Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 45 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Nice, sturdy bookcase
 from San Antonio, TX,  Jul 12, 2014

Nice-looking bookcase, Not too difficult to put together either. I wish it was a little taller, but it works for me. I like the clean lines and there is plenty of space on the shelves for most size books.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice low profile bookcase
 from CA,  Jul 8, 2014

If you're looking for an attractive, low profile bookcase, this is a good option. I have a sizable library, so ended up needing six of these to hold all - well, most - of my books. I would have opted for a larger size had I known this beforehand, but that was my fault, not the product. The dark brown color is lovely, yet understated.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bookcase
 from Houston,  May 15, 2014

I found the bookcase easy to assemble and all holes were pre-drilled for fast assembly. The wood is very light weight , not heavy but perfect for books. I would have liked more colors to be available. Product was packaged well and wrapped in thin foam and paper. Instructions were easy to follow.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice bookcase
 from Tampa Bay, FL,  May 13, 2014

Really like the style but it is a little lightweight however we have a good amount of book on it and it seems fine for us. Price was right.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Bookcase
 from Albuquerque, NM,  May 10, 2014

I purchased this in black and it was better priced on O vs. another decorator's site. I purchased this to organize and display my heels. It is easy to put together and took me about 30 minutes give or take a few. It was well packaged and I didn't find any scratches or dings on any of the parts. Everything seemed to line up but I did follow the instructions and not over tighten the screws. Once I got everything together I tightened up everything. I did not secure to the wall as I'm not using it for heavy items. It looks great in the room, it is not over sized and doesn't take up much space. All my shoes did not fit so I will be ordering a second bookcase soon. Overall I'm pleased and based on the fact I found this exact same bookcase for about 25% more on a different site made my day. Great value for a nice looking bookcase.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Classy Bookcase
 from NJ,  May 9, 2014

When I saw all the issues people listed in their reviews of this bookshelf I was hesitant to buy it, but this was the only bookshelf that came in the color/style I wanted and had the capacity I needed. I decided to give it a shot, figuring I could return it if it was unsatisfactory. I ordered the espresso one and am very happy with it. Others that reviewed that product mentioned receiving damaged parts. I received mine well-packaged and undamaged, with all the parts. The wood is very soft and easily scratched though, and I accidentally nicked one of the sides while putting it together. I am not at all a handy or DIY person, but I managed to put it together in about an hour. It is very sturdy. Though it comes with parts to attach it to a wall, it doesn't need to be. Mine sits on carpet and is level. I use it to hold all of my books (each shelf is full) and a few knicknacks.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great book case for the price
 from Chicago, IL,  Apr 24, 2014

For the price, it's a good piece. Easy to put together but be careful not to over tighten the screws...the wood splits easily.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks great shelves
 from Jacksonville, AL,  Apr 1, 2014

I wanted open shelves to let the painted walls show thru which kept the wall and room from being too dark. I bought two and have them flanking a TV stand with a 60" TV. They look wonderful! And so easy to assemble! They were light weight and easy to maneuver after assembly. Wonderful design and a wonderful addition to my home. I may be purchasing another one for another room.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Impressed
 from Rosenberg TX,  Mar 26, 2014

Good bookcase for the value. Using in my reading room

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Attractive bookshelves
 from Red Wing, Mn,  Mar 6, 2014

Well packed but did have some rub marks from the tight straps for packing. Went together easily and has wall anchors to secure them. The finish is not a smooth veneer type but slightly rough/rustic. I like the looks of them in my office area and put 2 side by side.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bookcases do the job but are disappointing...
 from Palm Harbor, FL,  Mar 1, 2014

I have purchased similar product from other sources. The finish on the ones I received were shoddy, rough in many spots and scraped off in others. I had been planning a purchasing a few more but after assembling the ones I had received, I decided against that and will wait until I can find something local that I can actually inspect before purchasing. This was my first purchase with Overstock.com and my impression at this time is it's not overstock you are selling but product that has been rejected by the original purchaser of your 'overstock' supply.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
5-tier bookcase
 from San Francisco, CA,  Feb 22, 2014

Even though I'm a master assembler now that I've been buying from O for years, this one was a bit difficult to assemble alone, but I really enjoy the finished product. I bought the 3-tier bookshelf to go with it. Great little library now in the spare room. Recommended.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks great but not highest quality
 from Georgia,  Feb 11, 2014

The bookshelves look great but the quality is not what I had hoped for. Light weight and cracked easily while putting together as holes were not lined properly.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Book Shelf
 from CANADA,  Feb 3, 2014

Wood split several times when putting together, holes not pre-drilled properly. Very disappointed, over priced for quality, and then the shipping was just adding insult to injury. :(

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Packaging ruined the bookcase
 from Bellevue WA,  Dec 17, 2013

This is a really nice bookcase and feels of high quality, but I had to send it back as it was damaged in shipping and I have to hope the second one doesn't have the same damage. The box has the two side panels running the length it with the shelves stacked at the left and right of the box. Any torqueing of the middle puts all the weight of the package on the middle of the two thin side panels. And guess what, they crack. Also, the packaging uses Styrofoam sheets that fall apart. It took a long time to remove all the little particles from the wood and vacuum them up off the carpet.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this bookcase!
 from Tillatoba, MS,  Sep 28, 2013

Easily assembled and very nice!! A great value! Love this bookcase!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful, But Not Very Sturdy & Somewhat Flawed
 from Washington State,  Aug 12, 2013

Considering the price, this shelf offers you a beautiful piece for decorating a room. The quality is fair to poor, however. 1. The product is not very sturdy. The sides are made of soft wood. If you over tighten the shelves during assembly, the screws will over penetrate and start spinning freely. 2. The product will be damaged slightly in shipping. I bought two shelves and both had shipping-related damage. This amounted to cracks in the frame or shelves, which did not compromise the integrity of the structure but created a cosmetic flaw that needed to be covered up with stain. 3. The dowel holes do not align with the frame, making assembly a tricky.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice bookcase
 from Oklahoma City, OK,  Aug 7, 2013

I puchase this bookcase to place in a nursery. I needed something to hold small books, pictures and such. It works very well for that purpose. The esspresso stain color of the bookcase matched very well with the dresser and cribs already in the room. I inpart picked this bookcase because it has nice visual interest from a side-view, which is good for where I have it positioned in the room. The bookcase looks nice, is sturdy but not too heavy, and anchors to the wall snuggly with 2 small screws. All good attributes for a nursery bookcase. All the pieces where included and well packaged. No scuffs or scrapes on the wood. If you can turn and allen wrench and read on at least a 3rd grade level then you should have no problems putting this together in under an hour. It will help to have decent size, preferrably carpeted, area to work on when putting the case together. The case goes together lying on it's back before you can raise it. In all I'm happy with the purchase. It works very well for what I needed.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bookshelf quality for the price
 from Coeur d Alene, ID,  Jul 25, 2013

Recently moved and needed new bookshelving. We happened to get a giftcard as a housewarming, and happened upon these gorgeous bookshelves. We needed something that was not going to overwhelm a smaller space, and while these are sturdy bookshelves, you can see the wall decor through them that lends to the overall spaciousness of your place. I bought two..and eventually will have to buy several more. I would really reccommend highly.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice for the price
 from New York City,  Jul 16, 2013

These are nice bookcases for this price range. The finish is a nice color, and the construction, once assembled is fairly solid. I would say the color is slightly lighter than it appears in the photo, which is fine with me because I actually wanted a dark brown rather than black. I ordered three similar cases last year, and they are perfect for books for my son's room and lighter books my husband and I have. These come with brackets for fastening to the wall, which I recommend if using in a child's room or around smaller children, since they are pretty light and could easily tip over if pulled. All in all, these are attractive, functional, and an excellent value. Delivery time was STUNNING. I ordered them Sunday evening, got them Tuesday morning. I couldn't believe it.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 45 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Montego 3-tier Bookcase
Today $53.59
Compare $89.58
Save 40%
(52)
6-shelf Bookcase
Today $169.99
Compare $188.05
Save 10%
(59)
Open Shelf Bookcase
Today $161.99
(36)
Back to top