Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-18 of 18 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Lifetime 8x15 Side-entry Shed
 from Pearl River, NY,  Jan 1, 2012

I must say I am very pleased with both the actual purchasing of this shed and its construction . . . the shipping was about 5 times faster than quoted- mere days from order placement! . . . there's lots of pieces and mostly all are well labeled, but do keep the construction manual handy justm in case . . . took about 2 hours to check the inventory and group the pieces prior to construction; a MUST-DO if you are to have a frustration-free and smooth construction . . . all told, it took about 8 hours, not counting the two prep hours, to completely finish construction including the shelves inside . . . this was over two days time as we lost the light on the first day . . . my 11yr old daughter and I laid the floor down easily-the sections interlock like flooring . . . by the time we finished the floor and got it as square to the foundation as possible, my 22 & 19 yrold sons were awake (finally!!) and joined us in the yard . . . the next step was to install the wall panels starting from the left of the door opening and continuing around until you reach the righthand side of the door opening. . . each panel has tabs on the bottom that correspond to openings along the floor perimeter and these tabs snap into said openings; at first it was a bit difficult to do , but by the 4-5th panel you should get the technique down and from then on you're only limited by how fast you can get wall panels to the worksite! . . . also, the panels overlap each other and are secured by 5 screws top to bottom, so even without the roof in place, the structure at that point ( once all panels are in place) is very sturdy . . . regarding the foundation and concerns about it being level, I hafta say that unless yours is so far outta level that you can see it from a short distance, minor unevenness can be overcome with little effort and no compromise to the structure . . . we used a modified slab style; an outer perimeter of concrete 2 feet wide, 18 inches deep, with a central 'spine' also 2 feet wide, running lengthwise . . . the voids were then filled with half-inch gravel . . . in hindsight I coulda used a bit more as the floor flexed a bit too much for my liking . . . I covered the floor, made of plastic, with half-inch plywood sheathing to combat the flex and to protect the surface as lawn/snow equipment is being stored in the shed . . . if you go with a solid slab you should not have any issue . . . roof construction went off without a hitch and proved to be very well executed as we've had some very hard, wind-driven rainfalls and nary a drop of water made it inside!! . . . the only 'problem' area here is when you are securing the roof peak sections, it was sometime hard to get the screw to 'catch', so make sure whoever is helping you with the rook peak is a) tall enough to reach em (yes we used a sladder but still!), b) have good arm/upper body strentgh as they hafta push down on the sections as you are driving the screws from underneath . . . in fact, I need to get a longer scre for one side of a peak sectionas I just couldnt get the supplied screw to reach thru and grab it; even without that screw- no water!! . . . the 'skylights' are merely somehat thinner pieces of plastic that, in comparison to the wall and roof sections, do let in a bit of 'light', but even on a full-sun day, you ain't readin' no books in there! . . . nice touch but I wonder if they can be improved/redesigned a bit too allow a useful amount of light in; plexi would be too brittle should a branch fall on it and Lexan may be too costly . . . the kit comes with shims to place under the floor should the doors not align to each other properly, but they are made of wood, not resin, so there may be a durabilty issue later on; strange they didnt make some solid plastic ones . . . . . I lucked out and did not need to use them; my doors are just a wee bit off but they swing free and you can't notice from a distance that the right is ever so slightlky higher than the left . . . all in all, fom order placement to delivery to construction, I give this a 5 star rating all the way; if you buy this, take the time to prep your site properly, inventory your parts, read thru the directions BEFORE you start . . . you'll have no problem and you'll have a great shed at at great price . . . remember - TAKE YOUR TIME and FOLLOW THE ORDER OF CONSTRUCTION . . . one last thing- this comes in 4 boxes of equal length strapped to a wooden pallett so make sure you have a place to drop them ready before the truck gets to your house . . .

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Product color on the site was dead-on accurate in regards to the actual product color.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. All the pieces, metal and plastic, were well made; they are solid with no distortion or abberations and fit with minimal cajoling.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Product description is thorough and well executed.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful shed with pros and cons
 from Minneapolis, MN,  Jul 15, 2011

The shed is beautiful. I even attached some flower boxes in front of each window. My neighbors keep asking me who's moving into it. The instructions are excellent in some places and could be better in others. I write instructions for HP, so this comment is from my professional as well as anecdotal experience. Once, I had to call about a procedure and was told that the figure of the door attachment was incorrect. However, with perseverance, you will figure things out. I built a foundation using ten foundation slabs (four along the front and back and two on each side). The instructions include examples and parts list of lumber needed for this type of foundation. I handed the list to the guy at Home Depot, and he gathered it all up for me and even cut the heavy top boards to size there at the store. I rented one of their trucks for $19 and took it all home and assembled the foundation pretty quickly. Leveling the slabs took longer than building the foundation. The shed doesn't seem water tight. After a rain, there's water drops on the floor. I think if I had it assembled perfectly, it wouldn't leak; however, it's not designed to allow perfect assembly very easily (in my opinion). Everything I'm storing is in 20 or 30 gallon plastic totes, so this shouldn't be too much of an issue.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Shed / Great Site
 from Independence, MO,  Apr 29, 2010

First, the Shed: (1) Easy to put together (2) Instructions are thorough (follow them exactly!) (3) Very good quality and solid structure once all tightened (4) Only negative, I wish the doors (and locking mechanism) went together and worked as great as the rest of the shed. They work, but could use some additional engineering to make it "5 stars" for this feature. Second, the Site: (1) Great price (no tax, plus cheap shipping)!! (2) Site mentioned 4 to 6 weeks before receipt of shipment -- I received it in 1 week!! I didn't even have the foundation ready!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Shed
 from Fargo, ND,  Jul 25, 2011

This is a great shed. I was worried about buying something of this size online, but everything arrived perfectly. This is a massive shed, and the center access makes it really easy to get at your items on either side. The headroom is excellent and some items can even be placed on the metal trusses. I placed the shed on a concrete slab. Having a level surface is key to installation. Installation took about 7 hours (3 people; 2 active, 1 on instructions). The labeling of the parts was not the best, different number indicators are on some part bags vs. what is referenced in the instructions. This made it more difficult, but we worked through it. I have had the shed up for about 2 months and it has been great to use. It has weathered two storms. There are tan skylights lining the top, ventable windows on the front and vents at the peaks of both sides.The flooring is nice and seems like it will hold up welll. The included shelving also works very well. If you are concerned with how far the doors swing, they don't swing all the way flat to the shed, but do swing past the hinge by about 30 degrees.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
shed
 from burien,WA,  Aug 28, 2010

received shed quickly, definitely 2 person job, make sure foundation is absolutely level...pieces went together well in beginning and became more of a challenge at the end when it all came together. think it might have been easier if foundation was more level...but it looks really nice, like a small house out back. took my husband and myself one evening plus one full day to put together.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect
 from florida,  Aug 16, 2010

This is a GREAT shed, super easy to assemble. Very detailed instructions and parts labeling. We have a decent amount of renovation experience and it took us less than 6 hours start to finish. Shipped in about two weeks, delivered to our doorstep. It comes in four separate boxes, so as long as you have two relateively strong people, you probably won't have to pay for any additional handling fees from the shipping company because you can carry the boxes separately. You probably will want to purchase a secondary floor covering for this shed. The composite floor is a great base, but will dent relatively easily under large loads or by impact of sharp objects.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice shed!
 from Central New York,  Sep 24, 2012

Very nice shed, but the assembly would have been easier if there were written directions instead of just pictures. With the help of family members, it was assembled in about 10 hours.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great shed for the price
 from Syracuse, NY,  May 16, 2012

Great shed. I was most interested because of the large size and double door access for larger items. The windows offer additional light if working to organize things inside. I hired a contractor to install the shed as my husband would have taken three times as long and I wanted to get it done! It took the guy 1 1/2 days. We built a base from crushed stone and pressure treated wood. I simply LOVE this shed. It looks great in the yard too. Delivery was quick-1 week.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. sturdy plastic
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Plastic shed
 from Arkansas,  Apr 8, 2012

I really like the shed. The plastic needs to be thicker where it screws together.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. it
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? seems fairly sturdy
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

This is a great shed. It wasn't easy assembly, the directions are confusing in many areas. The shed has lots of storage capacity and meets our expectations. The only negative is we found it for much less on an authorized dealer site. O.com did refund some of our money, which we were very grateful for. We highly recommend the Lifetime brand garden shed.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Like it better than shown-not quite as white
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good qualit;y
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Superior customer service
 from Boston,  Jul 26, 2011

The product had to be returned so I never saw it, but Overstock was so helpful. I am hoping they carry the item when I have my final permits.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
15x8 Lifetime Shed
 from Queens, NY,  Jul 7, 2011

Looks great, took a day to build with 2 other people. Need to be on level ground as well.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? matches
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice shed for the price
 from Scotch Plains, NJ,  Jun 13, 2011

Since I had no help available at the time,it took me 3 days from building the base and installing the shed. My wife and I decided not to rush the build. Most tedious part for me was to build the wooden base. Since the wdth is 15 ft, it requires that the studs be that long in length. However, I could not fit that long wood in a regular pickup, I built it by using 2 8 ft studs. I made sure that the joint is sturdy and there is no chance of any sag . As far as the instructions for the shed go, I would give it 7 out of 10. I believe they could have been more descriptive with clearer pictures. I would suggest you read carefully and think before putting parts together. i avoided some serious time consuming mistakes by reading the instructions a few times. Don't assume that you know how the parts go together :). Shed Quality- It is very nicely built and looks great. I wish there were color choices available. Flooring is excellent. Everything fits together , strong doors and windows look great. Roof seems very sturdy. I also used stud bolts to make sure flooring was secure. Unfortunately , I am missing 4 pieces of skylights and still waiting for them to arrive. That means I really can't use it because the rain water coming inside could ruin everything. In my opinion, minor parts could get missed out so I wont give it any negative because of that. In short, build quality and looks are very good. Overstock.com shipped it on time and it is a great product overall. I wanted to give it a 4.5 star due to instructions but no such option is available. I am leaving 4 stars !

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? No
  • How is the quality of the product? Great quality. A big difference from my previous rubbermaid product
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? It did
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Real easy to put together! I did it alone.
 from Jacksonville, FL,  Jun 12, 2011

This was really easy to assemble, but pay close attention to the ! marks in the directions. My only concern is, despite the vents, it gets really hot inside due to the dark roof materials. I suggest building in the shade if you can.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Spot on
  • How is the quality of the product? Good qualtiy
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great shed
 from Greenlawn, NY,  Jun 8, 2011

The shed arrived within 10 days of order as described. As mentioned, read the directions in detail first to understand the process. This took me about an hour. Get your foundation ready in advacne (level) so you can install your shed upon arrival. I used a wood foundation. Me and my wife put it together in about 10 hours. One of the parts was mislabled early on in the installation process but it was easy to figure that out. Also it was not described where the support rods go in the roof during that process but again, you had to look at where the notches were to figure it out. The door locks on top an bottom are hard to move up and down at first (had to use pliars) but that became easier after moving them a few times. After you install them they will seem locked but they won't be. All in all the directions were pretty good. Had for about a month now. No water leaks and we've had some pretty heavy rain storms. I would definately recommend this shed. No maintenance and for the price seemed like a good deal. You should be able to get for around $1,500-$1,600.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Good quality
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Lifetime Shed is Great Product
 from LaPorte, IN,  Jun 3, 2011

The service I got from overstock was amazing, the product and shipping were great. The price was $500.00 less then anywhere else. I will shop here again.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Lifetime/Terrible Overstoct.com
 from Cordes Lakes, AZ,  Dec 28, 2010

The shed is great. As others say, just follow the directions. I was missing 3 screws and nuts and had to make a trip to Home Depot. It is critical that the foundation is level. I am happy with the shed, but Overstock.com dropped the ball on the shipping. I ordered the shed on Dec 1st, they sent an email stating that the item was shipped and I would receive an email within 5 business days with the tracking information. I never got that email, had to call them to get it. I found out that the shed was ready for delivery on the 14th. I never got the shed until Dec 22nd. ABF freight dropped their end of the process by not calling me to arrange a delivery day, this is what Overstock.com's policy states in their regulations on over sized shipping, (that the freight carrier will call you 24 to 48 hrs prior to delivery). I am not very pleased with Overstock.com or ABF freight, since I never received the promised email or phone call. So if you order this shed from Overstock.com, I recommend that you bug the crap out of them. Just wish I would have

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good value
 from wyoming,  Nov 19, 2010

As long as you pay close attention to the instructions, there are no problems assembling it. It only took a few hours to assemble once we had the site prep done. We've had some really strong winds since putting it up and it's held up fantastically.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-18 of 18 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Lifetime Garden Shed
Today $1358.76
(8)
Lifetime Storage Shed (8' x 12.5')
Today $1299.99
Compare $1787.57
Save 27%
(20)
Arrow Vinyl Murryhill 12x24-foot Steel Storage
Today $1999.99
Compare $3242.11
Save 38%
Arrow Woodhaven 10x14-foot Storage Shed
Today $781.99
Compare $1122.34
Save 30%
Back to top