Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 85 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Very Unique Bed
 from Rehoboth Beach, Delaware,  Jul 22, 2008

My first bed shipment was damaged so it was immediately returned on the delivery truck. The next one came a few weeks later, but after inspecting everything, it was missing the headboard. Everything was in very good condition and after I had all the parts, I was able to assemble it in a few hours. It really looks great and has a very masculine, rich look to it. The fact that the whole mattress and platform raise up on hydraulics is such a unique, space saving quality of the bed. It lifts very easily and the mattress has just enough weight on it to keep it down in place. I was wondering if the inside would be finished or if the items put inside would have to be on the floor, but it is finished in material-covered wood all the sides and bottom. The one thing I did not find out before I ordered it and was ignorant of, was the fact that bicast leather is not really all leather. Bicast leather (also known as bycast leather or PU leather) is a synthetic upholstery product consisting of a thick polyurethane layer applied to a leather or reconstituted leather substrate. It is commonly found in inexpensive furniture. Bi-cast is to natural leather what particle board is to hardwood. Some manufacturers use the bycast treatment to process their leather, which provides a smooth, shiny finish as well as protection to the leather. Because bicast leather is fundamentally a man-made product, some jurisdictions (such as New Zealand and the United Kingdom) have ruled that it cannot be marketed as leather. If this material was on a chair, then I don't think I would buy it after reading about its shorter wearability life. Overall though, I don't think this is a problem with this bed or any other for that fact since you do not usually come in contact with the leather areas.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Best bed EVER!!!
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Sep 16, 2006

Just purchased this bed and its the best bed EVER. The bed is made from quality leather and has good weight, its not flimsy or cheap. Assembly takes a little time, but I was determined to do it in one night and I did. Overstock shipped itn from warehouse within 5 days of my order being placed, I rec'd the bed 4 days later.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Bed
 from Cincinnati, OH,  Jul 19, 2010

I have had this bed for a couple years now and I still love it. Very high quality, timely shipping after order, delivery men were considerate and helpful. Great leather and rich color. Good storage space below bed and easy to move up and down. So far no problems. The only reason why I have it 4 stars was because it was a little hard to put together. Took awhile to get the hydraulics to work, I almost thought one was broken. You will definitely need two people who are handy with instructions and 2-4 hours. Also it is VERY heavy! I don't recommend this bed to someone who moves around a lot or who will have to have this moved up or down a narrow staircase. It is very comfy though and I love not having to buy a mattress set. Since this is a platform bed all you need is the mattress, no boxspring!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful
 from Mesa, Arizona,  Aug 19, 2009

My husband and I bought this bed nearly a year ago and honestly we couldn't be happier. Just like nearly everybody else our bed came in 4 huge dirty beaten boxes, but nothing was damaged so we were happy. The delivery people did rush us a bit while we inspected the bed. The boxes really are huge (we got a king) so I would recommend having somebody strong to help you get it to your room and set up. Set up was ok, the instructions weren't great, but we managed in a couple hours to get it all set up. We love the storage (since we live in a town-home) and it is constantly filled with clothes, books, linens etc. Another great thing is that, if we don't mention it, people don't even realize that it is a storage bed! Everybody loves it though and comments on how nice and classy looking our bed is. Our bed comes to about mid thigh on me (and I'm 5'7) and we have a 21" mattress, so it's totally reasonable height-wise.One thing to note, the picture looks like there are two metal handles at the foot of the bed (which I was wary about) however, our bed came with two leather straps to pull the bed up and down which we can tuck in and aren't visible at all.Overall, we absolutely love it and show it off every time people come over!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just Great
 from Odessa, TX,  Jun 30, 2007

We love this bed. The leather is beautiful. We actually hired someone to assemble but he had no problems doing so. The lifting mechanism is effortless and so much storage. We bought a top mattress without a boxspring as the slats work great and the height is just right.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
DONT BUY
 from Connecticut,  Jul 20, 2010

The description of this bed is misleading. Before buying what you think is a leather bed, read up on what "bicast" leather is. ITS NOT LEATHER! The bed is also almost 3 inches wider that a king mattress, so there is a big, noticable gap between the edge of the mattress and the side of the bed!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
4 Years and holding up well
 from Bay Area, CA,  Dec 1, 2011

This bed has been great and holding up well in our house. Color has not changed the leather can take a beating and still look nice.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? solid match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. holding up well, only thing that has broken is on of the straps to lift the mattress, but it is not a problem to reach for the frame instead
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? I saw no material difference.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
BEAUTIFUL BED
 from easton,pa,  Feb 13, 2007

This bed is finished in a beautiful dark leather.It came in 4 boxes delivered right into the house. It took about 2 hours to assemble which was quite easy if you follow the directions. I suggest using your own 1/2" socket & open end wrench for a quicker assembly.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy, looks good.
 from Boston, MA,  Jan 11, 2013

Bed is solid, seems like it will last a long time. Hard to assemble though, needs two people.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Much nicer than I expected
 from Long Beach, CA,  Nov 10, 2012

I have to say I am so surpirsed to like this bed as much as I do. I was hesitantto make a purchase this large via the eb without having had he opportunity to see the goods first, but I am pleasantly surprised at the bed's quality and attractiveness. It is actually better looking in person than it is in the photo. I do have two complaints: 1.) As other reviewers have commented it is a pretty big Pain in the hoooohaaa to put it together. It took several passes to align it jst right, and even then, once we put the mattress on top and the support adjusted with its weight, we had to d it again. 2.) The storage space under the bed isn't very surdy. I would not recommendkeeping anything besides clothes and or extra bedding in there. The 'floor' of the storage space is very thin and it seems unlikely it could handle the weight of heavier items like books. Aside from that, I am so glad I finally bit the bullet and purchased this bed. It makes me feel more confident in buying other big ticket items on overstock!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Spot on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Better quality than I expected. The storage area under the bed is not very sturdy, though, so I would not recommend storing anything besides clothes.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Spot on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lucca storage beds
 from South Lyon, Mi,  May 25, 2012

We had a similar storage bed when we lived in Italy. We liked that one so much that we were very excited when we saw the Lucca one offered on Overstock. Ours is the 'king' and I think we have had ours since 2006??? We liked it so much that we bought a queen one for our son to have in his small apartment! Only one downside.... I can't find a PLAIN mattresse for the platform bed like the one we had in Italy.... :o(

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Fantastic! Couldn't be happier.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very, very nice.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very good.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome bed
 from San diego,  Sep 13, 2011

We LOVE our bed. It is beautiful, comfortable and practical. What more could we want? All our seasonal bedding and clothes fit nicely in the storage. and the storage is very easy to access with the pull handles and the hydraulic lifts. Anyone who has seen this bed is envious. I would definitely buy it again if I had the need.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Matches exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Even better than described
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great sturdy bed!
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Aug 11, 2011

Very solid bed. I am a 5'4 115 lb female and assembled the bed by myself in 2 hours. The only issue I had was one of the hooks that lock the side rail into the foot board was bent so it wouldn't slide in easily like the other pieces did, but eventually with a little (ok a lot) of force it finally locked in!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality especially for the price.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent!
 from Miami Beach, FL,  Jul 20, 2011

I spent months deciding whether or not to purchase this bed. I was concerned with buying it online without seeing it, dealing with the hassles of shipping, and, even worse, potential hassles of returning it especially given reviews of damaged boxes. Needless to say, I bit the bullet, placed my order, and am so happy I did! It arrived promptly and the delivery man even helped bring all the boxes to our unit on the 20th floor. There was some damage to one of the boxes, but we quickly breathed a sigh of relief when we saw all of the parts to the bed were in perfect condition. The support of the bed frame is wonderful, the storage is fabulous, and the overall look is great! I concur with others in regards to the directions supplied to assemble it and would highly suggest reading through all of the directions first then pair them along with some common sense as you assemble it. Meaning, in the directions we received, the directions for each step were correct, but the steps were in the wrong order. A bit of lifting and a couple of 'ugh's later we had it assembled (about 2hrs). If you are looking for a handsome *** style bed with storage, this is the one!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exact
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gorgeous Bed
 from Norcross, GA,  Feb 28, 2011

This bed is beautiful, it makes my room look elegant. The storage is a bonus. I've seen other similar beds for the same price but no storage. The items came in good condition, the assembly was not difficult w/2 ppl but there was an error in the instructions, the headboard installation is not the same as the footboard as indicated. We had to remove the hardware that was on the side rails that are supposed to connect to the footboard as it did w/the headboard and connect them w/the supplied corner brackets instead. Other than that confusion we are enjoying the new bed. Also note that it is heavy to pull up the bed to get to the storage and it does not stay up, someone has to hold it up while someone else gets whatever is in there. Maybe my mattress is too heavy?

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Storage Bed
 from Washington DC,  Dec 10, 2010

I purchased the Lucca Storage bed because I have a small 1-bedroom condo and I didn't want to give up my King-size mattress. The storage bed would provide usable storage to offset less floor space. The delivery details for this item didn't offer any option to actually bring the item into the house. Since I'm in a 3rd floor condo, this was a concern, but when the dispatcher called to schedule delivery, the guy said the driver would gladly help me get the boxes all the way into my place. The bed arrived within a couple of weeks in 4 large boxes with no damage. Two of the boxes were rather heavy, so the driver wanted to leave them at a loading dock instead of helping me get them in the elevator and up to my condo, but after he made a quick call to his boss, he was informed that he should help me :) Good Stuff: The manufacturer seems to have listened to online reviews because several improvements have been made to the design specific to the reviews I had read. The first few items shown on the instructions I found online were no longer necessary as some of the hardware had already been attached. The gas springs come pre-attached to the rails which simply slide into the headboard and footboard. The instructions were written in perfect English and very easy to follow. It took two of us less than 2 hours to unpack the boxes and completely assemble the bed. That even includes a long pizza-break in the middle. The bed feels very sturdy and I have no concerns over the construction. The slats in the mattress platform seem to provide a good alternative to box springs. The lift-mechanism works very well - even with lots of blankets and pillows on the bed. Bad Stuff: I only have a few small items to note. My mattress is extra-thick which makes it very heavy, so the mattress isn't as easy to lift as a standard mattress. Also, since my bed is a King it is somewhat difficult to reach items stored near the top and center of the storage compartment. I think both of these issues are due to the type of mattress I have and are not due to any flaws with the bed. Overall, I am very happy with my purchase and highly recommend the bed.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Bed
 from COLORADO,  May 29, 2010

I purchased my bed over 2 years ago and it is as beautiful today as it was then. They only thing I don't like is the fact that the understorage area gets very, very dusty all around the edges. If you lay a dust cover over your things, on all 4 sides and corners, your things will stay clean. Great purchase!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LOVE this bed!!
 from Ventura CA,  Nov 3, 2008

I love this bed!! I have wanted a storage bed for a long time but found the ones with drawers wouldn't hold all I needed them too, plus you had to be careful where you put them because if they are too close to the walls the drawers wont open. This bed is a dream. I have a place to store our linens, our luggage, blankets, and TONS more stuff. It came quickly (about a week) and only took my boyfriend around an hour to assemble. It's easier with 2 people (I helped hold things in place) but the assembly was easy. And it looks awesome too. Everyone we show it to compliments it and thinks we paid A LOT more for it than we did. My only caution to buyers is that it IS NOT REAL LEATHER. Personally, I dont care. It looks like real leather (doesn't feel like it though) and is easy to wipe clean. I'd give it more than 5 stars if I could...we are IN LOVE with our new bed!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Absolutely great chocolate leather king-size bed!
 from San Diego, CA,  Jan 10, 2008

I know it's scary for most people to spend this amount of money (sight-unseen) for a large piece of furniture! It was for me. It was time for a new king-size bed for us (we are both over 6 footers and average weight). SO the bed had to be the right size, built well, and most importantly, comfortable. I had back surgery over 30 years ago and have newer back problems today after many younger years in sports. My husband's back is also degrading from his younger years in sports as well. I did a lot of research on the web about this bed, and it kept telling me to buy it. We did and are we happy! Although the directions may drive you a bit crazy, do not follow it exactly, put a long board together with the headboard and then square it up. I am very handy and figured that out. Even with my bad back, I (a female) did it myself. Also for my bad back, we placed BOTH Posturpedic mattresses on this bed. And, we even put a 1/4 inch plywood board between the mattresses. We use it for the additional strength and hardness it gives but also it evens out the underlying structure better. Yes, it can be done! The headboard is still quite high and the 2 mattresses make it look more proportionate. Now for two people over 6 feet, it is a pleasure to 'get down' from the bed a bit instead of having to lift yourself to get up. Those who are shorter can get a 2-stepper next to the bed. The bed is SUPER comfortable this way. You can still access the storage underneath. I would use it for unseasonal items so you do not have to open it much. And because of my back, and the 2 mattresses, my husband has to help me raise it. But with the 2 straps, no problem. The leather looks heavy-duty and very well designed...the frame is strong...great savings for the cost...GREAT BED!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A beautiful bed
 from Chicago, IL,  Jul 18, 2007

It's a very beautiful and well contructed bed. The leather is very good quality. The only draw back is that the instructions were not clear and not easy to follow. It took my husband and a friend 2 hours to assemble it together. Also the shipment was about 2 weeks which was longer than I expected/hoped. Overall this is a very good purchase and we love this bed.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 85 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top