Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 140 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Good Bed
 from Dallas,  Mar 20, 2010

This bed is solid, a good value and well designed. I put it together by myself in about an hour with only a phillips head screw driver. The slats system is made from good wood and is well designed. The exterior boards look good and are good quality wood. The instructions are just fine. One of the drawings has one of the washers mislabeled but that was easy to figure out. Also the diagram shows that the places where the wood screws go into the side frame have pre-drilled holes to go into - they are in fact not pre-drilled but the wood screws are self-starting and really don't need to have pre-drilled holes. These are just minor discrepancies in the instructions. The bed looks just like the photos when assembled. It does not look inexpensive. One thing to note - the mattress sits on slats that are 6 inches from the floor. Do not be confused to thinking the mattress will sit 11 inches off the floor. The slats are inside the bed frame and therefore the mattress sits 6 inches off the floor. The top of the bed frame is at 11 inches.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Average bed
 from New York, NY,  Jun 25, 2011

I’ve had this platform bed for a few weeks now. It took 7-10 days to arrive in one delivery of two boxes. The biggest challenge is assembling the bed. The instructions say you need 2 people to assemble the bed. I agree. Unfortunately, it was just me. I consider myself good at putting things together and using tools, and it took me 1.75 hours to assemble the bed. There were a couple of reasons for why it was challenging to put the bed together. First, the instructions aren’t super clear. If you don’t pay attention to the details, you can make a mistake. That’s what happened to me, and I think it added 30 minutes to my time. The second problem is that the boards are heavy. If you plan to assemble the bed on your own, make sure you are strong enough to hold the planks together while putting in the screws. I ended up using a stack of books to prop up the planks, but it wasn’t easy. The bed is made of some kind of wooden composite. It’s neither plywood nor pure wood (as far as I can tell), but it seems fairly solid. After sleeping on the bed for a few weeks, the bed has been stable. I think it probably will hold up for a long time. [NOTE: I’m a relatively still sleeper and I haven’t been “aggressively moving ” on the bed. For more “active” bed users, you might end up with a different opinion of the bed’s stability.] The bed doesn’t have much space underneath it. Storing items or trying to vacuum underneath the bed might be difficult. The design of the bed is basic and minimalist. It’s simply a rectangle with 4 legs. If you’re looking for something to accent your bedroom, this isn’t the bed for you. Overall, I think you are getting what you pay for in this bed. Nothing more, nothing less.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy Assembly
 from Richlands,NC,  Dec 27, 2009

This bed came well packaged and with clear directions. The bed was purchased for our 15 year old son who picked it out,and he loves it!!! We read the reviews and remembered the advice of a fellow overstock customer who mentioned not to unbind the support slats (they come tied together.) GREAT ADVICE. This bed was assembled in less than 45minutes by mother and son;o) The style is very simple and very clean...perfect for a minimalist.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bed
 from Utah,  Oct 18, 2012

The cost of platform beds vary greatly. This Murray bed was 1/4 the cost of what I had paid somewhere else for my oldest daughter's bed (it was a different brand). When my younger daughter begged for a platform bed like her sister's, I was feeling poor and couldn't justify spending a lot. I took a chance on the Murray bed and prayed it would pass the test. It did! We've had it for a year now and it's held up just fine. We also bought the side tables. They seemed expensive at first, but they make the bed look nice and are the best option for her room. The tables make it a little hard to get the fitted sheet on but not impossible. If it's in the way just lift the table out, put the sheet on then replace the table. It's not that hard. My daughter's and I'm happy. This was a good purchase and I'd buy it again.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good so far
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
ideal
 from upstate New York,  Jan 18, 2011

I found this bed frame simple to assemble using the hex key provided and a power screwdriver. I'm an average 40ish woman and did it mostly myself -- my 8-yr-old helped hold up the rails for final assembly. I've been sleeping on it for 2wks and find it solid with no creaks (I hate creaks!!). The bed is very low--can't fit any of those under-bed storage containers beneath it. I am using it with a standard innerspring mattress only. It is just exactly what I wanted, and so much cheaper than similar products from other shops.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I'll second that.
 from Las Vegas, NV,  Nov 18, 2011

I'd just like to second what johnwwi from Dallas said and add just a thing or two. Very nice bed for the money and would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants a quality, stylish, minimalist bed. The things to add are this: 1. Yes, the slats sit 6" off the floor, but if you want to slide anything under the bed you only have just over 5" of clearance under the rails from outside the bed. Be aware of that if you want to put storage beneath it (I still can't find any bins I like that are that low profile). I suppose you could put lifts under the legs, but I don't know that I'd like the look. 2. As stated, some of the places where the slats are to be screwed to the side rails are not per-drilled and, as stated, the screws are self starting so it becomes a non-issue. However, because the majority of slats are not screwed in at all, you will sometimes get a *clack* when you flop into bed as the slats contact the rail. A very minor annoyance, but I plan on matching up the screws, drilling some pilot holes, and screwing them all down. Do this once the bed is completely assembled (and after their pre-drilled sites are screwed in to assure proper allignment) and your bed will be completely solid and silent. 3. The only minor screw-up I had when assembling this bed was not realizing the bolts holding the head/foot boards to the side rails get two washers—one flat, one locking. Had to go around and take each out and fix the oversight, but even then it only took about an hour to assemble on my own, not counting unboxing and a quick wipe-down of the components (damn styrofoam....grrr). Easier with two people, but most certainly doable with one if you are at all mechanical. Again, very good value for the money...recommended!!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Spot on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Spot on
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice bed
 from OH,  Dec 31, 2012

I bought this bed for my son's room with the matching nightstand. While it is truly a minimalist bed, it is seemingly well made and fairly easy to assemble. The only issue with assembly is attaching the center support to the slats - a couple extra hands in this process would help. Only time will tell if it stands up to the rigors of my 15 yr. old son, but I think it has a nice chance. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a platform bed for a spare bedroom or teen's room.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Well
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Nice
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy set up
 from Jacksonville, FL,  Sep 12, 2012

we bought this bed for a small spare room, hoping the scale would not fill up the room entirely. Didn't realize the matching nightstand actually attaches to the bed- probably not my favorite feature, but can be moved to either side- but can't be used as a "stand alone" piece of furniture. Overall, I'm pleased with the value and quality of this furniture.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. better than expected quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
this bed is very simple but sturdy and comfy
 from Dallas,Texas,  Feb 25, 2012

We purchased this bed for our teenage son who grew out of his full size bed over the summer and seems to keep growing! It is perfect for him( he requested no foot board- for obvious reasons) and we placed an 8inch o.com memory foam mattress on top. He bounced down the stairs the next morning and said it was the best night's sleep he's had in a very long time. The bed took less than 30 min to assemble (2people) only to hold side boards straight while attaching ends. It is clean and simple and helps keep his room looking relatively neat. I would definitely recommend this bed for a no nonsense teenage room, dorm or occasional guest bed. Thanks o.com, we got what we wanted and stayed within the budget. Forever o.com shopper!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color was as pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality dark wood is beautiful.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? description was very accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Bed
 from San Diego, Ca,  Jan 18, 2010

Looks amazing. Very very sturdy, and our guests love it. Just as a note, it is very low down on the ground. Before my elderly parents came into town, I purchases a box springs for the mattress to raise the height. Now it's gorgeous and easier to get in and out of.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it.........
 from midwest,  May 10, 2013

I ordered on Sunday and it was here by Tuesday,amazing! It took me and my husband less than an hour to put together. We love it,it is low with just the mattress but it's very comfortable. It comes with four legs for the middle support and is solid as a rock. The slat supports are half inch thick plywood like wood but they are solid! We ordered the black and it is spot on black. I was leery of ordering online furniture but this bed is worth it to us. Now when he rolls over in bed I don't even feel the mattress move like our old metal frame bed. Like I said...this bed is SOLID. I rate it at excellent!!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? spot on
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect for what we needed!
 from Port Washington, Wi,  Oct 24, 2012

We were looking for a lower end platform bed because we needed more support for our mattress. This was the perfect choice. Easy to put together and very comfortable.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very rich
 from Jacksonville Beach , FL,  Oct 19, 2014

Very rich looking and built to be extremely sturdy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mjurray Queen-size Platform Bed - an excellent buy
 from Phoenix, Arizona,  Nov 28, 2013

I LOVE this bed-frame! It is beautiful, well constructed and easy to assemble. Everything was packaged nice, came in two boxes so not too heavy for me to handle. Instructions were specific and easy to follow - pictures really did help.I am a 67 year old woman and although the instructions indicate this is a "two-person" job to assemble, I did it by myself in about an hour! I did use a small child step stool (my grandson uses at the bathroom sink to brush his teeth, etc.) to support the frame at one end while I attached the other. I put both a box spring and mattress on this frame (weighing probably 200 pounds) and it makes it so much easier to make the bed now that it is higher off the floor. This frame easily supports 600 pounds. I really feel I got a great deal for the money and highly recommend this product to anyone needing a platform bedframe. Great deal for the price!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Will fit your needs
 from Birmingham, AL,  Nov 13, 2013

This was a great purchase. I am a broke student and needed a bed that would be cheap, but look good. This fits the bill. It's sturdy and I haven't noticed any squeaks. I put it together with my sister and we were done in maybe 30 mins. It is also very light once it's put together, so I can change up the layout of my bedroom easily. I was very impressed with how fast it shipped.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bed for the price
 from New York, NY,  Sep 17, 2013

The mahogany bed looks just like it does in the picture. It took a few minutes to put the bed together with one person. The wood slats are close enough together that my memory foam sleep number bed does not need a boxspring. There is just enough room under the bed to hide/store some items. My only complaint is the smell. The smell is so bad it is enough for me to remove one star. It has been in our home for over a week now and it still stinks. Still, it's a great bed for the price and it looks really nice. I would recommend it. Just be sure to air it out first.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful and comfortable
 from Cedar hill, tx,  Sep 6, 2013

I've had this bed for over 3 years now and I absolutely love it. It is convenient and I don't need a box spring for it. I also purchase the side night stands to go with it. It has a wonderful zen appeal and a modern look which is what I was going for.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Exactly as described
 from Ohio,  May 23, 2013

We were looking for a minimalist bed frame for our teenage son and this is perfect. He didn't want a box spring and we wanted real wood and not particle board. It took my husband and son about 30 minutes to build the bed. It is sturdy but you need to take care to lift it to move and not drag it. The top of the mattress (not a pillow top) sits about 15 inches off the floor. There is a gap between the queen mattress and the frame, but it's not noticeable with the bedding. It came in two boxes and arrived when promised. All in all, very happy with our purchase!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very well
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Above Average
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect for what I needed.
 from Sonora, Ca,  May 7, 2013

Wanted something simple yet stylish. Good on both counts. Nice finish and sturdy. Easy to assemble if you follow directions closely. Works perfect with my new Serta mattress.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? right on
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So easy to assemble.
 from Seattle, WA,  Apr 5, 2013

LOVE THIS BED LOOKS GREAT,STURDY AND PERFECT FOR OUR SMALL ROOM. BECAUSE OF THE HEIGHT OF THE BED IT MAKES THE ROOM LOOK SO MUCH BIGGER.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. We have had our bed for almost a month now an I still love it as much as I did the day it arrived.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 140 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought