Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Exactly What I Wanted and Actually Looks Perfect
 from Redondo Beach, California,  Oct 11, 2013

I'm a shopper that's for sure. When it comes to larger items like this one I am a bit reluctant to make an on line purchase due to possibility I will have to ship it back myself should there be a problem. When I saw the sale price of this bed I knew I had to have it. Went together with ease and I had the correct amount of parts, poles, screws and instruction pages. Excellent! I'm not the most gentle or friendly user of beds. I do give mine a steady workout. This bed get's 5 red stars:)! No squeaks or unnecessary noises coming from the structure of the product at any time. As simple as it was to put together and the simplicity of it's appearance I was concerned about it's quality. However, after a month of breaking it in, boot camp has been completed and I'm so happy to report that I'm certain it will continue to provide me much happiness in the future.Thanks OverStock.com

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice looking but difficult to assemble
 from Washington, DC,  Aug 8, 2013

I should say up front that the bed looks very nice once assembled and seems very sturdy. I'm glad I bought it, and I'm tempted to give it 4 stars...however......... I have no idea how it is that other reviewers seem to have had an easy time assembling this bed. The instructions are very difficult to follow: they contain long, run-on lists of very complicated parts names; they don't describe some of the steps in enough detail; the pictures aren't clear; and the instructions come in sets that are big, thick paragraphs long. It's very easy to get lost in the text and have to reread the whole paragraph to get one simple piece of information. Additionally, the screws are extremely difficult to thread into the holes. There are 30 or so short screws that have to be screwed in with a double set of washers. With the washers added they are *JUST* long enough to fit through the connecting part and into the screw holes below. If the two pieces are misaligned AT *ALL*, the screws don't catch. And, because this isn't the most expensive bed in the world, some of the frame pieces have parts that are slightly bent upward or holes that are slightly off, which would be fine if the screws didn't require such a precise alignment. My boyfriend and I spent HOURS just twisting and twisting screws that wouldn't catch, wiggling the pieces around so they eventually fit. We had to literally push some pieces down as hard as we could just so there was a millimeter less space between the part and the screw hole so the screws would catch. It's a good bed for the price, but be warned! And DEFINITELY heed the instructions that this bed requires 2 to assemble (or more).

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Pretty good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect look for a small to medium-sized bedroom!
 from Chicago area,  Nov 23, 2012

I took a chance and ordered this bed based on other reviews and was happy with the purchase. My main concern was the height of the headboard since my mattress is very thick and I also have a memory foam pad on top of that. My mattress is 15" thick and my boxspring is 6" thick; the headboard on this bed (including the rail surround) is 24" high which still leaves 90% of the headboard that can be seen on my bed. I wound up actually thinking the color and fabric weren't so bad. The fabric feels like "wool" and kind of looks like a man's suit fabric. If you are into the minimalistic look this headboard would probably work for you, however, I'm more of a traditionalist so I knew I would be putting on a new fabric on the headboard. It was SO easy to do: the headboard is just screwed on to the surrounding rails (there are 10 total screws). You just unscrew them all and the headboard comes out. The headboard is well padded so you can take your fabric and staple it on the back, put it in the rail-frame, and re-insert the screws. But make sure to do this BEFORE you put the bed together. Assembly was VERY easy. My son did it by himself while I just watched. Assembly takes place on the floor and then at a certain point the bed gets lifted up and that's when you need 2 people. The only bad thing about the bed is the plastic "balls" that are placed on each post. They are cheap looking and there was no way I was using them. I found craft finials at my local big box home store, spray painted them black and glued them on each post. Delivery, as always with Overstock, is fantastic! It comes in 2 separate boxes and there were written and diagram instructions enclosed. If you are looking for a 4 post bed that won't consume your bedroom and looks stylish, this bed is for you. The price can't be beat and I've never been disappointed with an Overstock purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exactly as shown
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description was accurate but would have preferred more detailed measurements
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

My wife's been wanting a canopy bed for some time, so when I came across this frame at its low price-point (when compared to comparable 'designer' frames) I went ahead and ordered it on a whim. I usually shy away from large/oversized purchases online, especially if it's going to cost a fortune to ship an item back - but I've had good luck with Overstock in the past, so I decided it was worth the risk - while keeping my expectations fairly low. The bed arrived very well packaged in two giant boxes. As other reviewers have mentioned, the instructions are a bit unorthodox - large paragraphs of copy with run-on sentences and obscure part names. However, the illustrations are accurate enough that I was able to assemble the bed without reading the bulk of the text. The only warning I would provide is to not ignore the text about keeping the bolts loose when assembling the base of the bed - this is critical to making everything align properly, and why I think a lot of people have complained about "misaligned holes". I did need to muscle a few parts together along the way, but was able to successfully build the entire bed by myself (no help) within a couple hours - overall, it was a fairly easy assembly. Once built, the bed is very sturdy - and I was actually quite impressed with the overall build quality for the price. I was expecting the metal to be a thinner aluminum, but it's actually a reasonably thick steel. I have a small-ish bedroom with standard 8ft ceilings and was concerned about the bed taking up too much space. However, the thin rails and minimalist design creates a "focal point" without feeling "crowded" - the vertical posts actually make the ceiling seem higher - even though they're *just* clearing my ceiling fan by 2-3 inches. We also have a an unusually thick mattress/box spring and plenty of the headboard is still visible. Overall, I'm quite impressed with the frame in general - especially given it's price point. HOWEVER.... There are a couple negatives that I must point out. First: The post finials that you see in the photo ARE NOT the finials you'll receive. Instead of the decorative finials in the photo, the bed actually ships with cheap plastic spheres (see the king sized version of this bed for an example). This cheapens the overall look of the bed. I contacted overstock about this, and while helpful with investigating the issue, they confirmed that none of the beds they have in stock have the finials that are shown in the image. The image really needs to be updated to reflect the actual product. Overstock customer support was extremely helpful with resolving the issue, but ultimately were unable to provide the finials depicted in the photo. I'm sure we'll get used to the round finials over time, but we were definitely disappointed. Second: The finish on the frame leaves a bit to be desired. As others have mentioned, the black "paint" on the rails is streaky in spots - which is fine and hardly noticeable once assembled. However, after owning the bed for less than a week, I'm already noticing the finish beginning to "rub off" in spots. This arises some concerns that the black finish will slowly diminish over time. If you're able to justify this as a correlation of "buying a cheap bed", you should be fine. But disappointing none-the-less. As long as you're okay with the two "gotchas" listed above, you'll be more than happy with your purchase.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great as I expected
 from Oakland, California,  May 12, 2013

I am totally satisfied with the first thing I bought on Overstock.com, and I loved the Canopy Bed, totally as described.....I will come back again and shop with you !!! Thank you !!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality !!!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect Match
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Strong. Frame
 from Chicago,  Apr 16, 2014

Beautiful bed....I had someone put it together so I can't say if it was difficult or not bit didn't take long. Great value

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
bed
 from illinois,  Mar 17, 2014

i luv it...it compliments my room very well.. n it was easy to assemble...

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Canopy bed
 from Atlanta, GA,  Mar 7, 2014

I love this bed! It is such a bargain for the quality! I also purchased the sheer curtain panels to enhance the look. Love it!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect for a studio apartment.
 from New York, NY,  Jan 16, 2014

I bought this bed for my 468 sq ft apartment and it fits in the room perfectly. It's minimal but really brings out the vertical space I have here (ceilings a super high). I hired a handy man to come in and he completed it in less than an hour and a half. It sits kind of high with a box spring and 11 inch memory foam mattress but I absolutely love how regal it looks. The balls are not cheap looking on mine minus a slight dent in one of them that I only noticed b/c I was doing a thorough examination of the product once it was assembled by the dude. I've never purchased a bed off of here before... Or anywhere else online. I will say that this was the best financial decision I could have made. The project was seamless. I salute Overstock.com for it. Buy this bed if you're on the fence. It's fab. PS- I'm the most critical person you're ever going to meet when it comes to UX (online and offline). I seriously couldn't be happier.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lauren canopy bed gray
 from Littleton, NC,  Jun 20, 2013

The bed arrived in two boxes with all the parts. My husband put it together and only needed my help at the end to hold up the headboard. It looks great in the master bedroom and compliments my antique Italian armoire perfectly. Great bed. Great price. Thanks Overstocked!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
What the finial
 from Chicago, IL,  Jun 19, 2013

Love the bed. Was afraid that it would not be sturdy but it is very well made. Only complaint - the picture shows decorative finials on top of the posts - what we got were cheap, black plastic, rounded caps.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? As expected with a few small scratches in paint.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very sturdy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very good to excellent bed
 from Los Angeles, CA,  May 27, 2013

This bed arrived in 4 days (yay!) in 2 boxes. It took me about 2.5 hours to unpack and put together with some difficulty, but that's my fault because the manufacturer says it requires 2 people, and indeed that would have been easier! I needed a rubber mallet to get some of the holes to line up. Some of the paint is uneven, but this isn't noticeable from a few feet away. Overall it looks great and is sturdy, just be aware the railings are darker than in the picture.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? headboard-same; railings are jet black but appear dark gray in the picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
How strong is it?
 from Streamwood, Illinois,  Apr 27, 2013

I bought this frame to change what was once a dull room. I recei ed it fairly quick. Once I got it, it took two people under an hour to assemble it. We were taking our time too. I put in the queen size mattress and it fit perfectly. I jumped on top of it to test it out. You don't hear any squeaking noises. Its really quiet. My girl loves this bed. I had a hard time finding canopy sheets. So I bought two 60 x 216 curtains sheer scarfs to hang across the width of frame. Worked perfectly. I also bought two 60 x 80 panel sheer to hang on the head and foot of the frame. Room looks great with this. I recommend it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

It took several hours to set up, but now that it's all set it's looking great. Some of the screws were difficult to get to line up, but eventually we were able to get it to work out fairly well. We had been looking at Room and Board canopy beds but this is so much more reasonable and a similar look.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fantastic value, great for curtains
 from San Francisco, Ca,  Feb 13, 2013

I looked at a variety of canopy beds, including both metal frames and wood frames, before deciding on this one. Most of the other beds (Pottery Barn, Ethan Allen) were in the $1000-1500 range plus $150 for shipping, and would take 6-8 weeks to arrive. This one had the following advantages: 1. About 80% lower cost 2. *** shipping fee 3. I assembled it myself so I knew I would also be able to disassemble it next time I move. 4. Lightweight compared to a wood frame, easier to move 5. Nice looking soft headboard (compared to metal or wood) 6. Footboard doesn't come up very high so it doesn't get in the way of sitting on the end of the bed. The frame is quite attractive, particularly when decorated with curtains (I made my own). The metal has some very narrow streaks from being stained/painted black, but unless you look very closely you don't notice this at all. The finials are just round spheres and they look fine to me. The frame feels very study when assembled, although it's also lightweight enough that the side and top bars shake a bit when you flop around in the bed. We attached a digital projector to the top bar and the image shakes if we move around while watching TV. Those are my only nit-picks. I highly recommend this for a pretty, affordable, minimalist canopy bed frame that's easy to move.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate: black metal, charcoal headboard
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. A little
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Better Bed
 from Orange County, California,  Nov 28, 2012

The Lauren Bed has a lot of style, can either go traditional or contemporary. The headboard is easy to recover which I will do to coordinate with my linens. Follow the directions and use all the washers, nuts, bolts etc. .easier to assemble with 2 people. This bed is handsome. I am very happy to have made this purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The finish scratched easily must be careful during assembly. Very sturdy frame once assembled.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was right on.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Well....
 from Atlanta, GA,  Nov 24, 2012

So I received my bed prior to actually moving in to my house so it had been about a month before I pulled it out of the box. When I did there were 3 back posts and one front one so I had to call customer service about replacing the part. Although the lady I spoke with said since it had been over a month since I purchased it that they "usually" wouldn't honor the replacement she put in the order for the piece. Well had I known that it was going to be packaged incorrectly I'm SURE I would have called earlier. Nonetheless I received the piece within a week. It was a breeze to put together. But the knobs for the posts didn't fit. But I can live without them. :)

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. pretty good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
CANOPY BED
 from Alabama,  Nov 12, 2012

I'm pleased with the bed; however, the foot rail was dented when it arrived.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

When I first received my shipment, I received 2 boxes of the same pieces. As in, there's an A box and a B box and I got 2 B boxes.....so I had to wait a week before I could build my bed. Building it requires 2 people, but it's pretty simple. Also, the online chat customer service was SUPERB. I was incredibly frustrated to find that my shipment was wrong, but the person that helped me took care of things quickly and efficiently. I'm very happy with the service despite the mess up. THANKS!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It's fine. I mean....that's the least of my worries
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The actual quality of the bed is great- I'm very happy with it
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Just right.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Quatrafoil Queen Canopy Bed
Sale $359.99
Was $399.99
Compare $499.99
Save 28%
(43)
Back to top