Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-14 of 14 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Not bad
 from OKC,  Jun 8, 2012

It took a while for me to actually get this couch. The first one was damaged in shipping, but overstock sent another out. The color description is accurate, it is grey. Already knowing how fabric tends to look, I wasn't shocked when I got it. I would consider this more of a "Mink" color, it is grey, but has undertones of purples and browns. Since the fabric is velvet, it really does change color and look different depending on your wall color. The light reflection will make this look lighter during the day or when the over head lights are on. the couch is sturdy, and easy to put together. Just screwing in 5 legs. The style is fabulous! And the couch is comfortable.... I like my couches a little firm, and this couch is that. One thing I noticed is that one of the tufted buttons is missing at the top....I refuse to get a new couch over this so I will be contacting them to see if I can't get a new button. If not, I will just remove one of the buttons that are lower and put it in the missing place. As the missing one was towards the top of the couch. Over all, for a inexpensive couch...this is a great one, and good quality. Fabric is nice pile.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? So, so.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Okay.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Eye catching, elegant sofa
 from Jackson Heights, NY,  Jul 16, 2012

I was very impressed with this sofa. It looks so elegant until you don't even want to sit in it. Yet, it is very comfortable and inviting. The grey color is striking and makes the living room look like a showroom.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact match.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The sofa is comfortable, well made and looks fantastic.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? On the money.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quite distinctly purple
 from Portland, OR,  Apr 7, 2014

I wish Overstock let me include a photo with this review. The couch is purple. I have a grey cat, when he sits on it, he doesn't even remotely match it, because he's not a purple cat. It's a great looking sofa, but it definitely leans very, very cool - so it's been a struggle trying to fit it in with our warmer color scheme and I'm having to buy all new accessories and a new area rug to try to make it work. The pictures online of this thing vary wildly in color, so much that I'm guessing they had a separate lot that came out significantly more purple than the rest. I love the couch, but don't buy it if you're looking for the warm grey color in the picture, you'll be disappointed. To give you a realistic view of the couch, Google image search for "barrister velvet sofa" - most of the pictures are of this grey sofa, but a few of them are distinctly more purple -hued, those are what this sofa looks like in real life. I hope this helps!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lovely SOFA
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Mar 3, 2014

I received this sofa within 3 weeks of ordering it (CA-->NY). Thanks to previous reviews regarding delivery concerns, I was on top of the delivery company and did not have any issues with scheduling the delivery of the sofa. The sofa arrived with some damage to the lining in the bottom, but I didn't care to initiate a return, and it didn't bother me too much in any case. The sofa was brought in by the delivery guys and set up in less than 10 minutes. It is GORGEOUS! The gray shades from dove gray to pewter to slate to almost black. The black piping looks contrasty and gives the sofa an expensive look. I have it in a room with primarily white and teal accents and it fits in beautifully. The seats are firm but comfortable and spring right back into shape with minimal creases. I will highly recommend this for a transitional decor.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Terrible Delivery Process
 from Washington DC area,  Feb 14, 2014

This review isn't about the product, it is about Overstock and its delivery process. I don't have the furniture yet after a month and the sad part is I don't know when, or if I will get it. Overstock gave the shipment to YRC which in turn handed off to Valley Rolocation in Maryland. YRC did a good a job. The local delivery company Valley Relocation is terrible. They gave an appointment 13 days after they received the sofa, attempted to deliver 3 days before the scheduled time in the middle of the day when no one was home, wrote off that delivery failed and are waiting for reauthorization from YRC. So they screwed up and need more money to deliver. I tried to talk to YRC, they are saying the sofa is noted as damaged. I tried to talk to Overstock, couldn't reach them over the phone, chat representative wouldn't respond in 30 minutes after interacting with questions. At this point, I am considering raising a dispute with my AMEX card for refund. This is a terrible company with no sense of customer service. The few dollars are not worth the hassle to order from Overstock.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Very Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful, firm sofa
 from Houston, TX,  Oct 15, 2014

We did not have the shipping issues described by other customers. We received a shipment notification, filled out the requisite information online, and then the local delivery service called and let us know when it was scheduled for delivery. They gave us the option to reschedule for another date, which wasn't necessary for us. Altogether it ended up taking a little over 2 weeks to get it (purchased Sep 24, received Oct 10). The sofa arrived within the scheduled window, and the delivery team brought it into the house, attached the legs, and covered it in a plastic tarp (we had some flooring construction going on in another area of the house at the time) that I provided so that it wouldn't get dusty. The sofa is beautiful, and is a true gray color. I cannot speak for the color lots described by others, but my sofa definitely was NOT purple. It's a rich, deep gray, and has a light gray sheen where the velvet pile catches light. The piping is black, as advertised, though I would have prefered it to be a bit smaller. The diameter of the piping has a cartoonish quality that cheapens rather than modernizes the formal, elegant style of tufted velvet. The legs are sturdy with an espresso stain. I will say that it is a fairly firm sofa, and the arms are too low for practical use. If you're looking for a soft sofa, this is not the sofa for you. I will need to find or make pillows, and this is a difficult fabric/color/style combination to coordinate, since velvet is a little bit like velcro with fibers from other rich fabrics. Again, not a problem for me, but some people may find that annoying or limiting in terms of decor options. As some other reviewers mentioned, quality control does seem to be an issue with this manufacturer. The backrest portion of the sofa I received is broken; the spring there is bottoming out and making a very loud noise for anyone who tries to lean back on that half of the sofa. The right side is perfect. I sent a note to Overstock today to let them know. Waiting to hear back within the 48 hour window. Overall, I am pleased with the look and feel of the sofa. Just need to get the back fixed or replaced and am planning to purchase 2 arm chairs to coordinate.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautiful couch
 from Utah,  Sep 9, 2014

I really like this piece in my formal living room. It is a cool toned gray not warm gray.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sofa
 from Atl, Ga,  Jul 17, 2014

detailed written performance documentation that needs no explanation.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Very Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great
 from brooklyn, ny,  Jun 9, 2014

Great sofa, every time I entertain and have a gathering my guess are impress with the quality and comfort of my sofa. This is a added sophisticated look to my living room. I loved it!!!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Soft
Very Firm
Very Soft
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So Unique!
 from Arizona,  Jun 2, 2014

I never thought I would spend so much money on a sofa but I was pleasantly surprised to find we got a steal. This chair is so unique and has a great color pattern. The sofa is firm and if you are looking for an over stuffed feel than this is not your couch. Be forewarned the sofa only comes in freight method so be prepared to coordinate delivery and wait. We are near Overstock's California distribution center so it came quick but you may have to wait longer so plan accordingly.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Worst Experience Ever
 from Allentown, PA,  Feb 12, 2014

I bought 2 of these sofas in mid-November. By mid-December they were lost at the freight yard they were delivered to. It was a hassle and took 3 weeks of annoying back and forth arguing between the freight yard (YRC) and Overstock and myself for Overstock to finally acknowledge they were lost and permit another delivery and offer me a small credit for my trouble. The next 2 came much quicker but were delivered to my driveway early in the morning on a day it was supposed to rain. Luckily I got them inside my garage just before the rain occurred. Saw the other post about delivery issues and scoffed, well that teaches me a big lesson, these sofa's seem cursed in transit!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
More beautiful than you can imagine
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Dec 20, 2013

The pictures do not even being to do this couch justice. It is so beautiful. In some light it looks pewter/purple, in another light it looks dark pewter. The black trim around the cushions and on the arms is something I was worried about it but it fits the piece perfectly. The fabric is very soft and cushions are firm but very comfortable.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Average Comfort
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good buy on a tight budget
 from Louisville, KY,  Dec 14, 2013

Sofa arrived in great condition, much faster than expected. The style of the sofa is perfect for my decor and very nearly exactly what I wanted (with the low price point of around $800, I had to let go of my champagne dreams of the $1,800 favorite). The color of the grey velvet changes drastically with lighting conditions (seems to vary from blackish to dove grey) and I like the effect. The piping is BLACK, not grey, as indicated in the Q&A section, which was a little disappointing but overall I like the effect. The seating of the sofa is SUPER FIRM (I mean - if it doesn't loosen up I might look into getting memory foam inserts for the two seats) but the material is very soft. The tufting is beautiful and overall, it's a pretty great sofa. PS - The legs are shipped zippered into the lining of the bottom of sofa, so you'll have to flip it over to assemble.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Very Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Sofa
 from Houston,TX,  Nov 27, 2013

Love my new sofa It's beautiful! On the firm side but soft material

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-14 of 14 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Modern Grey Velvet Loveseat
Today $848.99
Compare $1201.00
Save 29%
(4)
Modern Grey Velvet Chair
Today $623.99
Compare $816.00
Save 24%
(2)
Modern Black Velvet Sofa With Crystal Buttons
Today $1149.99
Compare $1763.99
Save 35%
(4)
Back to top