Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 21-40 of 100 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Workstation
 from austin texas,  Oct 3, 2014

My husband put this workstation together in a couple of hours. It's very handsome has lots of storage. Looks great with our wood floors.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The worst item I have ever purchased from O.co
 from Upper Darby, PA,  Sep 12, 2014

This item was a nightmare to assemble, and the legal file drawer would not fit. I had a second drawer sent, but that also did not fit. I feared that there was something wrong with the unit, and at this point I had put in 14 hours of assembling, disassembling, and reassembling. I had a furniture repair person visit, and he had to redo all the drawer slides. $200 later, the drawers move very stubbornly in and out of the unit. None of the fronts are flush, either. This was a terrible buy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love the look - not made for intentions
 from Commack, NY,  Jul 25, 2014

I would recc with reservations - This is a computer desk made for a computer - you pull out the draw and you are supposed to be able to work and write on the table piece - as well as at least lean on it - I have had to get a replacement from overstock for the brackets - and still the door piece rips off the hinges - we need to pull the small drawer out to hold up the table. If kept closed/ and desk is not used it is a beautiful piece of furniture and holds all my files - I live in an apt and it is a nice compact piece in lieu of having an office!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just what I was looking for
 from Springfield, VA,  Jul 15, 2014

It's a little deeper than I expected, which is good. The only things I would change are 1) the pull-down door (desk space) is a little too big, hard to get close enough to the inside of the cabinet while sitting in front of it. And 2) I'd make the pull-down door a little sturdier, but I understand that would be hard to do since it's on hinges. But overall, I'm very happy with it. I've been wanting to keep my computer in the living room for a long time, but have been reluctant to put it in there because I didn't want my living room to look like an office. This workstation is the perfect solution.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice desk - difficult to assemble
 from Pgh, PA,  Jul 7, 2014

This is a very large, attractive work station. It came in 3 large boxes, and all the pieces were well-protected and intact. However, the instructions for assembly could have been clearer and it takes a great deal of time to complete. Significantly, several of the pieces did not have the screw holes adequately machined. This made it nearly impossible to properly assemble. I would not attempt this unless you have an automatic drill and the knowledge to use it. If you have some knowledge of woodworking, and can correct this problem, it is a good value for the price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Returned it
 from WNY,  Mar 25, 2014

Actually, to be quite fair, I wound up returning this unopened because I had second thoughts on assembling a piece of this complexity. Too many things could go wrong and I didn't want to take the risk of putting it together, and then having to live with a less-than-satisfactory computer desk. Another thing: the facts that 1) the keyboard ledge was higher might have been very awkward, and 2) the weight of hands on that ledge might be a strain on the (reported) "flimsy" hinge, were enough to compel me to return it before we opened it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good idea, Bad Engineering
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Jan 9, 2014

Good style and as described, with plenty of interior storage. However, it's just not well designed. The fold down portion is too large and heavy for the included hardware to handle. As others have said, the screws holding the long hinges that that attach from the interior sides of the desk pulled out from the fold down portion because it's too heavy. Forget about even resting your hands on a computer there. We had to drill through the front of the desk to reinforce those anchor points with nuts/ bolts. That worked for several months of light use until the screws holding the small hinges that attached to the bottom of the fold down portion broke through the cheap wood material. So, a long piano hinge is the next step (and some wood glue to reattach the piece that broke off from the front.) Unfortunately didn't find a lot of other options in this price point for a non-roll top, hide-your-stuff-away desk. But, this solution requires a lot of extra effort to function properly. Under-engineered and ultimately not worth it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Workstation
 from Cheyenne, WY,  Dec 7, 2013

This is a very well made, heavy, and sturdy desk / workstation. With it, you can store lots of things out of sight. That said, I am disappointed that the drawers below can't be or are hard to get to, while you're using the drop down desk feature, but that is my own fault for not taking that into consideration when I saw it. Overall, I am very happy with it - attractive contemporary piece of furniture when closed and very functional.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
poor design
 from tx,  Nov 21, 2013

very heavy came in three boxes, broke after a month. the top folded down for your desk and it was like 2 feet long...too heavy and clumsy for even a small keyboard or writing pad. would not recommend. But highly recommend OVERSTOCK.COM. I had to box it back up and that was a pain...it took days to put together and very heavy, but they took it back and refunded my money with no problems at all.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hire someone to put together
 from New York, NY,  Oct 27, 2013

GOD I WISH I PAID ATTENTION TO WHAT THE OTHER REVIEWERS WROTE instead of thinking I would be able to get this thing together no problem. I can manage Ikea furniture without any issue. This is not Ikea. It took over 10 hours to get this together, first 4 by myself and with a friend for the rest. And the drawers don't close properly still. Nothing quite fits. Everything that opens is stuck. The hinges for the drawers and desk were a nightmare to install. The INSTRUCTIONS are tiny and hard to understand. SO EASY TO MESS UP. and we spent lots of time backtracking what we did wrong. (And we are two smart 40 yr old guys--one being an interior designer.) The pieces scratched easily while they were on the floor so the final product now looks bad. This is a giant, clunky piece of heavy furniture that I am already trying to think how I can replace. The only thing nice I have to say, is that the wood is real and not press-board. The appearance of the piece has more style than and Ikea product, although it's scratched so who cares. I wish I could get a refund and buy something else….which others wrote on here and I disregarded. DONT MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE AS THE REST OF US.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very funtional
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Sep 30, 2013

It was so hard for me to find a desk that meets all my expectations. The desk is just what I was looking for; functionaly, dimensionaly and the overall style were a perfect match for my taste. It requires a few hours to put it together but it is worth it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Robust and Heavy
 from Freehold, NJ,  Sep 25, 2013

The unit came in three boxes and packaging was very good (no damage). As previous reviews stated, there are many pieces and it takes a few hours to assemble, with two people. The majority of the pieces were labeled and instructions are relatively easy to understand. Once it is assembled it is relatively heavy so plan on assembling near the intended final destination and/or have sliders to ease the move. Had only one issue with assembly. The cam locks broke relatively easily (there were two extra). They are extremely brittle, so be careful to line them up during insertion and do not force. There was also a piece missing. The stopper at the end of one of the drawer slides (cut electrical tape to fit). Draws open and close cleanly, door panel is very large, making it difficult to reach any item toward the rear of cabinet. Overall rating is a 4. Robust and good price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice cabinet for the price, but....
 from Texas,  Sep 1, 2013

I had to really think about this one. I read all the reviews before buying, so here is my input. The cabinet is very nice. Somewhat easy to assemble (2 women). The problem comes in with the drawer glides and the strange hinges on the drop down. One came apart during installation and we can't get it back together. Speaking of the drop down leaf....once its down, you cannot access the drawers. That is a bit of a problem for me, as I use it for a work desk. The drop down door does not stay up either. We had to attach a felt furniture protector to tighten the opening, so it would stay up. I think it needs some magnets or a latch. If you have a low tolerance to assembling furniture, this is not for you. It really does take two people. Be sure to read ALL the instructions and make sure you have all the parts BEFORE starting. All in all, it is a nice piece and fit great for the small space I had.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great desgin for the money!
 from Portland, OR,  Jul 5, 2013

We just moved to a new home and needed a piece of furniture for our modem, printer, and miscellaneous office supplies. We set up our "office/den", which is right off of our entryway, as a sitting room, so we did not want to waste the space on a traditional desk set-up. The file drawer is all we need; it's very roomy. There is plenty of room in the top area for the printer, paper, etc., notebook computer and chargers for other equipment. It's a good set up for a neat freak such as myself because it hides all of the cords. We placed the surge protector and all other cables in the bottom area, where there is also good storage. I am into form as well as function, and this piece holds its own aesthetically. I shop frequently at a higher end modern furniture company, and this piece compares in looks and quality, at a much lower price. My husband is handy and put it together, though it was tedious. He wondered if some of the other reviewers had put the drop-down door hinges on backwards (?), as they are very sturdy. We don't put more weight on it than a notebook computer, however; I usually take the computer with me to another part of the house. Ours arrived in perfect condition, so we had no experience with customer service. Bottom line...think of this as a beautiful storage piece to hold office necessities and keep them out of sight. If you expect it to function as a hard working desk where you pile your work, this is not your design.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect/dark brown with subtle red tones
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent; solid wood; very heavy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks great!
 from Narberth, PA,  Jun 18, 2013

I was quite nervous about ordering this type of furniture online, but it was exactly what we were looking for. I am not disappointed! The quality of the product is great. Assembly was not too bad although there is one part (like a screw cap) that is a bit on the cheap side and my husband broke a couple of those. I could see how the door could not take much weight when folded down and we may look for a way to reinforce it more, but so far it has worked out great.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate; good measurements
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Product
 from LA,  May 13, 2013

Product is really well made. Was shipped fast. Would recommend.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very well
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Product is very good. Better than I expected
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Workstation
 from Clearwater Beach, FL,  Apr 8, 2013

The workstation is a great piece of furniture. It is in a living area and can be closed when not in use as a desk. It has plenty of storage and room for a large all in one printer and laptop on the top. Lots of room in drawers and cupboard area for storage. The unit is extremely heavy when put together. It came in 3 boxes with 2 showing 70 lbs and 1 showing 90 lbs. We were worried about putting this together after reading some of the reviews. But not a problem for two 60 something women. It took us about 7 hours but it is perfect. Hinges & drawer slides needed a little tweaking but we got it done. Neither of us are that mechanically inclined. One set of drawer slides were not right but I contacted customer service and new ones were shipped out in less than a week and we have no problem now. Can't say enough about Overstock's customer service team and this experience.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality was good - nothing broken, missing, etc
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Large Storage Workstation not Ergonomic
 from Everett, WA,  Mar 27, 2013

After building this workstation, I found that the pulldown top door is not very ergonomic as it is too wide when trying to use my keyboard and mouse. I have to stuff everything back in to close the door.Ended up taking the door off. Thinking of a way to modify to be able to roll out the keyboard and mouse. Can not use the top shelf as my Monitor is 26". Sorry I bought this one.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? I thought it would be darker
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. the quality is solid
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great desk!
 from Navarre, FL,  Mar 17, 2013

Great quality and easy to put together (although takes a couple of hours). We keep it in the living room and it easily hides and stores our computer, printer, files, computer disks, etc.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice enough...
 from Nashville, TN,  Jan 24, 2013

I paid someone to put this desk together and it took them exactly 4.5 hours. I would not attempt to do it yourself unless you are in the mood for that sort of thing. It arrived on time and in three large boxes. It looks good, although, I am not convinces that it is solid wood, but it will serve its purpose. I haven't put my computer inside it or worked with it, yet, so I can't speak to its durability. The hinged shelf is awkward in size and doesn't lie flat (like a work surface) when opened. I will say the desk is attractive and contemporary. I plan on putting a 40 inch flat screen on top of it as it is in an office/tv room that was once a spare bedroom. Looks like it should hold it pretty well.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color is as pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good...not great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 21-40 of 100 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought