Options:
Save for Later
Want to know when you'll get it? Go

What is “Estimated Delivery Date?”

This is an approximate delivery date and is not a guarantee. Delivery estimates are available only for select items to be delivered in the contiguous United States, excluding APO/FPO addresses and PO boxes. Your final shipping cost will be available at checkout.

OverstockTM Store Credit Card

6 or 12 Month Special
Financing Available
No Payments & No Interest on orders over
$150 if you pay in full within 6 months.
Learn More ›
No Payments & No Interest on orders over
$150 if you pay in full within 6 months.
Learn More ›

Large Square Sail Sun Shade

Overall Rating Rating 4.4  |  45 reviews  |  Write a review
Today $99.99
Item #: 12585257
Very High Sellout Risk
    Perfect for covering patios, courtyards, playgrounds, or parking lots, this sun shade is a great way to add a touch of comfort anywhere in your yard. This shade blocks up to 90-percent of UV rays....more

Frequently Bought Together

Buy Together and Save 0% *

* Cannot be combined with other promotions.

People Who Viewed This Viewed

Sponsored Links What's This?
    • Color options: Beige, yellow,silver,hunter green
    • Breathable fabric construction results in significant temperature reduction underneath the sail
    • Made from UV stabilized extra heavy fabric
    • Suitable for covering patios to protect your patio furniture, courtyards, playgrounds, and parking lots
    • Simply hose clean
    • Adjustable 16-18 feet
    • Nylon ropes may be looped around anchor points such as metal poles or concrete pillars directly, or used with screw eye loops and wood anchors for wooden anchor points such as trees or wooden posts
    • A drill with boring bit in a slightly smaller diameter than the anchor itself will be required to create a pilot hole for the wood anchors
    • Turnbuckles allow for adjustments to tension after hanging

    Installation hardware includes

  • Four (4) 10-foot strands of nylon rope (1 per corner)
  • Eight (8) 3/16-inch wire rope clips to create a loop at both ends of the nylon rope
  • Four (4) 5/16-inch recessed wood anchors
  • Four (4) 5/16-inch screw eye loops to screw into wood anchors and provide loops for nylon rope
  • Eight (8) 5/16-inch nuts and washers
  • Four (4) 1/4-inch turnbuckles (1 per corner)

Posts not included
Dimensions:
18 ft. x 18 ft.
Materials:
Low Density Polyethylene, Nylon, Steel

Features

  • Color
    Green, Silver, Tan, Yellow
  • Style
    Casual
  • Material
    Metal, Synthetic Fiber, Wood
  • Shape
    Square
  • Assembly
    Assembled, Assembly Required
Was this product information helpful?
Yes No
Thank you for your feedback.
 
 
 
Thank you. Your feedback will help us create the best experience for our customers.

Showing 5 most helpful reviews on this product.

  • 5 Stars 23
  • 4 Stars 17
  • 3 Stars 4
  • 2 Stars 1
  • 1 Stars 0
  • Good Value Shade

    We bought this to shade part of our pool from the intense Texas sun. It's still spring but it is already doing a good job. The included hardware was poor quality but I expected that based on reviews from others. Installation went well after picking up some good turnbuckles and anchor bolts from the hardware store. This product is large and awkward so plan on having a couple of able bodied folks on hand for installation especially if stretching it over a pool. Given our available mounting locations, we weren't able to mount it with 2 diagonal corners higher than the others as recommended in the instructions. This led to a sag in the center with our installation due to the size/weight of the product. It stood up to some big winds but seemed ready to "take flight" so I'd recommend taking it down if high winds are expected.

    • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
  • Adequate Shade

    This shade does provide an adequate amount of shade but the product description is misleading. It says the dimensions are 18x18 when in fact that is the possible dimension it can be stretched to, at least that is what I was told by the customer service rep. The square shade went up as shown however no matter how much tension we put on it even with a pitch allowed for rain, dew, etc it still sags in the middle. i am thinking overall the traingular ones would have been a better buy than the square. The sagging in the middle drives me crazy not to mention that overall it is not good for the fabrics longterm wear.

    • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? the color was right on target
    • Please tell us about the quality of the product. quality appears to be good
    • How accurate was the on site description of the product? not quite accurate
    • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
  • Great Shade, Dangerously Horrible Hardware

    Do not underestimate the poor quality of the included hardware, especially the turnbuckles. Unlike some other reviewers, I went ahead and attempted installation with the included hardware. Without even reaching the necessary tension, one of the turnbuckles failed completely, with the eye bolt slipping right through the turnbuckle body. Local hardware store sells stainless 5 1/4" turnbuckles for about $5/each. The shade itself is very nice and appears to be good quality, but they sure dropped the ball on the hardware and would have been better off not even including it.

    • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
    • How is the quality of the product? excellent, except for hardware
    • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
    • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
  • True Test

    Two weeks ago we had a bad bad storm come thru our area, our shade sail is hung under our soffit with heavy eye bolts and off the house I put in two 6x6 post concreted in the ground with heavy eye bolts too, well the strom came thru and we had 80 MPH winds I was worried stood at the door and watched the shade sail it just waved in the wind I was amazed with stood 80 MPH winds great product but I would also say it was anchored very well too. worth the money only downfall it you still get some of the hot sun thru it.

    • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
    • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Outstanding
    • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
    • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

    twhitt65 from Hagerstown, Maryland, Jun 8, 2012

    Flag As Inappropriate
  • Great for schools

    I purcahsed to of these sails for our playground. They were very affordable. Our handyman installed them with a helper. It was definitely a 2-man job. He replaced the hardware with a better quality and the ropes with steel cables because we were concerned ablout wear and tear. The sails look great and provide cool shade. The children and staff are enjoying them.

    • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
View All Most Helpful Reviews
  • Read the dimensions!

    I misread the dimensions which are given in meters not feet! This is huge and we have no place to put it but it has been opened so I can't send it back. The quality looks good if we had a place to put it!

    Good
    Poor
    Excellent
    Excellent
    Poor
    Excellent
    Excellent
    Poor
    Excellent
    • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
    Flag

    kdrnec from MD, Aug 10, 2014

  • sun screen works

    great price and great results. just what we had in mind.

    Good
    Poor
    Excellent
    Excellent
    Poor
    Excellent
    Good
    Poor
    Excellent
    • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
    Flag

    flaheadlake from Montana, Jul 28, 2014

  • NOT waterproof

    I ordered this item because I though it was waterproof but it was not. Therefore I will be returning it shortly. However, it was nice material and really well made. Great buy if that is all you are looking for.

    Fair
    Poor
    Excellent
    Average
    Poor
    Excellent
    Good
    Poor
    Excellent
    • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
    Flag

    nanjo57 from Pittsfield, MA, Jul 26, 2014

  • Large Sun Shade

    Product is as stated, using mine as shade over inground pool. Works great and gives my family the shade so they can swim longer during the scorching summers we have.

    Excellent
    Poor
    Excellent
    Excellent
    Poor
    Excellent
    Excellent
    Poor
    Excellent
    • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
    Flag

    slktexas from South Texas, Jul 24, 2014

  • It's a perfect shade over the deck

    It's huge, so be ready for that. We had a 16x16 prior and this one we ended up using the hardware that came with it because the loops were shorter. We run stainless steel crossover lines under it to keep the sag to a minimum. It provides great shade for the back of our house. It has been through a few rain/wind storms and held up great. The weave is really tight so not as much water comes through as ones we have had in the past.

    Excellent
    Poor
    Excellent
    Excellent
    Poor
    Excellent
    Excellent
    Poor
    Excellent
    • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
    Flag

    ewayne from Colorado Springs, CO, Jul 15, 2014

View All Most Recent Reviews

Product Q&A

Ask a Question

what is the grams per square meter? jungle12 on Jul 21, 2014
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

Hello jungle12, this shade has received excellent reviews! Unfortunately, we don't currently have the grams per square meter of this material. I apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you for shopping with us. overstockcustomercare1 on Jul 22, 2014
 
 

Can I fasten 2 corners to the Home, without using the rope? Like direct to the home? milbar on Jun 23, 2014
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

Hello milbar, This shade is lovely! Yes, you could fasten the shade to your house with the proper hardware. I hope this information helps. Thanks for shopping with us. overstockcustomercare1 on Jun 25, 2014
 
 

Will the sail be high enough that I can still use my fir pit under it? vlpowell213 on May 25, 2014
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

depends on how high you hang the sail! I would say you need it up so high that it wouldn't shade where you are sitting around the fire pit. lizzy3954 on May 30, 2014
 
 

What is the wind rating for this sail? ahunt1 on Sep 19, 2013
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

Hello ahunt1, I really like this sun shade! Unfortunately, we do not have a wind rating for this sail, as this varies based on fixture/hardware use, fixing location, and proper installation. I apologize for the inconvenience. Thanks for shopping with us. overstockcustomercare1 on Sep 26, 2013
 
 

Can this item be waterproofed with scotchguard? (since you state it isn't waterproof) browneyesblue on Jul 8, 2013
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

You could use scotch guard. pattipoof on Jul 9, 2013
 
 

Can you mount it in a way that would be easy to remove/put back up? Like if we want to cover our patio but then be able to take it down when we want to use the firepite? barfield85 on Jun 19, 2013
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

Hi barfield85, it may be possible unfortunately we are unable to advise any alternate ways to set up this unit besides what is entailed in the directions. We apologize for the inconvenience and recommend consulting a professional regarding a custom set up. Thanks for shopping with us. overstockcustomercare1 on Jun 26, 2013
 
 

what is the load range on the tension turnbuckles? kborski on Jun 5, 2013
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

Hi kborski, we tried verifying this information with our support team. Unfortunately we do not have this information. We apologize for the inconvenience. overstockcustomercare1 on Jun 14, 2013
 
 

Is this product woven or knitted spudsail on May 24, 2013
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

tight weave cookiesha on May 28, 2013
 
 

I put this in one of our healthcares over a patio and I need the fire rating to put inour files. Can you help me with this. Thanks  on Aug 29, 2012
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

I''m sorry, but that information is not available to us at this time. overstockcustomercare1 on Aug 29, 2012
 
You can't ask the manufacturer if it is fire rated? This is all I need. Simply question to ask. It say UV rated. What does this entail?  on Aug 31, 2012
 
 

Three part question: 1) Does this shade have nylon webbing the full length of the sides, or just at the corners? 2) Is the low density polyethelene (LDPE) woven or knit 3) can you describe the weight of the ldpe on a per square meter (or square foot) basis, as seems to be the standard in australia, where these things originated. Thanks.  on Aug 8, 2012
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

This features nylon webbing on the full length of the sides. The LDPE is woven. The weight is 230 grams per square meter. overstockcustomercare1 on Aug 9, 2012
 
 

Can I order an extra large triangle? roberttt on Jul 30, 2012
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

Unfortunately, we do not carry this item in an extra large. overstockcustomercare1 on Jul 31, 2012
 
 

do you have the large sail in silver available options are only green and yellow ponypower on Jul 18, 2012
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

At the present time, we do have the silver option available. The availability of this item may change in the future. overstockcustomercare1 on Jul 18, 2012
 
 

Is this a Coolaroo Brand? ljsgby6 on Jul 6, 2012
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

Unfortunately, we don''t have the manufacturer''s information for this particular item. overstockcustomercare1 on Jul 10, 2012
 
 

Can you tell me what the Sail Shade weighs daryld on Jul 1, 2012
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

It weighs 11 pounds. overstockcustomercare1 on Jul 10, 2012
 
 

the sail says it is adjustable from 16-18 feet. if it is installed parrellel to the ground how much space will it cover? chicken835 on Jun 21, 2012
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

This is a response we received from our distributor The question does not have just one correct answer once we think about it. Here are the facts and why: 1. The sail itself is NOT adjustable from 16-18’ to start with. Measured from corner to corner it measures 5.40m or 212 5/8” or approx. 17’ and 8 5/8” 2. Being a square all sides are the same 3. The problem though are the curved sides being part of the, which under correct tension will leave and approx. net area of around 21.3 square meter or 229.2 square feet. 4. Yet the gross area required to fix it would be much more due to the shape and required turn buckles to fix each corner which will add to the overall area. Hence the minimum gross area required to fix it would be around: 5.55mx5.55m = 30.8 square meter or 331.5 square feet. As people are generally asking about the shadow area under the sail (the whole point I presume), the biggest problem/variable for the shadow area underneath the sail when mounted parallel to the floor is the anglel of the sun and the mounting height. As the angle of the sun changes from nearly 0 in the morning, to depending on where on the planet to up to 90 degrees on the equator line (where I believe the US in not located ) at noon and back to 0 again, thus changes the projected area of the sail in the same way. Hence, there is not just one correct answer as he area changes dramatically depending on the location on the planet, the time of day and the height the sail is fixed. Hope I did help at least a but rather than creating more confusion  overstockcustomercare1 on Jun 27, 2012
 
 

What is the warranty on this product?  on Jun 11, 2012
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

We are very sorry, but this item does not have any type of warranty coverage on it. overstockcustomercare1 on Jun 13, 2012
 
 

We'd like to use this over a pergola to protect from sun and rain Is this waterproof? ana17 on Jun 10, 2012
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

No, it is not waterproof. overstockcustomercare1 on Jun 12, 2012
 
can this protect you from the rain is it waterproof? kimshedish7 on Jun 12, 2012
 
 

How to adjust from 16-18 feet? The triangle hardware/ring should be attached to the 4 corners of the shade, how can it be adjusted? chameleon2008 on May 23, 2012
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

It is a matter of tying it higher. The hardware will be used on all four corners of this item. overstockcustomercare1 on May 24, 2012
 
 

I'm looking at buying the18' square sail. What is best to hang these on for mounting?  on May 17, 2012
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

You can attach this sail to any fixed structure. It comes with a variety of hardware for you to choose from when mounting to different types of materials. overstockcustomercare1 on May 22, 2012
 
 

What do you suggest we attach these sail to. 2 x 2 x 8" posts?  on May 17, 2012
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

A list of all installation hardware needed is included with this product, and is readily available at any local hardware store. overstockcustomercare1 on May 29, 2012
 
 

Be the first to ask a question about this product.
Shipping:

Usually leaves our warehouse in 1-2 business days. *

Standard Return Policy:

Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More details

FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

Shipping Information:

Our standard shipping method is ground shipping. We also offer expedited shipping for most items. Your final shipping cost and estimated delivery timeframe will be available at checkout.
Standard shipping details
Expedited shipping details

* For your safety, some orders go through our loss prevention department. If we select your order for this process, we will immediately notify you that there may be up to a 3-day delay on your order.

** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.

Buy Now with Bitcoin Learn More