Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 41-60 of 109 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great desgin for the money!
 from Portland, OR,  Jul 5, 2013

We just moved to a new home and needed a piece of furniture for our modem, printer, and miscellaneous office supplies. We set up our "office/den", which is right off of our entryway, as a sitting room, so we did not want to waste the space on a traditional desk set-up. The file drawer is all we need; it's very roomy. There is plenty of room in the top area for the printer, paper, etc., notebook computer and chargers for other equipment. It's a good set up for a neat freak such as myself because it hides all of the cords. We placed the surge protector and all other cables in the bottom area, where there is also good storage. I am into form as well as function, and this piece holds its own aesthetically. I shop frequently at a higher end modern furniture company, and this piece compares in looks and quality, at a much lower price. My husband is handy and put it together, though it was tedious. He wondered if some of the other reviewers had put the drop-down door hinges on backwards (?), as they are very sturdy. We don't put more weight on it than a notebook computer, however; I usually take the computer with me to another part of the house. Ours arrived in perfect condition, so we had no experience with customer service. Bottom line...think of this as a beautiful storage piece to hold office necessities and keep them out of sight. If you expect it to function as a hard working desk where you pile your work, this is not your design.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect/dark brown with subtle red tones
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent; solid wood; very heavy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks great!
 from Narberth, PA,  Jun 18, 2013

I was quite nervous about ordering this type of furniture online, but it was exactly what we were looking for. I am not disappointed! The quality of the product is great. Assembly was not too bad although there is one part (like a screw cap) that is a bit on the cheap side and my husband broke a couple of those. I could see how the door could not take much weight when folded down and we may look for a way to reinforce it more, but so far it has worked out great.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate; good measurements
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Product
 from LA,  May 13, 2013

Product is really well made. Was shipped fast. Would recommend.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very well
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Product is very good. Better than I expected
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Workstation
 from Clearwater Beach, FL,  Apr 8, 2013

The workstation is a great piece of furniture. It is in a living area and can be closed when not in use as a desk. It has plenty of storage and room for a large all in one printer and laptop on the top. Lots of room in drawers and cupboard area for storage. The unit is extremely heavy when put together. It came in 3 boxes with 2 showing 70 lbs and 1 showing 90 lbs. We were worried about putting this together after reading some of the reviews. But not a problem for two 60 something women. It took us about 7 hours but it is perfect. Hinges & drawer slides needed a little tweaking but we got it done. Neither of us are that mechanically inclined. One set of drawer slides were not right but I contacted customer service and new ones were shipped out in less than a week and we have no problem now. Can't say enough about Overstock's customer service team and this experience.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality was good - nothing broken, missing, etc
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Large Storage Workstation not Ergonomic
 from Everett, WA,  Mar 27, 2013

After building this workstation, I found that the pulldown top door is not very ergonomic as it is too wide when trying to use my keyboard and mouse. I have to stuff everything back in to close the door.Ended up taking the door off. Thinking of a way to modify to be able to roll out the keyboard and mouse. Can not use the top shelf as my Monitor is 26". Sorry I bought this one.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? I thought it would be darker
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. the quality is solid
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great desk!
 from Navarre, FL,  Mar 17, 2013

Great quality and easy to put together (although takes a couple of hours). We keep it in the living room and it easily hides and stores our computer, printer, files, computer disks, etc.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice enough...
 from Nashville, TN,  Jan 24, 2013

I paid someone to put this desk together and it took them exactly 4.5 hours. I would not attempt to do it yourself unless you are in the mood for that sort of thing. It arrived on time and in three large boxes. It looks good, although, I am not convinces that it is solid wood, but it will serve its purpose. I haven't put my computer inside it or worked with it, yet, so I can't speak to its durability. The hinged shelf is awkward in size and doesn't lie flat (like a work surface) when opened. I will say the desk is attractive and contemporary. I plan on putting a 40 inch flat screen on top of it as it is in an office/tv room that was once a spare bedroom. Looks like it should hold it pretty well.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color is as pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good...not great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Broke & Overstock offered no assistance
 from USA,  Jan 10, 2013

I purchased this piece at end of Feb, and by December of the same year it was broken. First one of the hinges didn't arrive. I contacted Overstock and they sent the hinge. We put the piece together and then 9 months later just opening the unit the plastic piece around the hinge that opens the front panel broke off causing the panel to have weight on the other side of the panel. The hinge on the left broke off and took a big chink of the front panel wood off the piece of furniture. We were just opening the desk. Which we open and close the desk after each use. We don't lean on the desk because it seems a bit delicate as it is, so we have always been gentle with this piece of furniture. So even with being careful, this piece is not a good purchase. The fact that the side hinges rely on a plastic covering is the drawback. If it was solid metal, then this probably would not have happened. I contacted Overstock, only to be told there is no warranty on this piece of furniture beyond the 30 day return policy and the manufacturer chooses to remain anonymous and therefor I can't even contact the manufacturer of the furniture for a replacement. I even offered to pay for a new hinge and front panel. I have had nothing but good experience with Overstock until now. Although quite a bit of their furniture has arrived with missing pieces, that they always track down and get to me. A typical minor inconvenience for the savings normally. But for this I will take the thousands I spend on furniture elsewhere if they can't repair. They are looking into whether or not they can get me the pieces, but it isn't looking positive. I would definitely select a different piece of furniture rather than finding yourself in a similar situation in less than a year and out a couple of hundred dollars.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The product came with missing pieces and then broke within 9 months.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Piece of Furniture
 from California,  Jan 7, 2013

This desk was beyond my expectations. Its a beautiful dark rich color with the perfect amount of storage space for papers and file cabinet with another drawer on top for supplies. It took about 2 hours to build with the help of someone else. I couldn't have asked for a better product and the price was even better.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Beyond my expectations. Very sturdy and heavy. Will have to be dismantled to move because it's so heavy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Somewhat negative
 from Queens, NY,  Jan 4, 2013

I love the desk, but it was difficult to put together and the doors didn't fit properly, therefore I can't close them and have to hire someone to fix it. Also, the drop-down door to the upper cabinet is so big that I can't access the drawers and cabinet underneath, so I have to move everything off the door and close it so I can access my office supplies, checks to print etc. However, aesthetically and quality wise, it is a nice piece.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The main cabinet doors do not line up, and therefore won't close. I have to hire someone to cut the door down, stain it and reattach. Costly and inconvenient.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect for a small space and elegant!
 from Chicago, IL,  Dec 30, 2012

Great piece, takes some time to put together, but great for an apartment where you can hide all your things. When you open the hutch, I'm hesitant to put a lot of weight on the door that would become the table top because the hinges don't seem strong enough so I would recommend buying stronger hinges. Other than that, I love it!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Pretty accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality, but the hinges are not supportive enough, would need to buy new ones
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Well Made, Solid Piece of Furniture
 from Tennessee,  Dec 22, 2012

This is one handsome piece of furniture. Very heavy. I wanted to be able to hide all my computor equipment and office supplies and this does the trick. Love the filing cabinet. There is room for everything in this massive unit. Only downside I can see is the flip down top is a little higher than a normal desk would be. Caution, If you haven't assembled any furniture before then this is not a good first time project. This takes about 1 to 2 days for 2 experienced people to put together. Instructions were very easy to understand. There are a lot of steps and parts. And I mean A Lot. I haven't had any issues with the hinges as some other reviewers have stated.They are very sturdy. I think maybe they didn't install them properly. If you follow the instructions you won't have any problems. Bottom line, a lot of effort but well worth it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality. All solid wood except for the drawer sides and bottoms, Finish is nice.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Computer Desk
 from Baltimore MD,  Dec 20, 2012

It's a very nice piece of furniture, and totally serves the purpose I wanted it for. To hide my computer when I'm not working on it. I did have a problem...after telling my 8 yr old sons to not lean on the desk when its opened, because there's not alot of support, one of them did lean too hard and alas the desk ripped off the hinges. However, I called Overstock and told them what happened and they sent out the new part right away at no charge. So I am very impressed. I would recommend the work station, and shopping at Overstock.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Pretty good.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good
 from Ft. Meyers, Fl.,  Dec 16, 2012

A little harder to put together than some of the reviews mentioned. A few instructions were a little vauge for me.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? ok
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. fine
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? ok
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hinge failed - wooden door cracked!
 from California,  Dec 15, 2012

Poor quality and design - the hinge failed and the door cracked and chipped on the outside. There is no way to fix this. I should have listened to the poor reviews of previous purchasers. Do not buy!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor quality - the hinge failed and the door cracked and chipped on the outside. No way to fix this.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? ok
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful piece of furniture
 from Atlanta, GA,  Dec 6, 2012

Beautiful and functional furniture. Was very difficult to put together and took 2 people several hours to assemble. We had one problem with the door on the front that opens outward. The screw holes are much too large for the screws and will not hold the piece. Fortunately, a friend as helped by purchasing different accessories and attaching them to fix the issue.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Great
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nightmare
 Sep 27, 2012

talk about hard labor. it took DAYS for my husband to unwrap and put this hutch together and some requires 2 people. Holes don't match and the hinges.... omg. make sure you get something stronger because it will rip off. look for something else. I hutch looks great once put together.. but not sure if it's worth the time and headache.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great tele-work desk!
 from Long Beach, CA,  Aug 20, 2012

I'm a software developer who works from home almost 100% of the time. My office is located in my bedroom, and I don't really want to stare at my work space in the evenings and weekends. I've been using this desk for 3 weeks now, and I love it. The upper cabinet is large enough to hold a laptop and 23" monitor side by side. The bottom cabinet is large enough for additional electronics (I have a 2 small servers down there) or a printer. The drawers are great for holding everything else. I have an external keyboard and mouse that I keep on the drop-down front. At the end of the day, I can easily tuck those in and shut the door. Apart from the office chair in front of it, it doesn't look like a work desk any more. My only complaint so far has been the assembly. It took me 8 hours to assemble this desk. Make sure you pay close attention to the pictures in the instructions.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. So far so good. It's definitely solid.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Desk top broke easily
 from Sacramento, CA,  Aug 11, 2012

I was looking forward to having this in my new condo and it worked out pretty well, at first. After putting it together I realized that there were 4 tiny screws holding the very heavy desktop to the hinges. I was careful about putting anything heavy on it, all I used was a wireless keyboard and mouse, but one day in July it came crashing down. Now I have an open front desk that looks a little goofy and I'm out $450. So sad.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Wood color and finish was great.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Drawer sticks, desk top broke off.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
An excellent piece of furnature
 from Chicago, IL,  Aug 7, 2012

I bought this for myself after much looking. A lot of looking. I could not find a piece like this unless you build it yourself. I had an existing secretary desk/hutch/bookcase that was falling apart. This arrived quickly in three boxes. My son and his power screwdriver put it together in an afternoon. About five hours. Wife and daughter-in-law helped. You need second person. You also need a rubber mallet. The instructions weren't bad but could use some improvement. I had a lot of doubts about the hinges that hold the drop shelf based on other reviews here. They put heavy duty ones in now. I think you could sit on it. The thing is very deep and wide so it will store a lot of stuff. Nice big hole in the back for power cords. I sat my TV on top. I'm very happy with it and Overstock.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color was the same as the picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This is a sturdy solid piece. Will last a long time. Real wood. Very good craftmanship.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was good except for the hinges/connectors - they have improved them
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 41-60 of 109 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought