Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-11 of 11 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Simple and Elegant for pennies!
 from Highpoint, NC,  Mar 4, 2011

This set is perfect for a wide dining areas. I was very impressed with the shipping, I received it sooner than what I expected. The color is a rich espresso and the wood was solid and sturdy. Definitely worth the money. I'm pretty handy with tools and thus it took me not long to put it together and the end result was beautiful. Every piece was there and nothing was missing. I love the table with a white tempered glass tabletop inlay. I love the chairs with a curved tall back and with steel inlays. These additions make the set stands out. I also love the sideboard that is wide and spacious. I have already moved all my beautiful plates and bowls collection into it. The top of the sideboard, it goes without saying that i have put my lovely ornaments on it. If I could upload a picture for the review, I will be more than happy to show you how the set turn out in my home now. Overall, I'm very pleased and satisfied with my purchase. I would definitely recommend this for anybody who wants an elegant look and not break the bank. Bear in mind, you are getting 8 pieces of them at once, imagine if you were to buy these separately, I am sure it will cost you double from what I spent.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lovely
 Mar 28, 2011

This set has really added a wonderful new level of urbane sophistication to our home. The subtle, graceful linearity of the design, the construction, the austere quality of the silhouettes -- it all comes together beautifully in this set, which was shipped in immaculate condition, perfectly wrapped in a professional manner and much earlier than we expected, which was a nice surprise. We love having long, relaxing dinners in our dining room now!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wow factor!
 from Washington DC,  Oct 16, 2011

I am so happy that I got this dining set, it has turned my dining room into a super special place. I love to invite my friends over for dinner and enjoy this high-quality, super stylish furniture that is a real pleasure to decorate around. The white tempered glass inlay in particular makes quite an elegant, modern and sophisticated statement -- and makes my table settings stand out and look quite polished. Happy to recommend.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Modern and classy
 from Mass,  Jul 25, 2011

I'm very happy I purchased this dining room set, especially for the price, with a 10% discount coupon. The table and chairs are quick and easy to assemble . The cushion on the chairs looks a little flimsy when putting them together, but once together the chair is solid and comfortable. The entire set is solid wood, with dark veneers, which you notice when lifting the table and buffet tops. I don't think you can get solid wood for this price anywhere else. I had 2 issues with the set, which prevented me from giving it a 5 star review. 1. the delivery company that Overstock contracts out to "lost" the item on the day of my delivery, so I sat home and waited for nothing, no phone call of explanation, no idea where the item was for 24 hours. Overstock was very helpful when I called them, and actually gave me a $$$ credit for my inconvenience. The delivery company could care less, and the delivery guy actually chastised me for letting it sit in the warehouse for so long and get dented when it was delivered a week later. 2) the buffet is difficult to put together. The top does still not align properly despite a number of attempts, and there are uneven gaps between the 3 doors. Again, Overstock customer service was very helpful, even offering to replace the product, but there were no more in stock. So it's a little askew which no one but myself probably notices. Overall, I'm very satisfied.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? identical
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good, but not high quality furniture
 from Houston, TX,  Jul 8, 2011

Perhaps the simplest way to describe this set is to say that it is good for overstock's price, but not a great steal. We were looking at dining room sets for a while and always were deterred by price at furniture stores. Compared to those prices, a "real wood" set sounded excellent on overstock. Unfortunately this is where the wording will get you. This is wooden furniture in that it is not **** quality compressed fiber. However it is not finished wood but rather a plywood core with veneer. That still means that it is not flimsy and short-lifed, but you can tell that it is not "real wood". And this is why I would say that it is good for the price, but you are definitely not getting a $2000 set for cheap here. As for the looks, it looks very smart and the photos do justice to its elegant contemporary look. It looks nice in the room but if I had seen it in a store I might have still waited to buy a "real wood" set. On assembly, it came on pallettes and was huge, but got it assembled in a few hours spread over two evenings. It is not a one person job though (some pieces are large and unwieldy) but a husband-wife team should manage. Instructions are about ****quality.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Average to good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? 8/10
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautiful, high quality and comfortable
 from las vegas,  Jun 13, 2011

I was looking for a new and affordable dining set after we moved to our new house, but all I could find was low quality on way too high prices. One of my friends told me about Overstock so I was thinking it worth a try. As soon as I saw this amazingly modern and sophisticated Magness 8-piece Dark Brown Modern Dining Set on this great price I knew my friend was right. I cannot tell how beautiful and perfect this set looks in my dining room. The quality is top and the elegant dark brown color of it matches perfectly with the white walls. The pieces are easy to move and easy to clean, not to mention about how comfortable the chairs are. Great deal on a great price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very good design
 from Beverly Hill, California,  Mar 1, 2011

I have received my this Magness dining set after 10 days of ordering it. The set arrived without any defect or damage and I am so pleased with that. it took about an hour for me and my husband to assemble the set. The assembly instruction is self explainatory and it wasn't too hard to complete the set up for the whole set. The design is appealing, the table has a long tempered glass inlay and this is what accentuates the table. An additional plus point of the glass inlay is, i can remove the glass to clean when it is stained with some sauces or juices. The six chairs look very modern in term of design. When you are standing in front of the dining set, these chairs look curved and classy. They are so very modern and definitely be the focus point of my dining room. I have received quite some compliments from my guests. The sideboard is wide and spacious. The wood finish looks excellent. Overall, I couldn't be happier to have the set. I would recommend this set to anyone who is looking to furnish your formal dining room and I am sure that you will be very happy with it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very happy customer
 from New York, NY,  Feb 24, 2011

This is a great grand table sets with nice dark chocolate finish (more brown than black), very similar to most wenge finishes. Very easy to assemble and surprisingly sturdier than some other more expensive dining set that I found at huge home furniture stores. So it's a great value especially if you are going for a more modern look (aka Calligaris) for much, much less! The dining chiars go great with the table with the modern bent wood curve design. The sideboard looks awesome too, the design is simple but it is roomy. You can fit a lot of things in there. It will be good to last for years.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Serious urban sophistication!
 from Zearing, IA,  Oct 9, 2011

This is a beautifully designed set that has given such a cosmopolitan flair to our dining room that it seems like we are sitting at a fancy, sophisticated restaurant in the city and not in our little ramshackle farmhouse out in the sticks! We grow all the kinds of hipster urban farmer’s market vegetables du jour you can think of, and now with this modern looking ensemble, our dinners feel a little more urbanized as well, which when you’re out in the fields all day, is a nice change of pace.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
All the reason for a dinner party
 from Chicago, Il,  Oct 7, 2011

I’ve been hosting get togethers just to show off this table and chairs set! I envied the dining scenes in so many movies, not caring if I was serving takeout in cardboard containers just as long as I had a beautiful and elegant place for people to gather. I’m thinking of tying little bows on the chairs to reflect the seasons (like orange and red for the Fall or pink and yellow for the Spring) – and have wine glasses and cloth napkins year round (whether I’ve cooked or ordered out). Love it!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice looking, quality questionable
 from Madison, WI,  Dec 10, 2012

Really like the look, but don't like the feel of the "wood"

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-11 of 11 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought