Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 175 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 9 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Beautiful but beware
 from Chapel Hill, NC,  Dec 18, 2006

I purchased the Monterey headboard in white--it is both very sturdy and beautiful, and overall I am quite happy with my purchase. The only issue I had was with assembling it. All the necessary pieces were there, only the pre-drilled holes used to apply the facing were drilled ON THE WRONG SIDE. Fortunately, I own a power drill, so this was not a problem, but for those of you considering this purchase, please be aware that you may need to do some additional prep before assembly. Also, it does not include the hardware required to attach it to your bedframe.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great headboard!
 from indianapolis, in,  Jul 28, 2010

it arrived promptly (warning - it is HEAVY - the ups guy about had a hernia!) requires total construction, but i did it BY MYSELF in about 2 hours and i am a totally challenged female klutz when it comes to these things - it was a matter of pride......instructions were very clear. it is beyond sturdy and the shelves eliminate the need for bedside tables; i found some baskets that fit in the shelves and it looks very nice. cat also likes to sleep on shelf...... highly recommend!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great value
 from Princeton, NJ,  Aug 14, 2006

I received this headboard 2 days after ordering it. All the pieces were in great condition and my boyfriend and his friend were able to assemble it within 45 minutes. I got the white laminate finish and it looks great in my room. Lots of storage space and sturdy construction was definitely worth the price I paid.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Blythe/ CA/USA,  Jan 30, 2006

The Monterrey headboard is a great product! It is nice and sturdy, has lots of storage space, and looks terrific. It was easy to assemble and didn't take very long to put it together. It also was packed very well.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Full, maybe Queen, more likely
 from Albany, NY,  Nov 11, 2009

I would recommend this more for a queen than a full. It is a bit on the large side for a full mattress. It will get the job done. I was able to put it together by myself in about a half hour but I consider myself somewhat handy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Big and Sturdy
 from San Francisco, Ca,  Mar 28, 2014

I'm very pleased with my headboard. It is GIANT but so sturdy and pretty. And most importantly, it provided the necessary storage that I needed. Now! The ONE thing- A few of the reviews stated that there is a piece that has holes drilled on the wrong side. This is a fact. I thought it was a random occurrence or that somehow I (being "a professional" at furniture building) wouldn't experience the problem. Yeah...not so much. HOWEVER, it's a minor mistake. The holes for the side moulding strips are drilled on the wrong side of the inner pieces. I was easily able to drill new holes.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Headboard
 from Colorado,  Oct 11, 2011

This headboard is not wood but pressed wood. I attempted to put it together but could tell that it was very poor quality. I packed it back up and returned it to Overstock. This item is the only item that I have not been happy with. Overstock was easy to work with on the return. I have bought several items since and will continue to buy from Overstock.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color is as shown on line.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This headboard is not wood but pressed board.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Monterey Headboard for Queen Bed
 from Columbus, OH,  Sep 27, 2006

I looked specifically for a queen bed size bookcase headboard in white--not an easy find. This is a great value but I rated it as average due to the heavy cardboard backing for the bookshelves rather than a more substantial material.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

It somehow does not come with manual! I assmbled with two other friends' help in one hour based on the picture. Overall is good. Color a little bit dark red then I expected. The two pieces of the back boards are not tied together so we added additonal boards to support it. Nice design. My son now can put his alarm clock and favorate books close to him!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Neptune Beach, FL 32266,  Jan 30, 2006

Solid construction for the pre fab particle board variety. Instructions a little sparse, but as long as you plan ahead, assembly is easy enough. Looks good completed.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from State College/PA/USA,  Jan 30, 2006

I love this bed, but it was pretty hard to put together. Some of the holes were not drilled and it definitely took 2 people! Once it was done, though, it looked great and it has lots of storage room.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome Headboard
 from Alden, NY,  Jun 14, 2010

We purchased this headboard for our 13-year-old daughter because she doesn't have much space in her room. The product is great quality and very easy to put together. Instructions were clear to follow and it turned out to be a very sturdy product for the money. Would definitely recommend.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not what I thought
 from San Diego, CA,  Dec 1, 2014

We ordered the cherry wood model. The finished product looks great, but what we didn't realize when we purchased it, is that it is made of particle wood. The instructions could have been better, or the parts marked as to what was what, but it wasn't too hard to figure out. I would recommend this to a friend, but with a caveat. The material is pretty cheap, but what do you expect for the price? Overall, we're satisfied for the moment, but not jumping up and down with joy for our purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
lousy headboard
 from fairhaven ma,  Nov 26, 2014

We received the head board yesterday. It's made from cheap press board. Too large for a full bed and actually broke apart when we tried to put it together. Very disappointed in this product and I would never buy it again. It's now junk in the garbage for $$$.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Monterey Headboard (Full/Queen)
 from California,  Apr 18, 2010

Very pleased with this headboard for the full size bed in our guest room. It does extend approx. 3 inches on either side of the bed since it's listed as Full/Queen, so if you're a perfectionist, that might bother you. It was easy to assemble and delivered to our doorstep in 6 days. The shelves make a nice storage space for books, lamp, knick-knacks, etc., but it's not very comfortable to lean against when sitting up reading or watching TV.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Headboard
 from Boston, MA,  Mar 3, 2010

Bought this for my boyfriend's sons room and it was absolutely perfect. It was fairly easy to assemble and was a nice added touch. The quality is fair and the price was right.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great headboard for the money
 from Myrtle Beach, SC,  Jan 30, 2010

I needed someplace to put a lamp and for company to put their glasses, cell phone, books, etc... The queen guest bed is in a position where there is no room for night stands. This headboard fit the bill. It was easy to put together and looks very nice. I secured the frame to the wall with a couple of screws instead of to the bed frame. This way I can swing the bed out to change the sheets without lugging a whole headboard along with it. Definitely looks like I paid more for it than I actually did!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Bay Area, California,  Jan 30, 2006

I bought the white headboard for my daughter. The price is right, the quality is great. The included directions were okay, got stuck but only once. Note: They do not provide the material (screws) to attach the headboard to the bedframe. The finished headboard looks great in her room. This was my first and definitely not my last purchase with Overstock.com. Thank you!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A little deep
 from Washington, DC,  Nov 26, 2014

We bought this headboard for our super tiny guest room so that our guests would have a little more space for books, glasses of water, glasses, whatever. Did I mention that our guest room is super tiny? The only downside is that the headboard sticks out about 6-8 inches from the wall. That turned out to be critical space in our small room. Its not a big deal - but something I hadn't thought about before buying. Just make sure that there's enough room for the bed to shift that much in your space.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Monterey headboard
 from Okla,  Oct 27, 2011

I love the look and quality of the headboard. Only complaint was it was easy to scratch the finish when putting together and moving the headboard into place. Wish it had come with bolts to attach to bed . But if I needed another headboard I would order this one again.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Was exactly the same color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I was not happy that the product scared easily when put together or moved
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 175 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 9 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought