Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 55 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Disappointed,
 from Washington, DC,  Apr 11, 2012

This very thick and heavy butcher block looks great and sturdy; however, within three months of use there is a major crack. The glued pieces of wood have separated: now there is a one inch long by a quarter inch opening. The block is also slightly warped. Board was exposed to some water, but not a lot and it was regularly oiled. What a disappointment. The design would be better if there were some little "legs" on the block to raise it a bit from the counter.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. looked great until I started using it.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? poor
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Quality!
 from Chicago, IL,  Dec 28, 2011

This was my first purchase from Overstock. This board is extremely heavy. Very well made and well finished. Top row of wood pieces is a fraction shorter, front to back, than the rest, which may account for the lower price. The cutting surface is not affected in any way, nor is the quality. The surface is completely level on both cutting surfaces, board is totally square at the corners. All I could add to this item would be finger slots at the sides, something I'll be adding with my friend's router! You will have to oil it with food-grade mineral oil. This is available in the laxative section of any pharmacy, oddly enough. No, the oil WILL NOT transfer to your food... I feel I got a tremendous bargain on this item, as I have researched comparable items and found the prices to be at least $$-$$ bucks higher. I am especially happy to see it was made in America, about 500 miles away from me! BUY THIS!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? VERY close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very nice, well finished
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Spot on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
SBGirl
 from Santa Barbara,  Mar 16, 2011

I was a little worried that the board would be too big once i got it. I actually thought my husband would make fun of it. I could hardly lift it in the box it came in! But once i put it on the counter and started using it i loved it! It's great that it makes my work space 3 inches higher which, not that i am tall (5'5), it is just a more comfortable way to work. I have not really cut directly on it since i am not sure how easy it's going to be to clean. like i said, it's super heavy and it is quite big. I've gotten used to the size now and my husband did not make fun of it at all. his first words were "now that's a cutting board!" oh, and it looks way more expensive than it was. i would recommend this for sure.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
With reservations
 Oct 13, 2010

Although some reviews noted flaws with boards by this manufacturer I already had an 18x18x3 1/2 cutting board ordered through Overstocked.com which appeared to be fine. Therefore I felt comfortable ordering this 20 x 15 x 3 1/2 board from the same manufacturer. I was sent a chopping board that has glue filler showing in one spot. It may be small but glue it is. Two corners are not beveled smoothly. This is not a cheap item and customers should not be the ones providing quality control.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good quality, but watch for defects
 from Colorado,  Aug 27, 2010

I recently received this block from Overstock and unfortunately, I found a crack that had been filled in with hot glue. Thankfully, Overstock is shipping me a new one right away so overall, I'm not too disappointed with the outcome. i just hope the second block is pristine. Cheers.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect
 from TN,  Dec 27, 2012

The board was perfect. It was bought as a gift and was as great as expected. I also purchased the elixer for her to condition the wood. She loves it!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very close after oiling it
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Awesome
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Spot on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gorgeous
 from Sacramento, CA,  Mar 1, 2014

The only reason I wouldn't recommend this board, it's quite large and better used in a commercial kitchen. The actual width and length is not that bad, it's the height at 3.5" and I would prefer something around 2 to 2.5". I had been looking for a quality cutting board for years, so this one seemed to fit from a quality standpoint. I debated wether to return it, but after leaving on the counter with the plastic wrap I found myself putting the old cutting board on top of it and it won me over and it now sits on the counter top nicely, using it every day!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great block, poor shipping
 from SE,  Jan 10, 2014

End grain boards are supposed to have greater durability (ie., less splitting) than edge grain boards and are also supposed to be better for your knives. This butcher block is gorgeous. It is large, very heavy, and sturdy. It does not seem like it will crack (unlike my Boos board, which was babied but is splitting). I used mineral oil to condition the wood, though one could certainly use more expensive/branded oils to do so. Unfortunately, I think my block got dropped during shipment because one of the edges came damaged (completely dented on the short edge). However, this has not impacted functionality at all, and I am happily chopping away on it. It is an very good value and I would repurchase one in a heartbeat if mine mysteriously disappeared.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
just loved it
 from TN,  Nov 15, 2013

it was as I had expected good quality and at a good price

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product, great service
 from London, England,  Aug 14, 2013

I'm blown away by both the product and the service I got from overstock. This product arrived in 5 days from the US to England, no issues with customs, no delays, no surprise charges. Tracking information was provided end to end, so i knew it was on its way and exactly when it would arrive. The product itself is exactly as described and amazing quality. I'll be using overstock again, no doubt.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as described
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality of this product is amazing. The chopping block is heavy and feels really solid, it's very well put together and feels like it will last a lifetime at least.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description was perfect.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Maple End Grain 20x15-inch Chopping Block
 from indiana,  Apr 5, 2013

Man this is a great block!!! Big and heavy!! and I mean heavy!! First rate quality on the one I recieved, but let me tell you.. get a full bottle of butcher block oil / conditioner. This thing will soak it up for days ... both sides I am talking about.. I will be buying another one soon!!

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great!!!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect Cutting Board
 from Virginia Beach, VA,  Mar 22, 2013

The perfect cutting board. Large, stable and fast. The end grain maple provides a nice cutting platform. Great for cutting veggies, and general prep work. Be advised you need to condition the board, with food grade vegetable oil. It takes about two weeks of daily treatment for the board to become completely smooth, and wipe up easily after use.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I purchased this as a gift so I can't speak to durabilty. The board looks good, appears solidly assembled, and worked well in the week I observed. The only logistical problem with the board is a lack of a finger grip - it's 20+ pounds and can be a chore to muscle around. As another suggested, I believe this can be remedied with a router and some elbow grease.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice heavy board
 from Dallas, TX,  Nov 29, 2012

This cutting board is very heavy and well made. You do need to "baby it" a bit when it first arrives with mineral oil. I continue to apply mineral oil weekly after having owned it for a couple of years. Very easy to use and clean. Just be aware it is very heavy and can't be moved around easily.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
4.9
 from Washington State,  Nov 10, 2012

The butcher block thickness and the weight of it is great and it won't walk on you while using it. It was well worth the money.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It looks better than the picture.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The butcher block is of highest quality anywhere. It's very professional.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was right on.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Commercial quality chopping block
 from NC,  Oct 25, 2012

The product is American made, a great value, and very solid.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very nice Maple wood
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Well constructed product
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid!
 from San Francisco,  Jun 12, 2012

Love this high quality / heavy duty cutting board We use it for pizzas, cutting meat, and it looks nice in the kitchen

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Ture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Just Fine
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Maple End Grain 20x15-inch Chopping Block
 from Virginia Beach, Va,  Feb 14, 2012

Just perfect!!! Great Quality...Exactly what our kitcken needed!!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exactly
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful but heavy
 from San Francisco, CA,  Dec 21, 2011

I just received this board. It's excellent quality but heavy. The board is 3" inches tick (most other brands have 2" thick). It's a chopping block and i have it out all the time. this is perfect if you have expensive knives since it won't dull the knives

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? acurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very good product
 from Millington, TN,  Dec 14, 2011

This chopping block is better than expected. As a novice cook who is trying to be better it is excellent.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color is as shown
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 55 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top