Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 89 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Perfect Solution for the hot hot Las Vegas Sun
 from LAS VEGAS, NV,  May 9, 2007

We purchased this in the silver color. Everything that was stated about this product held true. The color, quality of material and ease to install. We were puzzled as to what to use for shade in one area of our newly finished backyard with a pool. This was the perfect size for the area and we set it up on a pulley system. We can take it down like a flag if we wish to lay out in the sun. We are very pleased with this product, we would recommend this to anyone looking to shade a larger area. It looks beautiful, and our guests think it is great.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Be sure of the size you are covering
 from Virginia,  Aug 22, 2011

This looked like a good product as far as quality and durability. However, it showed as 12'x12' for the measurements on the site and when we received it realized that was a little deceiving. From corner to corner it was about 12'x12', but across the middle of the square it was only 9.5'. The shape of the shade is not with straight sides and the corners stick out farther while the sides are slightly curved. Due to this it did not fit the space we needed it for. If you know how this is shaped and it still fits your space I think it would be a good product to use for shade.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality, looks like it would be very durable
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? not very accurate when it came to the size and measurements
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Must buy!
 from Broken Arrow, OK,  Jul 28, 2011

I am so glad I bought this and am considering buying the larger one too for covering our pool. It was as sturdy as those sold for $246 online. It costs about $120 to install with super sturdy galvanized pipe. We sunk a plumbing pipe (white) into the ground and cemented in. It is just larger than the size of the galvanized pipe. We just put the galvanized pipe in the plumbing pipe. When winter comes, we remove the galvanized pipe and put a cap on the plumbing pipe. Then we can mow right over it. I have not had to take it down even in the strongest winds. I love it and it provides great shade over our grill and extension on our deck!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It is super sturdy and made extremely well. They provide hardware too.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The fish are happy!
 from Las Vegas, NV,  May 13, 2008

I purchased this to shade my koi pond which had full sun exposure in hot, sunny Las Vegas. Full sun means hot fish and rampant algae growth! The shade arrived yesterday. Great quality! We installed it right away and found it very easy. Perfect shade for the fishies! As luck would have it, we were hit with an terrible wind storm within just a couple hours of installation. NO PROBLEM! The sail is still secure and doing it's job - plus it looks terrific! We're very pleased!!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sail Sun Shade
 from Arkansas,  Aug 10, 2011

This did not work out for us. Somehow I had thought it was canvas. Instead it is a plastic. Very well made, but it stretched out and did not fit well at all. We were planning to use it to cover the deck, but it looks very bad. In addition, the parts that came were to to anchor it in cement. I think most people would not be hanging a sail from cement! We had to purchase items to anchor it to the deck/roof. However, I must say that if you were going to hang it over a swimming area or play area, or someplace out from the house, it would probably work great!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very nice
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This sun is no longer a problem!
 from Northern Minnesota,  Nov 20, 2013

This is the second sail sun shade we've purchased. We found the first one performed perfectly over the deck so we decided that another one would make another outdoor space more usable.The first shade tested well last summer during heavy rain and wind...no worries about pulling anything loose from the soffit located fasteners. We really didn't use the deck all that much until we installed the sail shade. What a difference this shade has made as far as lowering temperature and no worries about sunburn.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
it's less than square, but sturdy
 from sedona, az,  Oct 7, 2013

The medium size expected was smaller than the description leads you to believe. Other than that, the shade is sturdy and does a nice job of keeping a previously too hot deck floor more comfortable.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
sun shade
 from denver, colorado,  Aug 17, 2013

very good quality, heavy fabric, color perfect, and easy to install, may get another one

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Shade Solution
 from Austin, TX,  Aug 1, 2013

We recently moved to Austin, TX and purchased a townhouse with a roof top deck. Since it is summertime, the temperature is consistently 100 degrees. It was impossible to sit/stand on our deck for more than a few minutes without being drenched in sweat. We shopped for a home-sized shade sail because they are used around the city at outdoor cafes and parks. This product is extremely well made and the fabric is sturdy and high quality. The installation process took a little time and planning. We decided to buy bigger/stronger stainless steel hardware than was supplied with sail (can be easily found at Home Depot). Because of our new shade, we can sit outside and have a comfortable happy hour or watch the sunset with friends. The temperature is literally 20 degrees cooler under this shade sail...but it magically filters light through the mesh. We are so happy to have found such a great solution to beat the heat. Our neighbors have given us lots of compliments too. We referred them to overstock.com!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sail Sun Shade
 from Rochester, MA,  Jun 27, 2014

I love this sun shade! We have a large patio that receives full sun all day, making it unusable in the summer, we have purchased a screened in gazebo for it in the past, but the fabric doesn't hold up and we needed many parts replaced. I have always liked the look of the sail shades and figured I'd try it. Well, the contractor who put it up for me, was amazed with the quality for the price and that all hardware is included. People love it, I love it, it looks great!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Texas Sun on the West side of House
 from Dallas, TX,  Apr 5, 2014

This sail took so much heat off the back side of our west facing house it was unbelievable. We could actually sit in our family room without feeling as though we were cooking due to the heat coming off the outside deck. Many of our friends bought this item as well after seeing it at our house.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Bought this Medium shade sail in silver from overstock via ebay and installed it on Independence day. It was anchored at two point to my house and two points to metal poles on my deck. Looked great. Went to take it down today (Oct. 8) and noticed the nylon webbing that frames the sail had became unstitched from the shade material. This webbing is also separated from itself. I appeared to be connected to itself by a single line of stitching (bad craftsmanship in my opinion). I am going to try to repair it myself and hope it will hold. This product should last longer than 3 months, not opinion, fact. BEWARE OF POOR CRAFTSMANSHIP.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
medium square sail sun shade
 from Staten Island, NY,  Sep 27, 2013

this past summer when it was hot, this product provided shade over my pool hooray!!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Positive review
 from Arkansas,  Jul 9, 2013

We are pleased with the quality! We really needed some extra shade for the side of the garage area for our car. Think it was a little bit harder and time consuming to do BUT when my husband decides to put something up and/or build--It is going to be RIGHT! Please with it so far and it is with standing the rain and wind that we get down here in Florida. Thinking of buying another one. Also, neighbors are thinking of buying one too as it looks real nice out there!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color we decided on was the best to go with the color of our recently painted house.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality and to hang it up securely took more time than we thought and some added money just to be sure it was up and would stay up through all of our rain and wind down here.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GREAT QUALITY -- GREAT PRODUCT
 from Canada,  Jul 6, 2013

The quality of this shade was awesome -- the rings and attachments were very good quality and surpassed our expectations...we were very pleased with this product -- the color and shape were well described and installation was easy......We would highly recommend this shade to any one looking for a good quality but unique Sun Shade. Delivery was quick and the whole transaction was pleasant. Thank you Overstock -- you once again impressed me...

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect shade solution
 from Raleigh, NC,  Jul 1, 2013

This worked out perfectly over our deck. We love the shade and not having to deal with umbrellas anymore.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very high quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sun Shade purchase
 from Fort Worth, TX,  Jun 27, 2013

Have purchased sun shades in the past. They were terrific. We needed another one and found a great deal again. I would recommend this product to folks that really need some shade this summer. Please research Sun Shade settup before buying one. They do require spacific instructions for installation. Thank You.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Right On
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sun Shade
 from Utah,  Jun 11, 2013

It was a good product. The hardware they included was very complicated for me to figure out, and I wish the ropes would have been longer.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? was accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!
 from Louisiana,  May 23, 2013

The color is exactly what I expected. I ordered the gray and got a dark charcoal, but I knew that's what it'd be. They are of good quality. We got a medium and small square and a medium triangle. We've only had them up for a little over a month, but it seems as though it has rained A LOT since then and they're holding up perfectly fine. They block the sun and they're stylish. I like em!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sun Shade
 from Chicopee, MA,  Mar 28, 2013

Provides perfect sun protection..I have a deck that gets full day sun, blaring sunlight by 4PM and this does the trick. Definately not a rain cover, so remove anything you don't want to get wet. I bough a second one on sale as a back up but the product might just keep holding up for many years to come.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Dark Green-true to picture, 3 summers and still dark green
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. looks same as when I purchased...holds up well.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? fine, except I never used the attachment devices...just attached to large hooks to house and poles on opposite end.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 89 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top