Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 510 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 26 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
OK, but smallish
 from Santa Fe, NM,  May 6, 2006

I received my 4 chairs yesterday & will keep them, but thought it might be useful to add that the chairs are smallish. Let me put this in context...I am 5'11" and 150 lbs. So they are not the most comfortable chairs for larger people to sit in. If you are medium or small, they should be fine. Also, the website does not give all of the dimensions for the chair. Here they are... Overall height is 38 1/2", Back width at the top is 14 3/4", Back width where it meets the seat is 15 1/2", Seat width at the front is 17", Seat depth is 16", Overall chair depth is 18", & Height from floor to the top of seat is 18". The chairs seem to be well made, the leather is good, and I like the design. Hope this helps.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Absolutely Gorgeous & Beautiful
 from Annapolis, MD,  Oct 23, 2006

Do not hesitate to purchase these chairs. They are absolutely stunning, and I had looked at a lot of leather parson chairs in stores. These chairs are identical, if not better quality, for less than half the price. The picture does not show the back of the chair, but it has a beautiful seam going down the middle of the chair. The color is a dark chocolate brown. And you can't beat the shipping cost! You need not worry about not liking these chairs and having to return them. Also, these chairs are super comfortable. These chairs arrived (excellent packaging and no assembly required) in exactly 72 hours after I hit purchase on the website. I am very, very pleased!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great deal
 from New York City,  Dec 20, 2006

If these chairs are what you are looking for, do not hesitate to order them from overstock.com. Shipping and customer service were exceptional (one chair was damaged during shipping and a replacement was sent immediately). The leather is soft, cushion and back comfortable and they are very well made. I saw almost identical chairs in a large department store in NYC for $400 each (on sale!?!). I couldn't be more pleased with my chairs or overstock.com. This was my first purchase and I have ordered several more items since.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Starting over in New Orleans
 from New Orleans, LA,  Oct 21, 2006

After losing nearly everything in Hurricane Katrina, I had decided I wasn't spending alot of money on my furnishing this time in case of another hurricane. Overstock allowed me to buy beautiful furniture without an upscale price and I must say these chairs are just beautiful!!!!!! They come fully assembled with a card with sliders on it to prevent your floors from becoming scratched. The color is perfectly even, they clean up very easily, and there's a seam that runs up the back of the chair. I bought four of them. I saw this same chair at stores in the local area that asked the consumer to pay around the same price for one chair when Overstock was able to give me two. Thank you Overstock- you've done it again!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sue M
 from Minneapolis, MN,  Apr 21, 2006

Just received my 6 chairs yesterday - they are great! I had been pricing leather dining chairs for about one year, and these are about half of the best price I'd seen! They are a gorgeous color, perfect size, and came fully assembled and packaged so well that even the pouring rain didn't hurt them! I received them within 5 days of ordering them, also, which was fabulous. I recommend these chairs to everyone! thank you Overstock.com!!!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Won't Last a Lifetime - Condition After 5 Years
 from Wellington, FL,  Mar 18, 2012

Five years ago I purchased 6 of these chairs and roughly a year ago 4 out of the five started peeling and/or cracking. I recently purchased two more because it was cheaper to buy two than replace all four chairs at my dining room table. I think they're a great value, but don't expect them to last a lifetime.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very poor quality
 from San francisco,  Mar 26, 2013

I bought these chairs after seeing all the good ratings they got on overstock. The description states "Dark brown top grain, aniline dyed leather upholstery with PU coating for optimum endurance" For the first year they were O:K, but unlike their description they have not endured at all. Now, the so called "top grain" leather is cracked and torn up on almost every chair. It has been six years, but when I bought them I didn't think of them as disposable. Leather is supposed to last for a long time. I have a leather living room set that I bought fifteen years ago, and it still looks new. After spending close to $700 on the chairs, I have no choice but to throw them out.

  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? it says leather but there is no way they are leather
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
STINKY CHAIRS
 from Atlanta, GA,  Mar 26, 2008

I just received my chairs two days ago and I took them out of the box. They have such a strong chemical, almost ammonia smell to them. I left them out on the front porch to air them out. Earlier today I took them in the house to see how they looked with the table, but the smell was unbearable. I started having a headache and my throat burned. They are now sitting back outside again. I've called Overstock already for them to set up a time with UPS to pick up these chairs. It's such a shame because they are absolutely beautiful except for the odor, which I don't think anyone could stand. So, I'm surprised that no one has commented on the smells, because there are so many positive reviews which is why I bought them. By the way, I ordered three sets (six chairs) and each chair had varying degrees of the odor, but all very strong.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I had previously rated these chairs very good when I purchased them a year ago, but now I would have to retract that rating. The construction is not very good for daily use. The chairs are assembled by attaching the back to the seat, and then attaching the the legs. Over regular daily use the legs would become loose and need to be tightened, and on occasion some of the legs have actually cracked where it connected to the chair. Also the back has cracked where it is screwed onto the seat. These problems have happened regardless of whether the legs and back were tight or loose. Very dissappointed with these chairs!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. quality of material was good, but construction was not
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Long-lasting quality
 from Wisconsin,  Mar 7, 2011

I bought 8 of these chairs 5 years ago, and, delighted to find that Overstock still sells them, recently ordered 4 more. The original 8 have been heavily used and abused on a daily basis by my now 7-and 5-year-old children. Our dining table doubles as a craft table, and these chairs have held up extremely well. Just about anything spilled on them has wiped up easily. I have even been able to scrape off dried-on paint with my fingernails. Because they are padded they are much more comfortable than a solid wooden chair. They are also attractive -- there is a seam down the middle at the back of each chair, which looks nice. We use a couple of the extras as desk chairs in our bedroom and study. Look good there too! Others have noted that the seat is short, which may be an issue if you are very tall. My husband, at 6 ft, has no complaints. I love their compact size, because it means it is easy to fit a lot of them around the table when we have guests. I noted one person's comment about the purple color of the legs. We have a lot of natural light in the room where the chairs are. When direct sun hits the legs, they do appear to have a purplish mahogany tint to them, which is a little weird looking. However, we have noticed that this is only apparent when the sun is shining right onto the legs, which happens only at certain times of the year, and only for a few minutes a day -- otherwise, even in bright light, the legs appear to have a dark reddish mahogany color, as shown in the picture. Overall, I have been very happy with these chairs. The fact that they look almost as good as the day we got them, after 5 years of abuse, is the best endorsement I can give.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good but returned
 Sep 1, 2008

Great chairs except I was disappointed with the size of the seats, very narrow, only 16". The leather is beautiful, and they seemed to be well made but I sent them back and ordered chairs with a larger seat, 24". It

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Unable to cancel/return on my dime
 from Crested Butte, CO,  Nov 24, 2006

These chairs are just okay. They're narrow. I'm small and my hips barely make it in the seat. Be sure that you are absolubely positive without a doubt that y ou want this style of chair (tall and thin chairs) before you press that button to submit your order. If they don't work, it's YOUR DIME to return them. Bummer customer service on returns for this one. Bummer unable to cancel order as well.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect dining chairs!
 from Orange Park, FL,  Jul 21, 2013

I ordered three sets of 2 chairs for a total of 6 chairs. Each two-pack came in one box. Inside the box the chairs had leg covers on each leg and were completely covered in bubble wrap. I was very impressed with the packaging. The chairs themselves are beautiful and comfortable and perfectly finished off the dining area. They were exactly what I wanted.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Attractive for price
 from Portsmouth, NH,  Oct 1, 2011

Well now I know why these are such a good deal. When I bought them I didn't know what bi-cast (bonded leather) was. Well now I know...not great. I bought real leather couches at the same time and they, with everyday use) look better than the dining chairs that get used maybe 10 times a year. One of the chairs has a tear in it on the seat. I have started to rotate them (kind of like you do tires) around the table so that one chair doesn't get too much use so that I don't get more tears. They look great at my table and are a great price but if you are going to use them alot invest in real leather.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I guess good for bonded leather
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love them
 from WA,  Oct 13, 2010

These chairs are great! I bought them based on the other reviews here and they were correct. These chairs are just like the ones at the "other place" but at a huge savings. I am so glad I went ahead and bought them.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
What a Value - Beautiful Chairs
 from Northern California,  Oct 28, 2007

I have shopped for a couple of months for new dining room chairs, so I know the price for these is amazing! I received the chairs in just a few days, and they are beautiful! They are solid with no assembly required! I love them, and they are a great value!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Espresso Chairs
 from tucson, az,  Nov 4, 2006

GREAT CHAIRS! My husband and I purchased a new dining room table in the espresso wood. We couldn't decide if we wanted black or dark brown chairs and the chairs that we sold separately with the table we very pricey so I began looking on Overstock.com. I read all of the reviews and was impressed. We purchased 4 of them and they are beautiful and comfortable, as well as affordable. They are well crafted and the quality of leather appears to be very high. I will be purchasing at least two more in the future! Mine measure 17.5" across in the front and they are 39" tall. I strongly recommend these chairs. I will also continue to shop via OVERSTOCK.COM.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Classy, Very Expensive Looking
 from Denver, CO,  May 31, 2006

These chairs have way exceeded my expectations. I have done a ton of quality and cost comparissons and these chairs are made as well or better than the high priced stores'. The chairs are comfortable with a relaxed back and the perfect amount of padding. The leather is beautiful and very welll stitched.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great value!
 from Arizona,  Apr 22, 2006

I definitely recommend these chairs. I cannot believe the value for the price, I would think they would be twice as much in most stores. The leather is perfect, the construction is sturdy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I read all the great reviews online and decided the chairs would fit perfectly in my open-plan dining room (BTW... who is writing all these good reviews, Overstock?? Check out the 1-star reviews, I agree and can relate w/ those). The chairs look great - yes, but to actually use them on regular occasions, forget it! The "leather" starts to peel and rip after simply sitting in them. Save your money and don't make the same mistake I did. The 1-star reviews tell it like it is...

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 510 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 26 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top