Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 21-40 of 68 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
When it runs
 from Albuquerque, N.M.,  Jul 13, 2013

I have had this dehydrator for sometime now. It runs but overheats and the automatic safety shuts down the unit until it cools down. I can still use the product but I need to run an accesory fan close by like on the unit I would not recommend this brand to anyone I plan on buying a different brand as soon as I can afford it and not on Overstock.com

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
First time user - having fun experimenting!
 from San Francisco, CA,  Jun 20, 2013

I had never seen a food dehydrator before, let alone used one, and I'm enjoying the learning process. I have been experimenting with drying foods to take on backpacking trips, and have been drying apricots, nectarines, peaches, cherries, blueberries, kale, tofu, basil leaves, bananas and tofu. it's been really easy. I have been using parchment paper for small or more liquid foods, and it's been working fine. Although a recipe book comes with it, I've been looking on-line for additional ideas. As the fan is 'white noise' you might want to let it do its thing in a room where you don't need total silence. I am also considering using a plug-in timer to allow more flexibility for those times when I'm not around to switch it off. Bon appetit!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Spot on
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fabulous item
 from Billings, MT,  Jun 12, 2013

I've used this item hours and hours. It's worked amazingly, and is much quicker than my old retired model. It dehydrates evenly through all racks, and has been very impressive.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Amazing durability
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exact
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great value for the money
 from Northwest California,  May 25, 2013

I use this all the time to dry fruits, vegetables, and make my own beef jerky. I also got one for my son who has two new kids. He uses it for their snacks.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. works well
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This saved my bank account!
 from Linwood NJ,  Apr 30, 2013

My 2 dogs happen to love the dehydrated sweet potatoes I purchased from the pet store. At $12.95 a bag, I was going through at least 1.5 bags per week!! After experimenting with the thickness to cut the potatoes and tweeking the dehydrating time, I have been able to satisfy their love of the snacks and saving some $$, too!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? n/a
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent results and easy to clean.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great machine
 from whiting, n.j.,  Feb 22, 2013

I bought this product not knowing how many uses it had. I now buy extra veggies and fruit and keep them in my pantry for future use. I use the fruit with nuts for trail mix, the veggies for stews, soup etc. dehydrator helps me save money by utilizing every bit of food I buy. easy to use and very efficient, I would recommend this product to everyone...

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. i use this product on a regular basis. it is reliable
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? the description is why i purchased this product.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A wellmade item
 from San Diego,  Dec 17, 2012

My daughter wanted one for Christmas and I saw this one and got it. It's well made and looks like it will clean up easily. Smart design

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. solidly made
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
works well
 from Ohio,  Dec 14, 2012

I waited longer than i thought to receive this item, because of hurricane Sandy. I do like the item, I feel the air blowing down from the top works better. When I opened the box it was not sealed in a plastic bag, no protection, I didn't like that. Also I have had dehydrators before and they included one mesh tray and also a tray for liquid, this had neither. The item works fine, is not too loud, I just wish It had a protective plastic covering and the mesh tray and the liquid tray most come with. Then I probably would have given a better review. Yes i would recommend this to a friend, it works, but also would maybe say, ask more questions, just because it shows certain things like the mesh and liquid tray, doesn't mean you are getting them.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It seems sturdy enough
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Close - except for one item
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I am happy
 from Barnstead, NH,  Dec 5, 2012

I needed to upgrade my dehydrator and I was skeptical. The cleaning process can be very tedious. But this cleans up quickly and with the motor, it dries out my jerky much more quickly. The money spent was VERY well worth it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? not applicable
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. so far I am very happy with the product. did an excellent job for us
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? do not remember
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great inexpesive dehydrator.
 from toledo, ohio,  Nov 20, 2012

i thought i just did, however i used it to create my proprietary blend of of hot pepper flakes including Tabasco, Thia, cayenne, ancho, and ghost peppers. the flavor was far better than drying them in the oven. (it is too humid with unpredictable sunshine in my area to sun dry them at the end of the growing season).

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? me thinks this is a dumb question
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. no problems,
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent dehydrator
 from Utah,  Nov 10, 2012

This dehydrator is perfect for all kinds of dehydrating. It does fruit chips in a snap and makes delicious jerky that's easy to prepare. It's very well made. It does get a little hot after its been running all day, but I just put a wood cutting board underneath and it keeps my counter from getting too hot. It's a great value. I had done some research before hand and knew I wanted a Nesco dehydrator. This one comes with plenty of trays, and the option to buy more if needed. I have had it for a few months now and have used it regularly and it works wonderful. If you are not familiar to dehydrators, it does make a low humming/fan noise while its running, but it doesn't bother us. It's really about as noisy as a small fan on low. It's a wonderful product and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a dehydrator!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very high quality. Is was easy to clean, and is very easy to work. Made of high quality plastic.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate and exactly what I received.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dehydrator
 from FL,  Oct 31, 2012

This is my first experience with dehydrating foods. I used a simple mandolin to cut apples thin and sliced a carton of strawberries. The berries were much longer to dry but all in all a good process. the equipment was simple easy to clean. I have not tried to make jerky yet but suspect this will be easy as well. A good first machine at a good price.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? As Expected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? As Expected
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not enough trays
 from Utah,  Oct 22, 2012

Everything works like it should so far. I like it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Works like it should, just need more trays and overstock.com doesn't have them for purchase.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
dehydrator
 from Oregon,  Jan 29, 2012

not as good as expected, thought it would be better quality build not so thin and flimsy. I'm afraid i will break it when i wash it and i won't let my daughter use it because of that,

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. works good, but is loud, and gets hot
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? i like it but for what i paid it should've been better
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great for making beef jerky
 from Mass,  Jan 28, 2012

work great for making beef jerky. We use it all the time.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. decent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Positive Review
 from Santa Maria, California,  Nov 15, 2011

I have had a Ronco Dehydrator and the Nesco product is of better quality. The noise level is minimal. I am happy to have made the purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Equal
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very happy with quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
perfect for me
 from Barre, MA,  Nov 1, 2011

This is great for what I do. It dries my herbs in almost no time. I have had great success with this machine so far. It is quiet for a dehydrator as well. I love it!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product for the price
 from Salt Lake City, Utah,  Oct 24, 2011

I bought this to dry herbs I have in my herb garden. It did a great job for what i wanted to use it for and it dried the herbs very quickly.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
NESCO FD-35 SNACKMASTER DEHYDRATOR
 from northern West Virginia,  Oct 24, 2011

I am completely satisfied with this dehydrator. It serves my purpose on drying small quantites. I used it for drying herbs and will be drying fruits.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is good, no problems with outcome of items dried.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate description.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I dehydrated applies after soaking them in pineapple juice and they came out as a good snack. The vegetables did not turn crispy, even after quite a few hours past the recommended time, but can be used in soups. Am not interested in doing the beef jerky so will not comment on that. Overall, it was a nice product and I enjoyed the apples.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. nice product
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 21-40 of 68 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought