Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 57 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
A Great Value Addition To My Cast Iron Collection
 from New York State,  Feb 15, 2012

The Lodge cast iron Dutch oven is the size I've wished for each time I've had to remove the food I've prepped from my "French oven" because I couldn't get the cover on---without the almost $300 cost for a comparable size! The Lodge Dutch oven is partially a melted-glass product, which apparently decreases the cost without, it seems affecting performance. The Lodge is notably lighter than the higher-priced cookware, hefty but the 6 quart 16 pound piece is still easy to handle. The stainless steel knob on the cover is oven-safe to 500 degrees F, and doesn't need to be replaced for an additional cost as do those on many of the other branded lower-cost options. All exposed surfaces are seasoned for easy maintenance. Following my first use of the Dutch oven for a pork shoulder which braised slowly and beautifully in a 225 degrees F the white gloss enamel interior washed with soap and water as easily as the dinner plates!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color in the website's illustration was an excellent match for the actual product, a very attractive royal blue color.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality of the product is good, and an excellent value!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? I would have liked to see some information regarding the material composition of the cookware.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great so far
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Feb 10, 2012

I received the dutch oven in a timely manner. Well-packaged and protected. I have now used this dutch oven for a variety of cooking purposes. I have browned meats then roasted them in the oven. I have simmered chili on the stove. I have even used it to make bread! It has been great so far and very easy to clean. I have flimsy oven racks however and the 16lb weight + the weight of whatever I have cooking in the dutch oven cause my oven racks to sag. But what can you do? Cast-iron dutch ovens are supposed to be heavy! This product is exactly as advertised and I love it so far. Looking forward to using it for years to come!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? the color was portrayed accurately
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. high quality so far
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Positive reviw
 from Las Vegas, NV,  Jun 10, 2011

I also own the french cast iron and enamel cookware and this is just as nice and cooks the same. I am very p[lease.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? the color was perfect and matched the color shown.
  • How is the quality of the product? The quality is as good as the french cast iron and enamel cookware.
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? very accurately
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent
 from Georgia,  Mar 25, 2010

This dutch oven is fabulous. It is large enough for most cooking/frying without being overwhelmingly big. It cleans like a dream. I am now trying out recipes I couldn't do before because I only had non-stick cookware. This works for every recipe. Easy to use, easy to clean, easy to store.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I love this dutch oven
 from Tampa, FL,  May 12, 2012

I love this dutch oven. It's very well made and every bit as good as the high priced ones for a lot less. Ive used it several times and it cleans up very well. Im not sure if the manufacturers changed the knob. Several people wrote that theirs was plastic but mine is metal. I would highly recommend this to friends. I wish I had purchased more for gifts.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurae
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Outstanding Dutch Oven
 from Kingmen, AZ.,  Mar 5, 2012

I've been wanting to purchase a Dutch Oven for a while now, but I just couldn't justify the cost (often over $100). I purchased this product because of the affordable price and the reputation of Lodge cast iron cookware. I'm very happy with the purchase. I've made several meals using this Dutch Oven, from soups to roast. The outcome has been wonderful. Last week I made a stove top pot roast and I don't think I've ever had one so juicy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfectly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
positve
 from MIlw, wi,  Oct 10, 2013

I love this pot I cook with it a lot. I recommend it to my friend and she bought one two and she also loves it.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just as good as Le Crueset
 from Minneapolis, MN,  Jun 25, 2013

I love to cook. Have a number of Le Crueset cast iron enameled pieces I love to use: frying pans, grills, broiler pan, but haven't purchased one in over 7 years. Really wanted to take advantage of what a great enameled cast iron Dutch Oven could do both for roasting, stock pot meals, and slow cooking but was stunned at Le Crueset prices. On to the internet for comparisons and evaluations, and based on a review of the Lodge in a cook-off against Le Cruest thought it would be worth saving over ***to find out if it was really true that identical meals came out with identical flavor in the taste test. Yes it does! Like any enameled cast iron product, chipping of the enamel is always a concern. This is why I stayed away from the "made in China" options. Taking care of cookware is alway a "must", (even two of my Le Crueset pieces have suffered some small chips) but the Lodge piece so far has survived perfectly with a couple of incidents that would have hurt pieces built with lesser quality. A++ Lodge! 5 pounds of short ribs are on the way...

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Identical
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. beyond what I expected
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Spot on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Heavy in a good way
 from California,  Jun 6, 2013

This pot is great for frying, sauteing, stews, soups and more! I like the high sides as it keeps some heat in and cooks faster. Also the heat distribution is top notch.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? favorable
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works great and really nice to look at
 from Jersey City, NJ,  May 15, 2013

Always wanted one of these, researched around, love it. Sturdy, heavy and works great. My food came out perfectly and it cleaned up so easily. I didn't have to scrub or anything.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality - heavy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Totally accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great value
 from Southern California,  Apr 30, 2013

This dutch oven is a great purchase. It does everything the more expensive brands do at a fraction of the price.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfectly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
these are awesome pans
 from hamilton mt.,  Mar 9, 2013

What can you say about cast iron with an enamel finish!!! It doesn't get any better than that. Makes your food taste great.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. best pan to cook with
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best piece of cookware
 from MA,  Feb 17, 2013

Definitely recommend this piece. I use it all the time. Easy to clean, never sticks. Not as heavy as the other dutch ovens I have tried lifting in stores but cooks up food beautifully.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great quality
 from Jamestown,NY,  Jan 11, 2013

bought this as a gift & it was very well received.The quality of the productis very good and I was happy to see that it is made in the U.S.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? the color was even prettier in person
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautiful!
 from ca,  Jan 11, 2013

right size, right price...delivered flawless. !

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lodge blue enamel 6 qt. cast iron dutch oven
 from Stamford, CT,  Jan 3, 2013

Received on time and pleased with the product and packed securety. Great service no complaints.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lodge Blue Enamel 6-quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven
 from WDC Metro Area,  Jan 3, 2013

I did my homework for this one. My daughter is a huge Le Creuset fan and admonished me for buying a "cheaper" version. But after using it several times, it is still looking brand new and cooking food as expected! It is not only better than the Le Creuset but several hundred dollars less expensive. And really, you can't tell at all, except now I will have several pieces of the Lodge cookware as my daughter will only have 1 piece. I love it!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Beautiful
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent Quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This a great dutch oven
 from New Orleans,  Dec 15, 2012

The is the second one I purchased. After receiving the first that I ordered for myself, I ordered another for a gift. I am very pleased with this dutch oven. It heats evenly and is very well made. And the color is beautiful.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color is accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This is a very heavy, quality dutch oven
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The item was described perfectly
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent cooking results
 from Jackson, MI,  Dec 11, 2012

Always wanted a Dutch oven and have not been disappointed with this one at all. Can do my browning and cooking all in one pot. Cleanup is a breeze. From stews and soups to roasts and casseroles, this one pot does it all.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? dead on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Nice, heavy cast iron. Very sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? extremely accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lodge Blue Enamel Dutch Oven
 from Mt. Vernon, IL,  Nov 16, 2012

I love my new pot. If I were to have to list a complaint, the only one is that the instructions with the pot say not to heat the pot empty. I was making a loaf of crusty bread in it which said to heat the pot and lid empty. I called customer service and discussed the issue with a very helpful person. She explained the issue with heating the pot empty (an issue with the protection of the enamel) I found a way to use my pot while complying with the instructions and the bread turned out wonderfully. I appreciated the customer service person's prompt assistance and her understanding of what I was wanting to do. I'm very happy with the pot, very happy with the service I received, and wouldn't hesitate to order from overstock.com again. Thank you very much. And my pot is BEAUTIFUL!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 57 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top