Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Poor Quality Control at Factory
 from Woburn, MA,  Mar 4, 2013

This is a nice piece of furniture. Assembly was a little time-consuming, but the instructions are good. Take your time to lay out everything and follow the instructions step by step. One gripe I have is that the holes for the center leg, the one that is at the bottom center of the bench, were not pre-drilled. I had to do that myself and the screws did not go all the way in, at least not using that little L shaped tool provided. I had to balance the chair using those floor protectors under the four corner legs. Poor quality control I say. Another more important gripe is also related to the quality control on this product. The side board was scratched in one spot, as if someone left a sharp tool leaning against it for years. This damage did not happen during shipping. After taking all the pieces out, and to avoid the hassles of returning this product for an exchange I decided to touch up the scratches with a furniture marker and thanks to the lighting at the final location of this bench it is not too visible. There was a time when this would have driven me nuts.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color matches the picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This bench is perfect for our entryway. We keep
 from Washington, DC,  Jan 4, 2014

We purchased several pieces to serve as shoe racks for our entryway. This serves as both a seat to sit on as we put on our shoes as well as holding some shoes. We also keep some small things in the drawers like gloves, and spare fluffy socks for guests who take off their shoes and would like to keep their feet warm. It's such a pretty bench too! We love it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful bench with some workmanship issues
 from San Francisco,  Dec 1, 2013

Beautiful bench if you can get the hardware and workmanship to work with you, but the biggest pain in the butt to put together. This should only take 1-1.5hrs to assemble, but I experienced cam locks not twisting into place, drill holes for cam screws not being big enough...(I had to pull out my own power drill to widen the holes), and #5 screws that wouldn't tighten no matter how much you turned them, making for a wobbly attachment. I ended up removing and using my own longer wood screws which worked just fine. Hope others will have a better time putting them together - otherwise a beautiful bench.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice bench once assembled
 from Olympic peninsula, Washington,  Mar 9, 2013

It is a complex piece of furniture to assemble, but if you follow the nicely detailed directions and pay attention, it's quite doable. Would not recommend for those who get easily frustrated or do not like to read instructions. Like others, I found an issue where pilot holes were supposed to be drilled for the center support foot but they weren't there, so I needed a drill in addition to the rubber mallet, flat and phillips screwdrivers. Once assembled, it's a very functional nice looking bench that looks great in my entryway.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Save yourself time and money and do not buy
 from Missouri,  Aug 10, 2014

Thought this bench looked very nice and assumed by the price it might be of decent quality. Boy was I mistaken. This is one of those typical put-it-together-yourself Chinese junk piles. None of the pre-drilled holes lined up, those horrible little fasteners with the stud that goes into the cheap pot-metal lock are really all that holds it together. The backrest doesn't line up, there is a gap between it and the seat on the right and the left side is smack against the seat. The drawers, oh man don't get me started on the drawers. Bought an entertainment center from Overstock a while back and it was great quality and look, but I am not sure I will be returning to Overstock in the future after this purchase. Overstock please remove this product from your line-up, I love your furniture but this will crush your business.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful but not easy to assemble!
 from Philadelphia, PA,  May 19, 2014

I was thoroughly impressed when we opened the box and saw the quality of the wood (real wood, not cheap press board or other) and lovely dark stain. I became rapidly disenchanted as each step of the assembly process was more trouble than expected. One piece had been drilled on the wrong side. The cam-locks (usually a boon in assembly-required furniture) are incredibly difficult to manage--the pre-drilled holes for the cam screws are too small or something. Most of the other pieces lacked any kind of pre-drilled holes to facilitate the process. The bench is still sitting incomplete in our entry until we have time and energy to do the pre-drilling ourselves. If we can ever get it together, I think it will be beautiful but right now, it is just a source of resentment! (Thankfully, this product has proven to be the exception to the Overstock experience!)

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice once together
 from Washington, DC,  Apr 13, 2014

Very stylish, nice sturdy materials. The assembly was slightly difficult secondary to cheap hardware and pre drilled holes that don't align perfectly. Once we got it together it looks great and is very functional. Quality wise it seems like it will last a long time. Overall, very happy with this purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful bench
 from North Carolina,  Feb 19, 2014

Beautiful bench. Great style and color. Nice and heavy. Assembles in about 20 minutes. Love it!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
** only bc it looks very nice
 from Long Island, NY,  Feb 7, 2014

While this piece looks amazing assembled, what a nightmare to actually assemble. Pieces were missing, parts were wrong. Do not tighten the cam lock screws all the way to the end of the thread, or they won't be long enough to lock into the cam...discovered this wonderful tidbit after breaking over 5 cams. Some screws are impossible to get to (deep in the bench) and take over 10 minutes each to tighten. Even though this piece took over 3 weeks to assemble (waiting for parts included), it does look smart in my hallway. However, I would never order from this manufacturer again. They were quick to remedy the situation, but it wasn't worth the hassle.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
awesome product.
 from CA,  Dec 25, 2013

awesome product. the bench is adequately sized. the instructions are not clear and too confusing.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not the most quality prodcut
 from Ypsilanti, MI,  Aug 19, 2013

It was tough to build this product as many of the holes drilled did not fit the appropriate screws, the directions were also confusing and out of order. Not to mention it took about 3 weeks to receive the product because of shipping issues.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A great entryway addition
 from Fort Lauderdale, FL,  Jul 25, 2013

I was very pleased with this bench. Most of the benches I saw in stores were too small, but this one was just the right size. Two adults can definitely fit comfortably on this bench. The shoe storage is a great feature and the drawers are the right size for stashing the mail. The only negative comment I have is that the drawers don't open and shut as easily as I'd like, but it wouldn't have prevented me from buying it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect Fit
 from Athens, AL,  May 17, 2013

I have hardwood floors throughout my house and I wanted somewhere I could sit on entry and take off my shoes and put them out of the way but yet still easily assessible for when I needed to go outside. This was the perfect item. Just the right fit behind my front door and I can even use it for seating if needed. Color is great, design will work with just about any decor style, and bench is very sturdy and is quite comfortable even with out a cushion.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Matched perfectly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description of product was right on the dot.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice...but smaller than expected
 from Dallas, TX,  May 17, 2013

I ordered this bench to fill in an empty spot in our entryway near the front door. It took me about 2 1/2 hours to put it together by myself. While it is a nice bench, it is a lot smaller than I thought it would be. It provides a nice place to put shoes, but I will need some other items to fill in the wall space, beside and above the bench. Had I seen it in a store, I might not have bought it because of the size, other than that the wood seems to be of good quality.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? True color, same as picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The bench completed my room remodel perfectly.,
 from Virginia,  Apr 30, 2013

I'm very pleased with the product, but even more please with how customer service handled my situation.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color matched exactly as pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. After receiving a damaged product, customer service was quick to fix the issue by replacing the damaged items. I received the new items within 5 days.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The on site description was exactly as the final assembaled product
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect for my entry!
 from St. Paul, MN,  Apr 25, 2013

I recommend this without hesitation. It was simple to put together and perfect for my entry. I looked for over a year to find a moderate sized, contemporary bench that would seat two and has storage. Once again Overstock delivers! It's just as pictured online and true to the dimensions described.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? As pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate description
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good purchase
 from New Jersey,  Jan 11, 2013

This bench comes with great directions,very well labeled and organized parts, and a spare parts bag. The pieces are quality and accurately drilled, and the final product looks just as it does on the web. The drawers work great.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? As expected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Sturdy and quality parts
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Quality
 from Wilmington, NC,  Jan 5, 2013

Take your time and read the directions carefully first and organizes all the pieces in order before putting this together and it will save you a lot of headache. This is nice but its not easy to put together.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good construction
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not for novices
 from Southern California,  Dec 27, 2012

Using professional tools, this took me nearly 3 hours to assemble. I'm very good at construction and I would rate this as difficult to construct. There are more than 100 screws and dowels used in the construction. If you aren't good at screwing things in straight and true, you'll never get the parts to align together. You'll need screwdrivers (straight and phillips), a rubber mallet and a straight allen wrench. The allen wrench provided is bent allen wrench and you won't have enough clearance to secure the screws in tight areas. This includes the 6 screws which hold down the seat. The instructions are reasonably good and the parts are labeled. On the downside, things aren't labeled top/bottom/back/front. There are 8 or so types of screws so you do need to really pay attention. There are also places where there should have been pilot holes, but there weren't. If you can get through the construction, this i's a good looking, solid piece that is small in scale.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? A reasonably good match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. All wood and quality hardware
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good, but the photo is misleading since the scale of the piece is much smaller than it appears
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought