Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 100 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Perfect Solution for the hot hot Las Vegas Sun
 from LAS VEGAS, NV,  May 9, 2007

We purchased this in the silver color. Everything that was stated about this product held true. The color, quality of material and ease to install. We were puzzled as to what to use for shade in one area of our newly finished backyard with a pool. This was the perfect size for the area and we set it up on a pulley system. We can take it down like a flag if we wish to lay out in the sun. We are very pleased with this product, we would recommend this to anyone looking to shade a larger area. It looks beautiful, and our guests think it is great.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Be sure of the size you are covering
 from Virginia,  Aug 22, 2011

This looked like a good product as far as quality and durability. However, it showed as 12'x12' for the measurements on the site and when we received it realized that was a little deceiving. From corner to corner it was about 12'x12', but across the middle of the square it was only 9.5'. The shape of the shade is not with straight sides and the corners stick out farther while the sides are slightly curved. Due to this it did not fit the space we needed it for. If you know how this is shaped and it still fits your space I think it would be a good product to use for shade.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality, looks like it would be very durable
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? not very accurate when it came to the size and measurements
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The fish are happy!
 from Las Vegas, NV,  May 13, 2008

I purchased this to shade my koi pond which had full sun exposure in hot, sunny Las Vegas. Full sun means hot fish and rampant algae growth! The shade arrived yesterday. Great quality! We installed it right away and found it very easy. Perfect shade for the fishies! As luck would have it, we were hit with an terrible wind storm within just a couple hours of installation. NO PROBLEM! The sail is still secure and doing it's job - plus it looks terrific! We're very pleased!!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Must buy!
 from Broken Arrow, OK,  Jul 28, 2011

I am so glad I bought this and am considering buying the larger one too for covering our pool. It was as sturdy as those sold for $246 online. It costs about $120 to install with super sturdy galvanized pipe. We sunk a plumbing pipe (white) into the ground and cemented in. It is just larger than the size of the galvanized pipe. We just put the galvanized pipe in the plumbing pipe. When winter comes, we remove the galvanized pipe and put a cap on the plumbing pipe. Then we can mow right over it. I have not had to take it down even in the strongest winds. I love it and it provides great shade over our grill and extension on our deck!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It is super sturdy and made extremely well. They provide hardware too.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sail Sun Shade
 from Arkansas,  Aug 10, 2011

This did not work out for us. Somehow I had thought it was canvas. Instead it is a plastic. Very well made, but it stretched out and did not fit well at all. We were planning to use it to cover the deck, but it looks very bad. In addition, the parts that came were to to anchor it in cement. I think most people would not be hanging a sail from cement! We had to purchase items to anchor it to the deck/roof. However, I must say that if you were going to hang it over a swimming area or play area, or someplace out from the house, it would probably work great!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very nice
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This sun is no longer a problem!
 from Northern Minnesota,  Nov 20, 2013

This is the second sail sun shade we've purchased. We found the first one performed perfectly over the deck so we decided that another one would make another outdoor space more usable.The first shade tested well last summer during heavy rain and wind...no worries about pulling anything loose from the soffit located fasteners. We really didn't use the deck all that much until we installed the sail shade. What a difference this shade has made as far as lowering temperature and no worries about sunburn.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Shade Solution
 from Austin, TX,  Aug 1, 2013

We recently moved to Austin, TX and purchased a townhouse with a roof top deck. Since it is summertime, the temperature is consistently 100 degrees. It was impossible to sit/stand on our deck for more than a few minutes without being drenched in sweat. We shopped for a home-sized shade sail because they are used around the city at outdoor cafes and parks. This product is extremely well made and the fabric is sturdy and high quality. The installation process took a little time and planning. We decided to buy bigger/stronger stainless steel hardware than was supplied with sail (can be easily found at Home Depot). Because of our new shade, we can sit outside and have a comfortable happy hour or watch the sunset with friends. The temperature is literally 20 degrees cooler under this shade sail...but it magically filters light through the mesh. We are so happy to have found such a great solution to beat the heat. Our neighbors have given us lots of compliments too. We referred them to overstock.com!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Sun Blocker
 from Wisconsin, The Frozen Tundra,  Oct 9, 2014

We have a small 12x20 deck in the front of our summer cottage. The afternoon sun hits it. On cooler Wisconsin days that's divine but when it's hot, not so much. We didn't want to put a large awning on the deck and were at a loss as to how to shade the area. We had several umbrellas that we constantly had to adjust. While browsing I came across this Sail and thought it would be worth a try, especially due to the sale price. It's perfect. Heavier than I thought it would be. Though it is not rain proof it even provides some protection from all but heavy rain. We attached it to the house with eye hooks and than added nice posts to the end of the deck and spread it across to eye hooks on the posts. When not needed it easily unhooks and we roll it up where we attached it to the house and tie the roll. (Our own ties) It looks great and does all and more than we had had hoped. All our neighbors stop and ask just what it is and where we purchased it. It's the hit of the resort community. It arrived quickly. Thanks Overstocks. You came through for us again.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
it's less than square, but sturdy
 from sedona, az,  Oct 7, 2013

The medium size expected was smaller than the description leads you to believe. Other than that, the shade is sturdy and does a nice job of keeping a previously too hot deck floor more comfortable.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
sun shade
 from denver, colorado,  Aug 17, 2013

very good quality, heavy fabric, color perfect, and easy to install, may get another one

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great value
 May 16, 2015

Haven't used it yet but good heavy quality

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Very easy to install! I did not even use all the hardware provided. It will protect my deck space from too much heat. And it will lower my AC bull over time. Great buy!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works great!
 Apr 23, 2015

We used this to keep the kids cool on a hot Texas summer. Would buy again!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
sun sail
 Feb 11, 2015

as far as these things go, this one is typical, I just like them better in pictures. The reality of sun sails is that you have to have some free standing pole supports. The shape never works trying to hang it from a corner of the house or any existing support.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great
 from Florida,  Oct 11, 2014

woks great on patio especially in hot Florida sun! Can now enjoy back yard

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Took longer than I expected to get it up but thats because I wanted in nice and taut. Great shade and value!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice quality-just what we needed to shade
 from South GA,  Sep 16, 2014

Quality fabric. Perfect for shading a small area where the sun can be relentless! Great value for the money

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
captdan11
 from dallas, texas,  Aug 23, 2014

I like ! xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

The quality of the shade is excellent but the installation hardware is not of the same caliber. We still love it and would recommend product.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This is an EXCELLENT sail sun shade
 from Lake Erie, Sandusky, Ohio,  Aug 1, 2014

I searched the internet for a sail shade and found there are many available. After reading the reviews on various shades I decided on this one and I am so glad I did. Although it is more expensive than some I found, it is well worth the few extra dollars I spent. The quality of this shade is beyond compare. It is made of quality material and just as the info said it is woven so that air passes through it. The fittings are strong and sewn in with double (or possibly triple) stitching. It came with turnbuckles, etc., but I did not need to use them in my set up. We use this on the back deck of our boat and it shields us from the hot sun beating down on us. I've made a simple frame for it so we can take it down and store it below decks when it is not needed. I highly recommend this shade.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 100 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought