Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 91 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Fit for a Queen
 from NYC,  Nov 1, 2012

I love my new bed. I had to write this review b/c its the reviews that convinced me to make this purchase. My last bed lasted 10 years & im certain this will endure as long if not longer. It adds a dramatic flair to any room & is so strong & sturdy. i weigh almost 300 lbs alone & the bed didnt budge 1 bit once we 'christened' it. Order it & enjoy!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect So Far
 from Phoenix, AZ,  Dec 20, 2011

My fiance and I are very picky, we went back and forth on a few styles of beds for a long time. We wanted romantic, yet modern and clean- lined. Achieving this with a canopy bed can be tricky. This bed was a perfect meeting of both desires. You can dress this bed up or down. The only downside (my fiance is currently overseas) is that contrary to the other reviews, I found building the bed a bit tedious. Using the included 4 mm hex wrench for tightening the screws was hard on my fingers. I had used an allen wrench before, but not the little hex wrench. I admit, it is a very clever way of screwing in a straight screw from an angle, but the edges definitely left my fingers a little irritated. Also, I wish the description could include the information that a rubber mallet is needed so I could have bought it prior to delivery and not had to run to the hardware store before I could begin the build process (because I was so excited to see my new bed finished!) In the end, however, it was worth it and I managed to build and assemble all the pieces myself. Not to mention, it looks expensive, but has an awesome price. The end result is a dream, I love sleeping in this bed and it makes me feel like a princess/ duchess/ queen while still having the style of the modern world :)

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same as picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Beautiful
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate, surprised there aren't already more reviews on this one.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Where do I start?! Well, my husband and I searched far and wide for a black canopy bed to go along with my black vanity mirror. We came across many and they were either too extravagant, too old school, too expensive or claimed to be black and were actually a dark brown wood. Then I came across the canopy in Crate and Barrel, I looked at that bed for months before I came across this one in Overstock. I liked the one in Crate but it was a bit on the pricey side. I read these reviews and again, like I said this picture does the bed absolutely NO justice! It is so sexy, elegant, sleek and sturdy! This bed took me and my husband three hours to build . The only extra tool that we needed was a hammer. I do recommend that if you have wood or tile floors you lay a sheet on the floor so as not to scratch the bed. We didn't do this and now we have a small scratch on the head board, easy fixing though,all we'll need is a little black wood paint. Hey, for the price! You can't beat it! As for the bed not having enough storage space on the bottom because of how low it is to the ground, we fixed that by buying black bed risers from home depot. It raised it really beautifully and did not take away the look of the bed. As a matter of fact it blends in quite nicely, and if you ask me a higher bed gives the room more elegance! =) Well, that's it. I am now off to go enjoy my bed. If you would like to see pictures of our room visit me on Facebook. Look for Xabelina Vargas. Happy slumber all!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color is exact. I would recommend overstock taking a closer picture of the bed so that the consumer can actually see the beauty of the black finish.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It's made out of solid wood. So the quality is right on! Not a flimsy bed at all! Very sturdy!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was very accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great quality and nice sleek looking canopy bed
 from Nashville, TN,  Nov 11, 2012

The reviews of this bed are what really sold us, and we have to concur; this is a great high quality bed for an even better price! We didn't have any problems putting it together. My husband and I did it in a couple of hours. The bed is solid wood and has a simple sleek look. We bought it because it had a modern element that we could not find in many other canopy beds and of course it's price! We found similar beds at places like Crate and Barrel or Pottery Barn for more than twice as much. We are very pleased with this purchase and are happy to have found a bed that will last many years to come.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? it's definitely black
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. exceeded our expectations
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? could have given a slightly better description, the reviews are what sold the bed for us
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LOVE this bed
 from South Dakota,  Jun 22, 2012

I love this bed! I have wanted a canopy bed my whole life, and when i was in a position to buy one, I searched and searched and searched local furniture stores...i found one that was almost $$$$, but that was all. So I started looking online, and found this one. The price was so affordable for this type of bed, so I ordered it. In between hitting the "order button" and receiving it, i went thru various stages of buyers remorse..."omg, i should never have done that!" "this is never going to work- it will be a piece of junk!" "if its no good, i will send it back." I do have to say that the shipping was a bit awkward, with 2 of the 3 boxes arriving on time and one taking an additional week to arrive. But when the boxes all came, i sat down to put it together. My daughter helped me and in 2 hours we had it put together. Yes, the hex screws are a pain, but do anchor things very securely. I was stunned at the fact that every piece is solid wood- no laminate, no particle board, all solid wood! And has a beautiful finish! You really do need 2 people to put this together and ideally should have an additional 4mm allen wrench, so you can both screw hex screws in at the same time. Every morning when I look at this bed, i am in awe that I have it, that I bought it and it was awesome! There are not very many things in life that are what they say they are, when you buy them- this bed is one of them! I LOVE it! Buy it without reservation! you will love it too :)

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. amazing
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? totally accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Better Than Expected
 from Atlanta, GA,  Sep 5, 2014

I was very weary about ordering such a large piece of furniture online however the positive reviews really helped me make the decision to purchase this bed. The bed arrived in three very heavy boxes. I couldn't physically lift the boxes upstairs on my own (I'm a woman, 5'6 120lbs) so I carried a few pieces at a time upstairs. The heaviest piece was the headboard. The directions were really easy to follow. As other reviewers stated, not nearly enough glue comes with this bed so make sure you have your own super glue or wood glue handy. I personally used wood glue. The hardest part about assembly was using the Allen wrench at awkward angles at time. I did most of the assembly on my own however I did receive assistance with attaching the side rails to the headboard because it is just easier having somebody hold the side rails in place. I would say assembly took me 2 1/2 hours. Initially I was scared the this piece of furniture would not be sturdy enough, but as pieces were assembled together it became more and more sturdy and transformed into a beautiful solid piece of furniture. This bed is so beautiful. I now walk into my bedroom and cannot believe it is mine. It really looks elegant and glamorous. If you are on the fence about ordering this like I was, go ahead and DO IT! You will not regret it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice quality, look is sharp
 from Massachusetts,  Apr 4, 2013

This was a gift to my partner, The instructions were fine, the assemble was seamless. It's sturdy and it looks great. Only one comment on improvement would be the connection screws and relief for the allen wrench was too tight. Although they supplied a ball ended wrench for angle usage, it was still too tight. As with all other mass produced furniture, I've learned to run the screws through the nuts/captive nuts/bosses prioer to assembly to take off burs and nicks that make it difficult to turn. That's the only small gripe, it's a great bed and I would highly recommend it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? spot on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality of the materials and manufacturing is great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? nothing to add, description matched the product perfectly
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Bed
 from Green Bay, WI,  Sep 30, 2012

I was very nervous about ordering from website without looking in person. I read the reviews and too was looking at the canopy bed at Crate and Barrel. After reading the reviews I thought I would try it out and am extremely pleased!! Very excellent quality, great price and fast shipping. Would recommend to anyone.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality, very sturdy and solid
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love the bed, hated the assembly
 from NY, NY,  Feb 16, 2012

Now that I finally have the bed up and have been sleeping in it for a few weeks, I love it. Its beautiful, and super sturdy (important since we all know what we'll be doing in the canopy bed once we feel like a princess). This thing barely moves if you push it. However, it was a nightmare to put together. It has you use a hex wrench to put in all these bolts, but the place that you screw the bolts in is inside of a 3 inch long, 1 inch deep trench, which means using the hex wrench is EXTREMELY laborious. you have to maneuver it inside the trench, which is ok to do for 1, but after 30 you realize you might not get laid when this thing is finally put together (at least not if you make your boyfriend/husband help you). All in all, now that the aggravation of assembly is fading into the past. I'm happy. My room looks great, my boyfriend doesnt think its too girly to sleep in, and I have my princess bed. The black looks great, and it is real stained wood, not a laminate. Enjoy!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? acurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great quality, except the mechanism to put it together was unbeleivable annoying
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? acurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Affordable Hollywood glamour
 from San Francisco, CA,  Jan 31, 2012

After pricing beds in many retailers, I came across this one on overstock and it was a great deal. There was only one review, but it was good so i took the chance. The boxes arrived quickly - just 2 days after I ordered. Its elegant, looks expensive and is very sturdy quality wood. It brings a real modern hollywood glamour feel my apartment. Be aware, it comes in three boxes that are VERY heavy..and assembly definitely requires two people. The good news is it comes with easy to follow instructions, extra screws and dowels and a special wrench. You'll need your own rubber mallet to hammer it together. Also, clearance under the bedframe is only 3 1/2 inches so dont plan on storing anything underneath. Overall, I'm very happy with this product!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. sturdy, solid seems more expensive than it it
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love our canopy bed!!!!!
 from Kirksey, KY,  Apr 24, 2014

This was a great deal considering how pretty it is and feels sturdy. The labor was not bad at all, but this is a 2 person job!!! Me and my husband did team work and it went by real quick! Our super glue got a hole in it but no bigs we got wood gorilla glue so it wasn't a big deal. While I glued and pegged before you put everything like a puzzle, he would do the screws. The only hard part of getting it together was holding the ends of the bed and trying to glue and put the sides on, this is when u need two people one holding one end and the other the other end. Make sure the ends are still pushed together and at least some screwed on before letting go one end. Our bed is a about 12in foam bed with the slats already with the bed we needed stabilization so we got plywood(pretty descent width) to over the slats and then put or bed and it's so pretty!!! Did not need no box springs, which put pillows did not slide back from bottom of head board to put bed, but there is open space. We will be putting curtains in the end to make it more romantic. Shipping took a week after placing an order, it came in three boxes wasn't that heavy. Overall, love our bed, the price, look, and even the quality of the bed frame is excellent! Since we couldn't find really anything less than $600 that's a canopy bed where it could be considered a platform(no need box spring). If I could attach a picture on how it looks like I would! LOVE IT!!!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Quality A+++
 from Palm Beach Gardens, Fl,  Mar 11, 2014

A great experience the moment we opened the box. All the pieces were stacked in perfect order and in accordance to the enclosed instructions which offered detailed steps: Grouping pieces and Assembling. No missing hardware. In fact, extra parts were included. I strongly suggest investing in a rubber mallet (hammer), if you don't own one, as it was a huge part of getting the job done correctly without damaging the dowels. Also, BUY glue! I used E6000 Craft Adhesive, 2 oz. The glue included in box will not last. I'm a DIY single mom, with a seemingly lackadaisical 18yrs old daughter; therefore, at first, the size of the bed was a bit overwhelming. However, the easy to understand instructions encouraged my daughter to lay out the bed frame in the order as labeled (A,B,C...). It took a total of 4 hours to erect the bed. My daughter read the instructions and I did the most of the labor. The areas that slowed us down was when we used the hand tool (included with hardware) to tighten the bolts; not very efficient or manageable. I had a special tool that helped rotate (although still awkward). In tight or hard to reach positions, it was useful that I'm left handed and my daughter's right handed. Finally, lifting the headboard and footboard and attaching the side rails was easier then expected, if planned ahead. The bed is sturdy and no fear of coming unhinged. Rock soild. I wish I could attach a photo of the bed because it's beyond our expectations! The bed frame is low and the headboard is tall which may give the appearance of oversize if paired with a thin mattress set (personal opinion). We stacked two box-springs and pillow mattress with plenty of headboard exposed; it looks awesome! If I could put the bed in my living room and show it off, I would. <3

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very happy with Napa bed
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Feb 26, 2013

Overall very happy with the bed, ordering process, etc. My one comment, as others have noted, is that it takes a long time to assemble. If you have a battery powered screwdriver, invest in a universal drive and allen bit. Assembling the bed with the round head allen wrench is tedious and maddening! Now that it is build, it is great.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome product, great customer service
 from Las Vegas, NV,  Feb 13, 2013

this was my first purchase with overstock.com, after reading the reviews i was very confident everything would turn out okay, which it did! I received this bed and it came on time and was much better quality than i had expected! there was one canopy slat that was broken in half though, so i called customer service and they took care of it ASAP and sent me a new one.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. better than expected
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love It!!!!!!
 from Friendswood, Tx,  Feb 26, 2012

Beautiful, Nice, Sleek look. Just what I wanted and this canopy bed went beyond my expectations. Very sturdy, completely worth the money. I am very happy with this purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? A+
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I love my bed!
 from Houston, Texas,  Dec 5, 2011

I love this bed! I have wanted a black canopy bed for a while and I am so happy that O.Co had it. I received it on Friday morning and slept in it Friday night. It was packaged very well and was very easy to assemble. All the pieces are finished to perfection. It is very close to the Pavillion Canopy bed, but at half the price. Great product. Great Value. Merry Christmas to me!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Value for the Price
 from Houston, TX,  Oct 9, 2014

Takes a little intuition to assemble, instructions are not perfect and I have heard that dis-assembly may be hard due to the super glue issue. Overall, I am satisfied, and have had it for 3 nights and no complaints.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bed!
 from Texas,  Sep 27, 2014

The bed was definitely a puzzle to put together but turned out great in the end. You have to actually glue and dowel the pieces together and they don't send enough glue so make sure you have some handy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Satisfied!
 from Wayne, N.J.,  Aug 3, 2014

This is a solid, well made bed with exceptional presence. Did not bother using the glue for the assembly as it did not seen necessary - a rubber mallet, however, definitely is. Assembly took about 2 hours. Only issue was one of the pre-drilled holes that was supposed to be in a wood slat used to support the box spring/mattress was missing. Since the hole is necessary for a support leg to be installed make sure you have a screw gun and drill bits handy too. Other than that, there were no major issues.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Canopy Bed 07/25/14
 from Bronx, NY,  Jul 25, 2014

It is beautiful!! Very sturdy, and exact color shown in the picture. The planks provided for the support of the bed are somewhat to weak for my taste, so i just bought plywood and now its perfect. I'm a 5 foot 6, 20 year old female and i was able to set it up myself within a day with the small help of my little sisters lol. So if you don't mind the plank minor detail, this is a great buy. Very happy with my purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 91 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought