Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 51 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
We have only great things to say
 from San Francisco,  Jun 30, 2010

We have only great things to say about the LaRue Entertainment Console and overstock.com. We love our LaRue Entertainment Console because (1) Color: It's deep chocolate with an evenly painted semi-gloss coating that makes the piece look upscale. (2) Design: It looks so much better than any IKEA design and better in real life than the picture. (3) Price: Unbeatable value -- it's so good, we bought 3. (4) Quality: Very good quality for the price. The console is made with real solid wood on the outside and every piece else that's not visible from the outside is made with particle boards. The rails for the drawers are definitely much better quality than IKEA's quality. (5) Build: My husband has the power tool and it took him 4 hours to build the first. Then having gained the experience, the other two took about 3 hours total. (6) Storage: Lots of storage... a lot more than I imagined by looking at the picture. And we love shopping at overstock.com because it is the best site for good deals. Overstock.com customer service is excellent. One of the sliding doors came cracked and I contacted customer service, a replacement door arrived in 3 days. We were told to email a picture to show the crack... something I would have done too even if they didn't ask. They made the entire process so simple and provided constant reassurance keeping me to be one of their many satisfied customers.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Piece!
 from MN,  Jun 11, 2010

This is a great piece! It looks fantastic! Took my husband 2 hrs to assemble (with power tools & my help). Easy enough to assemble...just takes time. Sold wood (except back & drawer sides/backs/bottoms), sophisticated and rich color, tons of storage space, the doors slide smoothly in the metal tracks (door bottoms have what look like tiny in-line skate wheels) An almost identical piece (by designer with mitered corners, but no metal tracks) currently sells at a place that rhymes with Broom & Cord for 3-4x what Overstock sells this for! The only knock I can give it is that it seems more tippy on carpet (I'm guessing due to the style of the base) than it might be if it had a leg at each of the four outside corners). Oh and one of the drawer backs arrived with a 6" side to side crack...a little wood glue and now it's fine. It's not noticable as it's a piece hidden internally and not one of the nice solid wood pieces that someone can see (those arrived perfectly!) After seeing this in my home, I would definitely puchase it again!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Big & Beautiful
 from Bethesda, MD,  Dec 31, 2009

This item is great and I really like it. It could easily be used for a media center with a massive TV. I have another piece of furniture already (I paid 3 times more than this for) for my TV, so I'm using this as a console in my dining room. It works and looks great and could be used for either application. You could put your hardware (stereo, DVD, HD cable box etc.. on the right side (the shelves adjust and there are cut outs so you can run all of your cables out of sight then out the back/bottom - perfect)). I put it together alone fine (i spread it out over 3 days through, it took a while).Now here's the bumps I hit... when it arrived the last piece in the last box that I unpacked had what looked like a scratch on it from top to bottom, it was one of the sides. On further inspection it was a cut right through the entire piece of wood, and with any pressure it would snap in half. Overstock customer support via their online chat option hooked me up. Within a day from reporting this problem they sent me an e-mail with the UPS tracking number for the replacement part that they were shipping me.That is the BEST service I've ever had online!! Now when the part arrived over a week later (due to weekends, holidays etc..) it was boxed up SOOO poorly, it was sticking out of the box and scrapping on the ground!! Luckily the scratches are hidden when I put it together, so bottom line is that I'm very happy with this and would have expected to pay twice as much or more for it it I'd seen it at a high end furniture store.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful on the outside, but...
 from West Coast,  Dec 7, 2010

The La Rue is beautiful on the outside and appears to be sturdy, but I agree with the other poster that the interior sections are made of less-solid materials. Our console arrived with several pieces cracked, broken, or gouged, even though the packaging seemed more than sufficient. Overstock has said that they'll be replaced promptly, and judging by past purchases I imagine they will be. The directions were decent (not as bad as the ones with Plateau computer desk, reviewed elsewhere). Putting the La Rue together was time-consuming but not confusing. We've bought several pieces of furniture from Overstock. My spouse has just about had it with the dings and imperfections that occur in the shipping process and hates the DIY part, but if this piece holds together it's still a reasonably good deal because most of the imperfections are in less-exposed places. I find most media consoles ugly, and the only one I really loved, from********** *******, costs nearly 3x what we paid for the La Rue. I might have given it a 4-star review but I'm worried about the durability of the inside. Oh yes, the other reviewers are correct. The drawers are deep but aren't as useful as they might be.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Practically Perfect!
 from Chicago, IL,  May 27, 2009

This entertainment for was just what we were looking for, and overall, we couldn't be happier. Other units we considered were: 1) A lot lower to the ground,which would have meant going through the hassle of wall mounting the TV, but with this unit our 42" LCD is at the perfect height for viewing 2) Were the right price, but did not have this contemporary look/were made of cheap material-- this has the look and is a heavy, solid piece of real wood furniture and/or 3) Had a similar look to this unit/style but with a MUCH higher price tag. Also note that on the shelf side, the back of the shelves and the unit have a space to drop all the wires down to keep things organized and clean looking. And the drawers are HUGE-- just one held all the DVDs from our old DVD tower! We put ours in a nook, so the back of the unit is not exposed-- but be aware that the back is seriously a large piece of particle board (or really thin, flimsy wood) with a giant piece of packing tape across. Three of the pieces came with cracks in them-- not sure if this was a workmanship issue or a shipping issue (the boxes were really beat up when they arrived). One was only slightly cracked (still noticeable though)-- but it was the side piece and you can't see it when it's put together. The other 2 were of more concern, since they were part of the drawers-- didn't feel like shipping back so just used some gorilla glue on them & worked fine & can't see them. Lastly, assembly takes a LONG time. There were two of us & it took over 4 hours!!! These are minor issues, though, and wouldn't prevent me from ordering again or recommending this unit to others-- it really is a stunning & practical piece!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice unit But . . .
 from Tampa, Florida,  Apr 4, 2013

Although the unit is nice looking the top drawer of the unit is not easy to open. It appears to be a design issue and am surprised no one else has mentioned this. I went over and over the directions to make certain we did not deviate in any way that would cause this to issue but that does not appear to be the case. The top drawer is so close to the top the unit it is difficult to get it open. If the drawers had a divet at the bottom of the drawer to hold on to it would have made more sense. Maybe I am a little OCD, but the sliding doors although they glide very easily, are very noisey when sliding across the rail. The unit is very easy to assemble but even so takes a great deal of time. I would have given this a 4 star rating but the top drawer is very disappointing.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Fairly Good for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this piece
 from Boston, MA,  Jun 30, 2011

After shopping for months for an etertainment center that was unique looking yet functional I settled on this. It is great, assembly took a few hours. It looks great, and I love that I can close the doors and not see any electronics. The drawers are great for storage of toys.games. Awesome for the $$ again..another great deal from overstock.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Excellent
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GOOD Product TUFF Assembly
 from New York, NY,  Jun 25, 2011

The quality of the entertainment stand was great but assembling it was very tough. It was tough because some of the peaces were heavy do to the good quality so can't really complain about that except to say that I wish it came fully assembled.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Good
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gorgeous, Sleek Console
 from Arizona,  May 8, 2011

The console is great looking and is a good quality product. Other reveiwers were accurate that it came in (3) heavy boxes (well packaged) and will require (2) people to put it together. It took us (4) hours to put it together using an electric screwdriver. (Installation note: When attaching the bottom rail (H) and left (I) and right (J) legs pay close attention to this step (4) to make sure the rail (which hides wires behind it when set up) is facing the correct direction and that the #15 screw goes into the rail. We had it flipped upside down and had to back up a bit to fix it.) Details are great too: adjustable shelf pins are metal, black plastic covers are provided to hide the cam-locks providing a finished look inside drawers, and the doors slide really well. The drawers are deep enough to hold DVDs on their side, blankets, and games. There is cord management at the back of the shelves so the cords can drop behind them and then to the ground. The bottom rail hides them all! We have a power strip with wires for the speakers, receiver, DVD player, iPod dock, Roku, and gaming system all hidden behind/ below the console so that it pushes up flush against the wall. Overstock was helpful too as we received (1) cracked drawer front. I called them up as we were putting the unit together and received the new front two days later. It was an easy fix.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? The unit is mostly wood with the exception of the back panel
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
just right
 from Columbus, Ohio,  Apr 17, 2011

Looks great... it is a very dark brown. We have a 65 inch plasma on it and it is sturdy. The height is great- like the tv was on the wall but without the hassle.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful!
 from Ohio,  Feb 7, 2011

This console is sturdy, gorgeous, and it has an unbelievable amount of storage. I can't say enough good things about this piece and overstock.com. It takes a while to assemble it, and it would be best to have two people, but the results are well worth the time. It arrived very quickly, but had a damaged piece, which customer service replaced just as quickly. Overstock.com and the people who work there are a pleasure to deal with, and I have always gotten top quality products at a very good price, and this piece epitomizes that. In a Furniture Store, this console would easily cost three times the amount that I paid, and I am very, very happy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
All Day Project
 from New York City,  Dec 13, 2010

This is a beautiful! 5 stars. However be prepared for instructions that are very hard to understand even for people who have experience putting things together. You really need a drill, and an electric screwdriver not a phillips like the instructions states. 3 stars. If you would buy in a store like ***** or ***** it would cost about $1,500.00. Sensational deal in spite of having to build it your self.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

This is a great unit for the price and is wide enough to fit our bose base box. Solid construction and easy to assemble.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
You will get your money's worth
 from Chicago,  Oct 15, 2010

This piece came quickly and was HEAVY! Solid construction. Needed two guys to put together, but it's truly a beautiful piece. The staining is great and the doors roll smoothly and quietly from side to side. It looks like a simple enough piece but it's just so classic and beautiful. Lots of storage room. The drawers all work well. I love it!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great!
 Aug 5, 2010

Great unit! Very sturdy & good quality. Took roughly 4 hours to assemble by myself.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Entertainment Console
 from Wheaton, IL,  May 9, 2010

Excellent piece! We previously ordered a different, less expensive item Overstock and were very dissapointed and returned. We increased the amount we wanted to spend by $200 and ended up ordering this piece and it is worth every penny! My husband and I assembled it together in about 3 hours. The instructions were well organized and the pieces were marked perfectly. We've have this item for several months and are still extremely pleased with the quality and appearance.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome piece of furniture
 from Austin, TX,  May 7, 2010

The first time we saw this cabinet was back in January and we were so indecisive that it sold out and we kicked ourselves for not jumping on it sooner. Lo and behold it showed up again on O and we grabbed it and it arrived two days ago. First off the entertainment center is really nice. Our house is a mix of modern urban meets restored barn and this piece fits right in. I am kinda snobby when it comes to composite wood and verneer and was impressed overall. The color is true to the picture very deep espresso nearly black. The measurements are also exactly as posted. The majority of the piece is nice solid wood with the exception of the interior shelves and drawers. The pictures do not do justice to the amt of storage capacity this thing has. My only beef is that the back of the unit is a cheapy thin wood/cardboard. It still deserves 5 stars despite this because of the junk Ive seen in most stores at this price. It is sleek, pristine, and so cool looking. It took my husband and me roughly 2 hrs to assemble. Instructions are clear and all hardware packaged separately. Oh the unit was packaged immaculately but two drawers parts were cracked and need to be returned. Overall love, love, love!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Nice Media Cabinet
 from Stillwater, OK,  Mar 25, 2010

Do not hesitate to buy this media cabinet. It is beautiful and durable! Assembly takes awhile, but the components fit together well and it is well worth the effort.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
BEAUTIFUL AND SLEEK!
 from Atlanta, GA,  Mar 16, 2010

We ordered this console for our basement to go under our lcd tv. First of all, it came in 3 huge boxes which were very heavy and was a complete PAIN to assemble.... too many pieces and parts and took way too long. You definitely need another person to assemble it with. That is my one major complaint. I feel like some of the stuff should come preassembled. However, the outcome is beautiful. The drawers slide really easily like butter and it just looks sleek and beautiful. I absolutely LOVE it. You would probably see this at some furniture store for more than double the price of overstock. HIGHLY recommend! I will update if anything changes though!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love love love it!
 from Atlanta GA,  Dec 18, 2009

I had my eye on this unit for a while, and it had disappeared from overstock once we purchased our new TV for the family room. I was very excited when I saw that it was back in stock. It took a while to put together, but was not difficult. It is a sturdy piece of furniture and very well made. It looks great in our family room and we have received lots of compliments. The sliding doors are very smooth and the shelves hold all of our components, and the ones we plan to add. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 51 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top