Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 41-60 of 64 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great board
 from Atlanta, GA,  Jul 16, 2010

I received this board yesterday and boy was I impressed. VERY heavy and well made. This is a board that will stay in place when you chop, carve, or whatever. Its really pretty too. I'm glad that I was able to purchase this from overstock because shipping alone for an item of this weight would be outragous anywhere else. I would certainly recommend this product.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cutting Board
 from Calgary, AB,  Jun 9, 2010

Awesome cutting board at a great price. Prompt shipping too.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Chopping Block
 from Mt. Angel,  Jun 2, 2010

WOW dont know if it is more beautiful or more functional. Well made, should last a lifetime. Be advised, it is large and heavy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Maple End Chopping Block
 from New York, NY,  May 20, 2010

The cutting board arrived quickly and is extremely heavy and well made. It definitely makes a statement in my kitchen and looks just like the picture. I recommend getting a couple of bottles of food grade mineral oil (directions on the bottle) to maintain your chopping block before using it and thereafter. All in all, I'm very happy with my purchase and thoroughly enjoy using it; it's the perfect size!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Chopping Board
 from Louisa, VA,  May 19, 2010

I purchased the maple cutting board as a gift for a special friend. He absolutely loves using it! The board is very sturdy and looks fabulous on the granite countertop.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
cutting board
 from Albany, NY,  May 13, 2010

I am very pleased with my maple end cutting board. I recently moved to a house with a great renovated kitchen and this cutting board looks perfect with the hardwood floors and modern wood cabinets. The cutting board is quite functional and sturdy and heavy, so it does not shift when cutting like my previous cutting board. It is easy to clean. Finally I have a cutting board that is functional and looks great.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Massive. Exactly what I was looking for.
 from Michigan,  Apr 5, 2010

This beautiful chopping block is absolutely massive. I am tall and its extra 3.5 inches add just the right height to my counter tops so my back doesnt hurt if I have a lot of breaking down to do. This is a beautiful addition to my kitchen, but be warned, it is thicker than a phone book, so you better have the necessary counter space and kitchen size to properly display it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
maple block
 from NJ,  Mar 27, 2010

It is huge and extremely heavy! I can't wait to start chopping on it. Looks better than the ones that you see on the television shows.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Big and Beautiful
 from New York, NY,  Mar 25, 2010

Exactly how I like my women... OK, not really. In all seriousness, this block is ridiculously sturdy. I really think that I'll have this block with me for the next 20 years. I might even dismantle it later in life to build my coffin. That's how large it is. I know that some people who reviewed say that's a bad thing, but that's only because they may not understand the true purpose of such a block. The weight and size of this block will give me the stability and height I would need to be the battlefield against formidable foes like Tommy the Tomato and Ashly the Asparagus. OK, that really didn't rhyme, but you know where I'm going with this. It's built well and comes from a very reputable company called Michigan Maple Block Co. They're well known in the cooking community and rival the likes of John Boos. It's the perfect accessory to take me to the next level of culinary awesomeness. I've got a good set of Global knives and my technique is getting better each month. This block will help me achieve true playa status. I got this block to replace an 18" x 12" x 1.5" maple edge grain block. I haven't had that block for long and it started to split. This is not just entirely John Boos' fault. In my old place, the counter was quite small and this sat right next to the sink. Though I was careful about the board, my roommates would constantly let water get all over the side of the board when they wash their things. (This is why we can't have nice things!!! LOL) Eventually, I noticed that the board started to split on the side closest to the sink. It was a beautiful board, but it had to go. I learned a costly lesson. The only thing I would have liked is that if this company had the same size with Walnut wood. That would have rocked my face off completely. But that would be nasty thing to happen; in the kitchen of all places. There would be pieces of face and eyebrows all over the place. Now, I just have to care for this thing. I have my 1 part distilled white vinegar with 3 parts water for the cleaning, my mineral oil, my sponge which will be sterile and used only for mildly soaping and rinsing the board, and my common sense. I'm still unsure on whether I should store this upright or on the counter flat. It's such a beautiful piece.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
awesome
 from charlottesville va,  Feb 22, 2010

Love it love it... Perfect size for the counter... My husband is a chief and he said I did a great job picking this out..

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Massive
 from Austin, TX,  Jan 27, 2010

This block is exactly what I was looking for. It is big and heavy and looks great on my counter. Overstock had the best price for this style of chopping block and shipment was quick. I went to Home Depot and purchased some adhesive backed rubber feet and followed the maintainance instructions of oiling every day for a week, every week for a month and every month there on.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Greatvalue
 from Dallas, texas,  Dec 30, 2009

Great quality at a great price. It is an excellent value. I compared many other boards and this is the one I settled on. Shipped fast...

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Big and Bold
 from The Valley, Texas,  Dec 16, 2009

Talk about BIG! I was surprised just how massive this cutting board was when I received it. Pleasantly surprised, I should say. The butcher block grain really creates that special look. One nice thing about an End Grain cutting board is that it doesn't get marred up with knife strokes/cuts. I read a good description once about why. Being the end grain of the wood, it is like the end of a paint brush. As the knife blade enters the wood, like bristles, the wood separates and then closes back together after the blade is removed. I thought it was a very good description. And apparently it's true. I've been using mine for a few weeks and have yet to see a single mar on it. I have no doubt this big, beautiful board will last the next 20 years or so. Great product all around and I highly recommend it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Chopping block
 from Corpus Christi, TX,  Dec 4, 2009

Excellent price for such a large end-grain chopping block. It is a very nice gift and inexpensive enough to buy one for yourself too!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
THICK
 from Fresno, CA,  Oct 22, 2009

I love this board but I must admit I was a little surprized at how thick it was. That was my fault though for not paying attention the the size dimensions. I was more concerned with the overall size and not the thickness. It is a good solid HEAVY cutting board that I am proud to have on my counter. And I will have for a lifetime.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cutting board/block
 Aug 13, 2009

Turned out to be exactly what I wanted. Received on time. Satisfaction = 100%

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful
 from Atlanta,  Jul 22, 2009

It just arrived today so it hasn't received a workout yet. However, the packaging was great and shipping was prompt. The block is beautiful. I've oiled it with mineral oil and it will begin being fully used tonight. First impression is good and no buyers remorse here.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
fantastic
 from Minooka, IL,  Jun 19, 2009

My daughters and I bought this for my husband/their daddy as an early Father's Day gift. He has been laid off and been doing most of the cooking and wanted an end grain board. He did some research on the web and learned end grain is great. I thought I would check out what the O had. This was my first purchse and will not be the last. Gave the board to him as soon as it came and does he love it! He put it on our kitchen island and really likes the thickness of the board. It raises your work surface height and he doesn't worry about cutting through it. Has plenty of work area and cleans up easy. It weighs @ 27#, so he knows he can't break it. Earlier bought a thin wood board from a big box store and it is now in the garage. He has no complaints about it and neither do I. This size is great as is the quality.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome Butcher Block!
 from Sacramento, CA,  May 18, 2009

This is great, my husband loves it as he was having to bend over too much to chop up stuff since are counter tops are low. And this has really helped with his back.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
positive
 from Charlotte, NC,  Feb 29, 2012

I keep this out on my counter all the time so I wish it was a little more attractive in color. But it's durable and useful so I would recommend it. To be expected, it's very heavy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? the actual product is not nearly as rich and vibrant looking as the photo.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 41-60 of 64 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought