Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 125 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
ESPRESSO DESK
 from New York, NY,  Feb 8, 2009

The dimensions of the desk in the product details are not right. It is four inches longer and a bit more than four inches deeper bringing it to 59'' W, 27,5 D X 30 H. Fortunately, it worked out for our space. It is definitely a great looking piece. Although it was well packed when it came, we were disappointed to see a few nicks rigth in the front part. Overall, we are still happy with it and the price was reasonable.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks Good, Easy To Set Up!
 from chicago, il,  Dec 3, 2010

This desk looks like it is from Crate and Barrel, and was VERY easy to set up -- it even came with it's own screwdriver and wrench. I would recommend getting a drill to make tightening easier, but overall I'm very pleased.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This desk is very nice with a large surface area
 from Fort Washington, MD,  Dec 9, 2011

I bought this desk for my daughter who needed a desk with a large surface area that she could use for her large drawings and artwork. She loves it. It was shipped in excellent condition and had all the parts and instructions. It was easy to put together in a short period of time. I would definitely recommend this product.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color matched perfectly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality of this desk is very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accuracy of description was excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
BAD EXPERIENCE
 from Dallas,Texas,  May 20, 2013

The table top arrived damaged the first time,so I had to order for the replacement.That arrived damaged too.The quality is not great .But I had an amazing experience with overstock.com's customer service.So it didn't stop me from buying from them. I WOULDN'T recommend this particular product !

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. bad
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
you don't always get what you pay for
 from Lebanon, NH,  Jan 25, 2013

This desk is really awful. When I took it out of the box, one of the side (support) pieces literally fell apart. I had to glue, clamp and screw it back together. The drawer was so out of line and so shaky that I had to glue it together, clamp it and screw it to the underside of the top with some angle irons. The side pieces wouldn't pull in close enough (that connecting/fastening hardware is hopeless), so I also had to glue, clamp and reinforce that with screws and angle irons. I bought this to use on stage for a theatre production, and I'll be lucky if it makes it until the end of the run. It was a complete waste of money and it wasted a lot of my time. Grrrrr.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color was fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. disappointingly poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? somewhat misleading, perhaps
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I really liked this desk at first, but after a couple of years of wear and tear it has not held up very good. Any little nick shows the true wood underneath - particle board. The joints have not held up very well, and the drawer has never been quite right and falls out all the time. You can get a much better desk at this price point.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very pleased
 from Durham, NC,  Jan 5, 2013

The product arrived in excellent condition save for one back board which had a minor, 3" edge split, most likely from rough handling. It was packaged with great care inside, foam and edge protections and all. The instructions were clear, all screws present, a screwdriver and a key included. The main plate is very heavy (for a physically average person, I guess). I cannot judge the actual composition but the appearance of main plate and legs is very solid and indistinguishable from hard/solid wood. The legs are wide/flat enough as to float on the carpet and not damage it. The assembly was trivial, and it took approx. 15' for the first, 5' for the second. The finished product is one solid, appealing, functional desk. There is one thing in the photos which is not apparent: the drawer underneath. I didn't notice it initially, but I like it very much although it takes a couple of inches off and for a tall guy that is significant. Overall, I am very pleased with this desk. I already recommended it to all my office mates as well.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks expensive
 from Portland, OR,  Dec 22, 2012

I am very impressed with this product. It looks very similar to one I saw at Crate and Barrel and I love that it is so large. The color is definitely dark brown/black espresso. As other reviewers mentioned, the drawer is a bit of a pain to put on because there are no pre-drilled holes. However, I was expecting that so ended up just putting it on and it went quickly. The first one I received: the large main desk area was damaged on the corner. I called Overstock and they sourced and got a replacement top out to me very very quickly. I especially appreciated how good the communication was during this process. Because of it, I went on to order other things from Overstock with confidence in the service I would receive if I had any problems in the future.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? As described and as pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Looks better than the materials, but definitely worth the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate description
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great modern desk
 from Clemson, South Carolina,  Dec 1, 2012

Pretty simple to put together; so says my husband. After almost a year the drawer fastners tend to loosen up frequently requiring them to be adjusted every couple of weeks. The finish on the front edge has been beaten off from a lot of use. Overall the desk has been a great additional to the family/office room. It has a very large work surface.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It looks black on the website and in the lighting in our family room it still comes off as black. But it does have a burgandy undertone.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. For the price the quality has exceeded my expections
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? auccurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great desk!
 from Washington, D.C.,  Apr 2, 2012

The desk came in a timely manner and the directions were excellent. I put it together myself in about an hour. Very solid, looks more expensive than it was and is perfect for a home office.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. the desk is great quality, it could easily pass for costing twice the price.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice looking inexpensive desk
 from Minnesota,  Dec 7, 2011

Assembly was a bit frustrating due to lock nuts not being able to reach the pegs when the pegs were screwed in all the way. I had to go back and loosen all of the pegs to get the nuts to properly secure. Quality and appearance of the desk is as pictured and expected, very good.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same as pictured
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Large, Modern, & Functional
 from Seattle, WA,  Aug 25, 2011

We needed a new office desk, but my boyfriend is extremely particular. Being a computer science guy, he has a large mounted monitor and two laptops in use on a daily basis. We needed something that had a large surface area, was not glass, looked attractive, and wouldn't put us in debt. This desk definitely fit the bill. It does not have a keyboard drawer, but the top is so massive that there's ample room for it on top. The side legs are simple yet attractive; we like that the design is modern without being unusual. The desk did not arrive perfect; there was a noticeable tear/ding in the top corner of the desk surface that we filled in with furniture marker and covered with a speaker. Additionally, one side of the pull out drawer needed to be glued, because the metal screw popped out every time you tried to use it. The only thing that could improve this massive behemoth of a desk would be a longer piece in the back going to the floor. It would be wonderful to block more computer cords from view. Otherwise it was a great purchase that we've both been happy with.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color was what was expected from the site picture.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Overall, the quality was fine.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Desk for the Price
 from NJ,  Apr 20, 2011

I purchased this desk for my home office. My office is paperless so I only have a phone, computer, and dual monitors. This desk fits all of that with room to spare. It feels well built and went together easily. My only complaint is the smell of the desk when you first pull it out of the box. I had a very strong stench for about a week. It didn't necessarily smell bad, but it was very strong and it made my entire room smell. Again, this smell went away after about a week, but for that week it was a bit much. Despite that, I am still very happy with this desk and I would recommend it to a friend. Also, since I didn't need any storage I didn't even bother to assemble the included drawer since I was more interested in the increased leg room :) .

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great with minor caveats
 from Medford, OR,  Feb 12, 2014

After reading other reviews I was a little apprehensive about purchasing this desk, but due to the style and the price (this desk goes for 300+ at other vendors) I decided to go ahead and purchase the desk. Shipping and packaging - the shipping was quick, however there was damage to a corner (very minor) that was scraped in shipping - it was definitely not a manufacturing issue. In a nut shell the packaging is not sufficient enough to protect the weight of the desk, so the box breaks, and the corner protection gets loose and comes off in the box. I was able to touch up the corner with a paint marker and decided to keep it. Assembly - the desk is simple to assemble if you follow the instructions. It took about 30 minutes to put together from start to finish. All tools and hardware are included, however I used an electric screwdriver. It is easy to see where people will have issues with the assembly: If you over-tighten the cam screws the cam nuts will not be able to lock onto the screw. Also, if you over-tighten the screws you can strip out the anchors in the wood, which would make everything loose. Basically, don't over-tighten anything and you will be fine. The plus with this desk is since there are no staples or nails used in the assembly everything can be removed easily for transportation. Appearance / weight - personally, I believe this desk is beautiful. The finish is dark, but definitely not black. On a calibrated screen the color is darker than the actual product. I did not have any issues with nicks in the furniture, other than the corner that I mentioned above. The chemical smell went away in less than 24 hours. The feet could have been bigger on this unit, but it should be much of an issue to replace them if you ever need to. The desk does not move. I tried to shake it and knock it from the sides and it wouldn't budge. This is a heavy piece, which is a good thing! Issues - this is purely personal, but I had to take the drawer off after a day. My seat sits up fairly high so my legs would hit the drawer. Other than that this desk is great. Especially for the price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Terrible Quality
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Apr 6, 2013

Avoid this thing. The quality is horrendous. It starts with the horrendous packaging which was falling apart when it arrived at our door. Pieces were falling out of the boxes because of that and it seems to have caused several large scratches in the wood before we even opened the thing up. Also some of the top layer of the wood laminate was peeling off at the corners. On trying to put it together, it's like a cheap knock off of a popular Swedish brand of furniture. The standardized screws and pieces look similar, but without any of the precision. You'll be fiddling with screws forever to get them into a state where the circular clamps will actually be able to turn and tighten everything together. The instructions ask you to place screws for the drawer slides in places that have no pre-drilled holes to prevent wood splitting. If you can get the thing together without gaps between pieces or the drawer sticking out past the edge of the desk, then I commend you. You're a better furniture assembler than me. You'll still have a cheap looking, scratched-up piece of furniture though. So either way, you'll still end up a loser.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Ok
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Awful
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Arrived damaged, seems unstable once assembled
 from Morgantown, WV,  Feb 28, 2013

Though functional the desk seems to lack sturdiness. Although it doesn't seem as if it would collapse at moments notice (I think), the desk seems to wobble slightly and shift when the weight on top shifts. Multiple re-tightenings of the bolts and anchor screws have had no effect. In addition, the desk arrived with a chip the size of a dime on a top edge. Would not purchase again.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The desk is lighter than in the picture. Appears to be more of a cherry rather than the espresso portrayed in the image.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The product seems shoddy. Small gaps are visible between joined pieces and the entire desk seems to a wobble a bit.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this desk!
 from CA,  Jul 3, 2012

This desk is so nice that I just purchased another one! So easy to put together and very nice quality once it's put together. One of the other reviewers said it looks like a Crate & Barrel desk or Pottery Barn and that's exactly right for a fraction of the cost.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
fasteners defective
 from New york, NY,  Dec 18, 2011

this is a nice looking piece of furniture but all of the fasteners that attached the back and the drawer were defective. The pegs were too slim and the fasteners wouldn't bite. I ended up throwing away the drawer after trying to get it to attach with wood screws

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Positive review
 from Tamarac, FL,  Dec 6, 2011

We ordered two of these desks. They were vary easy to assemble and very sturdy. They look great in our new office and have plenty of room to work on!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? matched exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good quality..sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sleek and sturdy
 from Cape Coral FL,  Nov 29, 2011

I bought two of these desks for our home office. Fits in with my eclectic Mediterranian decor very handsomely. The desk drawer on both desks is the weakest link of the product. The fastner doesn't stay tight. I added some glue which seems to have solved the problem.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was as pictured.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solid construction. Assembly was quite easy, I just had to trust the pictures as there were no words.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 125 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought