Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 48 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Attractive but wish it had a better seal
 from Chicago, IL,  Aug 12, 2011

As mentioned, the only real complaint I have is that the lid is loose so it slides around a bit and leaves openings. Even when the lid rests on the bin fully lined up, there is a miniscule gap just big enough for a gnat to get in and out. I've had this two weeks and just started seeing a lot of them. Returning this would be a hassle, but I am going to discontinue using it and buy another one. Shame too, because it really is attractive.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It is more of a bone white than a true white
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solid and well sized. The vents and filter keep the smell down. The lid, however is loose and I'm starting to get bugs.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
compost pail
 from Shorter, AL,  Dec 29, 2010

This compost pail looks very nice on my counter and virtually no smell because of the charcoal filter. I have a large compost outside and this handy counter one lets me collect scraps over several days then i can take it out and dump it in the larger one. Since i have started my composting i have less garbage and will use the finished compost in my garden in the spring.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
just what I needed
 from St.Louis, MO,  May 9, 2012

the top air filter is very good. The lid fits tightly and the capacity is large enough that I can get by almost a week before trotting out to the compost pile...and NOTHING SMELLS BAD!. It cleans easily.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? spot on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. heavy and good size
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great
 from Virginia Beach, VA,  Apr 6, 2012

Just have to be careful to set lid on just right otherwise a gap is left. It's pretty and holds quite a bit. I love it!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful and functional
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Aug 10, 2012

I love this little compost pail. It's a beautiful addition to my ranch style kitchen and alleviates excessive trips out to the large compost I have in my yard. The top is not perfect (is that because it's ceramic?) but I haven't had any problem with bugs and I have owned it for 3 weeks. There does seem to be a "best" fit of the lid though so try it in every direction to find the best one for your particular pail.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? as expected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
lid does not fit.
 from Saint Louis, MO,  Apr 10, 2012

This item looks pretty sitting on the counter, but the lid does not sit correctly and fruit flies are attracted to it. It also lets the smell out.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. average
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I'm very happy with it.
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Aug 6, 2013

My lid fits well (some reviewers were saying there was too wide a gap). I love the look of it and the filter really does the job.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. nice
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pretty good
 from ct,  Aug 3, 2013

This is a good compost pail. I empty it once or twice a week cooking for two people who eat a lot of produce. The filters are wonderful at suppressing the smell, though I wish the lid fit better. There are certain placements of the lid that seals it better than others, so that affects how the area will smell.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? the same
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Compost Pail!
 from Winneconne, WI,  May 20, 2013

This compost pail is attractive enough to leave on your counter, very convenient and nice size. I have had no problem with smell or flies. I empty it out about once a week. Love it!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks great!
 from Alabama,  May 15, 2013

It looks great. Works well (except for the fact the top doesn't fit snuggly to the bottom) and it serves the purpose for which it is made.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? white is white. it looks the same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It's very nice. Looks great on the counter. I just wish the top fit more snuggly to the bottom.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Elegant compost
 from San Francisco,  May 9, 2013

I replaced my plastic compost basket with this one because I wanted a nicer looking one. My only complaint is that I have to lift the top to put food scraps in. A well designed hinged top that stays open while you are putting food scraps in would be perfect. But, I am pretty happy with this product.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Well made and looks good on the counter top. Works well.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great quality, look and size
 from Connecticut,  Sep 13, 2012

I have bought a few of these now for multiple locations. They look great, are the perfect size, and don't smell. This is the best kitchen composter I have seen.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice addition to my kitchen counter
 from Tennessee,  Jun 22, 2012

I love this little compost pail. Before it was a plastic bag and twice a day trip to my compost bin. Now I can add to the pot for 2 to 3 days before emptying. The lid fits perfectly, no smell and easy to clean after emptying. Except for the pricey carbon refills, this is a perfect product for your kitchen compost material.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? white is white
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful stink
 from Daniel, WY,  Jun 20, 2012

I realize now the importance of a beautiful and classy looking compost pail is a bit silly because they still get as stinky asone not-so-pretty! I have my beautiful compost pail outside on the back porch! It does the job it was designed to do!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Compost bin
 from SF, CA,  Feb 21, 2012

Very stylish for a compost bin that needs to be placed close to the sink or a cooking area. Nice enough that doesn't needs to be hidden. I approve ;)

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. seems fine so far... only had it for a few weeks.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great compost pail
 from Long Island NY,  Dec 27, 2011

I was looking for a compost pail for my kitchen counter. This item is working better than expected as the filter helps with odors and the size is perfect for our family. Needless to say it looks great on our kitchen counter. I would definitely recommend this pail to anyone who is thinking of starting composting.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exactly as shown
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Nicer than I expected for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? extremely accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

This pail is a is well built with sturdy handles, has a very nice ceramic finish (inside and out) and has large enough storage space to keep you from going to the compost pile every day. The unit comes with 2 carbon filters for the lid which I didn't recall being mentioned in the product description. The pail does a good job of keeping odors on the inside even when it is not emptied for several days at a time. Very nice look blends easily with a kitchen decor.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exactly as pictured
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
ceramic compost pail
 from Flagstaff,Arizona,  Dec 15, 2011

I ordered this ceramic compost pail as a gift to my mother. I received it very quickly. When I opened it, it is true to color and extremely durable. The reason I will be returning it, is because the lid does not fit properly. It is ceramic but it fits as though the lid is warped.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. fair
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks great but comes with flies and odors!
 from Hummelstown, PA,  Aug 12, 2014

It's really too bad that this product just doesn't work. I read the other reviews before I bought it and so I was warned about the lid that doesn't sit properly, letting fruit flies multiply and a foul odor fill the room. But did I listen? No. I wanted to believe the other reviews that said you just have to put the lid on correctly. Nope. Not true. The lid just doesn't sit evenly on the top of the container. I might try using silicone to create a better seal. We'll see. So...be warned. This product doesn't work as an indoor compost.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful product
 from Portland OR,  Jul 17, 2014

Beautiful compost pail to place on the counter.Fits in without being ugly. it is beautiful!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 48 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top