Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 21-40 of 44 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Bookcases do the job but are disappointing...
 from Palm Harbor, FL,  Mar 1, 2014

I have purchased similar product from other sources. The finish on the ones I received were shoddy, rough in many spots and scraped off in others. I had been planning a purchasing a few more but after assembling the ones I had received, I decided against that and will wait until I can find something local that I can actually inspect before purchasing. This was my first purchase with Overstock.com and my impression at this time is it's not overstock you are selling but product that has been rejected by the original purchaser of your 'overstock' supply.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
5-tier bookcase
 from San Francisco, CA,  Feb 22, 2014

Even though I'm a master assembler now that I've been buying from O for years, this one was a bit difficult to assemble alone, but I really enjoy the finished product. I bought the 3-tier bookshelf to go with it. Great little library now in the spare room. Recommended.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks great but not highest quality
 from Georgia,  Feb 11, 2014

The bookshelves look great but the quality is not what I had hoped for. Light weight and cracked easily while putting together as holes were not lined properly.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Book Shelf
 from CANADA,  Feb 3, 2014

Wood split several times when putting together, holes not pre-drilled properly. Very disappointed, over priced for quality, and then the shipping was just adding insult to injury. :(

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Packaging ruined the bookcase
 from Bellevue WA,  Dec 17, 2013

This is a really nice bookcase and feels of high quality, but I had to send it back as it was damaged in shipping and I have to hope the second one doesn't have the same damage. The box has the two side panels running the length it with the shelves stacked at the left and right of the box. Any torqueing of the middle puts all the weight of the package on the middle of the two thin side panels. And guess what, they crack. Also, the packaging uses Styrofoam sheets that fall apart. It took a long time to remove all the little particles from the wood and vacuum them up off the carpet.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this bookcase!
 from Tillatoba, MS,  Sep 28, 2013

Easily assembled and very nice!! A great value! Love this bookcase!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful, But Not Very Sturdy & Somewhat Flawed
 from Washington State,  Aug 12, 2013

Considering the price, this shelf offers you a beautiful piece for decorating a room. The quality is fair to poor, however. 1. The product is not very sturdy. The sides are made of soft wood. If you over tighten the shelves during assembly, the screws will over penetrate and start spinning freely. 2. The product will be damaged slightly in shipping. I bought two shelves and both had shipping-related damage. This amounted to cracks in the frame or shelves, which did not compromise the integrity of the structure but created a cosmetic flaw that needed to be covered up with stain. 3. The dowel holes do not align with the frame, making assembly a tricky.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice bookcase
 from Oklahoma City, OK,  Aug 7, 2013

I puchase this bookcase to place in a nursery. I needed something to hold small books, pictures and such. It works very well for that purpose. The esspresso stain color of the bookcase matched very well with the dresser and cribs already in the room. I inpart picked this bookcase because it has nice visual interest from a side-view, which is good for where I have it positioned in the room. The bookcase looks nice, is sturdy but not too heavy, and anchors to the wall snuggly with 2 small screws. All good attributes for a nursery bookcase. All the pieces where included and well packaged. No scuffs or scrapes on the wood. If you can turn and allen wrench and read on at least a 3rd grade level then you should have no problems putting this together in under an hour. It will help to have decent size, preferrably carpeted, area to work on when putting the case together. The case goes together lying on it's back before you can raise it. In all I'm happy with the purchase. It works very well for what I needed.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bookshelf quality for the price
 from Coeur d Alene, ID,  Jul 25, 2013

Recently moved and needed new bookshelving. We happened to get a giftcard as a housewarming, and happened upon these gorgeous bookshelves. We needed something that was not going to overwhelm a smaller space, and while these are sturdy bookshelves, you can see the wall decor through them that lends to the overall spaciousness of your place. I bought two..and eventually will have to buy several more. I would really reccommend highly.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice for the price
 from New York City,  Jul 16, 2013

These are nice bookcases for this price range. The finish is a nice color, and the construction, once assembled is fairly solid. I would say the color is slightly lighter than it appears in the photo, which is fine with me because I actually wanted a dark brown rather than black. I ordered three similar cases last year, and they are perfect for books for my son's room and lighter books my husband and I have. These come with brackets for fastening to the wall, which I recommend if using in a child's room or around smaller children, since they are pretty light and could easily tip over if pulled. All in all, these are attractive, functional, and an excellent value. Delivery time was STUNNING. I ordered them Sunday evening, got them Tuesday morning. I couldn't believe it.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice bookshelf
 from Jacksonville, NC,  Jul 11, 2013

Nice bookshelf. It is sturdy and well made. Only drawback was that the instructions showed that their should've been nail/screw holes in the top piece--and there were not. We had to measure and drill the holes in ourselves.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love 'Em
 from Martinsburg, WV,  Jun 27, 2013

We purchased these shelves for my husband's game room. They are attractive and easy to put together and the pricetag didn't break the bank. We purchased 3 tall shelves and 1 short. The predrilled holes on one of the units were too small so my husband tried more force to make the fit and ended up cracking the wood in a few places. Nothing a little wood glue couldn't fix but this was a problem I felt it necessary to report. If you find this to be the case with your bookcase, don't force it just get a drill out and widen the holes.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. ok
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice looking bookcase
 from Modesto, CA,  Jun 6, 2013

Now that it's assembled, we're happy with the bookcase...a little difficulty inserting the dowels for the back pieces into the sides because the holes did not match up and some of the dowels seemed a little big for the holes.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Sturdy and the finish is pretty good...a couple of brush marks where stain and finish was applied
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wood bookcase
 from Montana,  May 22, 2013

goes together solid, nice look, nice finish, real wood.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. nice... real wood
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy to assemble
 from Naples, FL,  May 22, 2013

This is a pretty little shelf unit. Really like the criss-cross sides. Very easy to assemble - and that is important to me. A few imperfections, but overall I am very pleased and am thinking about getting another one.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Montego 5 tier Bookcase
 from Denver,  May 10, 2013

Looked just like the picture. Needed it for my daughters room. perfect size to fit her needs and make the almost teen room look classy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Shelves
 from Texas,  Dec 30, 2012

What can you say about shelves, they hold the things I needed them to hold

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Fine
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Fine
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pretty bookcases
 from Maryland,  Jul 4, 2012

These bookcases are very pretty and look expensive. I know that some have said the cases did not seem stable enough to hold books but I did not find this to be true. They seem quite solid and are handsome and of good quality. We had no problems putting them together.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? a little more red than I thought but very nice
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality, very attractive
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great shelf and customer service
 from Tennessee,  Mar 19, 2012

Great shelf, great price. Received damaged but O was quick to look for parts and when parts were not available offer to take the item back or take a percentage off the price. Quick and easy refund.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Montego 5 teir bookcase
 from Marysville WA,  Mar 1, 2012

The shelves were exactly what I was looking for. The quality was good and it is perfect for what I needed it for.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent for what I needed it for.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Spot on. It was exactly as discribed
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 21-40 of 44 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Five Tier Mission Style Espresso Bookcase
Sale $82.54
Was $91.71
Compare $127.00
Save 35%
(60)
Montego 3-tier Bookcase
Today $61.99
Compare $89.58
Save 31%
(52)
Mission-style Solid Wood Bookcase
Sale $117.89
Was $130.99
(74)
6-shelf Bookcase
Today $169.99
Compare $188.05
Save 10%
(59)
Back to top