Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 89 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Perfect for the deck!
 from Minneapolis, MN,  Jun 21, 2007

I was looking for a shade solution for my back deck that is 10'x10' , when I saw this I knew it was perfect. I was pleasently surprised at the quality of the shade as well as the fasteners. It did take some time to get it all hooked up but now that it is up it has done well through a couple of storms with high winds. I have thought of buying the square one for another place in the back yard. It looks great in the yard!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
stylish shade
 from Bay Area, CA,  Aug 15, 2012

This sun sail is a great addition to our patio, and keeps a little patch of shade on an otherwise punishingly hot tiled patio. It's stylish and functional, and I much prefer it to an umbrella. the only caveat is that the hardware it comes with is of terrible quality - I spent another 50 or so on reallly good hardware. But it's well worth it. It's a bit tricky to install - but it's more about finding just the right place for it, rather than any difficulty with the hardware. very, very happy with the purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very well
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. sunsail - great; hardware - not so much
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
These are "not" real triangles
 from Virginia,  Aug 1, 2013

I ordered 2 triangles (lime green and turquoise) and thought we could overlap them to make a square but no matter how and where you set your posts, it's not going to be square. We used the to cover our large patio so our furniture would not get so faded as the sun comes around to that side of the house after 12 pm and stays until dark. Living on a mounatin, we get some heavy winds and lost 4 big umbrellas last year. After reading other reviews, I thought this would be worth trying. This summer we had winds that exceeded 80 m.p.h. and while these winds took down and uprooted 150 year old oak trees, these sun sails held strong throughout the whole ordeal. These heavey winds are not normal for this area but it's happened 4 times already and the sun sails are still hanging. They do need to be tightened as they are sagging a little now from all the winds and rain. One thing we are going to change is the way they are hung. My husband planted 2 - 12' posts, 3' in the ground, topped off with cement and covered them with a heavy white plastic, square insert (made for fencing, capped it and bolted larger eye hooks at the top side of the posts. The other eye hooks come off the posts on our outdoor kitchen (that part of the bar has a roof and 20' wooden bar top) Since the 2 triangle sails didn't work, I ordered a square one. The sail comes under the roof line above the bar top and keeps the rain off the bar stools. The sail angles down a little from the other posts to allow water to run off. (Don't know what they are called but the "T" shaped things that you tie a boat off on a dock is what we are looking to use to replace the screwed in eye hooks.) This would make it so much easier when the sun sail needs to be tightened. The way it is now, is just too much trouble to deal with. We did replace the ropes they sent with a little larger ones simpley because of the constant winds blowing up this mountain but if you don;t have that problem, the sent ropes would work just fine. Since we now have 3 sun sails (2 triangles and 1 square) we put the large, square turquoise first and added the lime green to the top side and it blocks out more harsh sunlight. They do give shade but the mesh keeps you cooler. Just wish they were waterproof. They do drip rain when it comes down. But it has saved our cushions from getting faded and held up through heavy winds - I'm impressed with these sun sails.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Ordered Lime green and Turquoise - love the bright colors
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Fabric has seen a lot of heat, sun shine, high winds and rain but all has not effected the sails.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Not as much as it should have. These are about 45 degree so, you can't buy 2 to make a square
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Our 2nd fly
 from Linesville, PA,  Aug 11, 2012

We have a very HOT and sun exposed side porch and these flys are excellent shade producers. Attractive and durable. Would certainly purchase these again.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very heavy tight weave
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So Cal Pool Monger
 from Greater LA,  Aug 8, 2012

These are great! Due to north/south exposure and wind, I don't want to put a permanent patio cover on the back of my house. I have several of these sail shades that are just the ticket for providing some shade during hot summer months by the pool, but I can easily remove in the fall after the season is over.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. average
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
perfect product for hot summer
 from Hampshire, Il,  Jul 17, 2012

Best purchase I made all summer, so much so that I ordered another one. I have a south west exposed patio that is always wind blown. Everything we have put out there gets destroyed by the sun & wind. This Sail has survived 60 mph winds. I I was so excited.! It keeps my patio table shaded and my brick cool enough to walk on. The color is bright, the material is strong, intallation was a breeze and My husband always the skeptic loves it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? No surprises in color, it was same as described.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very durable.Hi quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description was right on.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
worked well
 from Oak Harbor WA,  Nov 2, 2012

worked well as sun shade and worked well as rain cover

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? v good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. v good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? v good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice looking and suurdy
 from Riverside, CA,  Jul 6, 2014

Super sturdy and well made, this is the second one of these we've ordered. The first one has withstood the elements and has very little fading. Plus, great design and price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just What I Wanted
 from Atlanta GA,  Sep 17, 2014

I ordered my Sail Sun Shade a week before an outside party and BBQ I was throwing. Firstly, my order arrived before the ETA which was perfect timing. Secondly, it took about 30 mins. to set up and lastly, all my guests had great comments about the sun sail. I had just painted my deck green and purchased the beige sail so it complimented the deck perfectly. It is very modern and unique and the price is very reasonable. I am thinking about purchasing two more for my lower patio area. WELL DONE OVERSTOCK. I will be recommending this purchase to all my friends.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Provides just enough shade for patio
 from Minneapolis, MN,  Aug 26, 2014

These are the perfect solution for a sunny area that needs a little shade. Unless it is placed close overhead (giving you the feeling that you're camping) the triangles provide just a small area of shade. I put two together up high, though, and that solved my problems. No claustrophobia, no sunburn. I would rate these more on the utilitarian side than on the stylish and modern side. The bright green helps with that a bit, but I imagine other colors might look more like tarps.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
As advertised
 from Austin, TX,  Aug 16, 2014

The color of the two sail sun shades was true to the advertisement. They appear very rugged and should hold up very well. The texture doesn't remind me of a sail--it is more textured, probably for strength. I have questions about whether structurally the anchor points I had in mind on my house will be sufficient, or whether further construction is necessary, so I haven't yet installed them. My plan for other installation points is to use rebar, anchored in the ground, and covered by bamboo poles.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Amazing quality and price!
 from Ohio,  Aug 2, 2014

These sails are constructed very well! I compared them to other sails that cost up to $$$ for the same size. There was NO COMPARISON! these sails are better looking, sturdier, and better constructed! These were even featured on Hotel """" with Chef Gordon Ramsey! Do not hesitate to purchase these sails. No need to research any further, trust me, I already did 3 weeks of it before I bought these!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Too small
 from Arizona,  Jul 22, 2014

Much, much too small. The measurements are confusing.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect:)
 from Cedar, MI,  Jul 17, 2014

Just what I wanted. Very versatile. Love it!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very happy with these
 from florida,  Jul 15, 2014

i bought 2 different colors and installed them inside our screened porch, trying to protect our outdoor furniture. the porch is south facing with no trees and hit all day with the florida sun. immediately you could feel the temperature lower. the hard part was getting them laid out for maximum coverage and to look good. i looked at alot of other sails and went with these because they included all the hardware. we did buy a couple of longer bolts to attach through the metal cage, but that was $3. i don't know how long the color will last, i hope to even get a couple years out of them, but for the price in this sun that would be great. would definitely buy these again.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Sun Sail! Modern, Styl
 from Los Angeles,  Jul 1, 2014

Very Stylish and really looks fantastic. I recently moved from LA to hot sunny Valley and really needed additional coverage on my home with all the decks. I bought 3 so far, 1 large rectangular and 2 triangles for 2 areas. They really looks great and cut the sun too! I had to use a handyman and they put in posts but they look super modern and are great! I will likely buy another 2 for my guest house patio.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great quality, great shipper but didn't fit
 from Medford, OR,  Jun 12, 2014

Received this shipment very quickly and would recommend the quality and the shipper. The color is more of an orange-gold than yellow (very bright). Unfortunately the size (triangle 12 x 12 x 12) did not fit intended location and I will have to return it. Shipper waived return fee in exchange for store credit.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks Great
 from Jacksonville, FL,  Jan 8, 2014

Bought a medium size and should have gone with a large for the area needed. Looks great but you need to adjust for the sun at various times of the day. Love the orange color!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I made my order online. After I finished the order I had a call from my daughter who introduced me Overstock. She indicated that the actual color I wanted was available but I had not seen. I immediately called Ostock after handing up the phone but my order had already been shipped. I was amazed how quickly the order was managed.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
it works
 from Denver, CO,  Oct 8, 2013

great price, comes with all the hardware you need except I would say sub out the rope for a wire chord - stronger. the orange color is a nice creamy orange

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 89 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought