Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 66 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
It Works
 from TX,  Oct 13, 2010

So far I have dried squash and banana chips, my son made jerky. All have turned out nicely. It does take a long time to dry things though, figure over night and then some. It isn't very noisy about like a microwave oven, and it doesn't get too hot to touch. Make sure you have plenty of shelf space to allow for the drier and ventilation for cooling. I am having fun with it and enjoying my healthy dried snacks. If you want to experiment with drying food it is a good starting point.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it
 from South Florida,  Oct 9, 2011

While searching for dehydrators, to make chicken jerky for my dog, I came across this one. I knew Nesco had a good reputation, but I had second thoughts after placing the order because I read about so many other ways to make jerky without a dehydrator. As I waited for this to arrive I experimented with making it in the oven. Am I GLAD I got this! So much quicker, and easier! My friend said her dehydrator took 6-7 hours and mine was done in less than 3. The jerky is a safer alternative to treats imported from China, and I highly recommend people take the time to make their own. So far I love this! Will be making another batch this week.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Product!
 from Orlando, FL,  Apr 8, 2010

I'm a novice to the food dehydrating world, so this product was perfect for me! The instructions were easy, and I made healthy banana and apple "chips" that were delicious! The noise level is comparable to the dishwasher running, which didn't bother me. I would recommend putting the machine on a heat-resistant surface (I used my glass-top oven) as it gets very hot while running. Overall, it was a great value for the money, and I would recommend the Snackmaster to anyone!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
My first dehydrator & I love it!
 from Heth, AR,  Feb 27, 2011

This is my first dehydrator and so far I think it is great. The first week I had it I used it nonstop. I dehydrated everything I could think of. Fruits, veggies, and even marshmallows. I was worried that it would be to loud, because some of the other reviews stated so. I guess because I had expected it to be very loud, it just really is not that loud to me. I have not made jerky in it. We are not jerky fans. I purchased it to preserve veggies and herbs from my garden, and I think it is going to be perfect for that. I was also surprised at how fast it dried my veggies. I checked out many different ones before buying this one, and I do not think I could have found another one that was any better. I LOVE it!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Positive
 from Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina,  Sep 4, 2011

I am extremely happy w/this product. Makes jerky much faster than indicated..which is the main reason I bought. Drying fruit took longer than indicated, but worked non the less. Cleaning unit is fast and easy. For the price, this product is a steal! Delivery was faster than expected. Thank you Overstock!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Works great, clean up is easy. Great product!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Exactly what you'd expect
 from Austin, TX,  Aug 24, 2012

It's simple and effective, exactly what I was looking for.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The 35 Snackmaster Dehydrator is a GREAT product
 from New Philadelphia, PA,  Feb 1, 2012

After reading many reviews on this site and other sites, I finally decided on the Nesco American Harvest FD-35 Food Snackmaster Dehydrator. Received it 1/31/12 and immediately went to store to buy apples and bananas to test the product. The instructions were so easy, clean up was a snap and the finished products tasted so good. I can't wait to make beef jerky. Package includes a booklet with instructions, recipes, food, herb and flower suggestions and the ingredients to prepare the beef jerky.This product is more than worth the price.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice dehydrator
 from North Carolina,  Jan 15, 2012

Product was as described, works well and has been used often.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? As shown.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This was a gift for my granddaughter and has worked well for her. She is interested in natural foods and snacks for her young daughter.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pleased with product
 from philadelphia ,pa,  Jan 10, 2012

Great product recommend highly arrived promptly performed as expected

  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best dehydrator on the market
 from FL & NH New Hampshire,  Dec 13, 2011

Did a lot of research on line and found this Snackmaster to be the best............love it so far I even bought one for our daughter for Christmas .......I know she'll love it too.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I like it
 from Nashville,  Nov 30, 2011

Some posters have complained about the volume of the fan - hmmm, it's a little loud - it is in my kitchen,which is next to my livingroom, and I wouldn't want to watch TV with it running - however, since it takes several hours to dry the fruits I want, I turn it on at night and it is done in the mornng. The fan really helps the drying process and nothing sticks to the trays like my old dehydrator. I am very satisfied with it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Identical
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Works well
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
dehydrator
 from stockton ca.,  Sep 23, 2011

this was large enough for two lbs. of hamburger made into jerky. works very well, wouldi reccomend it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? white is white
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. fine
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Satisfied
 Jan 1, 2011

This dehydrator was a great purchase! Fantastic purchase and I have already used it for Jerky and fruit. Dries food quickly but kind of noisy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works very well
 from St. John's, NL,  Sep 25, 2012

I have used this produce several times with very good results. I plan to use it again in future.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Feedback on Nesco Dehydrator
 from Singapore,  Sep 14, 2012

My wife loves the dehydrator. So do I. We have been using it since the day we received and have been still trying out different types of food. The only set back is I will need to but a converter that set up the voltage from 110v to 230v. And it have to be 425watt and above. Hence I got to spend more to get the Dehydrator start working. Overall, WE LOVE IT.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Similar as what I had seen.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It was good to use. My wife loves it.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? As what you had seen.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for jerky
 from Massachusetts,  Sep 1, 2012

I've used this twice now for jerky. Works very well. Dried thin slices (first time) very quickly. The second time I used it, I used the full chicken tender pieces, which were uneven in thickness. It did eventually dry, but next time I will make the thickness more consistent and expect better results.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exactly as described
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This is the best economy food dehydrator available
 from Emmetsburg, IA,  Feb 21, 2012

If you are looking for a fast, efficient economy food dehydrator, this one is for you. I purchased two of theese units for preparing beef jerky and I was able to do each batch in about 4-5 hours. This unit works perfectly with the fan convection motor built in. I would reccomend this unit to anyone wanting to own a dehydrator on a economy budjet. Overstock.Com made it even easier as they had the best price overall when figuring your total cost of this unit with tax and shipping. Thanks O.Co

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect Match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality is what you would expect for an appliance at this price point
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exact Match
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works well - doesn't take long to dehydrate
 from Selah, WA,  Dec 16, 2013

I've used this a lot since I purchased it, and I have to say that I'm pretty satisfied with the product. I've dried fruits, herbs and jerky in it - all have been successful, and have taken less time than the instructions/manual quoted (so be sure to check it often). I packed the trays full with herbs this year, and ran it consecutively, and it did just fine. The trays are dishwasher-safe, which is a major plus (my husband does the dishes, so if it's not dishwasher-safe, it won't get washed). The trays aren't the most durable, hence the 4 star rating, so I highly recommend being careful when removing them from the dishwasher, etc. One of my trays has a small crack in it but it still stacks fine with the other trays, and serves its purpose.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
When it runs
 from Albuquerque, N.M.,  Jul 13, 2013

I have had this dehydrator for sometime now. It runs but overheats and the automatic safety shuts down the unit until it cools down. I can still use the product but I need to run an accesory fan close by like on the unit I would not recommend this brand to anyone I plan on buying a different brand as soon as I can afford it and not on Overstock.com

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
First time user - having fun experimenting!
 from San Francisco, CA,  Jun 20, 2013

I had never seen a food dehydrator before, let alone used one, and I'm enjoying the learning process. I have been experimenting with drying foods to take on backpacking trips, and have been drying apricots, nectarines, peaches, cherries, blueberries, kale, tofu, basil leaves, bananas and tofu. it's been really easy. I have been using parchment paper for small or more liquid foods, and it's been working fine. Although a recipe book comes with it, I've been looking on-line for additional ideas. As the fan is 'white noise' you might want to let it do its thing in a room where you don't need total silence. I am also considering using a plug-in timer to allow more flexibility for those times when I'm not around to switch it off. Bon appetit!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Spot on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 66 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top