Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 58 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Exactly as expected - How refreshing!
 from South Pasadena, CA,  Jan 26, 2012

When I was reading previous reviews of the product, I was hesitant, but the price and style were perfect. I crossed my fingers and ordered. Unlike those people who had complaints, I was quite happy. All the screws were there, all of the holes lined up, the directions were easy to follow and I was able to assemble the parts and pieces without help. It took about 30 minutes. The finish was even and flawless. There was a small nick in the back on one piece that was easily disguised with a dab of black sharpie.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as advertised
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solid and sturdy with a rich appearance
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exactly as described
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good quality. Sturdy solid wood. Quick assembly
 from Chicago,  Jan 18, 2012

Good quality. Solid wood which is rare to find and a steal for this price. I wanted a sturdy economical bookshelf for my daughter's books and settled on this after a long search. The "kiddie" bookshelves could hardly hold 10-15 books and everything else was flimsy particle board. Also, I didn't have to hear hubby gripe as the assembly was quick.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Risky Product
 from Wichita, KS,  Jan 7, 2012

I like the wood, style and color, but the top piece had a broken corner that the manufacturer glued back together and packaged for sale rather than scrapping the damaged piece and making a new one. I expect furniture to be free of such damage when I order it because it is a hassle to send it back. Clearly, Overstock.com is dealing with a very dishonest supplier. It is NEVER OK to glue a broken corner and not indicate to the buyer that the product is damaged. I feel taken.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Not accurate as the product was damaged and glued back together. Everything else was as represented.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
No obvious flaws.
 from Colorado,  Jan 2, 2014

This is a very inexpensive unit that is actually sturdier than expected. I'd thought with the open design, the piece might not be sturdy enough to support all my books and magazines; yet it is really a solid fixture. The color is true to the photo, but the finish is a bit inconsistent in the less-noticeable areas, and I recall a couple of the pre-drilled holes were ever-so-slightly off; however, I'm still thrilled with the unit - and especially at the cost. It looks great and fools the eye. As always, I added wood glue to all the openings for added security - as I'll not be needing to ever dismantle the piece. The glue probably wasn't needed. I'm very please with this.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mission Bookshelves are as advertised
 from Harrisburg, PA,  Dec 19, 2013

Product arrived in good time and undamaged, with all parts and pieces. Assembly was done by myself using only manual screwdrivers and took over ninety minutes including both shelves, but I did not consider this an unreasonable amount of time. The shelves are as they appear in the ads and sturdy.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy and tasteful
 from Penfield, NY,  Nov 14, 2013

Look, this is not an upscale piece, so it helps if you compare it to other units at a similar price point. This shelf unit is sturdy, easy to assemble, and looks nice-- just don't examine the finish quality or grain too closely. It is sprayed, apparently with one coat of stain with the urethane/lacquer together. No apparent rubbing to show the grain, but that's OK because the grain is not all that attractive anyway. Now, understand that these are shelves and will be covered with books (in my case), so that's mostly moot. I can't afford a great piece of furniture for this purpose in this location, and the price makes it a really good value. On balance, a great purchase.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great shelf
 from Washington, DC,  Nov 9, 2012

This shelf is nice and sturdy and a beautiful color. It took a bit of effort to put together, just to make sure that all of the screws were tight, but it was not difficult.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great buy
 from VA,  Jul 1, 2014

Sturdy mission style book case that appears to be easily accommodating two full shelves of mostly hardback books without bowing or tipping. Attractive, above average quality, and looks to be much more expensive than it is. Plus, I could assemble it fairly easily by following the instructions in less than an hour, and the occasional errors (note that the side pieces with 3 holes must face inward!!) were purely due to not looking at the diagram closely enough. Very happy with this purchase!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this bookcase
 from Chicago, IL,  May 23, 2014

We love this bookcase. It was easy to put together, just make sure you follow the instructions and NOT tighten the screws too much. It is very sturdy. We are using it to hold some medical equipment that is fairly heavy and vibrates when in use. The bookcase never moves! A great purchase for a great price.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
perfect solution
 from Kingston N.Y.,  May 3, 2014

I needed something to put plants on in front of my window Matches my furniture was easy to assemble

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
looks very expensive
 from Fl,  May 1, 2014

very easy to put together, looks expensive but was afforadble

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice result if you are patient
 from Mt. Laurel N. J.,  Apr 22, 2014

Recommend with reservations. I am no novice at assembling furniture, but this little shelf presented some problems. 1 - nowhere in the instructions did it say you needed a Philips head screwdriver for the smaller screws. Not a deal breaker, but I like to have what I need organized before starting a project, so that info should have been included. 2- (much more annoying) one of the larger screw heads refused to accommodate the small side of the wrench which made it impossible to tighten that screw. I had to run out to buy the smallest quantity of that particular size screw. It's a nice looking shelf: I needed something small to house my media units and it does this job nicely and inexpensively. Just not the equality control I'm used to coming from O.com.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice,Sturdy and decorative
 from Seattle, WA,  Mar 27, 2014

Every thing I marked is true, putting it together was a bit time consuming however.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
book case
 from Colorado,  Mar 6, 2014

I wish I had gotten a taller one. All the books that I had didn't fit. I'll probably get another one It seems like good guality, and not too difficult to put together. I bouht mostly because of it's size(deepness), but I also like the style and that it was all wood.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome bargain
 from Oklahoma,  Mar 3, 2014

Great shelf...solid wood...easy to assemble and looks great ordered this one and two taller ones and they look great together.....

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
exactly what I needed
 from Texas,  Feb 18, 2014

I have needed a good looking bookcase for some time, & my purchase is exactly what I needed. I have limited space, so it is small enough for the space I have available. I like it very much.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
three tier shelf
 from Rochester, NY,  Jan 24, 2014

Solid wood! not chip board or particle board. East to assemble. Nice dark stain. Perfect for my TV and alarm clock in my bedroom

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gorgeous!
 from MI,  Jan 14, 2014

This is a beautiful shelving unit. Easy to put together. Overstock also has a 5 shelf unit to match that I also purchased. Maybe a small glitch with installing the top shelf (alignment issue) but no big deal.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
mission shelf
 from Jacksonville, FL,  Jan 7, 2014

Fairly easy to put together, looks great. Just what I wanted and just as it was pictured on site.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pleasantly surprised?
 from New Jersey,  Dec 2, 2013

For the price -simply elegant. A wonderful addition to an empty corner of my living room. Easy to assemble and color is true to the picture. Will absolutely order from Overstock again.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 58 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Montego 3-tier Bookcase
Today $54.92
Compare $89.58
Save 39%
(52)
2-shelf Bookcase
Today $77.99
Compare $113.99
Save 32%
(57)
Folding Stackable Bookcase 27.5W
Today $58.87
Compare $66.18
Save 11%
(36)
Back to top