Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 665 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 34 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Gorgeous shade
 Jun 5, 2006

This canopy is stunning in appearance and construction. It is clean and architectural in feeling. The picture does not do it justice. To boot, the beige is exactly the same shade as our stucco house. The only regret is that Overstock doesn't seem to have the larger, 17' x 17' size! carmen

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Shade FINALLY!
 from Readington, NJ,  Jul 17, 2006

We have open space around our house and I put this off the kitchen door so we can finally use the patio! Plus it helps to keep the kitchen cooler. My husband wants one now to put outside the garage so he can work out there in comfort. I use to sew this type of fabric and the quality is excellent. I see using this for many years.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Square Sail Sun Shade not too Shabby
 from Ten Mile Creek, PA,  Sep 4, 2008

I purchased a Square Sail and was very impressed with the sturdiness of construction and the attachment points. I was leery of the attachment points and if there was reinforcement along the whole length of the material. I was favorably impressed with both. A triangular attachment eye of what appears to be 304 stainless steel, approximately 5/16" diameter on each corner. These eyes are welded shut and attached to the fabric with a robust nylon mesh strap that is sewn along the entire edge of the sail. The sail came with all the hardware to install it, turnbuckles, nylon rope, concrete anchors and eye bolts. The material is somewhat translucent, I purchased yellow, giving a very cheerful, natural looking hue underneath. As expected, it is very shady underneath. The material is NOT waterproof, although it appears to resist water. I am going to test a section with marine canvas waterproofing spray to see if I can make it more resistant to water. The sail is not square when you lay it flat on the ground. It is narrower in the center than the ends. This is something I did not expect in my design but it looks very nice. I was so pleased with it that I ordered a second one.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
CAUTION! Do NOT use the nylon rope included!!
 from Oregon,  May 30, 2012

I've owned this sail for aprox 2 seasons. When I installed it originally I had to purchase turnbuckles and better quality rope clamps as the ones that come with this are poorly made and excuse the pun "Chinese" The mistake I made was using the nylon rope that was included to hang it. Just yesterday I learned a painful lesson! I was tensioning the canopy as it had begun to sag and "snap" the nylon rope broke in the middle and the turnbuckle hit me in the forehead with some serious force and gashed my head open. There was not even that much tension applied to the rope, I'm going to guess maybe 10-20lbs of force. The hardware I purchased at my local hardware store is capable of 275lb of force. I figured I would never even get close to this with the canopy so I should never have to worry about the hardware. Little did I know the nylon rope is made so cheaply, it doesn't even feel like nylon, more like plastic. I can hold several strands in my hand and just a little force breaks them. Just be aware of this when installing. I ended up purchasing 3/16 stainless steel cable with the proper end ties to make loops. I'm just glad I wasn't on the ladder when it broke or I might not be here to write this review today. Just remember when installing this there is quit a bit of tension holding this thing make sure you know what you are doing when you hang it and wear safety glasses. I didn't have any on when it broke and I was very fortunate that it didn't hit me in the eye, it could of been a much more serious injury.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great Sail, extremely poor quality hardware, VERY Dangerous, do not use the ROPE that is included!!!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Be Prepared
 from Utah mountains,  Jun 8, 2007

We love the look and purpose of our new sunshade. Unfortunately, it was not the easiest thing to put up. The hardware included didn't even work with the shade so we had to purchase all new hardware. Luckily, my husband is pretty handy and we have great neighbors. We attached it to our house and steel beams we added to our deck. We've had it for a couple of weeks and it seems to hold up well to wind and rain, as we just had a storm pass through. The shade itself seems to be very durable with sturdy seams and D ring attachment. I do like the shade but you may need help figuring how to best put it up as well as help getting it up. Make sure there is a center peak by putting two opposite corners high and the other two low so the rain will roll off and not make a pond in the center. Be prepared to buy hardware that works with the item. Make sure where you're attaching the shade is at least a few feet larger than the size of the shade so you can tighten up the slack easily. (notice the picture has the shade between trees that are very distant from each other) That's my experience. Enjoy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Super Shade
 May 20, 2009

Top notch Quality. I work on sailboats and know what to look for in fabric construction. This is a very good prouduct that is built to last. The hardware on it is also of heavy quality. It has a nice conture--great lines. Not just a square tarp. I found this same shade sold by other retailers and overstock beat them by almost half price.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Shade!
 from Phoenix, Arizona,  Dec 17, 2009

Living in the Arizona heat can be trying! This shade instantly decreased the temperature under it by 10 degrees. That is a very welcome pleasure when living the the heat of the desert. It is durable enough that I was able to hang misters from it (with plastic clips which came with the misters, not the shade). It was easy to put up and even after a 112 degree summer, monsoon season and windstorms, it still looks new.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality and Value
 from San Diego, Ca,  Jul 7, 2006

Great deal for the price. I purchased several of these for bleacher shades for a baseball field. They look expensive and have great construction. Heavy duty shades that stand up to the sun and the wind. Seams are heavy stitched with a heavy corner ring for attaching. Supplied ties are nylon rope with turnbuckles. They are sufficient but I purchased wire rope for my use instead. This shade as well as the triangle shade has the look of a custom shade without the custom price that would be 10x as much. This shade is very versatile as well and can be used throughout the year.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Shade, average hardware
 from Broomfield, CO,  May 15, 2012

This shade is an addition to an identical shade bought 3 years ago. We live on a windy ridge, and these shades let the wind pass right through them (OK, they move a little, but noting to worry about). My 3yr old shade still looks as good as it did on the first day. It has survived 3 Colorado summers, but comes down for the winters. I get comments all the time for friends and neighbours, the first year I met 3 new friends who could see the sail from the road and knocked on our door. Pros: - Great at keeping the sun off our concrete porch - Looks great - holds up great (3 seasons so far, looks new) - stands up to wind and sun Cons: - The mounting hardware with this kit is cheap, my 3 year old kit had much beefier stainless steel mounting hardware (easily fixed with McMasterCarr order) - Does not handle snow well, be prepared to disconnect at least two sides when expecting a big snow.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The beige color was true to the photo
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent shade sail, the mounting hardware was average
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Site description omitted the description of the mounting hardware
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love the Square Sail Sun Shade
 from Santa Clara, CA,  Apr 5, 2009

I bought the square sail sun shade and I just love it. I think the material is very durable. It took us about an afternoon to hook it up, but it really gave us the shade I was hoping for. I bought the yellow one and was a little concerned that it might be too bright, but no! it really is perfect. I very much recommend this sun shade.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GREAT PRODUCT
 from NORTHERN INDIANA,  Jun 11, 2007

THIS PRODUCT DOES BLOCK THE SUN RAYS OUT AND LET THE BREEZE THROUGH. WE HAD A LOCAL ELECTRIC COMPANY BUTCHER OUR TREE AROUND THE POWER LINES AND IT WAS THE ONLY SHADE TREE WE HAD BY OUR PATIO, SO WE DECIDED TO TRY THIS AND PUT IT UP IN THE TREE. WE HAVE HAD 60 MPH WINDS AND IT STAYED IN PLACE. GREAT PRODUCT.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sun sail
 from Atlanta,  May 29, 2007

I bought the square sun sail for shade over a pavilion. It worked perfectly. The Pavilion came with a canopy because of the amount of wind I get in this area; it was not a good choice of a covering. This sun sail does reduce the amount of sun overhead especially in full sun areas. Making it possible to enjoy outside in the hottest part of the day. It came with a battery of hardware which makes it easy to attach to the side of your house if you would like.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sq. Sail Shade
 from Dania Beach, Florida,  Aug 13, 2009

This item is the best. I am sitting under it on the back patio right now. It is so nice that I purchased a triangular shade also, which is due to arrive today. Very smart looking. Installation was easy for me but may be challenging for the average person. I had to sink some posts and make a trip to the hardware store but the whole setup is beautiful.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Value
 from Pennsylvania,  Jul 28, 2009

I am thrilled with my new shade sail. It is heavily constructed and larger than we expected. We had zero problems installing it, went up in about an hours time. We loved it so much that I ordered a second one today.Yes, it does need to be affixed to sturdy structures but anyone should expect that to be the case. In order to stretch it tight and keep it stable in wind and storms, it needs strong attachment points.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fantastic Value
 from Fresno, California,  Jul 4, 2009

We have been looking for years for a solution to the hot summer sun on our patio. The extreme heat in Fresno , California made our patio unusable most of the day. The square sun shade (though not exactly square as the four corners extend beyone the edges which are curved) cover most of the patio that needed shade. This shade structure, which we placed over the top of the patio covering, was very easy to install. The fact that it allows rain to penetrate is really a plus in extreme heat situations as it also allows the heat to rise out through the top, unlike a solid covering as well as allows some light to penetrate. We just installed it two days ago, so can't really comment on its durability, but seems to have quality construction. Only wish that the larger size was available. Extremely fast delivery.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
shade sail
 from Bay Area, CA,  Jun 18, 2009

I paid extra shpg & got this sail so quickly- just in time for my backyard party. It defines the space so well & looked so nice. Hardy material & construction. Provided shade. It's the best! Got so many compliments too.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
square sail sun shade
 from Phoenix Arizona,  Jun 10, 2009

We owned another sail prior to purchasing two from you. The quality of the fabric and seams is comparable. They look great and certainly are shading the house and patio well. The Arizona sun can be tough, only time will tell how truly durable they are. The hardware from yours was not heavy duty enough for our installation, we did have to purchase wire cable and turnbuckles on our own. We also bought 10' poles that needed to be cemented in and it takes time to figure out locations to anchor the shades properly. The overall effect is beautiful, we love the shadowing,curves and dimension that they add to our outdoor space.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
sun sail
 from Bradenton, FL,  Jun 3, 2009

I live in Florida and bought the sail to give me some shade over my swimming pool. The sail exceeded my expectations. It went up easily, looks good, handles the heay rain and works great to give me the sahe. An added benefit is that the extra shade in the pool area seems to make the whole patio cooler. Highly recommend. Kudos to Overstock for high quality merchandise, good descriptions and fast accurate deliveries.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
SAIL SUN SHADE
 from SUMMERLAND KEY, FL,  Aug 12, 2009

THIS IS A GREAT SAIL SUN SHADE. IT IS NICER THEN I HAD EXPECTED.THE HARDWARE IS TOP QUAILITY. AND A GOOD PRICE FOR THIS SUN SHADE.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for pool shade
 from Dallas, TX,  Aug 6, 2009

My wife & I bought this as our pool is exposed to full sun throughout the day and we wanted some shade for our 9 month old when he's in the pool. This shade is very durable and looks good. We have received numerous comments on it's appearance and the convenience of shade from the 100+ degree heat in Texas. It works great to lower the water temp and alleviate water level evaporation in your pool as it blocks some of the full sun. I wish Overstock carried the next biggest size though. Installation is a little challenging as you will need a minimum of two people, definitely not a one person job as you will make numerous mistakes trying to get it to stretch correctly and avoid drooping.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 665 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 34 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top