Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 20 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Second time is a charm
 from Budd Lake, NJ,  Aug 13, 2012

Delivery and shipping: The fist bed sent by overstock was badly damaged. While I am not happy about that this really showed how good Overstock's customer service was and after refusing the bed and calling them they got another sent right out. The second bed arrived safely and was extremely well packed. I have to assume the first one sent was mishandled in some way in transit. The bed is very nice and is at least as nice as the pictures. This is a great traditional sleigh bed style and because of the lower height of 44" on the headboard this is a great choice for low ceilings in a cape cod of anywhere a low profile bed is desired. The headboard and footboard are of fairly sturdy wood and the color is a warm brown cherry finish. This compliments some of my older furniture of similar style. It should be noted that the back of headboard is not finished. Since most people put the headboard against the wall this won't concern many people. If you plan to have the bed away from the wall and exposed, like in a studio apartment, this might not be the bed for you for that reason. I recommend a low profile box spring for this bed. Until we got our new mattress a few days later, we had our old standard box spring and mattress on the bed. With a standard height box, the footboard would be nearly covered and some of the nice detail of the panel on the headboard is covered. The bed has wooden bedrails measuring 6" and have an inside cleat to hold the slats that are 1". This means a low profile box usually 5" (but sometimes 6" on some brands) will be almost flush with the top of the bedrails and put the mattress at the height is seen in the pictures. The mattress in the pictures is even with the top of the bedrails. A full size box spring will fit is you don't mind the details being covered. Assembly: I find this bed to be somewhat easy to assemble. The headboard and footboard are fully assembled. The wood bed rails attach to the headboard and footboard with traditional hook type fasteners. The only difficult part of the assembly if you are alone is hooking the rails on the footboard after attaching to the headboard as they must be listed up and inserted. This is where having a friend to help can be useful, but I did this alone and propped the rails up while connecting them. The bed comes with three wooden slats made of hardwood plywood (not solid wood) with one leg for the center slat. Many reviewers have noted these slats were not adequate for their needs, while others have found them just fine. A lot of newer bedding is much heavier than in the past and some mattress sets may weight as much as 300 lbs today. People with more traditional mattresses may not be experiencing the same problem. Be prepared to replace the slats and there are two ways to go with this. Traditionally, 3 slats are used and made of 1 x 4 hardwoods (the included are 3/4" X 3 and appear to be hardwood plywood). Many mattress manufacturers will not honor their warranty with only three slats and require at least 5 slats and three center legs. A better solution (and the first I offer) is to purchase metal bed supports that are designed to replace wooden slats. These are more appropriate if you have modern thicker, heavy bedding like a memory foam mattress, etc. There are a number of manufacturers of such products but my favorites are the Knickerbocker Bedbridge or Bed Beam products which include 3 legs. I personally added the bedbridge product as I am a 6" 280lb man and my wife weighs in at 130lbs. 430 lbs. is close to the maximum weight the manufacturer recommends for this bed. The additional support eliminates my worry of the wood rails bowing at the head and footboard connections. Option two - If you are a traditionalist and want to stick with wood, buy five pieces of 1 X 4 oak and cut them to the same length as the supplied slats. Center support legs can be found on the internet or you could easily make a leg like the one supplied or buy a furniture leg of the same size at the box stores. There is 8" from the bottom of the rails to the floor and given the 1" cleat a leg should be 9". Take the provided leg to the store with you to match the size. A similar option is to buy aftermarket wood slat sets which usually have a ribbon stapled to them to make it easier to keep the spacing correct. Pleases like IKEA sell these. Overall I believe this bed is an excellent purchase for the money, but you must consider if adding extra support is something you would want to do and factor that into your choice. This bed is beautiful piece and we are very happy with the purchase. A bed of this height is very hard to find and this would fill a niche for many people how need this feature wor tight spaces. It has an elegant look that compliments many tastes.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color is accurate to the photo provided
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The product is of slightly above average quality and is a good value for this price.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was accurate but not detailed enough. The Q and A section was helpful as a result.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great look - poor quality.
 from Santa Barbara,  Jun 5, 2011

We've ordered several items at Overstock over the years and have been generally very satisfied with them. The head and footboards look great on the bed, but the frame is poorly constructed. The bed makes noise when you get on and off the bed and feels poorly constructed. We were laying in the bed and hurt the wood splitting as we lay there and shortly thereafter the railing had fallen to the ground and we were laying crooked in the bed. All in all, we are not impressed with this bed even though we love the look.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Poor
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Choice
 from Carlisle, OH,  Feb 16, 2011

We are so pleased with this bed. It came packaged well and was simple to assemble. It is beautiful! You'll need to purchase lumber for at least 5 bed slates. The bed comes with three thin boards that will not be enough support. My husband also screwed in the bed slates to insure stability. This bed will be used in one of our guest bedrooms. Excellent bed for the money.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Impressive
 from bay area cakifornia,  Jul 12, 2009

This sleigh bed was easy to assemble. The bed is substantial, striking and the color is gorgeous. Highly recommend this piece.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A PIece of Trash
 from Brooklyn, New York,  Aug 20, 2012

This bed is poorly made. It started to fall apart within 6 months. It will not last more than a year. I purchased this bed and the main support broke, then one side rail broke and the bed became useless. It was not replaced because I did not purchase insurance.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was as represented
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The bed is poorly made. First the main support broke and then the bed rails. It's a piece of crap.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Quality is not as described
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good buy
 from Pittsboro NC,  Nov 18, 2011

I was a little nervous about buying a bed frame online, but the picture looked exactly like what I wanted and the price was great. Also, the reviews were good enough for me to give it a go. Some folks found assembly difficult but my husband, who put it together while I was out of town, said it took him less than an hour. He is a do-it-yourself kind of guy, but that just means he's not afraid to try something even if he has no clue on what to do. The bed frame is beautiful and sturdy, and I'm very happy with it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Every thing is solid.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
the best one
 from new york,  Apr 1, 2011

OMG i love my bed...LOOKS LIKE THE SAME, im so happy

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice bed
 from Cornwall, PA,  Feb 13, 2011

I bought this bed after shopping the alleged sales at local furniture stores. Got delivery in two weeks, and based on reading the reviews, bought two additional slats for the assembly. The result was a good buy. Comfortable and sturdy, this is a bed I would recommend to anyone.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice, but a bit over priced
 from Baltimore, MD,  Jun 17, 2010

I bought this bed because of the reviews I have read. I do like the bed and it was very easy to assemble. The 3 slats they give you to put in the bottom were 2 inches by 3/4 inches. It made me a bit uncomfortable, so I went to Home Depot and got 5 slats that were 3 by 1. Also, the material the bed is made out of is attractive, but not as heavy duty as I would like. I think it was a bit over priced for the quality.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great value
 from New Orleans, LA,  Jun 3, 2010

Great price for the product. I was pleasantly surprised with this bed. It arrived in 2 wks and was very easy to assemble. The only problem is the mattress support slats. They are too flimsy. I'm a slender female and they are bowing after 2 months, making the matress sink in the middle. I've replaced them with thicker boards and all is well.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Simple and Attractive
 from South Carolina,  Nov 16, 2009

I got my bed a couple of weeks ago and have been very happy with my purchase. I was concerned about buying something like this without seeing it in person first, but I have not regretted my decision! The color is wonderful and rich, and the bed looks substantial without being too bulky. I have it in my apartment and it gives my bedroom the elegance it needs without taking up too much space. It's even high enough to fit under-bed storage containers! Assembly was so easy and fast - didn't even need the instructions. I was worried at first that only 3 supporting slats were included, but have not had any problems thus far, and I just got a new mattress & box springs that are quite large. Overall, extremely happy with my purchase!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fell apart after 2 years.
 from New Orleans, LA,  Jan 31, 2013

We had this bed for two years. First, it arrived badly damaged and was replaced. When finally assembled, we realized the three small supports provided would be useless. We therefore purchased four additional slats for support. After one year, the bed had already started to creak. After two, the side rail support split and broke after I sat on the edge of the bed (I weigh 125 pounds). Total crap, do not buy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. terrible
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 from Kansas,  Feb 10, 2012

We love our bed and have gotten many compliments on it!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exactly the same!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? right on
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Elegant Bed
 from San Jose, CA,  Nov 11, 2010

I have been looking to upgrade my 15 year old bed and have looked everywhere. I was not looking to purchase a bed online, regardless of the price. I was also extremely weary of purchasing something without seeing it in person. Based on previous reviews for this bed, and after months of debating, I decided to go for it. I am not at all disappointed! I have had this bed for approximately 3 weeks and what an awesome deal I got! It is rich in color, sturdy, and elegant and will match any type of decor or style. The sleigh design and size doesn't overwhelm our room and matches our current nightstands and dresser (which are different wood and grain altogether). It is super hard to get out of bed now. Seriously, for the price range, you can't go wrong!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
fantastic
 Jul 13, 2010

I too, not an online shopper for furniture but took a chance on this product which seemed to be well reviewed. And I wasn't let down. Looks great and has already had a guest on it for several nights who raved about the bed!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
perfect
 from florida,  Apr 12, 2010

This cherry bed frame is sturdy and fits in with beautiful old solid cherry furniture that I had. So easy to put together and what a savings!! I have had great luck with furniture from overstock. Reviews from other purchasers always help me and have been accurate!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
BEAUTIFUL BED!
 from Arizona,  Mar 17, 2010

This Queen-Sized, bed was just as beautiful in the picture on the site, as it is in my bedroom! Great color, style and workmanship! I put it together with my daughter, and it was a snap. You can't go wrong with a Sleigh Bed, as far as gorgeous, timeless styles go--and this one is everything I desired!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

This bed was exactly what I wanted. It was so easy to assemble, I did it by myself and I am a 57 y/o female. The instructions were very simple. I LOVE MY BED!!! I would recommend it to everyone.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great BED
 from rochester, mn,  Oct 14, 2009

It came to me fast and easy. I love the bed. It turns a room into class. It was easy to put together and the boxes werent to heavy. The wood is a great color and durable!!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sleigh Bed
 Sep 14, 2009

This product arrived within the time period arranged and was in excellent condition. We are pleased with the look as well as construction. It matched the other bedroom pieces of dark cherry that we purchased over 20 years ago.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 20 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought