Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 62 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
4.5
 from Toledo, oh,  Mar 28, 2011

Well, to start things off this chandelier is absolutely amazing looking. I read the reviews and you will find out that it does take a long time to put together. The instructions are horrible, but i am going to try to explain how i did it so that it will be alot faster for people. I gave this 4.5 because the instructions were horrible. It took me and my wife about 3 hours to do. It can be frustrating but i am hoping to help. When it is done it looks amazing. We put 40 watt type b bulbs that were clear and had a flame looking top on the light and it looks awesome. I installed a dimmer switch and it makes it look so nice. Now my version of the manual. first of grab an olde blanket or something that you dont mind to put things on that could get strofoam on it. Empty all the boxes and take everything out of the packages. Lay the pieces all out on the blanket to keep yourself organized. You want to start with the solid pieces first. I first installed the s shaped pieces and put them hand tight. next i put the curved pieces that go behind it in. According the the instructions it says to do this later, but this wil save some time. After that you want to match up all the wires. The ones with wording all go together and the ones without wording all go together. do yourself a huge time by using wire nutts and electrical tape to ensure it holds. then makes sure the metal rod that goes from the top to the bottom is tight, and doesnt wobble. If it does tighten the bottom nutt and the top nutt. if you dont do this now then you will have to take bottom peiece off later. Then you put the bottom base in. You have to move the wires around to fit this right. just slide the bottom up and screw it in. This will make sure it is tight. Ensure thatit is not wobbly. Then put you candle/lighht pieces together and put them on with the light bulbs. This will mae it easier to hang crystals later. Then you want to screw top part on chandelier so you can attachto celing. Do yourself huge one by measuring here. My table was 30in high. I have 9ft tall celings and we took17 inches off the chain to make it 32 inches. We forgot that the crystals dangle so we had to go back and take another 5 inches off. So remember to add in the 5 inches for the bottom crystal ball. Chandeliers are supposed to be 30-34 in from top of table. Then hang up chandlier. Put worded wire to red or black wire and non worded to white. The instructions do not tell you. The when it is hung up make sure it is to your height you want. Then start from bottom. This worked out for me. Go to organized pile of crystals and match up with picture. I started with crystal ball then put the 28pieces up next. Then you attach the chain ones on the ground first so that you dont have to do it in the air. This is defineitly a two person job, but the end result is amazing.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
so-so
 from Central NJ,  Sep 21, 2009

I was hesitant to order this reading other reviews saying it took 6 hrs. to put together, but ordered it anyway because my fiance said he would help. It was overwhelming at first when you open the box, but it actually 2 hours the most. to put together, about 15 minutes all together to figure out what goes where. It took the most time to string all the pieces onto the main piece but it really wasn't too bad.As far as aesthetic goes, I can't say it looks cheap, but doesn't look "wow" either. But you get what you paid for. I have no idea what "crystal accent" means because we can't figure out if the pieces are made from glass or acrylic. The only real crystal part is the round ball that hangs on the bottom. All the other parts are made of either glass or acrylic?I like it because we didn't pay too much for it, but I def. wouldn't mind paying a few hundred more for a real crystal chandelier straight from a store and not have to piece it together myself.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Must be from the local thrift store!
 from Nashville,  Sep 13, 2011

The site does not accurately describe this product. We opened the box and saw about hundred pieces to assemble. That was not a huge disappointment, but the plastic "crystals" were a joke. Very misleading online. I had read the other reviews about this "chandelier" and figured the one review that questioned the material and quality was from an uninformed shopper. We have several crystal chandeliers and this is not crystal. Since it is made in China, perhaps some are receiving crystal and others are not. I would look for another product from good brands like ***, ***. They are fairly priced and offer varying grades of crystal for your budget.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Not even close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Not even close
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good value
 May 15, 2010

Very attractive for the price. It is not glass, as another reviewer stated, but it is molded crystal rather than cut crystal, so it doesn't have as much sparkle as a really expensive chandelier. It also came with a couple of broken pieces -- the manufacturer will replace them, and is responsive to email, but a month later we still haven't actually received the replacement pieces.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent buy
 from Edgewater, NJ,  Nov 1, 2010

Very nice light. Large enough for a small/mediaum dining room. I have put several chandeliers together and this is no harder or easier than any other. It is an excellent value.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

My husband and I tried to make sense of the instructions last night to no avail, so we are now hiring an electrician. The chandelier looks really beautiful, but the instructions are so cockamamy that we couldn't get it connected properly. Since it was made in China, maybe this was just a poor translation into English, however the pictures take a few minutes to figure out as well. Overall I would give this 5 stars if I can be sure it will work, and if we didn't have to shll out $185 to an electrician to hook it up.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hire someone to put it together
 from West Hollywood, California,  Mar 28, 2011

The Maria Theresa 6 light Crystal Chandelier looks terrific once you finally get it assembled. We decided not to go the frustration route that we went through with another chandelier that we ordered so we hired an electrician to assemble and put our light fixture together and now we really love it. The finishing of this one compared to the Maria Theresa 13-light Chandelier is so much more superior. Chrome caps, much more expensive looking crystals and it has an overall LUXE feeling to it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful addition to our bedroom
 from Scottsdale, AZ,  Sep 13, 2012

This chandelier was the perfect addition to our bedroom. We decided to add the chandelier to our bedroom to create a more elegant and inviting oasis. It makes us smile each time we enter the bedroom and turn on the chandelier. My wife is a teacher and her principal came over for an event at the house soon after I hung the chandelier. She couldn't believe how elegant it made the room. She said she wanted one just like it and expected me to come over and install it for her. The crystals took quite a while to hang as there are so many and the instructions were a little confusing. In the end it just sparkles and shines. The light bounces all over the room. I added a dimmer and so we can lower the light to candlelight level and enjoy a quite evening in our bedroom. We are more than happy with the quality for the price. It was by far the best deal we could find and gave the most light and elegance for the price. I have looked at similar ones and think that they all look so much smaller have fewer crystals and less sparkle, but cost more.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was not a problem since it is chrome and crystal.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality of product was more than expected
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The desrption was good. The only thing that I did not anticipate was the chain was all soliered links. I shortened that and so had toruble getting the link open in order to raise the chandelier
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
mothers day gift
 from South Dakota,  May 14, 2012

My mother wanted a chandelier for her dining room. This is a very good buy for the price. The ownly gripe I have is the directions for putting it together are quite confusing. But we figured it out, only took about 2 hours to complete. And she absolutely LOVES it!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice product.
 from Oak Ridge, TN,  Dec 27, 2011

Very impressed by their customer service. They are very nice and very professional. We were missing a few small parts and we got them within a very short time after I called customer service.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly same.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent. All pieces are crystals.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exactly same.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Positive review
 from Fremont, CA,  Nov 29, 2011

I have hung it over my dining table. It looks great and everyone like it. For the price at which ikt is being sold, I think it is a "steal".

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Looks like original Sarvosky
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful
 from California,  Aug 28, 2011

This is a gorgeous chandelier! I had no trouble assembling with the given pictures. Hang the chandelier on a secured ladder while assembling and it will go much quickly. The only trouble I had was with the lack of wiring instructions, but nothing a quick Internet search couldn't resolve. Also, one piece was broken, but overstock customer service was ready and willing to respond. It gives beautiful light. I definitely recommend this item!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Even better than it looks
 from Cupertino CA,  Jun 20, 2011

As others have mentioned, it's pretty hard to put together. But it's worth it. My wife wanted a fancy chandelier for our new entryway and settled on this picture. I was afraid it might look "plastic", and also that it would just fade into the white walls surrounding it. I was wrong on both counts. From the floor below, it's incredibly sparkly - I would never know it wasn't real crystal. It also looks gorgeous against the white walls, especially with the lights on. It actually looks better in our house than in any of the photos. It's close to impossible to photograph such beautiful light effects. A few megatives - it requires thought and patience to put together. I'm an engineer, and my daughters are great with arts & crafts, and it still took us 3 hours. It was actually a fun family project, but be forewarned. Also, some of the parts looked dirty coming out of the box. Everything was well wrapped and packed, but we still felt the need to clean smudges and filmy residue off some pf the parts. The last thing to be aware of is that this doesn't come with bulbs. This may be a good thing, since you can then choose high efficiency fluorescent bulbs or prettier "candle flame" incandescent bulbs. We chose the latter - they use more power; but we don't leave it on all day long (it's more a decoration than a primary light source), and they they look stunning. Overall I"m quite happy with it. Sometimes we just look up at it go "wow - what a pretty light".

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes, but the online photo doesn't do it justice
  • How is the quality of the product? Pretty good, but a few flaws
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Chandelier for the Price
 from Northern VA,  Aug 12, 2014

This is a very nice chandelier for the price. It does require lots of patience putting it together, however. It took my husband a few days to put it together---he got pretty frustrated with it and had to leave it for a day and come back to it. It looks lovely over our dining room table and the light it puts out is very nice.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Maria Theresa 6-light crystal chandelier
 from Florida,  May 1, 2014

I rated this excellent because after all, look at the price, #1, for what you get. We have this in our dining room and have actually been asked if it was Waterford or a family heirloom. That being said, my husband and I almost got a divorce over putting it together! It took all day. We are both fairly perfectionistic so it may be that for some folks, that ordeal resulted in some malfunctions or having it look wrong. The directions are terrible too. Assembly of this thing is not for those with adhd! Halfway in I about had an anxiety attack! Get the picture? BUT - once it was hung, balanced (that's not easy either) we stood back and had to admit that NOBODY would ever guess we paid less than *** for it. We actually put black silk shades on the bulbs, which I really like. It is all glass, not plastic. CRYSTAL FOR *** No way. But not plastic. Had we gone to a lighting store for this, I am positive it would have been over ****, just due to the labor intensity alone. So if you know what you are signing up for, I would go for it. We have had it now for several years. I had a cleaning lady spend several hours carefully shining it up before the holidays and it sparkled beautifully.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Amazing Chandelier!
 from TEXAS,  May 1, 2014

This chandelier is beyond our expectations for the price - it looks beautiful in our dining room!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just beautiful!
 from Long Island, NY,  Apr 30, 2014

We just had our chandelier hung today. So beautiful! Looks much more expensive than it appears. The crystals all catch the light so perfectly. I am very happy with this product.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
BEAUTIFUL!
 from SAn Diego, CA,  Apr 29, 2014

This chandelier is much nicer than the price would indicate. There were some issues with the packaging; the first one was broken but Overstock sent a second within 24-hours of my call to them. When we received the second we put it together and hung it with ease. It is actually nicer than the $2500 one in my last place.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Chandelier - Hire a professional
 from Michigan,  Feb 4, 2014

Although I read all of the reviews and was aware of the many warnings of how long it takes to put this item together, how tedious and time consuming it is, etc. I decided to take the chance on it and buy it. I was prepared for the two of us to spend several hours putting this together, but that was not the biggest challenge for us. Another reviewer listed some nice instructions in his review - READ THAT. He tells you information that is very useful that the printed instructions do not provide, including which pieces to install first, when and why, and that some of the wires have writing on them (it's very faint, so you may need your eyeglasses and a flashlight to see the numbers and letters).! The instructions that come with this light are practically useless. This is definitely a two person job and if I were to do this again, I would have hired a professional, not because you need an electrician to install a light fixture, but because this is an awkward glass octopus on a chain, not your average light fixture. I don't even know if I will like the finished product as we are still trying to finish the installation after spending several hours on two separate days. It would probably be a slightly easier task if we hadn't shortened the chain, but we don't have vaulted or cathedral ceilings, so a 32" chain is way too long for hanging this chandelier in our bedroom. That being said, other reviewers said despite the hassle this was worth it and a good value. I'm not sure I agree. We still have to string all of the crystals and my arms ache just from put together and holding this monstrous chandelier. So far it does look pretty, but it's been a lot of work and still isn't complete.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just Gorgeous!
 from Lawrenceville, GA,  Jan 4, 2014

I have always wanted a beautiful chandelier and since I had just purchased a home, I thought this was the time to do it. I read every single review on Overstock regarding this particular chandelier and looked at thousands of other chandeliers on many other lighting sties. The Maria Theresa 6-light Chandelier seemed like the perfect answer to what I was looking for both in size, price and beauty. The chandelier came very well packaged in two heavy cardboard boxes inside another larger one and all items were either set into styrofoam or wrapped in soft paper to protect them. I sorted the various pieces into sections as I checked them off the instruction sheet before starting on putting it together. Putting the chandelier together was time consuming although not difficult. My handyman was there since he was going to hang it and between the two of us, we got everything in the right place. The instructions are not good and they seemed to jump around but finally we got it together. The chandelier was put into a small split foyer entry and it was just the perfect size with the high ceilings. I was not sure that all the pieces were crystal as some others had said so I was not sure what the chandelier was going to look like when it was hung. I used 40 watt flame-look bulbs in mine as well as a medallion at on the ceiling to make it look prettier which it did. When the lights were turned on, it was spectacular! The crystals sparkled brilliantly shooting off flashes of rainbow lights. I have to keep going into the entryway and turning the chandelier on just to admire it. It is elegant and absolutely beautiful. I wish Overstock would have a department that would put the chandeliers and other pieces of furniture that they sell together and give the customer the option to pay an addition fee to have that done. I know I would definitely pay more just to have the item put together so I wouldn’t have to do it as I do not always have a handyman available. The chandelier is not only gorgeous but the price was great compared to all of the other chandeliers that I looked at before purchasing this one. Do not hesitate to purchase the Maria Theresa chandelier as it is very beautiful and you will be extremely happy with it

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 62 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top