Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-18 of 18 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Montego Maple Contemporary Computer Desk
 from New York, NY,  Aug 24, 2011

Fabulous desk!! Everything was there with no damage to any of the pieces. It was easy to assemble (13 pieces + hardware) & the finished product is very sturdy and just beautiful looking. I was happy that the full length/width drawer has a strong composite wood base, not the typical flimsy cardboard piece used by most RTA companies. The drawer is very roomy but it is on the more shallow side and can only hold items with a maximum height of about 1.5 " - not a problem for me, but don't count on being able to store larger items. The H/W/D measurements given on Overstock are accurate and the color is a medium shade maple with some darker graining.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was just as appeared on Overstock
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality: Sturdy composite with maple overlay
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
missing part has not been arrived for 2 wks.
 from Houston, TX,  Apr 5, 2014

I had a missing part which is important for whole desk assembly, I immediately contact company representative and she told me she will go ahead send a part but I am still waiting which makes me annoyed.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A good value for the price
 from San Francisco, CA,  Jun 12, 2013

A well designed, nice looking desk. The box was substantially heavier than expected. After assembling the unit, I could verify that not one piece of this desk is made of solid wood and usually, the smaller the wood particles, the more glue is used and the heavier the end result. The unit is well designed and you may want to plan for 1-2hrs to assemble it, including labeling the pieces before starting the assembly. These units are not made to be moved much and should be taken apart before a significant move is initiated.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? matches closely the pictures on the web site
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is fine and well designed but there is not 1 piece of solid wood in this unit - all composite
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Site description was accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this desk
 from Rochester, NY,  Feb 23, 2013

I am very pleased with this desk. The instructions don't actually contain any written words for what to do, you just have to pay attention to the pictures. I put this together by myself in about 2 hours. The front sliding drawer was a bit of a pain to try and slide on and it doesn't close all the way. Other than that, it's very sturdy and looks nice. I would suggest having 2 people to help with this as it's kind of heavy to carry(75lbs).

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very strdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? pretty on point
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Montego Maple Contemporary Computer Desk
 from Baton Rouge, LA,  Feb 12, 2013

This is my best purchase yet. When you see the bag of nuts, screws, washers don't freak out! Don't rush just take your time. Check all your parts before you get started. One of my pieces was cracked, but based on the location of the part and what I needed it for it was not worth waiting for a replacement. The box already sat there two weeks before I put it together. I put it together alone. Lots of parts, but you will love the desk when it is done. Looks great in my son's bedroom!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent; heavy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Right on the money!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
No Instructions
 from San Francisco,  Dec 2, 2012

I just received this desk. Upon opening it I discovered that it did not include assembly instructions. Searching the product page did not reveal a pdf of the instructions either. I have high hopes that a call will get me the instructions.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
poor quality and odd color
 from Scottsdale, Arizona,  Nov 6, 2012

This desk is a particle board desk made out of cheap laminate / plastic looking thin cover. Mine came broken so their never was a question of spending the hours necessary in assembly. The color is NOT a maple color. It pulls a lot of orange and has more of red shading. It does Not look like real wood at all! Mostly because I have not seen any real wood products this color.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? fair to poor
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. came with particle board it is made out of broken
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? fair to poor
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Desk!
 from Northern Virginia,  Sep 17, 2012

This is another product with poor instructions. Be prepared! It took me almost 3 hours to put this together by myself. The desk looks great and I recommend it!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Great!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just what we were looking for.
 from Saratoga, New York,  Dec 31, 2011

My husband and I bought this as a Christmas gift for our 10-year old granddaughter for her bedroom. She will use it for her laptop, a small TV and for doing her homework. It looks great in her room and goes well with the other furniture in there. Our son had no problem putting it together, and it is very sturdy and will serve her well.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It was exactly the color as shown on site.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Not top of the line but excellent quality for the price.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very true to the description.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good table
 from Orange County, CA,  Jul 5, 2011

we had some problems during assembly while attaching the drawer to the table, so we had to take the drawer apart and start it over, but after that it went smooth.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? it is real honey maple, not maple color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
we loke the deak
 from new york,  Apr 21, 2011

It came in good condition & good quality.I would order more thing from overstok in future.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy!
 from Virginia,  Feb 1, 2011

I ordered this desk and was pleasantly surprised. A piece was broken but Overstock sent a replacement part straight away. The desk is light colored and a perfect fit in our home office.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
"Easy to put together"
 from Carpinteria, CA,  Jan 7, 2011

Thank goodness it was easy to put together because it came with no instructions. I have been putting a lot of furniture together lately and have become familiar with dowels and screws and whatnot and my husband knows drawer slider thingies.....So, while there were no instructions, my husband and I figured out which holes went with which type of screws and what piece was the front of the desk and which was the back of the drawer. We put it together this evening- about 1.5 hours which is a lot for this desk. The box it came in was barely taped together. I was surprised that there were not too many chingers. But, as pretty as the picture is, this product is paper on MDF and when the knob came apart and half dropped onto a board it showed. think the product is worth about half of what we paid for it and I am disappointed. I'd send it back but it is the right size and I need to get on with life and starting the business. It'll do the job for now.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good value
 from MA,  Jan 6, 2011

I bought this desk for my 1st grader to match the light bedroom furniture he has. It was easy to put together and seems solid. Of course, it is particle board but the price reflects that. There were no chips or dings on the surfaces and I hope it serves him for a while since it is a good size desk with a height fit for adult use. The bottom shelf is currently being used for a matchbox car collection....

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice
 from Arizona,  Jul 18, 2010

The desk is nice and sturdy, attractive and easy to put together.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Desk
 Mar 13, 2010

I purchased this desk for my daughter's room. The desk is easy to put together and took less time than I originally anticipated. All of the parts were included, and all of the holes lined up properly. The finished product is sturdy and appears exactly as depicted in the photo. The drawer is large and can fit a substantial amount of paper and other items. This was a heck of a bargain and a great piece for a kid's room, so thanks Overstock!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy as Pie
 from Manhattan, NY,  Dec 21, 2009

I was intimidated at first when I saw all the pieces, but assembly turned out to be surprisingly a breeze---and I am the least "handy" person in the world. It came out perfect and perfectly even---no wobbly, uneven legs to worry over. The look is clean-lined and the desk seems somehow larger than the picture led me to believe. Which only makes it a better value for me. It does not look like anything I could have put together myself and I've already received compliments on it.The only bit I could possibly find fault with is the "shelf" underneath...it's scarcely wide enough to be conisdered a useful shelf that will hold anything practical.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Computer Desk?
 from Minneapolis, MN,  May 17, 2011

My goal was a desk with large writing surface and full length keyboard in a light brown finish. I thought I had struck gold in the Montego Maple Contemporary Computer Desk. The color is nice and the construction quality satisfactory, but computer desk - NO. The full length drawer is not a keyboard drawer, the front does not tilt open. The drawer is the last piece to be assembled so I was beyond the point of no return by the time I figured this out. My handy husband is going to try and convert the drawer front to flip open. In the meantime, I am using the drawer without the front. Not attractive, but functional. I looked back at the ad, and yes, now realize the picture shows only a laptop computer. Give me a break. A laptop computer can sit on any desk, or a table, or your lap - is my lap now a computer desk? I think it is mis-representative to refer to this product as a "computer desk" and the ad should be revised.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-18 of 18 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Montego Maple Computer Desk
Today $144.99
Compare $189.92
Save 24%
(11)
Computer Desk
Today $139.99
Compare $207.49
Save 33%
(85)
Honey Solid Pine Student Desk and Hutch
Sale $391.49
Was $434.99
Maple Computer Desk
Today $183.63
Compare $230.00
Save 20%
Back to top