Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 41-60 of 102 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great desk!
 from Navarre, FL,  Mar 17, 2013

Great quality and easy to put together (although takes a couple of hours). We keep it in the living room and it easily hides and stores our computer, printer, files, computer disks, etc.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice enough...
 from Nashville, TN,  Jan 24, 2013

I paid someone to put this desk together and it took them exactly 4.5 hours. I would not attempt to do it yourself unless you are in the mood for that sort of thing. It arrived on time and in three large boxes. It looks good, although, I am not convinces that it is solid wood, but it will serve its purpose. I haven't put my computer inside it or worked with it, yet, so I can't speak to its durability. The hinged shelf is awkward in size and doesn't lie flat (like a work surface) when opened. I will say the desk is attractive and contemporary. I plan on putting a 40 inch flat screen on top of it as it is in an office/tv room that was once a spare bedroom. Looks like it should hold it pretty well.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color is as pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good...not great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Broke & Overstock offered no assistance
 from USA,  Jan 10, 2013

I purchased this piece at end of Feb, and by December of the same year it was broken. First one of the hinges didn't arrive. I contacted Overstock and they sent the hinge. We put the piece together and then 9 months later just opening the unit the plastic piece around the hinge that opens the front panel broke off causing the panel to have weight on the other side of the panel. The hinge on the left broke off and took a big chink of the front panel wood off the piece of furniture. We were just opening the desk. Which we open and close the desk after each use. We don't lean on the desk because it seems a bit delicate as it is, so we have always been gentle with this piece of furniture. So even with being careful, this piece is not a good purchase. The fact that the side hinges rely on a plastic covering is the drawback. If it was solid metal, then this probably would not have happened. I contacted Overstock, only to be told there is no warranty on this piece of furniture beyond the 30 day return policy and the manufacturer chooses to remain anonymous and therefor I can't even contact the manufacturer of the furniture for a replacement. I even offered to pay for a new hinge and front panel. I have had nothing but good experience with Overstock until now. Although quite a bit of their furniture has arrived with missing pieces, that they always track down and get to me. A typical minor inconvenience for the savings normally. But for this I will take the thousands I spend on furniture elsewhere if they can't repair. They are looking into whether or not they can get me the pieces, but it isn't looking positive. I would definitely select a different piece of furniture rather than finding yourself in a similar situation in less than a year and out a couple of hundred dollars.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The product came with missing pieces and then broke within 9 months.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Piece of Furniture
 from California,  Jan 7, 2013

This desk was beyond my expectations. Its a beautiful dark rich color with the perfect amount of storage space for papers and file cabinet with another drawer on top for supplies. It took about 2 hours to build with the help of someone else. I couldn't have asked for a better product and the price was even better.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Beyond my expectations. Very sturdy and heavy. Will have to be dismantled to move because it's so heavy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Somewhat negative
 from Queens, NY,  Jan 4, 2013

I love the desk, but it was difficult to put together and the doors didn't fit properly, therefore I can't close them and have to hire someone to fix it. Also, the drop-down door to the upper cabinet is so big that I can't access the drawers and cabinet underneath, so I have to move everything off the door and close it so I can access my office supplies, checks to print etc. However, aesthetically and quality wise, it is a nice piece.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The main cabinet doors do not line up, and therefore won't close. I have to hire someone to cut the door down, stain it and reattach. Costly and inconvenient.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect for a small space and elegant!
 from Chicago, IL,  Dec 30, 2012

Great piece, takes some time to put together, but great for an apartment where you can hide all your things. When you open the hutch, I'm hesitant to put a lot of weight on the door that would become the table top because the hinges don't seem strong enough so I would recommend buying stronger hinges. Other than that, I love it!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Pretty accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality, but the hinges are not supportive enough, would need to buy new ones
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Well Made, Solid Piece of Furniture
 from Tennessee,  Dec 22, 2012

This is one handsome piece of furniture. Very heavy. I wanted to be able to hide all my computor equipment and office supplies and this does the trick. Love the filing cabinet. There is room for everything in this massive unit. Only downside I can see is the flip down top is a little higher than a normal desk would be. Caution, If you haven't assembled any furniture before then this is not a good first time project. This takes about 1 to 2 days for 2 experienced people to put together. Instructions were very easy to understand. There are a lot of steps and parts. And I mean A Lot. I haven't had any issues with the hinges as some other reviewers have stated.They are very sturdy. I think maybe they didn't install them properly. If you follow the instructions you won't have any problems. Bottom line, a lot of effort but well worth it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality. All solid wood except for the drawer sides and bottoms, Finish is nice.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Computer Desk
 from Baltimore MD,  Dec 20, 2012

It's a very nice piece of furniture, and totally serves the purpose I wanted it for. To hide my computer when I'm not working on it. I did have a problem...after telling my 8 yr old sons to not lean on the desk when its opened, because there's not alot of support, one of them did lean too hard and alas the desk ripped off the hinges. However, I called Overstock and told them what happened and they sent out the new part right away at no charge. So I am very impressed. I would recommend the work station, and shopping at Overstock.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Pretty good.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good
 from Ft. Meyers, Fl.,  Dec 16, 2012

A little harder to put together than some of the reviews mentioned. A few instructions were a little vauge for me.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? ok
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. fine
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? ok
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hinge failed - wooden door cracked!
 from California,  Dec 15, 2012

Poor quality and design - the hinge failed and the door cracked and chipped on the outside. There is no way to fix this. I should have listened to the poor reviews of previous purchasers. Do not buy!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor quality - the hinge failed and the door cracked and chipped on the outside. No way to fix this.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? ok
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful piece of furniture
 from Atlanta, GA,  Dec 6, 2012

Beautiful and functional furniture. Was very difficult to put together and took 2 people several hours to assemble. We had one problem with the door on the front that opens outward. The screw holes are much too large for the screws and will not hold the piece. Fortunately, a friend as helped by purchasing different accessories and attaching them to fix the issue.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Great
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nightmare
 Sep 27, 2012

talk about hard labor. it took DAYS for my husband to unwrap and put this hutch together and some requires 2 people. Holes don't match and the hinges.... omg. make sure you get something stronger because it will rip off. look for something else. I hutch looks great once put together.. but not sure if it's worth the time and headache.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great tele-work desk!
 from Long Beach, CA,  Aug 20, 2012

I'm a software developer who works from home almost 100% of the time. My office is located in my bedroom, and I don't really want to stare at my work space in the evenings and weekends. I've been using this desk for 3 weeks now, and I love it. The upper cabinet is large enough to hold a laptop and 23" monitor side by side. The bottom cabinet is large enough for additional electronics (I have a 2 small servers down there) or a printer. The drawers are great for holding everything else. I have an external keyboard and mouse that I keep on the drop-down front. At the end of the day, I can easily tuck those in and shut the door. Apart from the office chair in front of it, it doesn't look like a work desk any more. My only complaint so far has been the assembly. It took me 8 hours to assemble this desk. Make sure you pay close attention to the pictures in the instructions.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. So far so good. It's definitely solid.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Desk top broke easily
 from Sacramento, CA,  Aug 11, 2012

I was looking forward to having this in my new condo and it worked out pretty well, at first. After putting it together I realized that there were 4 tiny screws holding the very heavy desktop to the hinges. I was careful about putting anything heavy on it, all I used was a wireless keyboard and mouse, but one day in July it came crashing down. Now I have an open front desk that looks a little goofy and I'm out $450. So sad.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Wood color and finish was great.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Drawer sticks, desk top broke off.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
An excellent piece of furnature
 from Chicago, IL,  Aug 7, 2012

I bought this for myself after much looking. A lot of looking. I could not find a piece like this unless you build it yourself. I had an existing secretary desk/hutch/bookcase that was falling apart. This arrived quickly in three boxes. My son and his power screwdriver put it together in an afternoon. About five hours. Wife and daughter-in-law helped. You need second person. You also need a rubber mallet. The instructions weren't bad but could use some improvement. I had a lot of doubts about the hinges that hold the drop shelf based on other reviews here. They put heavy duty ones in now. I think you could sit on it. The thing is very deep and wide so it will store a lot of stuff. Nice big hole in the back for power cords. I sat my TV on top. I'm very happy with it and Overstock.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color was the same as the picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This is a sturdy solid piece. Will last a long time. Real wood. Very good craftmanship.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was good except for the hinges/connectors - they have improved them
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
complicated
 from California,  Aug 7, 2012

If I had seen this item in a store I wouldn't have purchased it. It is extremely difficult to assemble and the writer of the instructions was not a native English speaker. I wouldn't purchase it again.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Pressed sawdust
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Not as represented by picture
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good when it finally arrived!
 from New York, NY,  Aug 6, 2012

The only downside is that it took forever to assemble. I had to improve since the flop (desk) part did not end in proper angle when aligned to the predrilled holes. I had to drill new holes. UPS really screwed me on this one. Since our elevator was broken, the driver did not even attempt at communicating with us, and returned the item to sender. Overstock was not helpful in solving this problem with UPS. The item took about three weeks to finally arrive.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Impressive quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Quality Product
 from RPV ca,  Jul 12, 2012

We ordered 3 of these to use in our office, the quality is great. The exterior wood is beautiful and the quality of the pull down desk is great also! We are very pleased. Each unit takes 3.5 hours to assemble. That was the ONLY drawback.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Matched perfectly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great Quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A High End Piece
 from New York, NY,  Jun 21, 2012

Love it! Took 2 1/2 hours with two people, and this with one of the person a pro in construction. But worth it if set up correctly. Be careful buying this is you're not good at putting things together.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful, but such a HUGE assembly mess
 from San Francisco ca,  Jun 6, 2012

I love the desk now, BUT... The assembly was ridiculous. It should not be sold unassembled. I am very handy and great with putting thing together, so I wasn't worried that I needed to assemble this desk. BUT it was in a million pieces and so complicated and the instructions were difficult o follow. After two hours, I was in tears. I had to pay a carpenter to finish the rest. It took him 5 hours!!!! So, add the price I paid him to the desk and I had wish I just went to a furniture store and picked something out to be delivered.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate minus assembly
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 41-60 of 102 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought