Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 41-60 of 85 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Very Unique Bed
 from Rehoboth Beach, Delaware,  Jul 22, 2008

My first bed shipment was damaged so it was immediately returned on the delivery truck. The next one came a few weeks later, but after inspecting everything, it was missing the headboard. Everything was in very good condition and after I had all the parts, I was able to assemble it in a few hours. It really looks great and has a very masculine, rich look to it. The fact that the whole mattress and platform raise up on hydraulics is such a unique, space saving quality of the bed. It lifts very easily and the mattress has just enough weight on it to keep it down in place. I was wondering if the inside would be finished or if the items put inside would have to be on the floor, but it is finished in material-covered wood all the sides and bottom. The one thing I did not find out before I ordered it and was ignorant of, was the fact that bicast leather is not really all leather. Bicast leather (also known as bycast leather or PU leather) is a synthetic upholstery product consisting of a thick polyurethane layer applied to a leather or reconstituted leather substrate. It is commonly found in inexpensive furniture. Bi-cast is to natural leather what particle board is to hardwood. Some manufacturers use the bycast treatment to process their leather, which provides a smooth, shiny finish as well as protection to the leather. Because bicast leather is fundamentally a man-made product, some jurisdictions (such as New Zealand and the United Kingdom) have ruled that it cannot be marketed as leather. If this material was on a chair, then I don't think I would buy it after reading about its shorter wearability life. Overall though, I don't think this is a problem with this bed or any other for that fact since you do not usually come in contact with the leather areas.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks great, very happy
 from Asheville, NC,  Jun 13, 2008

This bed really looks nice- the leather is supple and the storage underneath is quite spacious. I am able to store all of my sheets, 2 down comforters and even a piece of luggage underneath. It is surprisingly easy to access the storage space, too- just pull the leather handles. The hydraulic system makes it fairly effortless. This thing is a monster- it weighs a ton. The only thing that I don't like about this bed is that there is a good bit of space between the matress and the bedframe overlying the storage area below so I seem to always lose my glasses down there in the middle of the night. Otherwise, I am very satisfied with this bed. It was a pain to put together but otherwise is a great find.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great storage bed
 from Los Angeles,  Jun 9, 2008

Assembly is crazy, but patience will get it done. The bed is beautiful, and the storage compartment holds a lot more than we expected.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fabulous!
 Jun 8, 2008

As many have said, I hesitated to order such an expensive piece without being able to see it first, but I read all of the reviews and convinced myself to do it. I am so glad! The piece is beautiful, sophisticated, and extremely practical. There are a couple of things to be aware of ... most of which have been mentioned in other reviews as well. It is heavy! The delivered weight was over 300 pounds, but it does come in four boxes. Only one box is extremely heavy, requiring at least two people to move. While we had all the necessary hardware to assemble the bed, the instructions made us wonder. It seems the written description of the pieces to be used in each step are different from the pieces identified in the accompanying graphic! What we finally figured out is that, in general, the bolt identified in the text and the washer and nut identified in the graphic were the appropriate pieces. Also, we found the graphic depicted the center support being installed one direction, but for the hydraulic lift to work, it needs to be installed the opposite direction! The instructions show installing the mattress frame with the hydraulic lifts in the lowered position, however, this just isn't possible. If you install the mattress frame with the hydraulic lifts up then put the mattress on it, the lifts will drop into the appropriate position. It's a bit awkward to install in this position, but the end result is what you are looking for. Finally, the bed frame and mattress frame are wider and longer than a standard king mattress. You will be able to see the mattress frame (about 2") around the edges, between the edge of the mattress and the bed frame. In our case, the bedding covers this area. I also had concern about the strength of the frame as I am quite large. There is no problem. The bed is solid and needed no additional support. Part of this is probably attributable to having a quality mattress to begin with. Overall, we recommend this bed to anyone! If you aren't handy, I would have someone assemble it for you, but overall, you will be pleased with your purchase!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Absolutely awesome--I finally have my luxury bed!
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Jun 7, 2008

Soooo gorgeous--just as I had hoped from everyone else's reviews. Everyday, I swoon over this bed--it makes the entire room look luxurious. Unfortunately, was missing two pieces we needed; still need to contact Overstock to get them, but I'm sure they'll arrive asap. Superb storage underneath. Beautiful leather. Easily worth three times the amount Overstock charges!!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Bed
 from Seattle, WA,  Jun 2, 2008

I love this bed! Very good workmanship and durability and once assembled, it's totally worth the hassle. Instructions were very faded and hard to read though, and not at all user friendly but we managed to figure it out. Bed looks very elegant. Highly recommended.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Storage Bed Review
 from Summerland Key, FL,  May 19, 2008

The bed arrived missing the two corner brackets which support the mattress at the corners by the footboard and I am awaiting their delivery at this time. Although some of the boxes arrived ripped up, the contents were undamaged. The instructions were difficult to read and the words were faded badly. In addition, the instructions required the use of certain size bolts in some situations, however, they did not fit the assigned holes, so I had to improvise and get the proper size. One of the holes for the center support bracket bolts was missing the metal female portion (nut) which comes already embedded into the wood. A total of three trips to the local hardward store and I had all the material necessary to complete the assembly. It appears that the instructions may be slightly outdated. Assembly was difficult due to the inaccurate and difficult to read instructions. Two people will make assembly much easier. All in all, it was apparent that some details were missed during the manufacturing / packaging process. The completed product is elegant and appears to be solid. I recommend this product to those who are handy and can work through assembly-related problems that the instructions may not address.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks great
 from Chicago,  May 18, 2008

The bed is better than I expected for the price. Its really nice, looks more expensive than it is. I highly recommend this bed! There are 2 missing pieces, which is a pain, but the bed is great.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bed
 from Ann Arbor, MI,  Apr 26, 2008

I ordered this bed to go with the 14 inch pillow top memory foam mattress. We love the bed and the storage space. We are storing extra pillow, blankets, etc. underneath the bed. Assembly took 2 of us a couple hours to put together. The directions were very clear and everything went together without a problem - it just took a long time! The bed is extremely solid and the leather looks great. I have recommended it to both a friend of mine and my brother - everyone that has seen it has loved it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
glad I bought it
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Mar 27, 2008

This bed was every bit as good as I expected. I just wish I needed another because it's hard to find both beauty and functionality at the same time in a bed frame.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bed, great deal
 from MI,  Mar 25, 2008

We received the bed approx. 2 weeks after ordering. Delivery arrangements were made with the shippers - very easy to deal with and showed up on time. The bed comes in 4 big boxes. Hubby is very mechanical and had no trouble with assembly until he found that one of the lift mechanisms was installed wrong at the factory. He rigged it somehow and now it works. Also, one of the front support boards on the frame was cracked - not bad enough to completely fail (not an easy replacement part from the factory either, so we hope it won't crack more). The bed looks awesome and provides a ton of storage space! The depth of the storage area is bx 6 - 8 inches, depending on where you are placing your items. We are very happy with the looks of the bed and the storage space. The leather seems to be nice quality. We put our select comfort mattress on it and it fits perfectly. Could not beat Overstock's great price with shipping!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonder Bed
 from Fort Collins, CO,  Mar 24, 2008

We are very pleased with this bed. It is a great way to add storage while having a beautiful bed in the room. The hydralic system is a little tricky and do plan an hour or two to assemble. Overall we are very pleased and would recommend this bed.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good bed
 from austin, tx,  Mar 22, 2008

Nice looking bed. Took two people about a hour and a half to assembly. When I got the bed, headboard had a big gash, Overstock sent me new one within about two weeks. No hassle there. The storage is great.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Absolute Perfect Bed
 from wichita, ks,  Mar 18, 2008

We are very pleased with this bed. It has lots of storage and looks beautiful. It also is very comfortable and durable. Easy to assemble. Worth every penny!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love it!!
 from Charlotte, NC,  Mar 12, 2008

Even my NASCAR mechanic friend was impressed by the engineering of this bed. The bed looks great, performs (lifts for storage) great, and sleeps great. I had help assembling it, and it took about an hour to an hour and a half at a leisurely pace. The directions are easy to follow; no vague pictograms. I definitely recommend using a ratchet set with an allen wrench attachment. The nuts, bolts, and washers are clearly marked; no guessing which is part W or part X. The only downside: the hardware kit shorted us two bolts (but not washers or nuts), but we were able to make do safely. This is a beautiful bed which is practical and comfortable!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lucca Chocolate King-size Storage Bed
 from Denver, CO,  Feb 29, 2008

Love the bed and overstock service. The bed was delivered fast. There were a few parts missing, but that problem was solved out quickly. You may also have some problems with the hydraulic assembly. Here is what the overstock customer rep suggested for that: 1. Attach the frame to the upright pistons (this is the metal and wood slat piece). It¿s at a 45 degree angle, but not too difficult to do. 2. Put the mattress on the frame while it is in the upright position. 3. Push down with as much force as you can. The pistons should then give. It feels like you¿re going to break the bed, but I assure it won¿t, if the bed does get damaged we will be happy to send replacement parts for you. They have informed me that it should be much easier once you have broken them in as described.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lucca King Storage Leather bed frame
 from North East USA,  Feb 25, 2008

What a great bed!! This BIG GALOOT came to the door only! 4 HUGE boxes that each weighed a ton. They only had 1 delivery guy and he was struggling to just dump it on the front porch. I could not carry myself or even with 1 other. I needed 3 high schoolers to carry it inside and up the steps. The boxes came almost demolished, but the bed itself seemed to have ship ok! One of the slats is defective and a few mars here and there, but not enough to send it back. One of the leather handles might be defective too, nothing that will stop me from sleeping asap. The bed is lovely. It took us awhile to put together. The nuts were defective so we had to drive to buy new ones (instead of waiting 10-days or however long to have them send them). It even came with the appropriate wrenches. The mattress feels good on this new sleep system. The directions were easy to follow. The King bed came stating it was EK, European King, which IS USA King, vs. Cal King, so dont let the confuse you. I would definitely recommend this bed, wish they had it in twin or double!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Bed Great Buy
 from Albuquerque, NM,  Feb 23, 2008

This bed looks great-excellent quality leather. The storage space is less than you would have under a traditional bed, but the ease of access outweighs any small loss of space. Great for a narrower space because you don't have to pull out drawers from the side or get down and look under the bed. My only complaint involves one of the first instructions. When securing the side rails to the head and foot board it says to use the smaller of the 2 sizes of washers provided and that is a mistake. Use the larger ones b/c the smaller washer slips through the space on the side rails. This will make sense when you are putting it together. Also-you definitely want 2 people involved in that process. It is not difficult-just heavy. Great bed, very sturdy, unique storage!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice but not easy
 from Worcester, MA,  Feb 3, 2008

This bed is handsome and functional, but brutally difficult to assemble. Joints were bent almost beyond recovery, assembly was cumbersome, took hours and still wasn't perfect. This product should not be sold unassembled.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Surprisingly a VERY nice piece
 from Ontario, Canada,  Jan 31, 2008

Solid construction. Quality Material. The directions could have been better. Great rate on shipping. Trustworthy in every regards.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 41-60 of 85 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top