issue for me is the unfinished back.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect
 from Newy York, Ny,  Apr 7, 2010

This is the perfect sectional for anyone. It fits in any room and is so useful. The storage and bed options make it even more attractive. Its built well and really comfortable. A must buy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Remarkable
 from Columbus, OH,  Mar 25, 2010

To all this was a remarkable purchase for my family room. It is well built, very deversified and extremly comfortable. I cant believe the price I have looked and looked and all I could find were used ones. Not anymore its a great piece of furniture that you'll never regreat !

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Do Not Buy This
 from Washington State,  Mar 25, 2010

Sitting on this piece of furniture is like sitting on a hardwood floor - stiff and uncomfortable. Definitely not worth the money.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Newman sectional
 from san Fracncisco,  Mar 22, 2010

I purchased it while it was on sale, very nice value and I am happy with it. It's nice, sturdy, and firm, it might be alittle too firm for some people, but I liked it. I am not particularly happy with the shipping process as it was very difficult to track down where it is and the link for large item shipping has absolutely no details.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 56 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought