Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 84 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating

Ah, the famous Le Corbusier LC2 sofa, one of the most famous modernist designs of the 20th century. The famous Swiss designer created this covet-worthy masterpiece in 1928 in collaboration with French designer Charlotte Perriand. The following year, it wowed the art and design world at the Paris Salon d' Automne (the "Autumn Salon," organized by none other than Georges Rouault, André Derain, Henri Matisse). I could never afford a real one, so I got this one and I am extremely happy. I have carefully compared my version to the real one and cannot tell the difference. If you want a gorgeous piece of modernist history in your home, this is great bet.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Urban Couch
 from Boulder, CO,  Jul 2, 2009

This is just a great little leather couch. Perfect for a smaller urban condo. Classic design, ships assembled. This is not a lounging couch but is modern and small scale so great for smaller spaces, easy to move, came well packaged and protected. Excellent purchase, Checked a lot of online retailers and with the shipping this was by far the best deal.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Purchase!
 from Fairfax, VA,  Dec 16, 2007

This sofa fits perfectly in my 1br apartment. I have one room that serves as both a living room and a dining room, so I'm using the sofa to separate the two spaces. Because it has a low back, I'm able to achieve this approach without making the room feel any smaller than it already is. Plus, anyone sitting in the dining room has a great view of the sofa's chrome back, which is beautiful. This sofa is definitely on the smaller side. I'm short and can barely lie down across the seats. Like most other reviewers, I've found the sofa to be sturdy and the leather soft, but the piece as a whole not very comfortable. The cushions are quite stiff. I'm hoping that they will get softer with continued use. I ordered the sofa on a Sunday and it was delivered 12 days later, so order processing and delivery time was pretty fast. I live on the ground floor of my apartment complex, so the delivery person was able to put it in my unit without too much trouble. When I opened the box and inspected the piece I found small scratches on the chrome that surrounds the cushions and that the leather has some small patches of inconsistency. Any normal person wouldn't notice these flaws if they weren't looking for them, but being such an ocd shopper, I found them pretty easily. I shopped around a lot before I decided to buy this sofa and am very satisfied with my purchase. It's a stylish piece that matches the modern theme I'm going for without being too expensive. I'd definitely buy this sofa again. That is, unless I find myself willing and able to spend 5x as much for the real Le Corbusier sofa, which is much, much more comfortable. For now, this piece will do just fine.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Small and gorgeous, just not very friendly.
 from Oakland, California,  Jul 3, 2011

First, I am happy with my purchase. I knew it was going to be small and by the looks of it, uncomfortable. Still, this piece is just gorgeous. My first guest sat in it and said it reminded her of the sofas they have in the waiting room of hair salons. Pros: Arrived assembled and well packaged. Very easy to transport. Perfect for smaller rooms, it can be a very versatile piece. A high quality leather with excellent fit and finish. Classic design knockoff for 1/6 the price of an original Le Corbusier. Cons: Small and uncomfortable. Forget seating three adults, forget falling asleep on in. The cushions are very firm and I have some concern for them breaking down as the lines of the sofa would be ruined by cushions that might lose their shape. I am happy I didn’t order the chair along with the sofa, despite the excellent offering price.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I've seen it in my dreams
 from Fort Worth, TX,  Apr 20, 2011

The customer reviews on this sofa were very helpful to me, so I thought I would leave one as well. I have had my eyes on the 'licensed' version of this design classic at the MoMA store for years but never thought I could afford one. This is the next best thing, and it's one of the best values for the price I have ever seen. I want to echo that this is a small three-seater, very low to the ground and with a very low back. I like that, as I use it to separate living from dining areas as other reviewers have said. The low back makes it not one of the most comfortable pieces of furniture ever, but with some beautiful pillows from West Elm, it looks great and is totally suitable for television or DVD watching. I have even napped on it on occasion. I paired it with the Eileen Gray side table that Overstock also sells and everyone who sees the modernist look I've created is wowed. The sofa comes packed securely so you can set it up and enjoy it immediately. For someone who has coveted this sofa for many years, I was in heaven when this arrived looking soooo cool!! Overstock has made a lifelong customer!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Do NOT Buy This One!
 from Tucson, AZ,  Jun 26, 2010

We bought this couch because we were looking for a contemporary sofa of a slightly smaller scale. Well, that's all we got! We've had this couch almost two years and we are on Overstock tonight loking for a replacement. If you are under 5 feet tall, this might be a good couch for you. I am 5'8" and my husband is 6'2" and we can only manage about 30 minutes in it at a time as the back of the couch cuts right into the middle or lower part of your spine. In fact, this couch is soooo uncomfortable that my kids don't even like sitting on it! If you are looking for a clean-lined couch do NOT buy this one - even if the dimensions seem to fit your room! If you buy this couch, you will regret it every time you attempt to get comfortable in it and find that you can't...

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great quality and design
 from oregon,  Apr 19, 2011

The contemporary design and high class material combination make this LC Black Leather Sofa so amazing. My living room looks great with this sofa in it, giving an elegant and sophisticated look to the room. The stainless steel and leather combination supplemented with the unique design makes everyone looking for high quality and beauty fall in love with this sofa.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Content with purchase...
 from PA,  Oct 27, 2011

First, let me start off by saying, the sofa looks pretty good. I'd never suggest this for daily use, but it works well for my office, where it's more of a display piece than anything else. The review that stated this was comfy, soft, etc, was ridiculous, as it's none of these things. The main pic of this, makes the seat cushions appear fuller than they actually are. They're quite flat, in reality. Also, the measurements are not what the description states... The sofa is 70.5 inches long, 26 inches high and 27.5 inches deep. For me, the problem was the height, as an inch can be a pretty big deal, when you've arranged end tables, pictures, etc, based on the additional inch. As others have stated, the back cuts right into the senter of your spine, so throw pillows are a must. For the price, the sofa is a good deal, if you're looking for something as more of a decorative piece than anything, this will fit the bill, but do NOT buy it of you're looking for something that you'll use daily.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It's black. Pretty difficult to get that wrong.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Ok
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Measurements are incorrect.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautiful and high quality
 from new york, NY,  Sep 22, 2011

My new sofa is the best one. The leather and stainless steel combination reflects the strength, elegance and style I need, and the modern and minimalist, yet highly unique design is completed with comfort. I can easily sit and even sleep on my new sofa, and it is a great addition to my modern living decor. The price was great and the details are finely worked out on this Le Corbusier couch inspired sofa.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
true masterpiece
 from new york, NY,  Sep 1, 2011

Simple, modern and elegant. This great looking LC Black Leather Sofa is the best decision for everyone searching for affordable quality and ultimate comfort. The contemporary design and the perfectly modern combination of leather and stainless steel give the best look for a modern living. The sofa is highly comfortable; I can easily sit and even sleep on it. Just brilliant and all I can do is to recommend it to everyone.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent at this price.
 from Los Angeles County, California,  Jul 30, 2011

Great value, very good workmanship and detail - as advertized. Arrived (with regualar ground shipping) sooner than I expected - which was a plus.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The same as shown.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Appears to be well made.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Precise.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Stunner!
 from Baltimore, MD,  Jul 15, 2011

LIke many people who purchase furniture for the first time online, I was nervous. When the sofa arrived in my home, I could not have been happier. The delivery was super easy. The sofa was packaged very carefully and shipped in a cardboard box. There were no scratches or any type of damages. The quality is excellent! The black leather is beautiful and the craftsmanship is stunning. The modern design really adds a "wow" factor to my family room. I just added a couple of silver and black pillows and sofa really pops. The sofa sits somewhat low to the ground, but is firm in nature. The back of the sofa comes up to the middle of my back, which I wasn't expecting, but it has not caused any problems. When my ex-husband saw it, his mouth dropped open. He went on and on about how beautiful the sofa is. Of course I didn't let him sit on it. LOL. I am so glad I overcame my fear and ordered this sofa. Based on my experience so far I will definitely be back to purchase furniture in the future.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The black color is very rich.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
perfect sofa
 Dec 13, 2010

I have always wanted a leather sofa, but I never thought I could afford one, that's until I saw this beauty. This has to be one of the most stylish leather sofas I have ever come across. I got my order last week and it came fully assembled. The steel frame is the perfect touch as it gives the sofa a modern look. The seats are very comfortable and aren't soft or hard. The best thing about this sofa is its looked, the sofa has a very boxed look that you don't see in most sofas. This is a great sofa for a living room, office , home office or den. It was love at first sight for me. Strongly recommend it!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Small
 from Michigan,  Feb 4, 2010

Buyer beware - this is a very small and lightweight couch. It is really more of a glorified love seat than a couch. It sits extremely low to the ground - so be aware that any coffee table must be quite low as well! It is not particularly comfortable, but I would not say it is uncomfortable - certainly not an everyday extended sitter. All this being said, if you have a space or room in which you are looking for a very small couch (low, wide and deep), then this may work perectly for you. I was looking for a couch this long, but wish it were about 4" taller in all areas. It would work great in a basement setting (or any room) that is of moderate size and will likely be used by kids (up to early teens). It is attractive (once you get over how small it is). My recommendation is to really consider its size (not just length) and determine if you would rather spend a little more to get something with a bit more substance. I am not recommending against, as it may fit your needs perfectly, but just warning - THIS COUCH IN TINY!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
elegant and stylish design
 from new york,  Jul 12, 2012

This was the best choice for our container weekend house by the lake. Since everything is cubical and pretty much steel and glass this sofa is completing the picture by its elegant and stylish design. Being black leather was just the cherry on the top. It was delivered as described on product sheet. Fast and spotless delivery as well.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
comfortable and chick
 from boston,  Jul 4, 2012

This is truly not a large family sofa, but it is perfect for me. I have a modern, minimalist and urban living room in which this leather sofa fits perfectly. It has an amazing look and design, modern and simple. The room looks fresh and chick. The sofa is really comfortable, and it is large enough to sit on when guests arrive. The steel frame is a top addition. Love it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

My living room is too large for this black leather sofa, but I have bought one for my office and I simply adore it. It is not too big and not too small, and the color of black is matching with everything in my office, not to talk about the outstanding contemporary design. It is comfortable because of the foaming and arrived fully assembled. I would recommend it for everyone.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great price, value, and style!
 from Texas,  Jul 23, 2008

I love this couch!! It is very modern contempory which is the look we were going for without the high cost that is usually accociated with that look. The quality of the leather is good and has no ulgy pleather! As in other reviews, the couch is firm, however still comfortable and I believe it wouldn't hold its shape if it was soft. It is not a large couch and the back and arms are low which I like because its not overwhelming in the room and allows you to add more pieces. It arrived with no assembly required and we have had it for about two months and it has held up very well.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
sexh sofa
 from boise , idaho,  Feb 12, 2008

it only took 11 day for this sofa to get to my front door......wow, came in one box from a very friendly and helpful delivery man, took it out of the box , so easy, it was gorgious and sexy.......exactly like the photo . i love it . love it .......................its very sleek and low, great lines, very beautiful leather........you gotta have one.......

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
No Regrets, Beautiful couch
 from Washington, d.c.,  Jan 16, 2008

Once I saw this couch, it was the only one for me. The price was very reasonable. The only thing (not really a complaint just an opinion) is that the seats were deceptively firm at first. But after having had the couch for a few weeks, the seats are giving a bit which is nice. The leather is beautiful. No regrets at all. Love this couch.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 84 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Black Leather Glamour Loveseat
Add to cart to see special price
(1)
Nova Black Sectional
Today $1359.99
(3)
Back to top