Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
Get Ready For Memorial Day
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 108 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Nice cabinet
 from New York,  Jan 14, 2009

I bought this for my basement office. I wanted something that was able to hold and hide ALL of the computer components for a neater and cleaner look. It fits the monitor, speakers, keyboard, CPU, and printer. There is also room for my desk lamp and a paper shredder. The drawer is very large, pulls out completely, and is perfect for pens, paper, and other supplies. The file cabinet is an added bonus, is large, has nice hardware, and glides easily.The workstation arrived in 3 large boxes and took a couple of nights to put together. The only problem I had was that the flip-down shelf arrived damaged with a large crack running down the center. However, Overstock is sending me the replacement part. I highly recommend this workstation for a clean, modern, uncluttered look. Buyers should take note, however, that the unit is 50 inches tall, not the 67 inches stated. It is slightly lighter in color than the picture, very pretty. Also, it comes with 2 shelves not shown in the picture, one for the top section where the monitor goes, and one for the bottom section where the CPU goes. Unless you want to put your CPU on its side, do not use those shelves. I like the way the unit is raised up off the floor so you can vacuum under it and so you have a place to put your feet when you're sitting in front of it. I bought a cool chair from Overstock that I put right next to the cabinet and will just pull in front when I want to work on the computer. The workstation was kind of expensive for me but it was worth it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Large Storage Workstation
 from Deltona,Fl,  Jan 16, 2009

I am very pleased with this desk. I was a little apprehensive at first because of the size, the secretary style and because it is hard to tell the exact color online. The size is actually listed incorrectly. This desk is not 67 inches high. It is only 50 inches high which I was happy about. The style is different for me. I have never had a secretary style desk before. When the door/desk is open, it measures 42 iches from the back to where you are seated in front. Luckily we have an open area for the desk. If you have a small area it may not work for you. It took a little getting used to, and we make an effort not to lean on it ( just in case) but after a few days we love it. It makes for better posture as well. The color is beautiful. We were most apprehensive about that but It matches perfectly to our entertainment center that we were trying to match from the picture online. It's listed as dark walnut. It can even be called espresso. The assembly took my husband ( alone.... because I hate that kind of thing ) about 2 1/2 -3 hours. It was worth it. It is such a gorgeous piece of furniture and so sturdy. I looked in many stores and online for days before purchasing this item. Anything comparable to this piece cost more than double the price and shipping was ridiculous. I am extremely pleased and would recommend this piece.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful functional furniture
 from Dayton, OH,  Jan 14, 2009

I was not familiar with "rubber wood" and thought this was going to be some kind of pressed board or composite wood product. I have subsequently learned that rubber wood is a beautiful natural hardwood. I am using this as a sewing cabinet since the only things sold on the market are very expensive and yet cheap looking. This item looks great and is sturdy, roomy and well built.I have purchased and assembled furniture before and must say this was BY FAR the best assembly yet. All of the components were properly aligned and drilled; however the instructions could have been a bit more clear. I am a petite woman and was able to assemble this unit without help (with the exception of attaching the flip down door) in approximately 4 1/2 hours. I am THRILLED with another great purchase from Overstock!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Quality
 from Connecticut,  Aug 1, 2010

I ordered this desk several months ago for my home office/sitting room., but just got around to putting it together. Like many of the previous reviews, I agree that the desk is a challenge to put together. It took my son's and I 2.5 hours to put it together. There are a were about two steps that were not clear and it is really important to check to make sure you have all the pieces facing in the right direction. Once we got past the challenges, the assembly process moved fairly quick. I agree that the drop down is large and I don't feel comfortable applying any pressure. Like one other post, I am going to look at attaching piano hinges. I was not able to use the selves as my monitor sits too high, but I really appreciate having everything stored neatly away. This is a heavy piece of furniture and an excellent value. I would have rated it five starts, except the directions are challenging and the assembly is so time consuming.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wish I got it sooner!
 from New York,  Feb 26, 2009

We love it! It looks awesome, has tons of space for everything and everything is hidden. The drawers are fully extendable so it comes out all the way. Great feature. It took 2 of us about 3 hours to put together. The instructions are daunting. However, the end product is perfect. Only wish it had pre-drilled holes towards the top of the monitor area for the shelf. There are about 7 pre-drilled holes for the pegs but the highest hole was still too low for our monitor. In order to use the shelf, we drilled our own holes which was a bit strenuous. But it was worth it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
TERRIBLE DESIGN
 from St Louis, MO,  Mar 18, 2012

The drop front work surface of this desk is TOO heavy not to have any additional support. I read several reviews before purchasing. We used the hinges enclosed by the mfg AND installed a piano hinge. I still felt that the worksurface would not withstand much weight or pressure. But, before I could decide how to handle it, I was moving the assembled piece (with furniture movers underneath the legs) and the door came open on its own causing the screws in the mfg supplied hinges to be pulled out of the wood, mollies and all.!! So, in my opinion this is a very bad design. When I called Overstock, I was instructed to disassemble & return the item. I don't have the boxes (since all parts were there we put them out for the trash) and our local UPS store said it would cost me approx $100 to buy right size boxes. Last time buying large furniture items online, just too much hassle unless they have a gold glove delivery option allowing for assembly, delivery & pick up if not satisfactory !!! In my opinion this desk could actually be dangerous.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? poor
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful piece of furniture.
 from Florida,  Jan 20, 2009

This workstation is beautiful to look at! The wood and finish are superb. Putting it together, however, took my husband and myself 5 hours! We really had to pay attention to the pictures in the directions. There are a few places where the directions are unclear but we managed to figure them out via trial and error.I'm very pleased with the end result.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Broken door panel
 from Henderson, NV,  May 18, 2012

This review is actually more for the poor cust svc related to this product. I needed to replace the front door panel of this cabinet as one of the hinges broke through the wood. I contacted cust svc, and was given the mfr name and an out of the country ph number. I had to google the company myself, and tried emailing them for information on how to purchase a replacement piece, but unfortunately I have yet to hear back. I can no longer close the front panel, and it is now indefinitely held up by the pull out drawer. So much for having a desk that can conceal everything when not in use.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
VERY POOR DESIGN!
 from El Paso TX,  Mar 30, 2012

This product has potential to be a great piece of furniture but the drop down was not well thought out. It is entirely too heavy to put anything on or even to use alone. It NEEDS to have heavier reinforcement! I will have to go to the local hardware store to figure out what my options are. Once I finished putting it together, I opened it, the shelf fell down and the NAILS RIPPED out of it and the hinges bent too so it will not close properly! Not only did that happen when I tried to put the drawers in one of the rails broke. Also, the leg cracked when screwing in a screw. A whole day has been wasted putting this together! Now I have to fish all of the boxes out of the recycling and figure out how to return this. Please save yourself the trouble and pick out a different workstation. It is beautiful but not good quality!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It was lighter than shown in photo but beautiful.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very solid, heavy wood
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
3 yr and counting --needed modif
 from Norfolk , va,  Mar 7, 2012

Purchased this computer table in late 2009 and love it with some modifications to this day. The real wood has nice deep stain and still looks great. The knob from the right door hit the drawer several times so you can see where the finish is damaged but that is our fault. The file cabinet is deep for generous storage. The top of the desk came with the shelve but we did not put it in as out monitor is 24''. also the bottom cabinet shelf was not installed as the tower could not fit with it. Also, we had to cut larger hole in the back because tower was overheating with front doors closed. As far as functionality goes it needed some modifications but it is a great looking sturdy peace of furniture s it was well worth it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? v good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good but inside measurements would have been helpful
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
JUNK! Poorly designed!
 from Southern Indiana,  Feb 20, 2012

The design is awful! There is nothing to support the top when it opens, so even the weight of your arms and the keyboard will make it sag and thus not close. The file cabinet drawer never closed all the way. It is heavy and solidly made - just a poor design. For what we paid I could have had something built custom and that would have actually worked!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor!!!!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? OK
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
as good as pictured
 from milwaukee, wi,  Dec 27, 2011

The large storage cabinet was just as pictured, just as described. Allow several hours for assebly - and maybe and additional hour simpy to un-pack and inspect! Item color and finish was very good and once assembled the furniture looks in no way "cheap". The only negative comments i have are relatively minor: be careful with the screws - they are cheap and strip easily, and I did have to plane one of the cabinet doors - as i ran out of adjustment on the hinges.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? true to the photos
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. overall quality was good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great desk!
 from VA,  Dec 18, 2011

This is a great, solid desk for the money. While it took awhile for my husband to put it together, he is a super handyman so encountered no problems, especially since the directions were so detailed. BTW, it comes in three heavy boxes. Lots of storage space, compact and attractive. For the money it beats the dickens out of the functionality and appearance of similarly priced pasteboard products. Highly recommend!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? As pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excelent!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for our needs
 from Long Beach, CA,  Dec 16, 2011

This is a great piece of furniture. Heavy and durable. It works as a hidden desk that is always ready to become a workstation. Perfect for our small condo.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent and sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? same
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great if you do not have small children
 from Long Island New York,  Nov 10, 2011

This was fantastic for the first couple months of owning this workstation. Then our 4 yr old did not close the desk completely the it came crashing down and snapped off 4 screws -- half of what was holding the leaf to the rest of the desk. We went to go get a piano hinge -- but it a veryspfic hone

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solid, heavy. Drawer glides are very smooth. Needs a piano hinge.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice workstation- but...
 from Santa Clara, CA,  May 28, 2010

While I had read other reviews stating that this workstation took many hours to assemble, I didn't really expect it to take all day for me and my husband to finish the project. However, it did take ALL day (with a 2 hour break for lunch). The end result is a beautiful piece of furniture, but the assembly was challenging, to say the least, and frustrating at times. All of the pieces were nicely labeled, as was all of the hardware. The instructions had nice illustrations, but there were multiple times that the diagrams switched orientation without warning, causing us to assemble something backwards (for the record, I'm an engineer, so reading diagrams is not a problem for me). Also, it is a very LARGE piece of furniture, so it was rather unwieldy to assemble at certain stages. We also had issues with the drawer slides, but Overstock replaced them quickly, without question. Overall, I am happy with the unit, and it definitely serves the purpose for which I purchased it. It has a great color, and is very sturdy. Just be prepared for a long assembly process.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice item... a few drawbacks
 from seattle, wa,  Sep 24, 2009

***** The item is the dark color I was hoping it would be -- not quite black, but very dark. **** My husband assembled it in approximately 6 hours -- and he is an experienced carpenter and engineer. It wasn't that it was difficult for him, it was just TIME CONSUMING. There is a lot of hardware to deal with. Assembly on other Overstock items has never been something he has mentioned -- he mentioned this one a lot. ***** The depth of the unit doesn't hold our CPU (computer hard-drive box) -- it has to sit sideways, reducing the amount of space in the lower left cabinet.***** Our monitor just fits into the space that holds it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Handsone, sturdy, and well made computer armoir.
 Apr 1, 2016

This is large piece that can handle a large printer, computer, as well as files and miscellaneous office supplies. A very versatile and handsome piece of furniture you are sure to love and enjoy for many years.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Huge, heavy and good quality
 Feb 25, 2016

I put it together myself, but it weighs a ton. All in all, very good quality and a great way to cover up office clutter, I love pulling up table top to cover all electronics inside... much cleaner look. Very happy with this computer cabinet.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The hinges are very weak - mine broke
 Feb 11, 2016

The screw on the right side (looking at the desk) holding the hinge in place for the pull down desktop, pulled out. I noticed that when it did, the hole was too large for the screw and whoever built the desk had just filled the screw hole with a plastic sheath and adhesive to hold the sheath in. Very poor craftsmanship. There is no way to fix the issue, because the screw hole is simply too large for the size screw they used. So instead of using larger screws, they chose to use a rubber sheath - glued into the wood, and then they screwed the smaller screw into the sheath. They should have known that this was not going to hold long, but apparently, they are more concerned about making money as opposed to providing their customers with quality items. At this point in time, I would NOT recommend this desk to anyone who actually needs to use the surface of the pull-down desktop.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 108 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought