For a Limited Time, Get Free Expedited Shipping On Select Jewelry and Watches*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 50 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Pretty but several issues
 from Houston, Texas,  Jan 28, 2012

This is a pretty bookcase but I had a few issues. The lattice was broken in two spots - I am going to try to glue it. The assembly was fairly simple but the top shelf is a problem. All of the other shelves had grooves, screws and it was very simple. The top shelf however had nothing - literally I had to just set it on top of the shelf with no reinforcement. The only thing I can do is get some long thin nails and nail it through the top. If these issues were not there, this would be a very cute shelf but I think those are serious problems.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color is pretty
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Mine was broken in two places on the side lattice and there were issues with assembly
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? It was accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Does the job
 from Tennessee,  Jan 20, 2012

This is a pretty low-quality bookcase--probably worth about $50-75. It arrived with several cracks on the decorative sides. They are not particularly noticeable, so I chose not to return it. The holes to screw in the shelves don't really match up and I think not all of the holes are deep enough, as not all of the screws can be screwed in to the point where you can cover them with the wooden plugs. Even if all the screws DID go in, most of the wooden plugs are too big for the holes so I have to shave off their sides with a knife. It's not very hard to put together, other than fighting with the screws that won't go in. Otherwise, it's holding my books and not sagging, so it seems sturdy enough to do its job. It looks nice, except for the uncovered screws.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Espresso is more of a cherry color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Fair
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice quality for budger
 from Colorado Springs, CO,  Feb 26, 2013

I needed a bookcase that was well built and solid, as well as fit my PB&J sandwich budget. This was the perfect answer, I didn't have to settle for poor quality; the assembly was a breeze. I would have given it a 5 star, but one of the shelves was cracked. It seemed more of a hassle to send it back, especially since it's a solid heavy item.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Matched the picture in color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solid wood, nice & heavy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description of the product did not do it justice. It's a well built product.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
OK Stick and screw bookcase.
 from Orygon,  Jan 7, 2012

This is basically a hex-screw and stick bookcase. It is lightweight but seems sturdy enough for most books, video games, dvds and various gewgaws. I wouldnt put an encyclopedia set on it or anything as heavy as that. The bookcase looks good, was easy enough to assemble and is a step up from milk crates. I got the black one and am happy with the color.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Ok. Sturdy enough so far.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Acceptable
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Elegant bookshelf
 from Philadelphia,  Dec 1, 2012

For the price, you can't get a prettier and more functional shelf. As it looks in the pic, it's really meant for a combination of books and decoration, which is how I use it. Everyone who sees it, loves it. For a bookshelf only meant to hold books,there may be better options, but as a combination piece it's fabulous. The price is great!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact match
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
montego bookcase
 from new york,  Apr 2, 2013

the only thing that was wrong was some of the screw were missing. I contacted overstock and they had the company send me the screw i need.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? not quite the same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Classy Bookcase
 from NJ,  May 9, 2014

When I saw all the issues people listed in their reviews of this bookshelf I was hesitant to buy it, but this was the only bookshelf that came in the color/style I wanted and had the capacity I needed. I decided to give it a shot, figuring I could return it if it was unsatisfactory. I ordered the espresso one and am very happy with it. Others that reviewed that product mentioned receiving damaged parts. I received mine well-packaged and undamaged, with all the parts. The wood is very soft and easily scratched though, and I accidentally nicked one of the sides while putting it together. I am not at all a handy or DIY person, but I managed to put it together in about an hour. It is very sturdy. Though it comes with parts to attach it to a wall, it doesn't need to be. Mine sits on carpet and is level. I use it to hold all of my books (each shelf is full) and a few knicknacks.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
fair quality
 from Sierra Visa, AZ,  Jun 1, 2013

Not very good, unclear assembly instructions, and no mention in description that you need to tie this to the wall with brackets to prevent it from tipping over.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? ok
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. poor directions, broken dowels,
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? ok
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pleasantly pleased
 from Santa Cruz, CA,  Jul 22, 2012

I like it so much that I am ordering another one. As, I said, there was a considerable nick in one of the shelves, but I am going to order a mate to the one I have.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. considerable nick incurred during shipping, I presume
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It'll work
 from usa,  Jul 10, 2012

It is a good bookcase. just what i needed. good color, sturdy... won't fall apart.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? compared well
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quaility, solid wood, solid construction
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mixed feelings
 from nebraska,  May 23, 2012

The first time I ordered this product, I received it within a week, but after I opened the box I couldn't put it together because not only was there no hardware included, there were no directions. My husband called and got them to send us a return shipping label and a new bookshelf. We received the label a couple days later and the second bookshelf within the week. We then returned the first one and I put together the second one. I mostly put it together myself and am happy with how the end product looks, however i had a few issues: 1. The decorative hole fillers weren't secured and I have had a couple fall out. Not a structural issue but a safety issue if you have little ones that pull on anything they can reach. 2. When adding the brackets so I could secure the shelf to the wall, the screws into the brackets refused to go in straight and so they wouldn't go in all the way. The bracket on one side was loose until I could get my husband to come with the drill and tighten it. 3. On the first bookshelf there was a chunk missing from one of the side panels and they hadn't touched it up with stain, even, 4. when attaching the bars across the bottom of the top shelf, i had a very hard time tightening the screws enough so that they were flush with the shelf. Overall, not a bad purchase, but not sure if I would pay that much for it again.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Pretty accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Pretty sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Not bad
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Montego bookcase.
 from Colorado.,  Apr 27, 2012

This bookcase is not as sturdy as the previous one I bought ( Mission bookcase) Also,, it has included brackets to hold it to a wall -- The description did not state this, and I would not have bought it if I had known. I cannot use the brackets, and I needed a bookcase that was freestanding/movable. I am usin it without the brackets, so it wobbles a bit.!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. real wood,, fairly well made. Not too hard to put together - did it myself. Not all the tools supplied though.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was fairly accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bookcase for the price!
 from Oregon,  Sep 17, 2014

I purchased two of these bookcases and they fit perfectly in their specified location. They look great filled with books.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice once it's put together
 from Knoxville, TN,  Sep 16, 2014

I don't like Allen-key screws to begin with. Then when the hex key provided doesn't perfectly fit the holes in the screws, I really hate them. I struggled a lot with the first three screws, even stripping the hole in one trying to keep the key inserted. Finally I rummaged through my tools and found I had a good key of the proper size. The rest of the assembly process went much faster. But why not good old Phillips head? We like the shelves, though. Now that they're together, they look great in our living room.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Blech
 from Charlotte, NC,  Sep 11, 2014

Okay, so I bought it because it was under *** and I was looking for something super cheap to fill a void. Well, I got what I paid for, folks! This bookcase is one step up from balsa wood. I expect it will last no more than a year and am already looking for a replacement. It's nice looking and was easy to assemble. However, I would NOT recommend it to a friend. An enemy, maybe. But not a friend.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
PERFECT for shoes
 from Baltimore MD,  Sep 9, 2014

I needed a place for my shoes so I purchased 2 for my dressing room If you are looking for the star Hollywood closet without the price theses book cases are a great start. PERFECT!!!!!! 20 pairs of shoes on each case. BEAUTIFUL. great if you have a shoes, boots, and bags. It didnt take hubby long to put them together

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bookcase (2) fit perfectly
 from Florida,  Aug 20, 2014

The bookcases are sturdy and elegant. I would recommend them to a friend.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice, sturdy bookcase
 from San Antonio, TX,  Jul 12, 2014

Nice-looking bookcase, Not too difficult to put together either. I wish it was a little taller, but it works for me. I like the clean lines and there is plenty of space on the shelves for most size books.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice low profile bookcase
 from CA,  Jul 8, 2014

If you're looking for an attractive, low profile bookcase, this is a good option. I have a sizable library, so ended up needing six of these to hold all - well, most - of my books. I would have opted for a larger size had I known this beforehand, but that was my fault, not the product. The dark brown color is lovely, yet understated.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bookcase
 from Houston,  May 15, 2014

I found the bookcase easy to assemble and all holes were pre-drilled for fast assembly. The wood is very light weight , not heavy but perfect for books. I would have liked more colors to be available. Product was packaged well and wrapped in thin foam and paper. Instructions were easy to follow.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 50 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top