Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 48 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Not for books!
 from Westchester, NY,  Dec 7, 2011

Looks great but once assembled is very rickety. Set it up with books and it sways like a ship. :(

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
Response from Overstock.com
     By Review Response Team
Thank you for filling out the review on the Montego 3-tier Bookcase. We have done a quality control of the inventory and have assembled the bookcase to ensure its stability. We recommend to follow the instructions and to screw all parts tightly together. Please accept our apologies for any disappointment this may have caused.
 
 
Rating
Nice for the price
 from near Pittsburgh, PA,  Aug 10, 2012

Went together in about 1/2 hour. I had to have my husband muscle one back brace because the pegs didn't align exactly with the predrilled holes, but some muscle and a little wiggling got it done. I like the stand a lot.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? black is black
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I it solid wood. Seems sturdy enough to hold books.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great for cookbooks
 from FL,  Apr 11, 2012

I like this bbokcase for my cookbooks just the right size. but the color is off said walnut. but really a red cherry. it will do.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? off the bookcase was more cherry than walnut.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice bookcase.
 from MN,  Apr 3, 2012

Paint is a flat black, I'll probably touch up with black gloss. It is wood, looks like plywood. The shelves are all solid wood, not compressed or particle board. It will support the weight of all my cookbooks without warping. Good solid piece at a lower end cost. Looks nice too. Easy to put together.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Black as stated.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good, solid. Sturdy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

if you are planning on matching this with other walnut items get something else. this is sooo not the right color. does not match any of my walnut items. had to put this in the garage cause it doesn't match anything and I didn't want to mess with the hassle of returning it. the quality and look to it are not imprressive either. very cheap looking. get something else.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? NOT AT ALL
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. not very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? not good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I was very disapointed in this product.
 from Indianola, Iowa,  Aug 5, 2013

This bookcase came with no instructions, no screws and pegs so off center that they would not fit in the holes provided. It was necessary for me to go out and purchase screws, cut the pegs off, sand them down the replace them.. I was unable to find covers to hide the screws. Fortunately, I am using it in my computer room to hold printer, so the public will not see it. I have purchased all of the furniture for this room from Overstock.com, and have been very pleased with my purchases.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good "knock-together" shelf
 from Chicago,  May 10, 2013

For what it is, this is good. It's functional, solid and well-made but don't expect a fine piece of furniture.. It's IKEA-level quality.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? OK, the black finish a little uneven
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. OK
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I put together every piece of furniture ever bought in my family, and this was a disasterfrom start to finish. The instructions are poorly drawn and I needed to go back online to see the photo to judge whether I was placing the shelves properly. The top screw holes did not match up with those of the side pieces. When I attempted to finesse it, I ended up almost destroying the top completely. I finally had to leave one screw completely off of the piece, which will not help its durability. Even moving it from the living room into the bedroom had to be done with 2 people since we couldn't risk the top being torn off. If it wasn't such a hassle to have boxed it back up, I would've sent it back to Overstock.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? the color matched the website photo
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The shelves were good quality but the rest of the bookcase was shabbily crafted. I will not buy from this company again EVER!!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? fairly accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Impressed
 from Rosenberg TX,  Mar 26, 2014

They really are nice bookshelves for the value. Using them in my reading room

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great quality, great price!
 from NJ,  Mar 18, 2014

I am SO pleased with this bookcase, it is really great quality wood and very sturdy. I was a little concerned that it wouldn't be based on the price, but it really is! I have pictures, books, candles, vase on it all at once and it looks great in my living room. It was simple to build in about 20 minutes (my 12 year old helped me do it!) I very much recommend this piece!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Its ok
 from WA,  Mar 16, 2014

It's ok, I like how it looks but some parts are a little weak

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Montego Bookcases
 from Havertown, PA,  Feb 28, 2014

Precisely the shelves I wanted. Excellent price and service! Easy to assemble!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Was Impressed
 from Gastonia, NC,  Feb 19, 2014

I was impressed with the durability of this product. It does not feel or look cheap. It holds a good amount of books. I was able to clear out two large boxes. It is also easy to assemble. I put it together in an hour which is record time for me. There are not too many tools. Everything you need is in the package.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pretty but not high quality
 from Georgia,  Feb 11, 2014

Although these bookshelves are quite attractive the quality leaves a little to be desired. All holes didn't line up causing wood to split during construction and they are very light weight.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice stand for my plants.
 from Newport News, VA,  Jan 30, 2014

Very nice product and easy to put together. Very fast shipping to the door.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Elegant and inexpensive
 from Lake Elsinore, California,  Jan 16, 2014

I needed some bookcases that would be easy to assemble, hold many books and looked elegant besides. This one looked like it would fit the bill, so I bought two. I was particularly pleased that they were not heavy and difficult to move, as some are. I am so happy with them that I am thinking of buying two more for my guestroom.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
excellent bookcase
 from New Port Richey Florida,  Dec 30, 2013

thank you it was the only Christmas present I ordered that there was no problem.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bookcase for Christmas
 from Waxhaw, NC,  Dec 29, 2013

Purchased this bookshelf for my son who has a collection of books that he wants to display in his room. He was able to assemble this product easily and was very satisfied with how sturdy and roomy it was. This was the one present he asked for this Christmas and it was a big hit. This model was rather stylish which made it appealing to my son.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nearly perfect
 from San Diego, CA,  Dec 24, 2013

I purchased this book shelf to get some of my books off the floor. It looks great and seems structurally sound. I did have trouble fitting a piece into its predrilled holes for the dowels. I don't have tools to tweek these types of misalignments, so I used a screwdriver to enlarge the holes. Easy instructions.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice bookcase
 from Bellevue WA,  Dec 17, 2013

It looks beautiful. Deep rich walnut color. I'll probably be ordering more for my game room. My only complaint is the packaging. It uses the soft Styrofoam sheets that crumple into small bits of Styrofoam. I spent more time wiping off and vacuuming up this mess than I did putting the bookshelf together.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 48 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Mission Style 3-tier Shelf
Today $59.17
Compare $66.00
Save 10%
(54)
Montego 5-tier Bookcase
Today $93.99
Compare $126.99
Save 26%
(38)
2-shelf Bookcase
Today $77.99
Compare $135.99
Save 43%
(55)
Folding Student Bookcase
Sale $49.89
Was $55.43
Compare $78.99
Save 37%
(13)
Back to top