Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 81 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
mission style bookcase
 from Maryland,  Nov 29, 2010

Some of wood damaged on corners and scratched and multiple screw holes did not line up. With good help I could not assemble this properly. End result was wobbly, not all screws in properly, very disappointing. Hoped to put this in living room but didn't--now strictly a lousy storage thing in closet. Wish I could have returned it! And allen wrench quit half-way through project. Do not buy this! I am usually very pleased with over-stock, not this time.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Style and Value
 from Chicago,  Dec 9, 2009

This Bookshelf was very nice looking, easy to assemble and is very sturdy. The directions were a bit sparse, so I would recommend laying the pieces out first to be sure everything is in the right direction and the top shelf is on the top, etc... We were able to assemble this in less than 60 minutes! Also, delivery was very fast and without a scratch!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good for the price
 from Nahant, MA,  Dec 8, 2011

This is a pretty good shelf for the price. I bought it because I liked the airy open design. My house has pretty low ceilings, so I don't want to use bulky, heavy-looking furniture. Despite the open design, this shelf feels pretty sturdy. I'm storing mostly books on it. I used common sense when I loaded up the shelves (ie heavier books on the bottom, progressively lighter things above). It was not hard to assemble. I did it by myself (with a couple beers) in about an hour. One bad thing - the little allen wrench they give you starts wearing out (ie the corners start rounding out and it becomes more difficult to turn the screws) with the last couple screws. It felt a little rickety while I was building it, but when it was all put together and standing up, it seemed much more sturdy. It does lean forward a little, but that may be due to my thick carpet.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Matched with chosen color (black). not the same as the color in the image
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seems quite good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? I don't think that "solid wood" is completely correct. It may be completely wood, but it's not planks, it's a compressed wood board of some kind.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Best Value-Shelf
 from Washington, DC,  May 24, 2008

The Mission -style Solid Wood Bookcase was fairly easy to assemble (putting the shelves in place proved to be challenging because this is supposed to take place before the back of the shelf is attached). While the shelf is lightweight, it takes up very little space, but I am able to attractively display all my knick-knacks. The shelf is sturdy, it appears to be durable, and I'm considering purchasing another!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mission style bookcase
 from Freeport, Maine,  Jul 25, 2014

This bookcase arrived within a week of ordering it. The color is darker than I thought it would be but it is OK. I assembled it by myself in about an hour and it went together beautifully. I suggest you assemble it on a table top or work bench. The Allen wrench that is included is not really strong enough for the job so I suggest you use a stronger one. I had no problem at all with the screw holes lining up. Every one of them was perfect. The bookcase is very sturdy and the shelves are full of books. I am very pleased with how it all went together.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Make your own furniture
 from Kent, Ohio,  Feb 11, 2014

Bought two of these. They are solid wood--that's the good news. What happened to me, I hope, is a fluke. In one of the boxes, I had only one top stabilizer for the mantle (instead of two) and an extra back support board, which was the same dimension, but drilled differently. As I did not have time to wait for another board to be sent to me, I re-manufactured the part with a number of complicated tricks and without a drill press. I would not wish that on anyone--nor would I recommend anyone attempt what I did.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mission stlye black bookcase
 from Mississippi,  Jan 28, 2014

This bookcase is a great disappointment. I "mis-Ordered" a previous bookcase which turned out to be the wrong color and had to be returned--but at least it was almost 50% less expensive than this one. This one was difficult to assemble because a number of the predrilled holes did not line up and once assembled is wobbly. I have two other black Mission style bookcase which I wanted to match, but would return this in a heartbeat if I hadn't spent so much time and effort putting it together. I'm usually VERY HAPPY with Overstock, but not this time.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good quality materials, easy assembly.
 from Santa Rosa, California,  Jul 31, 2012

The product fit the purpose for which it was intended perfectly. The finish could have been better but was acceptable.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color on the site was accurate-black
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality for the price.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? True to description.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Well, it is wood...
 from Indianapolis, IN,  Apr 2, 2012

So So. No instructions in the box. Phone number to call for missing items was listed on the box but it was "disconnected." I called O and they said they would try to find one and MAIL it to me. Great. Waited over a week to get it and then more for instructions? One of the small pieces on the sides was broken and I had to glue it back together and put a little paint on it to hide the problem. Additionally, there are scratches and a few nicks that were covered up on the wood before it was sent to me. They are noticeable. At least it is real wood and it does look ok.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was black as expected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It is wood and not a veneer over fiber board which is good. But it is a very light wood that is not very strong
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A disappointment
 from Northern Nevada,  Apr 23, 2011

The disappointment began with unpacking this item. Faint white splotches were on the finish throughout several pieces. (Since I had the dark finish, they were noticeable.) With elbow grease and some Old English they came off. The next disappointment was three of the five shelves had surfaces heavily scratched. Sure, they won't be seen once I put books on them, but I at least want to be the one to put scratches in the furniture! Overall, it was easy to assemble, but there ought to be a law against a hardened steel hex wrench and the light aluminum screws. Assembly took only 20 minutes (but that doesn't count all the cleaning and polishing I had to do).

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pretty good quality but wrench was bad
 Jan 17, 2016

We tightened the bolts as tight as we could until the wrench gave out and stopped working and the shelf swayed horribly. We ended up buying a new bit set for our power drill and tightened them that way and doesn't sway at all now. There is pretty much no way anyone would be able to tighten them perfectly with the tool it comes with. Other than that, I am happy with the purchase and would buy another.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
One of the holes was not drilled well
 Dec 22, 2015

One of the holes for the screws was not drilled well and the screw ended up punching through the bottom. It would have been too much effort to return, so I just kept it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
CC
 Nov 8, 2015

ordered these some time back and they have been perfect for what I needed. they look good in my home office. very pleased

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
bookcase
 Oct 25, 2015

Still use this , after many years, to store my towels in bath

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect for me!
 from Seattle area,  Nov 21, 2014

While the product has some superficial flaws (tiny paint imperfections and a couple of rough surfaces), they are real wood, sturdy, functional and very good looking. I bought two of the shelving units for my home office (in black) and they hold numerous books, photos, and various knick-knacks very nicely. I'm very pleased with this purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Difficult construction, poor stain quality
 from NM,  Aug 28, 2014

I have put together 6 different items for our living area and nursery in the past 2 months, and these 2 units were by far the worst in quality and ease of construction. To begin, the color was completely different from the pic and the staining was uneven and it appeared to have some sort of dried glue or something smeared along long swaths of the finish. This was not so noticeable that I was willing to go through the hassle of returning, so I moved on to putting them together. This was awful. Something that should have been easy and straightforward turned into a 4 hour blister inducing ordeal since the screw holes not only did not line up, but were all drilled crookedly and at a fairly steep angle from the horizontal. Once put together they are fairly stable, but not great, look ok. For the price these are absolutely not worth it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good looking/good function
 from Virginia,  Aug 1, 2013

The (black) bookcase is working well for us. It replaced a larger sofa table piece of furniture and we appreciate the smaller area this bookshelf takes up. It is plain and does not in any way overwhelm our other family room furniture. Books on shelves are in good order and bottom shelf also holds a small music system. So glad we ordered it!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This bookshelf holds up my encyclopedias and more
 from El Paso, TX,  Oct 14, 2012

It is a nice for what I asked for and it is wood. Not the best wood or the worst.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It is good for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great bookcase
 from richmond CA,  Aug 7, 2012

great bookcase. holds all my photo albums, which are tall and heavy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. really good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good solid
 from texas,  Feb 24, 2012

The black was good. The slates holding the books in were a little flimsy and weak. Have to be careful. But the rest is solid and durable.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. solid, except side slates. A little on the weak and flimsy side.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 81 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought