Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 70 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Exactly as expected - How refreshing!
 from South Pasadena, CA,  Jan 26, 2012

When I was reading previous reviews of the product, I was hesitant, but the price and style were perfect. I crossed my fingers and ordered. Unlike those people who had complaints, I was quite happy. All the screws were there, all of the holes lined up, the directions were easy to follow and I was able to assemble the parts and pieces without help. It took about 30 minutes. The finish was even and flawless. There was a small nick in the back on one piece that was easily disguised with a dab of black sharpie.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as advertised
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solid and sturdy with a rich appearance
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exactly as described
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good quality. Sturdy solid wood. Quick assembly
 from Chicago,  Jan 18, 2012

Good quality. Solid wood which is rare to find and a steal for this price. I wanted a sturdy economical bookshelf for my daughter's books and settled on this after a long search. The "kiddie" bookshelves could hardly hold 10-15 books and everything else was flimsy particle board. Also, I didn't have to hear hubby gripe as the assembly was quick.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Risky Product
 from Wichita, KS,  Jan 7, 2012

I like the wood, style and color, but the top piece had a broken corner that the manufacturer glued back together and packaged for sale rather than scrapping the damaged piece and making a new one. I expect furniture to be free of such damage when I order it because it is a hassle to send it back. Clearly, Overstock.com is dealing with a very dishonest supplier. It is NEVER OK to glue a broken corner and not indicate to the buyer that the product is damaged. I feel taken.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Not accurate as the product was damaged and glued back together. Everything else was as represented.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
No obvious flaws.
 from Colorado,  Jan 2, 2014

This is a very inexpensive unit that is actually sturdier than expected. I'd thought with the open design, the piece might not be sturdy enough to support all my books and magazines; yet it is really a solid fixture. The color is true to the photo, but the finish is a bit inconsistent in the less-noticeable areas, and I recall a couple of the pre-drilled holes were ever-so-slightly off; however, I'm still thrilled with the unit - and especially at the cost. It looks great and fools the eye. As always, I added wood glue to all the openings for added security - as I'll not be needing to ever dismantle the piece. The glue probably wasn't needed. I'm very please with this.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mission Bookshelves are as advertised
 from Harrisburg, PA,  Dec 19, 2013

Product arrived in good time and undamaged, with all parts and pieces. Assembly was done by myself using only manual screwdrivers and took over ninety minutes including both shelves, but I did not consider this an unreasonable amount of time. The shelves are as they appear in the ads and sturdy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy and tasteful
 from Penfield, NY,  Nov 14, 2013

Look, this is not an upscale piece, so it helps if you compare it to other units at a similar price point. This shelf unit is sturdy, easy to assemble, and looks nice-- just don't examine the finish quality or grain too closely. It is sprayed, apparently with one coat of stain with the urethane/lacquer together. No apparent rubbing to show the grain, but that's OK because the grain is not all that attractive anyway. Now, understand that these are shelves and will be covered with books (in my case), so that's mostly moot. I can't afford a great piece of furniture for this purpose in this location, and the price makes it a really good value. On balance, a great purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great shelf
 from Washington, DC,  Nov 9, 2012

This shelf is nice and sturdy and a beautiful color. It took a bit of effort to put together, just to make sure that all of the screws were tight, but it was not difficult.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
casual bookcase
 from Nashville, TN,  Dec 17, 2014

Item arrived in a timely manner, in very good condition and was easily assembled. Very good product.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good overall
 from penn.,  Dec 9, 2014

Overall this is a nice bookcase. The only reason for 4 stars is the buttons that cover the crew holes are so tight they barley fit in the holes so some stick way out and some don't. Also 2 corners were damaged on both pieces from either warehouse handling or shipping.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Small Bookcase
 from Austin, TX,  Dec 3, 2014

I got this shelf to fit in a small office/planning area. It looks great. The shelf was easy to assemble and is very sturdy. I would recommend it. kk

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I am pleased with the mission style shelf.
 from Dunkirk, Maryland,  Dec 3, 2014

The mission style shelf was exactly what I was looking for in my kitchen to hold my cookbooks and CD player and tapes. I listen to music in the kitchen and I had so many books that I didn't have room for. This way I am able to display them with style and purpose.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Exactly what I wanted!
 from Detroit, MI,  Nov 25, 2014

Easy to put together. Looks lovely. Exactly what I wanted. Really like the color!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Yikes!
 from Iowa,  Nov 21, 2014

The description said it was solid wood, frame and finish. Well, it must have come from a styrofoam tree because it was not solid anything. Pretty darn cheap and I'm sad I bought it. I've bought many pieces of furniture from Overstock and have been satisfied, but not this time. Don't buy it unless you have small books or light weight items to put on the shelves.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice piece of furniture.
 from Venice, CA,  Nov 12, 2014

This is a tasteful piece of furniture...VERY easy to put together. Looks like I bought it at a nice furniture store. I am very happy with it, the color is a nice cherry color. Perfect size for books and my printer.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautifully designed two-tier bookshelf
 from Michigan,  Oct 30, 2014

This is a very nice bookshelf and very easy to assemble. It comes with some tools for assembly, but one would still need a screw driver.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Book case
 from NY,  Sep 10, 2014

Easy to assemble. Good and pretty sturdy. Nice color.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great 3 tier shelf
 from New Mexico,  Sep 7, 2014

this is a great shelf, especially for the price. Easy to put together and very sturdy. I am using it in my kitchen to hold cookbooks, recipe boxes and some other kitchen items. I also placed a nice plant on top.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy enough to do the job
 from Wyoming,  Aug 20, 2014

This bookcase went together easily. We like the dark color and style and it will do the job nicely. The very top shelf arrived with several long scratches and a gouge and is now being replaced by Overstock, which was very easy to work with. We've decided to use a sealer on the entire piece, as it will get plenty of use.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Positive review
 from Hinsdale, Illinois,  Aug 5, 2014

fit the space, looks good, easy toput together, price was right.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great buy
 from VA,  Jul 1, 2014

Sturdy mission style book case that appears to be easily accommodating two full shelves of mostly hardback books without bowing or tipping. Attractive, above average quality, and looks to be much more expensive than it is. Plus, I could assemble it fairly easily by following the instructions in less than an hour, and the occasional errors (note that the side pieces with 3 holes must face inward!!) were purely due to not looking at the diagram closely enough. Very happy with this purchase!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 70 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought