Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 48 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Good Value Shade
 from Dallas, TX,  Apr 2, 2011

We bought this to shade part of our pool from the intense Texas sun. It's still spring but it is already doing a good job. The included hardware was poor quality but I expected that based on reviews from others. Installation went well after picking up some good turnbuckles and anchor bolts from the hardware store. This product is large and awkward so plan on having a couple of able bodied folks on hand for installation especially if stretching it over a pool. Given our available mounting locations, we weren't able to mount it with 2 diagonal corners higher than the others as recommended in the instructions. This led to a sag in the center with our installation due to the size/weight of the product. It stood up to some big winds but seemed ready to "take flight" so I'd recommend taking it down if high winds are expected.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Adequate Shade
 from New Caney, TX,  May 27, 2012

This shade does provide an adequate amount of shade but the product description is misleading. It says the dimensions are 18x18 when in fact that is the possible dimension it can be stretched to, at least that is what I was told by the customer service rep. The square shade went up as shown however no matter how much tension we put on it even with a pitch allowed for rain, dew, etc it still sags in the middle. i am thinking overall the traingular ones would have been a better buy than the square. The sagging in the middle drives me crazy not to mention that overall it is not good for the fabrics longterm wear.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? the color was right on target
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. quality appears to be good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? not quite accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Shade, Dangerously Horrible Hardware
 from Houston, TX,  Jun 22, 2011

Do not underestimate the poor quality of the included hardware, especially the turnbuckles. Unlike some other reviewers, I went ahead and attempted installation with the included hardware. Without even reaching the necessary tension, one of the turnbuckles failed completely, with the eye bolt slipping right through the turnbuckle body. Local hardware store sells stainless 5 1/4" turnbuckles for about $5/each. The shade itself is very nice and appears to be good quality, but they sure dropped the ball on the hardware and would have been better off not even including it.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? excellent, except for hardware
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
True Test
 from Hagerstown, Maryland,  Jun 8, 2012

Two weeks ago we had a bad bad storm come thru our area, our shade sail is hung under our soffit with heavy eye bolts and off the house I put in two 6x6 post concreted in the ground with heavy eye bolts too, well the strom came thru and we had 80 MPH winds I was worried stood at the door and watched the shade sail it just waved in the wind I was amazed with stood 80 MPH winds great product but I would also say it was anchored very well too. worth the money only downfall it you still get some of the hot sun thru it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Outstanding
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for schools
 from San Jose, CA,  May 25, 2011

I purcahsed to of these sails for our playground. They were very affordable. Our handyman installed them with a helper. It was definitely a 2-man job. He replaced the hardware with a better quality and the ropes with steel cables because we were concerned ablout wear and tear. The sails look great and provide cool shade. The children and staff are enjoying them.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Large square shade sail
 from Franklin, Texas,  Jun 12, 2012

We upgraded the hardware to install this shade sail. As we live in Texas and face heavy winds daily on our hilltop acreage, I read the other reviews and made the decision to use stronger hardware and wire instead of the nylon rope. I am using the shade sail over my vegetable garden as the Texas sun is extremely brutal in the later summer months. I believe this will keep my garden producing throughout the season and into the fall.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? As described
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality. Compares to those used in commercial applications.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best investment I made in a long time
 from Sacramento, California,  Oct 31, 2011

After 2 umbrellas breaking (200$ and 300$), and one gazebo (350$), I saw a sun shade while driving and thought I would give it a try. I already spent $850 on the umbrellas that had broke and the wind ripped the gazebo to shreds, so for the price less than any of those I ordered this. Its huge, its perfect, its thick and drops the temp by at least 10* , and I am so very happy with it. It requires two people and a good amount of strength to get it up tight but it can be moved, or put away for the winter, and its even been rained on with no issues WHATSOEVER! I highly recommend it. I give it 10 stars even though 5 was as high as I could rate it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes and matches nearly any patio furniture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality, VERY durable, capable of handling decent amount of wind and even rain
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? true
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works better than expected.
 from Mobile,AL,  Aug 23, 2011

Everything is wounderful. Very easy and fast to install. Bought new hardware instead of using the rope they sent I got wire so it would't sag. Very great shade and BIG.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good so far.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent product
 from Rancho Santa Margarita, CA,  May 28, 2013

We get full sun in the backyard all day long, and in the summertime it gets really hot. We used the Sail Sun Shades over our slatted patio roof attached to the back of the house and it lowered the temperature under the patio and in the rooms on the back of the house by 10-20 degrees. At the height of the summer, prior to us installing these shades, it was impossible to sit out on the patio because it was unbearably hot. Now we can sit outside all summer long and enjoy the backyard, It also helped to reduce our air conditioning bill. Great product. We've had our Sail Sun Shade for over 2 years now, and will likely purchase more of them.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect color match.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate description.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sail shade
 from New orleans, la,  Aug 8, 2012

The product was ok....but smaller than i thought wanted 18 foot of covered space....much smaller

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Ok
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Shade is good...hardware is not so good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Confusing....size of 16-18 feet without a good explanation
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect Sun Shade
 from Dallas, Texas,  Aug 19, 2011

Purchased two of these for our business. The fabric is great but no so much the hardware. Went to Home Depot and bought heavy duty hardware and it looks and works great!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sun Shade
 from Houston, Texas,  Jul 19, 2011

Did not work for us - we could not get the sail high enough, had to return it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color was as described
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good heavy quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate description
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent.
 Feb 12, 2015

I used this over my deck last summer and my Granddaughter played under it in the baby pool and never got sun burned. It kept my deck much cooler. I love it. I packed it up for the winter, and will put it out again this summer. I did buy larger/stronger hooks/screws.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sun shade
 from vermont,  Oct 15, 2014

Love the sun shades! I have a few and I keep finding new locations for them. I have horses and I use them off the side of the barn for shade ,rain,and snow. Easy to put up move around. I've had one of them 3 years still looks great through sun,snow,wind of Vermont's weather. Love love the sun shade!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Loving it on the patio
 from Montana,  Sep 4, 2014

Very nice product my ONLY criticism is I wish it came in a bright orange color. The yellow is fine but I would have preferred something brighter. It looks great and functions just as it should.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Read the dimensions!
 from MD,  Aug 10, 2014

I misread the dimensions which are given in meters not feet! This is huge and we have no place to put it but it has been opened so I can't send it back. The quality looks good if we had a place to put it!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
sun screen works
 from Montana,  Jul 28, 2014

great price and great results. just what we had in mind.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
NOT waterproof
 from Pittsfield, MA,  Jul 26, 2014

I ordered this item because I though it was waterproof but it was not. Therefore I will be returning it shortly. However, it was nice material and really well made. Great buy if that is all you are looking for.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Large Sun Shade
 from South Texas,  Jul 24, 2014

Product is as stated, using mine as shade over inground pool. Works great and gives my family the shade so they can swim longer during the scorching summers we have.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It's a perfect shade over the deck
 from Colorado Springs, CO,  Jul 15, 2014

It's huge, so be ready for that. We had a 16x16 prior and this one we ended up using the hardware that came with it because the loops were shorter. We run stainless steel crossover lines under it to keep the sag to a minimum. It provides great shade for the back of our house. It has been through a few rain/wind storms and held up great. The weave is really tight so not as much water comes through as ones we have had in the past.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 48 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought