Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 390 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 20 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating

Purchased the bed for Christmas for my fiance - had to get email updates because the bed kept selling out. My best buy on Overstock. This is one of the nicest beds ever, period. I could see it in the West Elm or Room & Board or Crate & Barrel catalogs (for $1200 plus, naturally). It is truly sturdy (SOLID wood - absolutely no particle board - and it doesn't move or wiggle around!!!) The rubberwood has a beautiful grain! It was so securely packaged (came in two LARGE and HEAVY boxes) NOTHING was damaged at all! It took my fiance 3-4 hrs. to put together with no power tools whatsoever. The worst problem was fitting the headboard to the rest of the bed. One note: you don't need a box spring with this bed - and the thinner and lower profile the mattress, the better. The only thing I can complain about is that I ended up wishing I'd bought one for myself! The color is gorgeous - between a chestnut and espresso, very glowy. The style is somewhere between Modern and Asian, with a little Wright thrown in there, too. You will get a ton of compliments - as long as you have a lower-profile mattress, note, probably not a pillow top, because it obscures the headboard, which is not as tall as it could be... One note: Bed will be very difficult to take apart once, or if, we move. I recommend bolting it together and leaving it where it is!!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Bed - Special tools help assembly
 from Islip, NY,  May 14, 2008

The Milton Bed is excellent in appearance and the finish is very good. It is well engineered for strenght and does not have any wobble at all. The supplied allen keys are not sufficient for timely assembly of the bed, especially the headboard. Luckily, I have a set of ball-end allen keys and found them indespensible for assembling the headboard. Before attempting to assemble the bed, buy 3/16" and 5/32" ball-end allen keys, some wood glue for the dowels (the supplied "Crazy Glue" is does NOTHING) and a rubber mallet. I assembled it in 2 hours by myself but with their supplied tools, it would have taken at least another hour to assemble the headboard and another half hour for the bed rails. If you intend to use this bed for a foam mattress, be aware that you will also need to buy 2 60"x40" pieces of 1/4" plywood as the mattress support grid is spaced out with 3 1/4" between each of the 2 3/4" slats. If you put the foam mattress on this support, it will eventually ooze out the bottom between the slats. I am very satisfied with the bed and feel that is an excellent value. If I didn't have the extra tools on hand, I know that my frustration level with the assembly issues would have canelled out my positive fellings about the bed. Thanks for the good deal, Overstock.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great quality bed
 from Colorado,  Aug 10, 2008

I'm completely satisfied with the Milton Bed. It's both sturdy and beautiful and arrives expertly packaged so there are no scratches in the wood. I bought a pillow top mattress (18.5") to go on it, and while it is true that a high profile mattress will cover a bit of the headboard, it's still looks great. I do recommend two people for assembly. I did most of it by myself and it was not easy. Also, be aware that in addition to the tools that come with it (various sized Allen wrenches) you will also need a rubber mallet for pounding dowels, plus a drill or electric screwdriver as there are a few screw holes that are not drilled out enough to do by hand. Also, the slats that go across the bottom are not pre-drilled, so if you want to attach them you will need the electric screwdriver. I highly recommend this bed.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Incredible value
 from Rocky Mountains, USA,  Aug 19, 2011

Just a few points not covered extensively elsewhere... This is not something you'll want to fling together in a half hour. Taking your time and doing it right, this bed should serve you well for many years. The strength and overall stability of this bed is heavily dependent on the slats tying everything together. My advice is to pre-drill your pilot holes into the slat support rail. (the slats themselves are pre-drilled with countersunk holes, making this step easy) If you don't, you risk splitting the rail, as all the screws are roughly lined up down its entire length. The instructions mention spacing the slats approximately 80mm apart. For a quick and easy gauge, use a tennis ball canister flipped upside down. Using this for a spacer between the slats while you drill the pilot holes ensures the slats are evenly spaced when you're done. Beware, the instructions have a couple of errors on page 5 (mine did anyway) but nothing that should fully derail you, as long as you're able to think spatially and you've skimmed over the instructions fully before starting. The kit comes with "super glue". I passed on this and used a quality wood glue, but I only used it for the top caps on the headboard. The assembly of the head and foot board merely uses dowels to properly guide the fasteners together. Not sure why they'd advise you to use the glue here, as there's already 12 bolts holding the basic frame together. If you pay close attention to the head and foot board, you'll see holes on one side of each. This should make it obvious which way to orient them during assembly. Should you use glue here, disassembly will be less than fun. To repeat what others have mentioned many times, the bed is gorgeous and sturdy. Don't be in a hurry and it should stay this way for a long time.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Seemed fine to me, but monitors are notoriously inaccurate for judging color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is high for a home assembled piece.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Quite
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful bed!
 Sep 5, 2007

This is an OUTSTANDING deal! You cannot find a bed this nice for under a grand. IMPORTANT! If you order this bed, do yourself a favor. Buy a flexible extension for your drill, and a 4mm & 5mm hex head for it. It will make assembly a breeze. Otherwise you hafta use the generic hex tool included which will take a month of turning.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
poor design
 from los angeles,  Jul 5, 2010

i would have loved the bed if the legs were designed differently. the legs stick out and i'm constantly hitting my feet against the legs. i've suffered injuries as a result of the legs. I cannot recommend.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Milton Queen Size Bed
 from Los Angeles,  Sep 30, 2007

Well, I was really anxious to purchase a new bed for college- for my new apartment. I wanted a sophisticated look for my room- not TOO modern, not too boxy. I searched around for beds, and then I saw this one- I immediately fell in love with it. I convinced my mother to buy it for me. Shipping was excellent, I received it promptly and with all the shipping information- can't complain about that. I left it in the box as I was going to be moving 500 miles away from home. My parents helped me move into my new apartment, and my dad and I assembled the bed together. Now THAT was a rather long process, and it wasn't even because we didn't read the instructions thoroughly- but because some of the pieces - the headboard for example, have an almost identical front and back! Eugh, it took us roughly about 2 to 3 hours to complete- no JOKE, the headboard was placed improperly so my dad had to detach the sides which were GLUED together...and other mishaps that occurred that delayed the assembling process. Other than that- the bed is absolutely beautiful, everyone who comes in my room notes the size- it's very big, and the beautiful headboard. Ah, I love the finish. If you're looking for something refined, without having to spend that much money- this bed is it. The color goes well with just about any decor. My room is full of natural colors, taupe- beige, rustic reds, and the bed compliments them ALL. I'm very glad with my purchase!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
sturdy, stylish, shin-assassin
 from Connecticut,  Jan 16, 2012

I've owned this bed for four years now and it has held up wonderfully. Only two issues - the center supports that sit under the slats tend to shift and....I whack my shins on the foot board all the time! Operator error? Maybe. But they do stick out a little and it's not so easy to see if the bedding is slightly draped over. I would definitely recommend.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Quality - Sturdy and Beautiful
 from California,  Oct 2, 2011

This bed frame is a piece of quality and beautiful. I really care about quality, and I was a bit hesitant to buy this bed because I was not sure how well the slats were designed. There are certainly enough slats (12) , and they are coated and are high quality. I have a latex mattress and did not want to use a box spring so purchased this frame. I am very happy with it as it is sturdy and holds my mattress very well without sagging. The sturdiness of the slats is better than any of the foundations I have researched for my latex mattress. A couple of notes: - Assembly is fairly easy and straightforward. I was able to do it myself with a power drill. The frame onto which the slats are attached are not pre-drilled. I first tried to pre-drill, but the slat holes for the screws do not go all the way through the slats, either, so it was challenging for me to match up the slats with the pre-hilled holes, so I stopped halfway through. By not pre-drilling, I could not get the screws to go in all the way into the frame; however, I am ok with this as they still fit in the slat recessed area for the screws. They seem to stay in place. - The supporting legs are short that they do not reach the floor. I unscrewed one of the leg bottoms, and it now touches, but I honestly don't think I need the supporting legs to touch as the overall frame and legs are pretty sturdy. - They have glue but not sure if it is really necessary. I started to use the glue but then stopped about halfway through as I didn't really see the point and think it should be fine without it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Slightly lighter than the photo but still rich in color.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality and craftsmanship.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Challenging construction, middle supports break
 from Nashville, TN,  Aug 15, 2011

The assembly of the headboard requires very small fingers, a contortionist ability, and patience of Job. The middle support beam for the slats has several support legs. These interior support legs are not long enough, even with the adjusters fully extended. They've all broken. Add that to the fact that the 2 endcaps on the headboard come off easily. The bed is still standing, but not as sturdy as it was 4 years ago.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. fair: middle support legs break easily, assembly VERY difficult
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The reviews don't lie...
 from Columbus, OH,  May 22, 2010

I bought 3 Queen platform beds from Overstock.com. We love the beds too...any bed made of "Rubberwood" is excellent quality, heavy & very durable FYI--just type in rubberwood and all kinds of great pieces come up & with 4.5-5 star reviews overall. I am a furniture snob when it comes to quality and have most of our pieces made by the Amish, but I have to say these pieces are better than anything you will get at your local furniture store--even the higher end ones-- and run a close second to the heavy pieces we have had made in terms of stability, weight, design, character & finish.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lovely, But Sharp
 from Texas,  Mar 25, 2010

Let me start by saying that this bed is in our guest room. And we love this bed, it looks nice, the quality of the wood is great, the color is beautiful, BUT so many of our guests that use our guest room have hit themselves walking by it. (Even drawing blood) The corners at the foot of the bed stick out a lot and are sharp corners. We joke about putting baby edge guards there. Maybe we just have clumsy friends? If I could do over, I would get a bed without anything at the foot of the bed. It does look great in the guest room with the bedspread on it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Bed!
 from Georgia,  Apr 14, 2012

This bed is a great value for the price. The parts are wood and seem very well made. The bed is as the picture shows - including color. The instructions are incredibly easy and every piece is very well marked. I am not great at putting things together, but you can't miss with these directions. Every package of nuts, screws, bolts, etc, is marked and the directions coincide with the marked packages. Even each piece of the bed is marked with a letter to let you know what goes where. It really could not be easier! We bought this bed for our 12 year old son and I am so glad we did. I had looked at a currently popular "Swedish" furniture store and their quality could not measure up to this bed. It comes in 3 boxes, but don't let that scare you. I think this bed will last quite awhile.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great quality
 from Louisiana,  Jun 27, 2011

This bed was easy to assemble. ( I am a female) The quality is very good and appears it will last me a long time. The only issue I had was that the color of the bed in the picture has a darker finish than the actual bed has. Still a great product. Just don't buy your other bedroom pieces until you see the color of the bed itself.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Not exactly. The color of the bed is actually a lighter finish than shown in the picture.
  • How is the quality of the product? Great quality, should last a long time
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
BEAUTIFUL
 from Fort Walton Beach, FL,  Jul 21, 2006

This bed is beautiful. It has a unique character and yet still simple and clean. The product you receive is well worth the price - I would have paid double. Time consuming to assemble but worth it in the end!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great deal for a great item
 from Wisconsin,  May 7, 2009

I bought this bed frame a few months ago and it has proven to be a beautiful and sturdy piece of furniture. It is a nice, solid wood and goes along well with the woodwork in our 1920's bungalow. My husband & I don't have a lot of experience assembling things so it wasn't exactly quick for us to assemble, but it was a reasonable amount of assembly for a solid piece of furniture (no dreaded particle board here!). This was a steal for the look and quality.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A good, solid purchase.
 from Austin, TX,  Feb 7, 2009

This bed is well-made, solid and pretty. Once assembled (it did take some time, two people and tools, but was not complex), it is sturdy and looks very sharp. It is a bit lighter in color than the photo. It has a reddish hue, more like a dark cherry than the espresso I was expecting. It's a beautiful wood, but buyer should expect this lighter color. Also, it is lower than it looks-- not only in base height, but the height of the headboard. Even without a box spring, once you have a pillow or two on the mattress, you can't see much of that beautiful headboard behind it, which I feel is a shame, because it is a lovely design. All in all I am satisfied with the purchase and it certainly was a very good value for the price. I wish it was taller and a bit darker, but even so, it's a lovely bed, looks great, and no "wiggle" in the finished (assembled) product.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome Buy!
 from Amarillo, TX,  Dec 14, 2008

This bed has totally changed the landscape of my daughter's room! Her room went from teenage and girly to modern and sophisticated. I was a little apprehensive about ordering this bed after reading some of the reviews on putting the bed together but, it wasn't that bad. You absolutely need to have an electric screwdriver, and another person would be nice, but if not it is still doable! The bed is well constructed and the lines are absolutely gorgeous! I am very happy with this bed.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
pretty but not worth the fight
 from Nashville, Tennessee,  Mar 11, 2008

This bed is a beautiful piece of furniture and after doing extensive price comparison, I couldn't resist the great bargain. Putting it together is a different story entirely. 2 words...allen wrench!!! My husband is pretty handy and it took forever to put together. Oh, and make sure not to use the wood glue that comes with it because if you accidentally put a piece on backwards, it isn't coming apart.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Attention Espresso wood color lovers
 from Washington,  Jan 12, 2008

The picture makes the color of the bed appear much darker then it really is. It is a true chestnut color. The bed is very nice but I bought a dresser in expresso thinking that they will be some what close in color due to the picture, boy was I wrong. I know have a chestnut bed and a expresso dresser, I have talked my husband into ordering the matching dresser and nightstand now. I guess I should of paid attention to the name of the furniture (Milton) not just the color they appear to be in the picture.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 390 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 20 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Milton 6 Drawer Chest
Today $357.99
(97)
Alsa Queen Platform Bed
Sale $426.59
Was $473.99
(214)
Back to top