Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Much better than expected!
 from Baltimore, MD,  Oct 13, 2013

I ordered with a little trepidation after reading some of the other reviews. I had been looking for an inexpensive shelving unit for awhile and had not seen anything I liked as much. I never know what to expect when ordering online, but was pleasantly surprised with this purchase. The unit (I ordered two as shown in photo, but one stand-alone looks just as good) was substantial, well-engineered and looks better than in the photos. Assembly was pretty straight-forward - once I figured it out. I'd think ModLoft could pay someone on staff to spend 4 hours preparing a better set of assembly instructions. I found it helped to lay out the entire thing (it's only 12 pieces) on the floor first, then assemble. Attaching all of the wood pieces first and then attaching the metal squares also made it easier. A sticker marking top shelf and bottom "foot" pieces would have also helped. Some minor irritations: (1) the first box I opened did not have assembly instructions included - glad I ordered two; (2) one of the long bolts was stripped, but a quick trip to the hardware store corrected that; (3) trying to thread the long bolts through the wood pieces takes a bit of time and patience.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful bookcase
 from Queensbury, NY,  Oct 10, 2013

Super-modern, well made, and I found it quite easy to assemble. Very sturdy. The wenge model perfectly compliments the full-length mirror with jewelry storage that I also purchased from Overstock.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Bookcase
 from Tampa Bay, FL,  Dec 22, 2012

The bookcase fits in perfectly with our modern decor. I purchased the matching desk and love my new work area. It is very sturdy and you won't have to worry about sagging shelves. It is a little tricky to assemble but not bad. I highly recommend this bookcase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality; nice, sturdy bookcase
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Assembly issues
 from OKC, OK,  Dec 30, 2011

Nice heavy bookshelf. Assembly was somewhat frustrating. The side supports have metal rods that you put through them and screw into the shelf. I found that the piece in the shelf wouldn't always cooperate when trying to screw in the metal rod. I like the idea of the metal rods as it seems to add stability to the side supports, however if you can't get them to screw in what good are they? Delivery is a whole other problem. Took 2 months to deliver as they will not load the item on a truck until they have personally talked to you. Missed the callback by one day and added the 2nd month to the delivery as they don't make trips unless they have a full truck. Overall, it serves its intended purpose- to hold my heavier reference books etc. Probably would not buy another one.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
poor construction
 from chicago il,  Nov 15, 2011

When this arrived I started putting it together and discovered that the screw holes on shelf A weren't aligned with the screw holes on metal support A so I had to call overstock.com customer service and I'm waiting for replacement parts. I then discovered that the shelves aren't solid pieces of wood. They're fiberboard with thin walnut-colored veneer glued over. The screw holes had fiberjunk in them from when they were drilled and I could not screw anything in until it was cleared out. Definitely not solid wood. I wasn't expecting that, especially not for $800 per piece, $1000 new. The website says "Hardwood construction" but then under materials it says MDF (medium density fiberboard) core with italian-imported veneer... what does "hardwood" mean then? Fiberboard is cheap. Its like paper. I wish it was solid wood, or rather, "hardwood" but its not. As bookshelves they look nice, and they seem solid even though the construction is shoddy. Veneer scratches easily so be careful when assembling this and moving it around. I will never consider another product by Moftloft because of the poor build quality of this piece. I feel shame owning fiberboard furniture, but I'll just move on and look on the upside, it performs the intended function and doesn't look terrible.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. cheap
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? not accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great
 from California,  Jul 28, 2011

no directions for putting it together, luckily I have a nice boyfriend who figured it out for me. once it was put together, i was overjoyed with the end product.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. high quality heavy wood shelves
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
be careful
 from los angeles, ca,  Jul 1, 2011

Dispite the fact that this bookshelf is absolutely gorgeous, it took WAY too long to arrive. Shipping was a month and a half which to me seems crazy since it probably is in a box somewhere on a shelf. It should take no long than two weeks. Also, Overstock photographed TWO bookselves for some reason but in the very fine print, you have to figure out that there's only one. It should be made more clear. Overstock's pictures are often misleading in an effort to sell stuf. Be careful!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? poor
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
sleek, modern and heavy
 from San Antonio, Texas,  Apr 19, 2011

Delivery by freight required some planning as we live in a rural area. We needed to have the extremely heavy box delivered to our work site, and then we brought it home ourselves. Unpacking the carefully wrapped pieces and bringing them in one by one made the task more manageable. My only issue was putting it together. I've done my fair share of assembly of furniture, but the instructions could have been better. Even finding additonal online instructions from the manufacturer did not help. There is no labeling of the pieces to figure out which is the top piece, which side is up for the boards, and how to attach the metal pieces. All said and done, I love this piece. For a contemporary setting the price and design are a great deal. Overstock had the best price by far with online searching.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? a little darker than posted
  • How is the quality of the product? excellent, very strong, very sturdy
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Modloft Pearl Modern Bookcase
 from Madison, WI,  Oct 19, 2010

I love this bookcase, it is sleek looking and at the same time heavy and sturdy, which I like. But customers beware - there's TWO bookshelves shown on the picture. So if you want the same look, make sure you buy two of them. It does say that in the item description, but this info is buried, so I did not figure this out until I received my bookshelf. But the product is great.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Stunning and Modern
 from New York, NY,  Aug 18, 2010

Rivals Italian designers such as Poliform for a fraction of the price. So excited to have discovered this brand of lovely and contemporary furniture.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top