Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 41-60 of 73 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Loud
 from Woodstock, GA,  Jul 31, 2012

This AC unit has some nice features, and was a good value, but like some of the other reviewers have commented, it's definitely LOUD. I use it in an office, and I use it intermittently as needed, because it's really too loud to work with it going.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
did the job
 from EAST TEXAS,  Jul 23, 2012

cooled as advertized, wasn't loud to me as stated in reviews i read quieter than the fan i was using and sweating with

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? fair
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
wouldnt purchase again
 from Seattle, WA,  Jul 21, 2012

All I can say is this unit is really a disappointment. I am using it to cool a room under 250 sq feet and it does the job but I could pretty much open the windows and cool it down just as fast. The unit is quite loud but for all that noise it actually just blows more than cools. Its a constant off and on between the cooler and just the fan. This is rated to cool up to 300 square feet which I don't know how that would be possible. If you want a really loud fan that sucks up the energy by all means order away. Otherwise I might suggest a different unit because this one isn't returnable!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
was hopping for something more
 from new york, NY,  Jul 17, 2012

i have bought refurbished items before in over stock and works like a charm, i bought this for my mom because its portable its easy to move around, and it is . The first unit wasn't cooling the room as i was hopping the room is small i tried everything putting it on cool only and setting the temp to the lowest it will throw cold air for 10 min then it switch to fan air for ten min and it will keep switching, i contacted lg and they were going to send someone to fix it mind you i only had it for a day, so i contacted overstock and they gave me a return label to be shipped back and they were going to send me a new one (refurbished) , the new one works better then the old but i was looking for it to really make the room cold it dose the same as the last unit to switch to fan mode but this time it actually throws cool air when it switches , really cold air for like 5 to ten then cool air and it keeps switching i've had it for a week and it working good.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? it matched the color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. looks brand new
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? the site description was accurrate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works well.
 from Plymouth, MA,  Jul 17, 2012

Was concerned with refurbished but there has been no issue. Works well in all aspects.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? OK
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It all worked out in the end
 from MI,  Jul 6, 2012

I bought 2 of these units because I moved and my window units didn't fit in the windows here. One unit has performed like a charm from day one. The other unit came on once and then the electric control panel died....I had to unplug it to shut it off. Customer service promptly issued a return label. The replacement unit was a tiny bit late arriving so I called...there had been confusion regarding when it would ship. That got straightened out and it got here quickly. The second one has been in use without trouble. I don't use the timer modes....just on/off. I would say they work well. I have not had trouble with the reservoir....though, while it has been hot here, the humidity has been low. The part that goes in the window is kind of flimsy but works, and was easy to install. Having said that, if I had my druthers, I would rather have a window unit. These crank out cold air enough to really cool the room that it is in but no more area. 2 of my window units used to cool the whole living area of my old house and that was more square footage and less insulated....and they had less BTUs besides. I like having access to and a view from the windows. However, my house is small and these portable units take up a bit of floor space. I haven't had an electric bill yet so I can't speak to the cost of running them. Under the circumstances, I am glad I got them. I have cool refuge areas in the house. I feel I got a very good bargain.....I would have paid considerably more locally. The company was quick to ship. Overstock customer service handled my problem quickly and courteously.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very good product
 from New york,n.y,  Jul 6, 2012

I like the size and it works well. I got it right in time for a new york summer. The price was right. The only problem is the installment of the hose, the unit should be portable. This cant be moved around if you need to screw the hose to the frame of your window

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very well made, performs well. I would like it more if the hose was made to fit the window frame without needed to be screwed in
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Positive review title
 from Jackson, Ms,  Jun 23, 2012

Easy to install. Cools my son's room well. Exactly what I needed.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? identical
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? identical
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good For Specific Uses
 from Yuma, AZ,  Jun 22, 2012

Bought this 9,000 btu for an extra a/c in my bedroom area at night during hot, hot AZ summers. It does put out cold air, but not as efficiently as my 8,000 btu window model and only in a narrow forward direction. The reason I don't give it full 5 stars is the unwieldy exhaust hose setup (6" diameter x 5' long) that must be attached to discharge generated hot air out a window opening. It's not insulated and gets really hot, radiating that heat back into the room, reducing your total cooling effect. I finally cut mine down to the shortest usable length and wrapped it with non-fibreglas duct insulation material to mitigate this negative effect. Best uses would be a small room in a moderately hot climate when you can't use a window type a/c. Positive is the wheels that let you move it around without strain. One thing that confused me at first was when you initially set the cooling temp it seems to jump back to a higher one. That's because the digital is showing the actual room temperature and will move down as the air around it cools off.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Clean Lines , Looks Well Made, Easy to Move Around
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great price, love it when I need it
 from San Jose, CA,  Jun 22, 2012

Great price. I use it in 120 sq foot room and it cools it down very quickly.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Does it's job
 from Philly,  Jun 22, 2012

Only thing that concerns me is the temp display. I'm not sure what it is referring too. Is it room temp, outside temp, output temp... it's a little vague. doesn't seem to match anything. The unit is a little loud, I thought it wouldn't matter cause we don't use that room much, but you can here if in other rooms through shut doors....But when I turn it on it blows cold air so I'm happy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seems pretty good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? I have not complaints
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Noisy, but moves air well
 from PA,  Jun 22, 2012

This thing is noisy, but it circulates air very well. The problem is it doesn't seem to automatically shut off when it gets the room to the desired temperature.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
excessive noise..when fan is working.
 from Virginia,  Jun 21, 2012

Noise was the largest obstacle.. Also the unit required outside venting as well as drain for the accumulated water which I don't believe was indicated ion the information provided ..

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. appears well made
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? appears accurate ..
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Does the Job
 from New Castle, DE,  Jun 20, 2012

The machine does what it's supposed to do: it cools the room. I'm less than thrilled with the functionality of the controls. The "auto" setting appears to only work with a preset temperature of 78 degrees. If you want a cooler or warmer temperature, you must use the "manual" setting. I would like the option for the machine to completely shut down when the compressor is not running. Again, I thought that's what the "auto" setting would do; it does not. There is a "continuous" setting on the remote that I thought might address the issue; it does not. The timer function does work well. The instruction manual is virtually useless. It reads as though it is a verbatim translation from a different language. For the most part, it makes no sense.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Appears to be well-made
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Reasonably accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So far so good!
 from Nashville, TN,  Jun 20, 2012

Bought this unit about 1 month ago and so far so good! I was a bit skeptical buying a refurbished AC unit but the price was very reasonable and it works great. I am using it in my bonus room above the garage as supplement AC. The room itself is 500 sq. ft. and this unit says it will cool up to around half that, but it is cooling the entire room remarkably well. Only takes a few minutes to feel the temperature start to drop in the room. It is a bit on the noisy side but that is to be expected. It was not too difficult to install, just follow the instructions and it shouldn't take more than 20-30 minutes. It is nice to have an extra set of hands helping out if possible. The unit has some cool features: Temperature gauge, Cooling & Fan modes, Timer set, and digital read-out. If you are able to place a small chair or other piece of furniture in front of the unit (to hide the tubing running from the unit to the window) then you almost never even know it is there. Much easier to look at then a window unit. I recommend this unit along with the 2 or 4 year warranty. I bought the 4 yr warranty and have piece of mind in case it does break.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beat the HEAT
 from Dallas, TX,  Jun 20, 2012

My other portable air conditioner stop cooling. I try to get it repaired but no air-conditioning company will repair portable air conditioning. The cost to repair my old one force me to look for another. This was a refurbished unit and I gave it a shot. It does the same as my previous unit (different brand). I'm now ready for the long hot summer in Texas

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works Great!
 from California,  May 16, 2012

The air conditioning unit works great in my studio apartment. Cools the main room well and the remaining space stays cool also. However, the unit is a little loud but all things considered when the temps starting peeking at 100+ I will gladly take a little noise over the heat. For the price all the features are good. The exhaust vent is easy to setup and they give you plenty of tubing. O one thing I dont like is the difference between Hi and Lo is not noticeable and does not reduce noise level. Although I keep referencing the noise factor its not a mechanical noise but instead its the velocity and amount of air coming out that you hear (Thats a good thing) I would recommend buying with the remote, the convince of not having to get up to alter settings or turn it off are worth the $20.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great buy
 from new mexico,  Dec 30, 2011

the set up was easy, the product kept my room extra crisp-just the way i liked it. it is a little loud, but that actually is perfect for a white noise while you sleep. hard to use while watching tv though.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. easy to use, worked well
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? right on
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Good
 from Cedars,Pa,  Sep 24, 2011

Cool room down quickly,We have 4 dogs and all of them were lounging in glory!It is a little loud,but works great!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? No Choice,white only,it is white
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very Good,Great care in packaging to prevent damage in shipping
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exactly as they describe
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Best Air Conditioner
 from Greeley, Colorado,  Sep 23, 2011

This a/c unit was a refurbished one. It works FLAWLESSLY! Id highly recommend this product to anyone who is looking for a simple but stylish unit. PROS 1. Stylish 2. Produces AMAZING COLD AIR 3. Remote Control 4. Shows current temperature on unit CONS 1. Loud noise even on low air flow 2. Current temperate gauge seems to be off alot. Overall I love it. I would buy it again and again. Very easily and VERY quickly cools down any room. (right now I currently have it in a dorm room. )

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It was right on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I bought this product refurbished. It has a few scratches on it, but I expected that.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 41-60 of 73 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought