For a Limited Time, Get Free Expedited Shipping On Select Jewelry and Watches*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 192 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 10 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating

I really like the ent. center as it is made of real wood and looks very high end, but there are a couple of things you should know before buying. One, there is only one hole in the back of the unit( in the center section) for wires. Our components didn't fit in that small space, and weren't good to put in the center drawer either, so we ended up putting them in the lefthand side, taking the shelf out. We then had to drill a new hole in the back of the unit on the lefthand side for the wires. It didn't take long, nor was it hard, but just know that the left and right sides do not have wire holes out the back or connecting to the center portion. Second, I agree with another reviewer about the unit scratching easy. My husband was excited to put together the first piece of furniture for our new home, and therefore started without me. Had I been there, I probably would of waited and called to get a replacement piece, as the scratches were on the top panel of the unit - very unfortunate. I am going to try a wood crayon and polish and hope for the best. Finally, note this is VERY heavy - it is wood! So 2 people are necessary to build for sure, at one point we used a couple of extra hands on top of both of ours to turn it over (you build it upside down.) All that being said, I'd stil buy it again b/c I am in love with the design.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nightmare to Assemble
 from Media, PA,  Jan 27, 2013

The furniture arrives on time and it was well packaged. The biggest problem was that some parts were mislabeled and the holes for the drawer rail were drilled on the opposite side of the board. I was able to easily work around the mislabeled boards however making corrections for the misdrilled holes was more challenging. I was faced with a decision to make... disassemble what I've already put together, repackage the furniture, and deal with the furniture company to try and return the product, or to correct the hole drilling myself. I chose to drill my own holes and was able to complete the installation. What angers me is that I believe this furniture ended up on Overstock because the manufacturer's knew there were defects. If this were the case there should have been full disclosure in the description of the product and the price should have been further reduced. Because of this experience, this will be the last product I buy from Overstock and last product I buy from this furniture manufacturer.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The materials seemed solid, but holes were not drilled correctly
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Somewhat. Irregularities should have been disclosed.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful MCM style at a very reasonable price
 from Tallahassee, FL,  Dec 12, 2011

I was looking for an entertainment center that would fit in with the midcentury modern look that I've been going for in my living room, but most of the ones I found online and really liked were $1,000 or more (and that's before shipping costs). Maybe one day I'll be able to buy an original, teak, midcentury modern credenza / tv stand... but for now, this Lawrence Entertainment Center fits the bill perfectly. It's nice and wide, so my 47" hdtv sits on it and there's plenty of room to spare on either side. The relatively dark wood finish matches my leather couches to a tee, and the legs make it easy to clean the floor underneath it. Be aware, however, that it's designed to hold the minimal amount of audio/video components. I've only got a cable box and a blu ray player in the space above the center drawer, and that's it. If you're going to want a piece of furniture to hold speakers, video game components, etc., you might not like this one. It's really minimalist. Also, I'd strongly suggest having a helper and a cordless power drill on hand to put this puppy together, otherwise it'll take forever to assemble. I built mine alone, with my trusty Milwaukee drill, and it took me between 5-6 hours. But all of the parts were included and were clearly labeled. The end result was worth it: a slick, expensive-looking, heavy piece of furniture that's way better looking than most of the tv stands you find at local furniture stores. (It's made in Malaysia, for those of you who are interested in that sort of information.)

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy to construct
 from California,  Feb 20, 2011

I found this entertainment center very easy to construct. All the parts are lettered or numbered. Previous reviews have commented on leveling the cabinet doors. However, the door hinges are self adjusting. There are two screws you turn to adjust each door, so the doors are easy to get flush and level. Just follow the directions and you will be fine.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect addition!
 from Salt Lake City, UT,  Dec 22, 2010

My husband and I moved into our new house in April 2010 and have been looking like crazy for the perfect entertainment center (or credenza, as he likes to call it). Most were WAY too expensive or just too ***** for our taste, but he happened to find this one on Overstock and he liked it right away. It took me a little while, but when it went on sale after Thanksgiving we ordered it. It was extremely time consuming to construct, but in the end it is a very good looking piece. Solid construction and a deep, chocolate color. We were expecting to have to replace the door pulls because they look a little cheesy in the photo, but in reality they are modern and understated. We won't be replacing them after all. This piece is a nice finishing touch to our living room. Not too big, with a modern look and great price!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Mid-Century Modern and Contemporary
 from Helena, MT,  Apr 21, 2011

I couldn't be happier with this entertainment center. It looks like a classic mid-century piece, but has the dark espresso color of a more contemporary piece. The credenza is large, larger than it looks in the Overstock picture, I think. Although the site does list the measurements accurately. Assembly was straight-forward, although we still managed to put a couple pieces in backwards and had to take the top off to fix it. Once assembled, it looks like a very high quality credenza, a piece of furniture with great presence. I'm very very glad we got it!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? great
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes, although the item looks larger in person than in the photo
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks perfect, easy to assemble
 from SoCal,  Sep 28, 2013

Overstock delivered in 2 days! Very simple to put together, took me less than 2 hours by myself. All pieces were labeled,and drilled correctly and extra hardware included just in case.Color is a bit darker and the grain is not as pronounced as the photo shows. Looks exactly like the Grove Media unit on R&B for 5 times the price.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I purchased this item online on a Monday night, sight unseen; I simply based my purchase on the one photo of the cabinet on Overstock which truly did not do the product justice. It was shipped in two very heavy boxes within a matter of two days - I received the items on Thursday. Upon opening the boxes on Friday to begin the assembly process, I noticed one of the weight bearing panels had a crack all the way through it. I immediately called Overstock to see if a replacement panel could be sent to me. The customer service representative I spoke with was very courteous and apologetic and followed up with status reports in a stream of 5 separate emails. I received the replacement panel on the following Tuesday and put the cabinet together without any other hiccups. This product looks fantastic, has a great sturdy design coupled with a stylish appearance. I am very pleased with the product, but mostly I am a very satisfied consumer having been treated courteously and expediently by the Overstock customer service team. Many thanks.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The right kind of modern.
 from Illinois, USA,  Jun 25, 2013

I was looking for something new for my TV, and I wanted it to be clean and modern. It seems "clean and modern" means "shiny black, glass shelves, and chrome" to most people, as that's about all I could find anywhere else. I'm glad I checked Overstock and found this entertainment center. I'd been leaning toward a mid-century modern look for my apartment, and the style of this helped bring everything together. It's solid wood, so it's sturdy, and it was fairly simple to put together (though it took about two hours). While I did notice some finger joints connecting a few of the boards (understandable at this price), the overall color and consistency of the stain helps to hide them, and I have to get really close to even see them. The doors have adjustable hinges, a feature usually found on more expensive furniture, and they make it easy to get the doors centered in their openings. I had to drill holes at the back of the two cabinets for cords, but I already had the tools for that. Some people might be annoyed that there aren't holes already there, though. After my purchase, I saw this exact same piece of furniture in a different color at R&B for thousands of dollars, and although it's probably made "better" and uses "better" wood, I used the savings to buy a bigger (better!) 55" TV.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great piece of furniture and nice build quality
 from Kansas City, MO,  Jun 2, 2014

I'd been looking for several months to find the right media center, something that looked great and like an expensive piece from designer companies. I also have a 64" plasma that looked odd with sides that hung over my older console but looks great on this cabinet which is low and wide. Funny thing, compare this to a model that retails over $2,500 at Room & Board. It looks exactly the same, with every dimension the same, similar solid and heavy build quality, but the Overstock one is a darker color. I've received many compliments on it. I have my AV receiver, center speaker, and PS3 that fit in the cabinet. The center cabinet has a port for wiring but neither of the sides do. I easily cut out ports through the plywood backing. However I will cut out more for venting since the receiver does run warm. I'm 29 and put together things all the time but assembly did take a few hours. Lots of screws so have a power tool handy or a friend. It will help make things go faster and help flip it over once you are done because it is a heavy piece. The doors have a premium spring hinge that can be adjusted in a couple of different ways and took me some time to adjust the doors so that they'd open and close easily and without hitting the frame. The quality of the wood finish is superb. I did get a few scratches when I put the doors on and the drawer but they aren't noticeable. Overall, I love the unit. It's a great size, holds a lot, is solidly built, looks great, is easy to clean, and an amazing value (really a steal). Dislikes: the color is somewhat dark. It's accurately reflected in the Overstock picture but has more grain visible than the picture (which is good otherwise it would look like a veneer). I also don't like that I have had to cut out my own ports. Venting and ports on each side would be helpful.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great solid piece of furniture
 from san diego,  Jul 5, 2013

This piece is really nice. It took me about 5 hours to put it together by myself. Be careful when you screw the back on, there are no holes and you have to be careful to line it up perfectly or you'll have screws coming out through the back. A really solid piece of furniture.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Really strong and well made. Heavy wood.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
High quality
 from California,  Mar 22, 2013

This piece has a great mid-century look with a more updated color palette/wood choice. Additionally, it's dimensions are ideal for most standard sized TVs (we have a 55" TV that works with it). It is not difficult to assemble, but it does have a lot of steps and takes a good amount of time to put together. We opted not to install the bottom drawer, so we have two open shelves for out receiver, dvr, dvd player, etc. This is easily done (just don't install the drawer rails or the drawer) and looks great. This is a well-made piece.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just what I wanted!
 from New York, NY,  Nov 27, 2012

This ws just what I wanted and fits perfect in the spot in now sits. Could see quality details in product and insturctions made it easy to put together. I will be buying a new tv after 1st of the year and the size allows me many options. Good price for this solid wood cabinet.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LOVE IT!
 from Palm Springs, CA,  Jul 18, 2012

I love this piece. I actually have a rubber tree outside my front door. Amazing that I now have a piece of furniture made by the same type of product/wood. It was fairly easy to assemble. One strong or confident person could do it. I took the time to take out each piece, lay it carefully on a cloth or something scratch resistent and put everything in order. I took my time and the unit came out absolutely perfect. No missing parts and everything was labeled making the guide easy to follow. Color is dark coffee almost in color. No reddish tones to it at all. I am thrilled!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect match.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality, solid wood
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? 100%
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fits the bill
 from Sunny south,  Jul 16, 2012

I was desperate for a low profile media center to replace my old gigantic bookcase/media center. This one seemed a good deal for the money (got it on sale). As many other purchasers have noted, it is solid wood and it seems like it will hold up well. However, in my humble opinion, it does not look like an expensive piece of furniture. If you are going for true mid-century look you will not achieve it with this piece. But it serves my purposes for the time being, which means it comfortably holds a 60" TV, two side speakers, a center channel speaker (we put that in the open shelf), a cable box, PS3, and several other pieces of stereo equipment. Actually, we decided to leave the drawer out and we use than open space for the receiver, and it looks fine. I had someone put it together for me and it took about 2 1/2 hours.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solid
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
High Priced Walmart Quality
 from Canton, MI,  Mar 3, 2012

First off, I was amazed because Overstock said it would arrive by Valentine's Day, and it did (not that it was a present). We received both boxes in good shape so we went ahead and started inspecting. All of the parts were in good shape except for one the legs. It was missing the metal inserts to allow it to be connected to the base. Spoke with Overstock.com and they gladly sent another one. Sadly it took two weeks get and they sent us two instead of one. Due to not wanting to wait for the correct part to arrive, I took a trip to the local Lowes and obtained the necessary parts. The assembly took about 3 hours (including fixing the unusable leg). During the assembly process panel C, panel E and shelf I cracked. I decided not to contact Overstock about the replacement of panels C and E due to them cracking during assembly and my not wanting to take the unit apart and wait another 2 week to start the assembly process again. Granted, the cracks are only about 1.5 inches long and in the middle of each panel, so barely noticeable when assembled. I still need to follow up with Overstock about obtaining a replacement shelf I as the crack is right on the middle which impacts it's structural integrity. Once the unit is completely assembled, it does look nice and as described, pictured. I would recommend being careful when placing your television on it though as we did make very small impressions in the top of the television stand by just placing a 4 year old 50 inch Samsung DLP television on it. Buying this television stand is my first transaction with Overstock. Would I purchase from them again? Certainly, just not self assemble furniture. My opinion is that I my experience would have been better had I purchased this from a physical store. With all of the defects that I encountered, I merely could have bought two units, pieced them together with all perfect parts and then returned the unit with all of the defective parts.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Fair
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A great piece
 from Fort Worth, TX,  Dec 29, 2011

This is a great piece - I'm very pleased with the purchase, and I am very picky (I work in the furniture industry). It reminds me of a piece from a mid-level furniture store, like a Crate and Barrel, just unassembled. This is a much nicer piece than what you would find in an Ikea or the lower level stores. Assembly was fairly easy - definitely a two person job. It took us approximately 2 hours, but we were in no hurry and used wood glue (not a necessary step). The only tricky thing is getting the doors nice and level - make sure to use the easy-level screws on the brackets to help with this. If you are using this as an entertainment unit, make sure to place the back panel so that the hole is positioned appropriately - the instructions show it placed behind the drawer, and there is a gap at the back of the small open center shelf for cords to drop, however it's a little tricky getting them out through there - we may have opted to place the back panel hole directly behind the shelf if we had it to do over.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color is very true to the photo - a nice dark brown, not black. Halfway between a walnut and an ebony stain.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent! I was pleasantly surprised.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome Piece
 from Overland Park, KS,  Sep 16, 2014

Don't hesitate. Excellent value, well built and great looking. Very happy with purchase

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Astounding for the price
 from Richmond VA,  Sep 9, 2014

Arrived with all pieces intact and simple instructions. Assembled by myself in about two hours. Would highly recommend a power drill as you would wear yourself out trying to put it together with a screwdriver. Looks fantastic in our living room, more like a $$$$$ piece of furniture. Would look equally as nice without the doors or drawer attached if you have attractive electronics to display. Yes, you will have to drill holes for cords.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy and Beautiful Media Center
 from Norfolk, VA,  Sep 2, 2014

We love this piece. Purchased it after being disappointed while shopping other media centers that cost at least twice as much. The only drawback is lack of breathing room for electronics. The cabinets are not vented at all. This isn't so hard to fix by taking a saw to the fiberboard backside. But even with cutouts, don't expect to use a large home theater receiver or video game console inside with the doors closed. My PS3 overheated in a matter of minutes while in the cabinet. I then placed it in the open shelf on the front and it still runs pretty rough after about 45 minutes.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 192 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 10 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top