Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
NewenglandinCA
 Nov 17, 2015

Rain feature worked for less then one winter. Manufacture told be that it could be re calibrated. I'd have to pay shipping both ways and that may not even fix the problem. Wind feature also has issues at times. It works some days, new batteries fix it sometimes. I've had to reset the entire unit countless times. That also helps the wind feature to work. Both indoor & outdoor temp. sensors work. Basically I count on it as a nice thermometer.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Crossed the Atlantic in a sailboat with it
 Apr 22, 2015

This is a great little vane. We used it in harsh conditions at sea for 4 years before having to replace it. Worth every penny! Love the warning alarms and 12 hour pressure reading. Wish it could report in knots instead of miles per hour!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It is extremely difficult to set.
 from Fredonia, NY,  Jan 29, 2013

It doesn't compare to an earlier model I had. It is extremely difficult to set. Every time you pick it up you end up disturbing the settings. I am returning it and not replacing it due to its performance.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. extremely poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
accurate and to the minute weather station
 from KC MO,  Jan 7, 2013

I bought the unit as a gift for a family member that loves to check the outside conditions. After it was opened, it was very easy to set up. The display incorporates many features and different settings which can be tough to see at a distance but if you are 5-6 feet away, it is pretty easy to read. I would highly suggest reading the owners manual as the wind direction sensor needs to be set facing a certain direction (North I believe) so the lcd unit can report the correct wind direction. It also has other helpful hints and suggestions throughout the setup/users manual. Also, after some research, to get an accurate wind reading, the wind sensor should be placed in an open area so it does not pick up gusts off houses or between buildings as easily. Stuff included in package: LCD display unit, Wind direction and speed (one piece), humidity sensor, and rain gauge (tipping bucket method).

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was neutral gray (outside equipment) and metallic gray (lcd unit for inside)
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good quality and does not seem to be easily broken
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Arrived on time and works as described
 from Melbourne, Australia,  Dec 27, 2012

No probs at all. Had it up and running the next day

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
La Crosse Technology WS-1516-IT Professional Weath
 from Western Washington Stae,  Apr 10, 2012

This is a very good item that works well and is easy to set up. The wind gauge must be in a spot that is unprotected from wind, such as above the peak of the roof. I attached mine to a 1' PVC pipe. That allowed me to point it in the right direction. The only drawback is that the panel isn't back lit, but if it was you would go through batteries much quicker.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It is accurate and easy to set up as well as easy to use.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great gift
 from PA,  Jan 17, 2012

I bought this as a Christmas gift for my husband. He is very pleased with the accuracy of the weather station. The system was fairly easy to set up. It is very important to follow all instructions as stated, and in the order given. It took us two tries to get th rain guage installed properly. we would reccommend it.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? product arrived exactly as pictured
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love It!
 from Yoder, CO,  Feb 1, 2011

I bought this for my husband for his birthday and he loves it!! We've had no issues with it so far (had it for 2 weeks). We live in a very rural area, so there are no accurate weather stations in our vicinity. It is very helpful in letting us know current conditions. We now have our on personal weather station and love it!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Service, haven't used product
 from Wisconsin,  Jan 4, 2011

Quick shipping and product looked as described, but it was a gift so we haven't tried it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
not yet used
 from live in Midwest,  Dec 29, 2010

The item was as advertised. The shipping was prompt. The item arrived in good condition. I have not take the time to install it yet. Holiday festivities.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works just fine
 from Vermont,  Dec 14, 2010

Took me about an hour to set up and figure out the basics. I haven't delved too deeply in the owner's manual, but judging from the size of it, there's a lot this thing can do! The screen is a little hard to read from more than a few feet away, but that's because there is so much on the display.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Weather Bust
 Aug 12, 2010

I was very excited to get this station. Even more excited after easy set up and everything worked. After 2 months the rain gauge stopped transmitting and after 6 months the outside temp/wind stopped transmitting. I am ordering another only because the reviews say it works well so am hoping I received a lemon.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!
 from Kerrville, TX,  Jan 8, 2010

I got this for my husband as a Christmas present. The one he wanted was back ordered. I ordered this one for him instead. It was less expensive and has all the features of the more expensive weather station. We are very happy with this purchase. We love being able to see the outdoor temp and wind chill and wind speed right here in our house. It's great! AND....it was super easy to install!! I would highly recommend this weather station.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Value
 from Benton, La,  Jan 4, 2010

Wanted this as a unit as opposed to seperate thermometer and rain gauge, which is how I typically found it in retail stores. Product has lots of features beyond the ordinary temperature. Easy to set up and install.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good value
 Jul 2, 2009

I live in the country always wanted to know wind speed, but weather stations were too expensive. When I found the La Crosse 1516 it had everything I wanted and the price at Overstocked.com was really great. I am very happy with this unit. The only thing they might add is for heat index for summer, they have wind chill for winter.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought